Find companies:
Michaels
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
380 reviews

Michaels Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
michaels arts & crafts
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Evergreen Park, ILOctober 9, 2014
Pros: meet cool people, one hour lunch break, offered some overtime
Cons: minimum pay
You meet awesome people who are easy to work with. You are offered overtime if someone calls off or cant take a shift. If you are an artsy crafty kind of person you will enjoy working here. You learn the store quickly which helps you In the long run. You also get a chance to host kids birthday parties and do arts and crafts with them. Classes are offered – more... here if interested in jewelry making, wilton cake decorating, crocheting, kids club, art, and scrapbooking all classes are free for employees to take. Only thing I disliked was the pay rate its only minimum pay. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good first job.
Replenishment/Customer service (Former Employee), Augusta, MEOctober 8, 2014
Pros: fun people to work with
Cons: short breaks, hours, management being late
I was on the replenishment team. A typical day at work included getting to work at 4am to replenish shelves. I learned how to work with a team. Management was ok. While I worked there, there were more than one days when the shift manager was more than 45 minutes late. I liked all of my co-workers. The hardest part of the job was the hours. The most – more... enjoyable part of the job was when the store opened and we could assist customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Replenishment associate (Current Employee), San Jose, CAOctober 3, 2014
I only work three hours a week unloading the truck and stocking shelves. I hate the hours 3 am to 6 am but because of the my co-workers it makes going to work fun
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Evergreen Park, ILOctober 2, 2014
This will be the best job you could have. The pay is not a lot but you will have a great time at work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
typical routine job
Customer Experience Associate (Former Employee), Towson, MDSeptember 25, 2014
Nothing much to say just a laid-back kind of work environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great part-time job
Jewelry teacher/ instructor. (Current Employee), Lewis Center, OHSeptember 24, 2014
They always were good about working around my school schedule and giving me days off when I needed them. Best retail place I have ever worked at. The customers really make me like my job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was ok
Nail Technician (Former Employee), Centerville, OHSeptember 23, 2014
the manager and boss are very rude people. but the other people i worked with i loved and i loved being able to help people and help them relax after a long stressful day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast and fun work environment
Operations Manager (Former Employee), Trussville, ALSeptember 22, 2014
Pros: great people, good benefits
Cons: stock room and break room were both very warm
I never regretted going to work. I absolutely loved it! From the customers, to the associates, managers and store manager to the district manager, they all were like family. I have found so many ways to figure things out and how to solve any problem that arose, so there wasn't anything negative or hard about my job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace
Sales Associate (Former Employee), West Covina, CASeptember 20, 2014
I was a seasonal worker for Michaels. I love the store and was very excited to have worked for them. The store during the holidays is very packed and crowded. I did enjoy the busy atmosphere. The hardest part of the job was the ads. I was not told anything about the ads and how they worked into the sales. Yes it is common sense, but I was expected to – more... have just figured it out myself instead of teaching me the proper way to understand and use the ads. The most enjoyable part of the job was seeing how creative people can be. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Honey Baked Ham Company was exciting at the holidays.
Customer Service-Front End (Current Employee), Boca Raton, FLSeptember 8, 2014
I enjoyed my tenure with Honey Baked Ham. I learned many things about managing people fro my District Supervisor.
I loved the time I was at Honey Baked Ham.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love it
Cashier (Former Employee), Phoenix,AZSeptember 3, 2014
Pros: awesome store associate discount
Cons: poor hours
Let me first start off by saying my hours were awful! And that is one of the reasons why I had to leave. However, this job was fun and I enjoyed it over all, especially for it being my first job ever. The store always smells awesome however after being there for so long, I grew blind to it.
It is clear no matter where you work you are going to run into – more... problem customers and the customers I had to deal with were always upset over coupons. Working here, I learned that people will cause scenes, whine and argue to get there way. It was extremely irritating but over all I enjoyed the job. Cashiering was so fun! And the environment and my co-workers also made the job fun too. As employees we all had walkie-talkies, and that was another fun part of the job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A productive workplace
Cashier (Current Employee), Manhattan, NYAugust 28, 2014
The people are nice and fun to work with. Its a great environment to work in.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quotas!
Stockperson (Former Employee), Avon, CTAugust 27, 2014
Pros: early hours
Cons: pay, cut down on hours.
This was okay for a part time job while going to school.
If the sales quota wasn't made from the day before they would call you and tell you not to come in for work so they could save money.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chaotic
Replenishment/Cashier/Floor SAles (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLAugust 20, 2014
Rode my bike to work at 2am to make it there by 3am to unload truck. rain or shine (replenishment position)
Trained myself for Floor Sales and Cashier assistance.
Managers were unorganized, too personal, not professional.
Co-Workers were always calling out, not being a team, lazy when at work.
Hardest part was surviving on 1 day of work a week. When – more... I was the hardest working employee while juggling college and supporting some family which was starting to hit my savings account.

I Enjoyed every single compliment I got from my managers and Customers and that's what kept my drive going because it defiantly was not the money. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good part-time job while it lasted
Sales Floor Associate (Former Employee), Costa Mesa, CAAugust 18, 2014
Pros: light & enjoyable atmosphere, friendly patrons and coworkers
Cons: inconsistent management, no formal job training
Customer service was a priority at Michaels, and I have been told both by customers and managers that I was good at it, being very friendly, energetic, and helpful with customers. Besides assisting customers, most of my duties consisted of organizing shelves in a neat and presentable manner, or otherwise taking inventory of the products. Co-workers – more... were very friendly and helpful in assisting me to get established as well, however, management was rather inconsistent. Not long after I was hired, a new manager took over, and I was never given the formal training to become a permanent employee, and was eventually let go because of it, unfortunately. The toughest part of the job was probably the tedium of the closing hours, when the duties were confined to the somewhat dull tasks of inventory and organization. However, during the daytime when customers frequented, assisting patrons with their various arts and crafts projects was enjoyable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
okay job for student
Sales Floor Associate (Current Employee), Fresno, CAAugust 13, 2014
typical day at work would be just giving good customer service, helping out the cashiers when the line gets long. Returning unpurchased items to proper locations. Management can be rough sometimes, on occasion treat workers rudely. Theres nothing too hard about the job. Most enjoyable part of the job is working with others who make the work "fun" or – more... enjoyable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Waiter (Former Employee), Ravenna, KYAugust 10, 2014
Waited tables and cleaned up afterwards. But the boss was a jerk
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was okay
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Kissimmee, FLAugust 9, 2014
Everything was fine until I moved and then i was treated poorly for not being able to be on call 24/7 and my commute was too long. No one worked with me on being able to transfer
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learned alot
Manager (Former Employee), Orlando FloridaAugust 6, 2014
Pros: learned hoe to deal with the pulnic
Cons: durnk people and dealing with them
It was great experience, and I had the opportunity to get my own establishment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, hard working, and well going job.
Cashier (Former Employee), Royal Palm Beach, FLAugust 5, 2014
My typical day at work was when my manager told me that I'm doing great the reason why for the complement is that I just started working for them and they never seen anyone remembering the the items in the store so quickly.What I learn is to have fast past when working and to do multiple things at the same time.

About Michaels

Michaels Stores is crafty. The nation's #1 arts and crafts retailer owns and operates about 1,075 Michaels Stores across the US – Read more