Microsoft Employee Reviews

Found 81 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Processes that work, culture that rocked, people that were awesome
Inventory Control Expert (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONFebruary 1, 2016
Each day had a routine, and that routine made sense.
Heavily team based.
We were all trained on how to use Microsoft products, and then used those Microsoft products everyday at our jobs. Made that job and my future jobs a lot easier to do. :)
There was 3 weeks of training in a hotel while the store was built. Tonnes of fun and really helped build a sense of community and commraderie amongst the retail staff.
Paid decent wages for retail staff.
TONNES of benefits and perks. Free drinks and snacks and if there was ever an event, free food too.
Great initiative amongst the management teams to keep everyone motivated.
No room for advancement beyong retail though.
The corporate offices are in Mississauga and I don't believe there was a channel to take from retail to corporate.
Pros
Free snacks / drinks, great culture, tonnes of benefits and perks
Cons
Mall retail hours, no corporate advancement, SUPER lengthy interview process
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slug-It-Out For a Chance to Move On
Quality Assurance Tester (Former Employee) –  Redmond, WAFebruary 8, 2016
The work is easy and fun but there's no training and absolutely no career path, and the pay and benefits are as low as possible. There's a lot of turnover, as you have to be perfect to have your contract renewed. You'll make many friends, but then see them of them simply disappear one day. It's grueling, but if you make it through you'll have some good Q.A. skills that will allow you to move up and out to another company.
Pros
Free Drinks
Cons
Low Pay, No Advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I worked as an outsource partner for Microsoft via Volt and VMC. It was a great experience,
Service Delivery Support Team Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONFebruary 8, 2016
Working for Microsoft as an outsource partner was a great experience. We experienced some of the perks of being associated with Microsoft - free drinks and snacks. The work environment was great, with great people.
Pros
Great people and work environment
Cons
Not an actual full time Microsoft employee, with all the associated benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Life at Microsoft
Territory Account Sales Executive (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ONSeptember 16, 2016
Life at Microsoft can be both enjoyable and life fulfilling but it can also be stressful with a high level of burnout.

Microsoft mission statement of "To empower every person and every organization on the planet to achieve more" is ingrained in the culture and dictate what every Microsoft employee does on a day and day out basis. And we actually do sell technology that makes the mission statement real.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Office 365 Specialist & EMS Specialist (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ONJuly 20, 2016
Overall Microsoft is an excellent place to hone your skills. With multiple resources and opportunities to expand your knowledge set and with abundant opportunities to move into new roles
Pros
Excelent working culture, Opportunities to grow and expand your knowledge and career, Good work life balance
Cons
Heavy workloads, long hours, lack luster communication from top down
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the best company in the world to work in
Software Engineer (Current Employee) –  CanadaJuly 25, 2016
love the lovely team and good team managment i am really happy from them and wish to wiork with them for a long time and also i want my friends to apply for work in this company in which i work with because the best envirnment the best and respectful people to work with .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
BI Data Analyst (Current Employee) –  Redmond, WAAugust 16, 2016
Excellent place to work for experienced professional. There is daily challenges, weekly challenges and goals. Get to work with cutting edge technologies and develop challenging tools and dynamic system changes everyday.
Pros
Free lunches, happy hours
Cons
work late hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
WorkPlace Environment
Technical Support Specialist (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ONAugust 2, 2016
Productive WorkPlace with a young and enthusiastic workforce/ full of exciting ideas and willingness
Pros
Subsidized Lunches & Free Refreshments
Cons
Too many mixed (inconsistent) messaging from Local Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
challenging and inspiring work environment
Technical Program Manager (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BCSeptember 25, 2016
I have been here long enough to recommend it for anyone who is interested in doing stuff that will change the world. This is a place where you drive your own career.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work at
Product Advisor (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BCJanuary 28, 2016
Working at Microsoft was one of funnest jobs I had. All of the teammates where friendly and easy to get along with. They are very fun people to work with and they make the day go smoothly.

The management are friendly and easy to get along with. They are always there for the team and help out when ever they can.

The most enjoyable part of the job is playing xbox with your peers.
Pros
Fully load fridge. Great team, Fun environment
Cons
Can be boring when the store is not busy.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A relaxed driven enviornment
Business Analyst (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ONMay 18, 2016
Microsoft is a relaxed environment that supports and nurtures employees to grow. The most enjoyable part of the position is to be able to support the account managers and achieve their Customer satisfaction targets. The peers are friendly and diverse. Management has an open door policy.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Microsoft Exchange Support Operations Analyst (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MBJune 10, 2016
Typical day at work included coming in and taking calls, and following up with customers. Ensuring that needs were met and taken care of. Management was supportive. Good work environment.
Pros
Free food
Cons
weird hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Microsoft
0365 Partner Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONApril 1, 2016
Pays well, this is a very cut throat atmosphere.
I only recommend if you have a very tough skin, if you enjoy travelling and not seeing your family for long lengths of time and expect to give 12 - 14 hours a day this is the company for you
Pros
Money is extremely good
Cons
14 - 16 hours a day
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great staff and good hours
Consumer Product Advisor (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABJune 3, 2016
Everyone I worked with was great and the training was super easy to understand and get through. Management was understanding and would help you if you weren't sure on something.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
flexible hours
Corporate Accounts, Partner Sales and SMB Team (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ONMarch 10, 2016
good place to work ... management is good and location is prime - i enjoy working here - growth is there but only for full time employees
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing company
Business Support Specialist (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONMarch 9, 2016
Absolute pleasure working for Microsoft. Amazing support, incredible people and coworkers. Learned so much from my time there.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dream Company
Territory Manager - Education Solution - SMS&P (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QCJanuary 20, 2016
nothing but positive things i never love a job more than this where i learn so much things from so many people for always be grateful for the experience
Pros
is one of the best companies in the world
Cons
nothing bad to say
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Leading edge comany.
SERVICES EXECUTIVE (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ONSeptember 13, 2015
Busy days with lots of interaction with customers and colleagues.

How to drive out customer requirements and understand desired business capabilities to be enabled by technology solutions.

Co-workers participate on a cross-functional team - highly team oriented with lots of support.

Hardest part was keeping up to date with changing technologies.

Most enjoyable was all of the changing technologies.
Pros
work hard - play hard
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Microsoft
Helpdesk Technician (Former Employee) –  OttawaMay 13, 2014
Working for Microsoft was a challenge. We never had the proper tools to do the job. They would not provide us with the software they wanted us to support. We had to burn illegal copies ( Microsoft gave us the ok) yourself. Location was also an issue, cubicle farm as we called it.
Pros
direct connection to ms kb database, training from redmont techs
Cons
salary, lack of tools
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job Great Customers Great Team
Account Executive - Public Sector (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ONNovember 2, 2015
The one thing I enjoyed most about being an account executive was meeting new people. I have met some amazing people over the years. Also, since it was a company that continued to grow/change it kept my job always interesting.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 2,446 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.6
Culture
4.0