Find companies:
MIDAS
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
238 reviews

MIDAS Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Try my best to learn how to work.
Lube Mechanic & Volunteer (Former Employee), london,onNovember 9, 2014
I was doing almost everything in the shop. My Job includes courtesy check, oil change, brake service, tire service, wheel alignment and so on. Clean up and organize stuff are also my responsibility. I like fix cars and I don’t afraid to get my hands dirty. I am also a good team worker and willing to help each other.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy working with my staff and customers
General Manager/ Owner (Current Employee), ScarboroughOctober 27, 2014
I enjoyed serving my customers and taking care of their needs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
company owner at time went under
Automotive Service Technician (Former Employee), Kingston, ONOctober 23, 2014
I hated my job, owner was treating store like a piggy bank not an investment
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gained mechanical and customer service experience
Mechanics Assistant (Former Employee), Toronto, ONMay 27, 2014
I assisted mechanics with troubleshooting, repairing, installing new brakes and exhaust systems on cars and trucks.

I set up and dismantled the alignment machine, and complete oil changes for customer vehicles.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I hated this place.
Work Experiance. (Former Employee), St. Albert, ABMay 26, 2014
Pros: i learned stuff, long lunches.
Cons: dirty, crude, annoying.
I did not enjoy this work place at all and due to that I let my responsibility slip.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place
Volunteer as Auto Mechanic Assisstant (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONApril 29, 2014
good environment to work at if you like to work with cars.
loved working there. co-workers were nice and lively.
good management.
nothing hard about the job once you get used to it.
had fun working there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Some Franchisee are great to work with some aren't
Manager (Current Employee), PickerningJuly 16, 2013
Cons: the hours for a manager is what is expected and that is fine by me
I love customer service. Helping people and making them feel good and understanding about their purchases or even seeing a smile in their faces makes me very happy and then i know my job is done well. I beleive in teamwork and honesty. Unfortunately the franchisee i'm working with does not feel that way
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
co-op
Mechanic Assistant (Former Employee), Orillia, ONMarch 18, 2013
worked on many difrent kinds of cars and diffrent jobs to do on each
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
co-op position
Shop Helper (Former Employee), Waterloo, ONFebruary 26, 2013
Pros: good work enviroment
Cons: long hours
I was a co-op student there and I learned a lot. the guys there are very respectfull and supportive. they will teach you what they can when they could. The managment sometimes run around like lost children but otherwise a really good place to work for. the management sometimes rips people off e.g customer came in had an exhaust leak and wanted to charge – more... customer for a whole new exhaust and anouther mechanic welded on a peice of pipe and it was good to go. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok job
General Labourer (Former Employee), Niagara Falls OntarioDecember 28, 2012
Cons: hardly ever was aloud lunch
mostly every day was the same at midas, i worked saturday's and i would have to clean the mess other's had made but didn't bother to clean them. oil on the floor. scrap parts every ware. as well as cleaning i did oil changes sevral a day. i also cut the grass pulled weeds.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place I ever worked
Automotive Service Technician (Former Employee), North Bay, ONJuly 15, 2012
Pros: picked up lots on hand on knowledge of automoblies
Cons: owner was no good to his employees or customers
The service technician very skilled and friendly. Lots on opportunities to learn the mechanics of the automotive trade. Managment/Owner was very bad to thier customers. Thankfully they went bankrupt and owner is not working in the industry anymore
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quiet Garage
Automotive Technician (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJuly 7, 2012
Pros: free lunch, friendly staff
Cons: long hours, owner not in touch with employees
Work 8-6:30
Learned Various Automotive Repair Techniques
Management was fair
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed my job!!! I love meeting and interacting with people!!!!
Front counter receptionist (Former Employee), St.Catharines,OnJune 18, 2012
Pros: wonderful clients
Cons: could not think of any!!!
Typical day consisted of invoicing and cashing out all clients. Answering telephone, ordering parts from suppliers!!! Provided quality
sales and customer service!! Learned quite a bit about vehicles and parts as well... Great manager. Very helpful. Mechanics and I worked very well together. Most enjoyable part was working with many wonderful clients, – more... and the administrative aspect of the job.
More challenges, the better, something i really enjoy!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very good company to work for
Owner/Operator/Manager (Former Employee), Penticton B.C.March 2, 2012
Pros: very professional place of employment, good working conditions
Cons: i can't think of any
I worked for Midas most of my life, 38 years. I was owner/operator of this store.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor management
Auto Mechanic Apprentice (Former Employee), Binghamton, NYDecember 17, 2014
Pros: management
Cons: management
got moved place to place in the binghamtom area.management was the worst.did not know if I was coming or going.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned Alot BUT...
Store Manager/Sales Manager (Former Employee), Sylvania, OHDecember 10, 2014
They lack appropriate trained technicians and micromanage more than any other company I have been employed with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mon-Saturday shifts
Lead Auto Technician (Former Employee), Nashville, TNDecember 8, 2014
Not good work/life balance. Good management. Steady work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay Away
Auto Mechanic (Former Employee), Greenville, NCNovember 27, 2014
Pros: absolutely none
Cons: the whole place
Typical work day is questioning why you became an Auto Mechanic and/or how you wound-up here.
Days are ten hours or more with half hour lunch breaks.
Holidays, maybe three. If they fall on a Sunday you are out of luck.
Did I mention no sick days or vacation.
Co-workers, well your all in the same boat, no one is happy.
No heat in the winter, serious – more... its 26 F and management wants the garage doors open so the customers know we're open? Yes you will freeze they do not care.
The equipment is a disgrace, brake lathe only machines rotors you cannot do drums because it is so worn out. This means any drum break job you have to sell the customer drums because you can't machine there's which brings me to--
Every car that comes in you have to look completely over and fill out a Midas diagnostic sheet, even oil changes which starts the problem they have with customers.Some cars do not need anything but a lot need work. They come in for an oil change and leave with estimates for$500.00, $1,000.00 sometimes $2,000.00 in work the car needs. Every mechanic has to show all these needed repairs to the customer, not a mechanics job but for some reason management expects mechanics to do this instead of service advisors? A 15 minute oil change can easily take a hour and you get paid .3 that's three tenths of an hour against you flat rate.[ if there is no work you get to freeze or sweat and not get paid]
The above paragraph explains why their customer percentage is very low. You hardly see the same people return.
If you do an State Inspection on a vehicle and it fails for whatever and the customer starts complaining management comes out and asks you to reinspect and pass it, a no it fails and I am not getting a fine from the State if something happens.
The above should give you a good idea what the owner and management are. They push every good mechanic out no one stays, it took me a year to find another job but I got out. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
don't bother working there
Mechanic (Former Employee), Billerica, MANovember 16, 2014
Pros: some nice people come and go
Cons: abusive situation
The management is at best incompetent , the equipment is old faulty and substandard at best (when they have it ) .Late and low pay raise In 21 months 13 people have come and gone ! long day little pay with no over time or benefits
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Assist Store Manager/Store Manager (Current Employee), Easton, PANovember 13, 2014
Pros: its a a job
Cons: no family life. high health insurance
it depends on who the owner is. its different in every store. it like every other job. get everything in writing before you start working

1 2 3 4 5

About MIDAS

Midas hopes to apply a golden touch to the car repair business. In addition to focusing on brake and exhaust system services, – Read more

MIDAS Photos