Find companies:
MIDAS
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
205 reviews

MIDAS Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I hated this place.
Work Experiance. (Former Employee), St. Albert, ABMay 26, 2014
Pros: i learned stuff, long lunches.
Cons: dirty, crude, annoying.
I did not enjoy this work place at all and due to that I let my responsibility slip.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place
Volunteer as Auto Mechanic Assisstant (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONApril 29, 2014
good environment to work at if you like to work with cars.
loved working there. co-workers were nice and lively.
good management.
nothing hard about the job once you get used to it.
had fun working there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Some Franchisee are great to work with some aren't
Manager (Current Employee), PickerningJuly 16, 2013
Cons: the hours for a manager is what is expected and that is fine by me
I love customer service. Helping people and making them feel good and understanding about their purchases or even seeing a smile in their faces makes me very happy and then i know my job is done well. I beleive in teamwork and honesty. Unfortunately the franchisee i'm working with does not feel that way
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
co-op
Mechanic Assistant (Former Employee), Orillia, ONMarch 18, 2013
worked on many difrent kinds of cars and diffrent jobs to do on each
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
co-op position
Shop Helper (Former Employee), Waterloo, ONFebruary 26, 2013
Pros: good work enviroment
Cons: long hours
I was a co-op student there and I learned a lot. the guys there are very respectfull and supportive. they will teach you what they can when they could. The managment sometimes run around like lost children but otherwise a really good place to work for. the management sometimes rips people off e.g customer came in had an exhaust leak and wanted to charge – more... customer for a whole new exhaust and anouther mechanic welded on a peice of pipe and it was good to go. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok job
General Labourer (Former Employee), Niagara Falls OntarioDecember 28, 2012
Cons: hardly ever was aloud lunch
mostly every day was the same at midas, i worked saturday's and i would have to clean the mess other's had made but didn't bother to clean them. oil on the floor. scrap parts every ware. as well as cleaning i did oil changes sevral a day. i also cut the grass pulled weeds.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place I ever worked
Automotive Service Technician (Former Employee), North Bay, ONJuly 15, 2012
Pros: picked up lots on hand on knowledge of automoblies
Cons: owner was no good to his employees or customers
The service technician very skilled and friendly. Lots on opportunities to learn the mechanics of the automotive trade. Managment/Owner was very bad to thier customers. Thankfully they went bankrupt and owner is not working in the industry anymore
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quiet Garage
Automotive Technician (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJuly 7, 2012
Pros: free lunch, friendly staff
Cons: long hours, owner not in touch with employees
Work 8-6:30
Learned Various Automotive Repair Techniques
Management was fair
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed my job!!! I love meeting and interacting with people!!!!
Front counter receptionist (Former Employee), St.Catharines,OnJune 18, 2012
Pros: wonderful clients
Cons: could not think of any!!!
Typical day consisted of invoicing and cashing out all clients. Answering telephone, ordering parts from suppliers!!! Provided quality
sales and customer service!! Learned quite a bit about vehicles and parts as well... Great manager. Very helpful. Mechanics and I worked very well together. Most enjoyable part was working with many wonderful clients, – more... and the administrative aspect of the job.
More challenges, the better, something i really enjoy!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very good company to work for
Owner/Operator/Manager (Former Employee), Penticton B.C.March 2, 2012
Pros: very professional place of employment, good working conditions
Cons: i can't think of any
I worked for Midas most of my life, 38 years. I was owner/operator of this store.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work
Assistant Manager/Technician (Former Employee), Tucson, AZAugust 14, 2014
The day at work was long I would work 50 to 55 hours a week. I learned that by working that much it put a strain on everything else in my life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to have a career
Auto Technician (Former Employee), Cincinnati, OHAugust 10, 2014
Pros: able to work on our cars
Cons: long hours
came into work did my job to the best of my ability learned how to prepare estimates and write repair orders had some really good managers some not so good [they got weeded out] most of my team mates were good others transferred.the hardest part was having to work with some who weren't that good and having to go behind them and do the repair over.the – more... most enjoyable part was seeing happy and satisfied customers. it was good to retire from that work and start a different path. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Store Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Littleton, COAugust 4, 2014
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
A typical day would consist of checking the appearance of the shop, taking care of the customers, ordering parts, dealing with customer's complaints and assisting the mechanics to find solutions for vehicles repairs, supervising mechanics making sure policies and procedures were followed. Co-workers were very knowledgeable and fun to work with. The – more... hardest part of the job was inventory count. Most enjoyable part of the job was the feeling of satisfaction when a customer was satisfied with the work performed and the customer service experience given to the customer. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a very good work experience
Auto Tech (Former Employee), Bend, ORJuly 24, 2014
Managers had poor attitudes, employees where talked down on. the wages were well below what the job should have paid.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours and bonuses never paid when promised
Store manager and shop supervisor (Former Employee), Tucson, AZJuly 14, 2014
Pros: freedom to run the store in my way.
Cons: pay was low and business was not run properly
Typical day was to open store. Manage production, personnel, and inventory. And to provide customers with written estimates for work required on their vehicles.
Writing estimates using the system used by the company.
Franchise owner was not familiar with running a business and ultimately when bankrupt.
Managed 5 employees who all did their jobs well.
Dealing – more... with customers who did not have the money to pay for repairs.
The income was comparable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They are nothing but thieves!!
Shop Manager (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXJuly 3, 2014
MIDAS is in fact an awful company to work for, especially if it is a franchise. These people will reel you in and tell you it's a great company and a great job. When in fact it is the exact opposite. I have come to find that I was always the only person qualified to do their job, the corp, never sticks to its standards. Almost none of the technicians – more... are ASE certified. And the repairs that would be made were mediocre at best. Stay away from MIDAS bad place to work even worse place to get your vehicle fixed hands down! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
midas was good until they sold it to franchise
General Service Technician (Former Employee), San Diego, CAJune 30, 2014
Pros: good learning experience
Cons: fired for no reason
Work was very easy and managers were good to me. it was own by corporate which was good when i was working there. When the new franchise owner bought the store it was a bad experience for me. it was horrible, i got fired, just because i took one day off and it was verified by my former manager telling me i can taking a day off.. The new owner did not – more... care, when i came back to work my uniforms where missing and my boss tells me the new owner fired me. I was informed that i was fired because he did not like me as a person. He didn't even give me a chance to even work for him. During the time Midas store was going through there transition of selling the store. So the first day he takes over, he lets me go. Its not right for him to do that to me. He couldn't even say it to my face, he just had the manager tell me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Examined vehicles, compiled estimates of repair costs
Automotive Parts Technician (Former Employee), Colorado Springs, COJune 23, 2014
Pros: good pay
Cons: nothing
Aligned and repaired wheels, axles, frames, torsion bars, and steering mechanisms of automobiles, using special alignment equipment and wheel-balancing machines. Examined vehicles, compiled estimates of repair costs, and secured customers' approval to perform repairs. Installed and repaired air conditioners, and service components such as compressors, – more... condensers, and controls. Rebuilt, repaired, and tested automotive fuel injection units. Removed and replaced defective mufflers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CSR- Ok
Customer Service (Former Employee), Upper Darby, PAJune 20, 2014
Pros: laid back.
Cons: boring
Good company to work for if you're a mechanic or a manger. Boring work day
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the field of work, but...
Lube Tech / Automotive Technician (Former Employee), Riverdale, UTJune 5, 2014
Pros: great learning experience for those who are new to the field.
Cons: poor management
Typical automotive shop, awesome crew, management was too concerned about personal life ( franchise owners )

1 2 3 4 5

About MIDAS

Midas hopes to apply a golden touch to the car repair business. In addition to focusing on brake and exhaust system services, – Read more

MIDAS Photos