MIDAS Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 23 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing
Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ONAugust 27, 2016
All the staff and management treat you like family and do everything they can to make you feel happy at work.
They are always happy to accomodate and give time off for your personal life and are happy to help students with their education.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Automotive Technician (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ONAugust 4, 2016
Great place to work. Professional, reliable and efficient. They are honest and will treat the customer like family
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never again
Technician (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONMarch 20, 2016
The owners are cheap
Rip customers off
If you're planning on working flat rate there's no money
I was working hourly and the boss had me washing his car when there was nothing to do and would send me home early almost everyday
Pros
Hands on experience
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good reliable company
Lube Technician (Current Employee) –  Barrie, ONFebruary 23, 2016
Exciting days ,always fast pace with oil changes when work is slow always find something to do for work. Management is good team always understanding of what you need. Most enjoyable about the job is the workers and management team always have a smile on there face and wanting to work all the time.
Pros
same hours every week
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was fun to work at everyone was so expirienced in what they did
service technician (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABJanuary 13, 2016
all the workers knew well of their jobs and where willing to help if needed lots of work constantly and always where attentive when customers came in to get their cars worked on all had the tools needed for the job to be done
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
rebuilding
Manager (Former Employee) –  Orleans OntarioMay 10, 2015
Midas had lots of opportunity but many employees were jaded & negative. This made everyday work scheduling difficult.
The marketing plan was excellent but nobody was ready to make it happen at the store level.
Pros
excellent bonus structure
Cons
no follow through on marketing
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall this Auto shop is a very reliable place to get what you are expecting from one. Whether customer or worker you will be love Midas Auto Experts
Auto apprentice (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONMarch 1, 2015
A typical day working as a auto apprentice would involve the basics of auto maintenance. Whether a vehicle would come in for an oil change, tire swap or more complex work like brake replacement i would be conducting a full-on car inception to see if all the basics safety components are intact.

Working at Midas, i learned a wide variety of things, if it meant experience or work ethic there would never be a day working there that i wouldn't come home and reflect on. Management was amazing, the boss allowed 3 breaks on a very well-timed fashion and my co-workers were all helpful, especially during the first 2 weeks which i was not familiar with the area i was working in.

The Most difficult part of the job was advancing because that mainly depended on my part learning at the rate i was most comfortable in. And the most enjoyable part would have to be the same aspect, because although advancing in a job would require me to put more effort and time, it meant that i was learning more and more towards something i can call a life career.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Busy
RECEPTIONIST (Former Employee) –  Newmarket, ONNovember 27, 2014
Everyone had their own job to do and everyone completed it effectively daily while still having fun and being respectful of customers and staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Try my best to learn how to work.
Lube Mechanic & Volunteer (Former Employee) –  london,onNovember 9, 2014
I was doing almost everything in the shop. My Job includes courtesy check, oil change, brake service, tire service, wheel alignment and so on. Clean up and organize stuff are also my responsibility. I like fix cars and I don’t afraid to get my hands dirty. I am also a good team worker and willing to help each other.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy working with my staff and customers
General Manager/ Owner (Current Employee) –  ScarboroughOctober 27, 2014
I enjoyed serving my customers and taking care of their needs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
company owner at time went under
Automotive Service Technician (Former Employee) –  Kingston, ONOctober 23, 2014
I hated my job, owner was treating store like a piggy bank not an investment
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gained mechanical and customer service experience
Mechanics Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONMay 27, 2014
I assisted mechanics with troubleshooting, repairing, installing new brakes and exhaust systems on cars and trucks.

I set up and dismantled the alignment machine, and complete oil changes for customer vehicles.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I hated this place.
Work Experiance. (Former Employee) –  St. Albert, ABMay 26, 2014
I did not enjoy this work place at all and due to that I let my responsibility slip.
Pros
i learned stuff, long lunches.
Cons
dirty, crude, annoying.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place
Volunteer as Auto Mechanic Assisstant (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ONApril 29, 2014
good environment to work at if you like to work with cars.
loved working there. co-workers were nice and lively.
good management.
nothing hard about the job once you get used to it.
had fun working there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Some Franchisee are great to work with some aren't
Manager (Current Employee) –  PickerningJuly 16, 2013
I love customer service. Helping people and making them feel good and understanding about their purchases or even seeing a smile in their faces makes me very happy and then i know my job is done well. I beleive in teamwork and honesty. Unfortunately the franchisee i'm working with does not feel that way
Cons
the hours for a manager is what is expected and that is fine by me
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
co-op
Mechanic Assistant (Former Employee) –  Orillia, ONMarch 18, 2013
worked on many difrent kinds of cars and diffrent jobs to do on each
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
co-op position
Shop Helper (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ONFebruary 26, 2013
I was a co-op student there and I learned a lot. the guys there are very respectfull and supportive. they will teach you what they can when they could. The managment sometimes run around like lost children but otherwise a really good place to work for. the management sometimes rips people off e.g customer came in had an exhaust leak and wanted to charge customer for a whole new exhaust and anouther mechanic welded on a peice of pipe and it was good to go.
Pros
good work enviroment
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok job
General Labourer (Former Employee) –  Niagara Falls OntarioDecember 28, 2012
mostly every day was the same at midas, i worked saturday's and i would have to clean the mess other's had made but didn't bother to clean them. oil on the floor. scrap parts every ware. as well as cleaning i did oil changes sevral a day. i also cut the grass pulled weeds.
Cons
hardly ever was aloud lunch
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place I ever worked
Automotive Service Technician (Former Employee) –  North Bay, ONJuly 15, 2012
The service technician very skilled and friendly. Lots on opportunities to learn the mechanics of the automotive trade. Managment/Owner was very bad to thier customers. Thankfully they went bankrupt and owner is not working in the industry anymore
Pros
picked up lots on hand on knowledge of automoblies
Cons
owner was no good to his employees or customers
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quiet Garage
Automotive Technician (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONJuly 7, 2012
Work 8-6:30
Learned Various Automotive Repair Techniques
Management was fair
Pros
free lunch, friendly staff
Cons
long hours, owner not in touch with employees
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 333 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.2
Salary/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.1
Culture
3.3