MIDAS Employee Reviews

Found 34 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Manager!
Service Writer (Former Employee) –  St Paul MN14 March 2017
I worked at Midas on 7th st in St Paul as a service writer.
The worst work environment I have ever seen. The manager
was moody and offered no direction. He had a terrible temper
and was mean to employees and customers.
I personally saw car lifts that were damaging cars and techs
who would leave a half quart or more of old oil in car!
The store was dirty and disgusting and it was clear no one cared.
Avoid this location! Extremely low pay as well! Constant swearing and yelling in the shop. Owners could care less!
Pros
None
Cons
The Manager
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Automotive Service Technician (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB8 December 2016
Midas is a good company and i quite enjoyed working here.

The people are friendly and patient,

Nearly unachievable bonus system.

You do need to have almost all your own tools, shop has nearly no tools.

you get paid weekly

not flat rate, just hourly

Lay offs happen in the winter season
Pros
you get to drive cars, organized shop, friendly
Cons
bonus system is almost bogus, no shop tools, layoffs, lots of unpaid overtime
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a great place to work for
Assistant Manager / Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Aldergrove, BC3 November 2016
Boss was an automotive enthusiast and very knowledge
able. Easy to get along with. Work was varied. Some long hours.
Because it is a franchise, I found it to be a little structured like the military. I was able to manage and train employees as well
Pros
Normally 9-5 . Steady pay
Cons
Like most auto repair places, the odd complaint. But that just gave me additional skills how to deal with customers
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
customer service oriented safe place to work
Owner/Operator (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON10 December 2016
goal oriented very knowledgeable customers service was key always found answers to any problems that should have come our way team work and customer service safety oriented
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
midas was not the best
Automotive Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB19 October 2016
While at midas i wasnt appriciated for the amount of work that i could do and that i have done. the owner was not a nice person at all and put himself over his employees all of the time. dont go to midas
Pros
free lunch friday
Cons
manager
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing
Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON27 August 2016
All the staff and management treat you like family and do everything they can to make you feel happy at work.
They are always happy to accomodate and give time off for your personal life and are happy to help students with their education.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent if you can find an Owner Like I had
Service Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON26 August 2016
Loved working with Midas. Loved my boss and the work. Mechanics fairly competent. However, there is always one bad apple in the group who makes work a hassle now and then.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
too late
Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON12 October 2016
Is has been more than 10 year i do not remember anything is ok i guess. i did learned to build custom exhaust with the pipe bender that is cool!!!
Pros
:(
Cons
:(
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and hard working
changed oil, change tires, other mechanical work (Former Employee) –  Sudbury, ON22 June 2016
How to repair different makes of vehicles, different mechanical duties, up keep of shop and vehicles, balanced tires great co workers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Automotive Technician (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON4 August 2016
Great place to work. Professional, reliable and efficient. They are honest and will treat the customer like family
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good reliable company
Lube Technician (Current Employee) –  Barrie, ON23 February 2016
Exciting days ,always fast pace with oil changes when work is slow always find something to do for work. Management is good team always understanding of what you need. Most enjoyable about the job is the workers and management team always have a smile on there face and wanting to work all the time.
Pros
same hours every week
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never again
Technician (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON20 March 2016
The owners are cheap
Rip customers off
If you're planning on working flat rate there's no money
I was working hourly and the boss had me washing his car when there was nothing to do and would send me home early almost everyday
Pros
Hands on experience
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was fun to work at everyone was so expirienced in what they did
service technician (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB13 January 2016
all the workers knew well of their jobs and where willing to help if needed lots of work constantly and always where attentive when customers came in to get their cars worked on all had the tools needed for the job to be done
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed my job!!! I love meeting and interacting with people!!!!
Front counter receptionist (Former Employee) –  St.Catharines,On18 June 2012
Typical day consisted of invoicing and cashing out all clients. Answering telephone, ordering parts from suppliers!!! Provided quality
sales and customer service!! Learned quite a bit about vehicles and parts as well... Great manager. Very helpful. Mechanics and I worked very well together. Most enjoyable part was working with many wonderful clients, and the administrative aspect of the job.
More challenges, the better, something i really enjoy!!!
Pros
wonderful clients
Cons
could not think of any!!!
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
co-op position
Shop Helper (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON26 February 2013
I was a co-op student there and I learned a lot. the guys there are very respectfull and supportive. they will teach you what they can when they could. The managment sometimes run around like lost children but otherwise a really good place to work for. the management sometimes rips people off e.g customer came in had an exhaust leak and wanted to charge customer for a whole new exhaust and anouther mechanic welded on a peice of pipe and it was good to go.
Pros
good work enviroment
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Some Franchisee are great to work with some aren't
Manager (Current Employee) –  Pickerning16 July 2013
I love customer service. Helping people and making them feel good and understanding about their purchases or even seeing a smile in their faces makes me very happy and then i know my job is done well. I beleive in teamwork and honesty. Unfortunately the franchisee i'm working with does not feel that way
Cons
The hours for a manager is what is expected and that is fine by me
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place I ever worked
Automotive Service Technician (Former Employee) –  North Bay, ON15 July 2012
The service technician very skilled and friendly. Lots on opportunities to learn the mechanics of the automotive trade. Managment/Owner was very bad to thier customers. Thankfully they went bankrupt and owner is not working in the industry anymore
Pros
picked up lots on hand on knowledge of automoblies
Cons
owner was no good to his employees or customers
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Try my best to learn how to work.
Lube Mechanic & Volunteer (Former Employee) –  london,on9 November 2014
I was doing almost everything in the shop. My Job includes courtesy check, oil change, brake service, tire service, wheel alignment and so on. Clean up and organize stuff are also my responsibility. I like fix cars and I don’t afraid to get my hands dirty. I am also a good team worker and willing to help each other.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
rebuilding
Manager (Former Employee) –  Orleans Ontario10 May 2015
Midas had lots of opportunity but many employees were jaded & negative. This made everyday work scheduling difficult.
The marketing plan was excellent but nobody was ready to make it happen at the store level.
Pros
excellent bonus structure
Cons
no follow through on marketing
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok job
General Labourer (Former Employee) –  Niagara Falls Ontario28 December 2012
mostly every day was the same at midas, i worked saturday's and i would have to clean the mess other's had made but didn't bother to clean them. oil on the floor. scrap parts every ware. as well as cleaning i did oil changes sevral a day. i also cut the grass pulled weeds.
Cons
hardly ever was aloud lunch
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at MIDAS. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 431 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Salary/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.2
Culture
3.3