Find companies:
Michaels
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
351 reviews

Michaels Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Las Vegas, NVMay 23, 2014
Pros: flexible
Cons: no moving up or money to be made
Great place for students. Flexible and easy. The culture is ok. There is a high turnaround of employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail frame shop, dealing with priceless pieces of art.
Senior Framer (Former Employee), Westminster, COMay 20, 2014
Michaels was a very interesting job. I got to work with the most amazing people and the art they would bring in. Supervised a group of 4 framer making sure that sales were on top. Framed art from sports memorabilia to baby shoes, from fresh canvas painting to 200 year old family photos found in great grandmother's old farm house, and as always the famous – more... family photo and band posters. Maintained the filing system of new and complete orders. Prioritized and delegated to ensure orders are complete on time. Tasks also included maintaining the sales floor and back stock. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and hard labor work for Replenishment Associate.
Part-Time Replenishment Associate (Current Employee), Jacksonville, FLMay 20, 2014
Pros: discounts, self-expression
Cons: little hours
Working as a Replenishment Associate:
Coming in at very early hour and even graveyard shifts.
Hard labor and 100% on your feet.
Time seems to go by really quick.
Little hours (most of the time)
Every Friday is a Truck Day (meaning unload a Semi-truck full with merchandise).
Setting POGS.
Fast Pace.
Freedom of self expression (Piercing, Tattoos, and – more... unusual are ACCEPTABLE)
Get to leave early – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
retail
Department Manager (Former Employee), Nashville, TNMay 19, 2014
its retail what do you expect. you have a rotating schedule and answer to a tds report guy somewhere in neverland.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Replensihment (Former Employee), Jackson, MIMay 19, 2014
I enjoy working for this company, I just really wish you earned more an hour and worked more hours a week. Working here has strengthened my customer service skills
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
lead cashier (Former Employee), Gainesville, VAMay 12, 2014
I learned how to work a cashier and how to deal with the public
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A nice place to work.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Fairfield, CAMay 8, 2014
Pros: pleasant work environment.
Cons: low pay.
Cleaning the floral department. Stocking merchandise. Helping customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Proactive and nice place to work.
Cake Decorator Instructor (Current Employee), Waynesville, NCMay 6, 2014
Pros: nice fellow employees
Cons: not enough student sign ups.
I like working with the employees and interacting with the customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work for young adults without responsibilities.
Certified Custom Framer/Sales Associate/Cashier (Current Employee), Henrico, VAMay 3, 2014
Pros: everyone is really nice! they are very welcoming to new comers. the store managers, supervisors, and district managers really have the employees best interest at heart.
Cons: very poor scheduling, new hires may see 4 hours one week or 8 hours the next but don't expect a lot, you can go days at a time without working, personally i think that if they realize you have too many hours they call and cut your shift, also i don't see how many of the workers with households to maintain are making a living, the pay is not all that great
I really enjoy working for Michaels! As a young adult without responsibilities, the pay is "okay" but not exactly what I expected for the position I work in.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Cashier (Former Employee), Rancho Cucamonga, CaMay 3, 2014
All the coworkers were friendly and helped me as much they could. Christmas time is hard there tho, as the customers are very rude.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
We don't get to have fun.
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Blue Springs, MOMay 3, 2014
Pros: it is a job.
Cons: rarely get a break, and when we have worked 6 hour shifts we get 30 min lunch, we rarely get 6 hours so we don't get a lunch break, they don't work enough people on a shift.
I have always enjoyed working and always gotten good reviews. We have gone through four managers since I came to work in KC. That is never a good situation and all co-workers not pleased with their job. There isn't a hard part to the job. I don't like to climb the tall ladder because of my age and most are young H S or College students. I have made – more... some nice friends but we don't socialize out side of work day. I am not getting enough hours and the pay is low and we only know our schedule one week in advance. This week I work Tues 9-3:30 and Thurs 9-3:30. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun place to work,
Replenishment Associate (Current Employee), Springfield, ILMay 1, 2014
Pros: co-workers, customers, management will work with you
Cons: low pay, small raises
Always busy with something needing to be done. Down stocking and building new planograms constantly. Management works with you, as long as you work with them. Pay is not so good, small raises. The hardest part of the job is learning where things are at in the store, but that's pretty simple. Co-workers are the best part of this job, and helping the – more... customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Cashier/Stocker (Former Employee), Greenville, SCApril 30, 2014
A typical day at work would include stocking merchandise, and being on the sales floor. Also checking customers out.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
customer service
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Grafton, WIApril 27, 2014
Pros: employee discount
Cons: to much contradiction between managers and corporate
All of my day is spent interacting with the customers, making sure their needs are met and they know about our products. Ringing up customers purchases and also restocking product.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An okay place to work.
Replenishment Manager (Current Employee), Monaca, PAApril 26, 2014
Pros: discounts and family and employees days
Cons: health benefits
A typical day for me at Michaels would start at 5am, opening the store and then getting my crew of employees in to their routines for their shifts. I have learned to be a team leader and work in all areas of the store. My co-workers are all very easy to work with and get along with. The hardest part of the job is the never seems to be enough time in – more... the day to get things done, but we do get them done. The most enjoyable part the job is, I Love what I do, and I like working and helping customers and other employees. Management is always changing with Michaels no Manager stays in anyone store for more than 3 years, they are always being moved from store to store. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy and Fun
Front End Supervisor/Product Flow Coordinator (Former Employee), Texarkana, TXApril 24, 2014
Loved getting to know everyone here. If you are a crafty person, this is a great job for you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's great
Operations Coordinator - Flow (Current Employee), Jacksonville, FLApril 23, 2014
Pros: benefits
It's great. I love the job but just looking for a change.It's great. I love the job but just looking for a change.It's great. I love the job but just looking for a change.It's great. I love the job but just looking for a change.It's great. I love the job but just looking for a change.It's great. I love the job but just looking for a change.It's great. – more... I love the job but just looking for a change. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
So fun!
Cashier, seasonal stock/sales associate (Former Employee), Austin, TXApril 19, 2014
Love arts and crafts, this job allows me to apply my hobbies into the workplace, happy employees
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment
Cashier (Former Employee), Chesterfield, MIApril 17, 2014
Hectic times around the holidays, but overall a nice place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy fun work place
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXApril 16, 2014
Great job to have just starting out, simple and easygoing environment.

About Michaels

Michaels Stores is crafty. The nation's #1 arts and crafts retailer owns and operates¬†about 1,075 Michaels Stores across the US – Read more