MIDAS Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Great company
Apprentice and 310S Licensed Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON5 November 2017
Midas is a great company to work for. I started my apprenticeship there and had the ability to learn a lot right from the start. Top notch group of people in my books.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible management at this location do not apply
Asst. Manager (Former Employee) –  Richmond, BC31 October 2017
Management is absolutely horrible at this location there is zero training and this position is really for work in the shop not the counter highly advise agianst applying
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job was everything yu think it will, but then there's more
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB12 October 2017
I have enjoyed my time at Midas. The atmosphere is very chill which has allowed me to get to know my co-workers well. I enjoy the Monday to Friday with the odd Sat here and there with time off in lieu. I have learned lots about becoming an Assistant Manager.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB2 September 2017
It was a very busy atmosphere, selling and up selling needed automotive repairs, managed the concerns of both staff and customer, including complaints, your individual ideas where heard and acknowledged, paid a reasonable amount for your efforts
Pros
Good salary
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a job
First year Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON31 August 2017
it was a typical shop, nothing special. I did learn a lot but unfortunately the apprenticeship in automotive just was not for me. but not a bad place to work
Pros
growth opportunity
Cons
weekend work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job to work at
Gs technician (Current Employee) –  London, ON24 July 2017
Very nice place to work at. I do recommend working here. I am a student and my title is a general service technician, they treat me very fair and I am well respected. Good place to work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
General Labourer (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON21 June 2017
Manager and owners are really nice and help you when you need it.
Work would involve showing up cleaning the shop, conduct oil and tire changes as needed.
Co-workers are easy to get along with which helps
Pros
Know what is expected of you
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nothing special, repetitious,
Apprentice Automotive Service Technician (Former Employee) –  Cochrane, AB7 June 2017
Fairly average auto shop I happened to work at a franchise not a corporate shop working for a franchise was nice I didn't feel like just another number on a page management genuinely cares however like most shops the senior staff can be rather arrogant at times that being said Midas as a corporation does several things I don't agree with such as courtesy inspections on literally everything that comes through the door and they do things that have nothing to do with fixing cars but still not right in my mind such as forcing ridiculous customer discounts such as $29.99 oil changes unto shops and obscene franchise royalty demands however the employee discount on parts and tires as well as flexible vacation and time off and new state of the art shop equipment made the employment here very tolerable
Pros
Employee discounts, vacation
Cons
Up selling
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Super bien
Lave auto (Former Employee) –  St.-Hyacinthe, QC4 June 2017
Bonne ambiance très bon emploi mes jamais beaucoup de travail
Pros
Plaisant atravailler
Cons
Pas beaucoup de travaille
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worst place ever, so thankful i quit there
Automotive Service Technician (Former Employee) –  London, ON30 April 2017
management was the worst there, the owner was also manager, would not recommend this place to anyone looking for a job, even to "get their foot in the door", was very unhappy working at this place, biggest regret of my life, wouldn't doubt that there are more mechanics who would agree.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report

Want to know more about MIDAS?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Manager!
Service Writer (Former Employee) –  St Paul MN14 March 2017
I worked at Midas on 7th st in St Paul as a service writer.
The worst work environment I have ever seen. The manager
was moody and offered no direction. He had a terrible temper
and was mean to employees and customers.
I personally saw car lifts that were damaging cars and techs
who would leave a half quart or more of old oil in car!
The store was dirty and disgusting and it was clear no one cared.
Avoid this location! Extremely low pay as well! Constant swearing and yelling in the shop. Owners could care less!
Pros
None
Cons
The Manager
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work envirment, hours too long
Manager, Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Southfield, NB28 December 2016
good work envirnment with many challenging situations. owners always seemed to be short of good reliable personnal which resulted in long hours that became ubdesireable (constant 60 hour work weeks that were not corrected as they said they would be)
Pros
closed sundays
Cons
hours too long
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
customer service oriented safe place to work
Owner/Operator (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON10 December 2016
goal oriented very knowledgeable customers service was key always found answers to any problems that should have come our way team work and customer service safety oriented
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Automotive Service Technician (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB8 December 2016
Midas is a good company and i quite enjoyed working here.

The people are friendly and patient,

Nearly unachievable bonus system.

You do need to have almost all your own tools, shop has nearly no tools.

you get paid weekly

not flat rate, just hourly

Lay offs happen in the winter season
Pros
you get to drive cars, organized shop, friendly
Cons
bonus system is almost bogus, no shop tools, layoffs, lots of unpaid overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a great place to work for
Assistant Manager / Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Aldergrove, BC3 November 2016
Boss was an automotive enthusiast and very knowledge
able. Easy to get along with. Work was varied. Some long hours.
Because it is a franchise, I found it to be a little structured like the military. I was able to manage and train employees as well
Pros
Normally 9-5 . Steady pay
Cons
Like most auto repair places, the odd complaint. But that just gave me additional skills how to deal with customers
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
midas was not the best
Automotive Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB19 October 2016
While at midas i wasnt appriciated for the amount of work that i could do and that i have done. the owner was not a nice person at all and put himself over his employees all of the time. dont go to midas
Pros
free lunch friday
Cons
manager
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
too late
Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON12 October 2016
Is has been more than 10 year i do not remember anything is ok i guess. i did learned to build custom exhaust with the pipe bender that is cool!!!
Pros
:(
Cons
:(
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing
Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON27 August 2016
All the staff and management treat you like family and do everything they can to make you feel happy at work.
They are always happy to accomodate and give time off for your personal life and are happy to help students with their education.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent if you can find an Owner Like I had
Service Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON26 August 2016
Loved working with Midas. Loved my boss and the work. Mechanics fairly competent. However, there is always one bad apple in the group who makes work a hassle now and then.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Automotive Technician (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON4 August 2016
Great place to work. Professional, reliable and efficient. They are honest and will treat the customer like family
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at MIDAS. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 553 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.2
Salary/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.2
Culture
3.3