Find companies:
Michaels
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
367 reviews

Michaels Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Management
Arts and Crafts Department Manager (Former Employee), Calgary, AbertaJune 16, 2012
People I worked with were great. Management on the other hand, were poorly managed. People were being let go every time I turned around and became one of them. Turns out, they were going under..
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great for creative people
manager (Current Employee), South Gate, CAOctober 28, 2014
Fast passed and fun people to work with, great for students flexible schedule.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible, Team based
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee), Clifton Park, NYOctober 24, 2014
Pros: employee discounts
There are many friendly employee's at Michael's. There are two different shifts day and over night replenishment, giving people the option to pick a schedule that suits their lifestyle. It is also encouraged that each employee works with one another. For example if a cashier needs a price tag to scan an item they can call for another employee to retrieve – more... it. When employee's rely on one another it builds our team and effort. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Checkout Operator (Current Employee), Warner Robins, GAOctober 22, 2014
Pros: early hours
Cons: not enough hours
This has been a great place to work. The people are fun and helpful. I have learned more about how to increase sales by suggesting more items for their purchase or project.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A people caring environment
Director of Training and Development (Former Employee), Dallas, TXOctober 21, 2014
The place where people shop for the hobbies and holidays. Always enjoyable to help customers who are shopping for fun
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Social environment with friendly coworkers
Support Specialist (Current Employee), Veira, FlOctober 16, 2014
Pros: a position of responsibility
Cons: part-time
As a support specialist I am responsible for preparing and verifying in-store funds, bank deposits, and price changes on a daily basis. Maintaining payroll and associate files, and assisting associates in resolving payroll issues were included in my responsibilities, as well as, processing out bound shipments, updating merchandise pricing, and providing – more... excellent customer service. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok workplace, weekends off.
Stocker (Former Employee), Carson City, NVOctober 14, 2014
Pros: weekends off
Cons: not enough hours, not able to advance
Walk in/clock in unload freight truck sort freight into different departments put freight away and over stock, clean up and go home.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun and productive
Replenishment Associate (Former Employee), Stroudsburg, PAOctober 10, 2014
I had a amazing boss in Cathy, and had no complaints at all working here. The pay rate, as in most retail companies, was not up to par though. Barely above minimum wage.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
michaels arts & crafts
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Evergreen Park, ILOctober 9, 2014
Pros: meet cool people, one hour lunch break, offered some overtime
Cons: minimum pay
You meet awesome people who are easy to work with. You are offered overtime if someone calls off or cant take a shift. If you are an artsy crafty kind of person you will enjoy working here. You learn the store quickly which helps you In the long run. You also get a chance to host kids birthday parties and do arts and crafts with them. Classes are offered – more... here if interested in jewelry making, wilton cake decorating, crocheting, kids club, art, and scrapbooking all classes are free for employees to take. Only thing I disliked was the pay rate its only minimum pay. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good first job.
Replenishment/Customer service (Former Employee), Augusta, MEOctober 8, 2014
Pros: fun people to work with
Cons: short breaks, hours, management being late
I was on the replenishment team. A typical day at work included getting to work at 4am to replenish shelves. I learned how to work with a team. Management was ok. While I worked there, there were more than one days when the shift manager was more than 45 minutes late. I liked all of my co-workers. The hardest part of the job was the hours. The most – more... enjoyable part of the job was when the store opened and we could assist customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Replenishment associate (Current Employee), San Jose, CAOctober 3, 2014
I only work three hours a week unloading the truck and stocking shelves. I hate the hours 3 am to 6 am but because of the my co-workers it makes going to work fun
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Evergreen Park, ILOctober 2, 2014
This will be the best job you could have. The pay is not a lot but you will have a great time at work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
typical routine job
Customer Experience Associate (Former Employee), Towson, MDSeptember 25, 2014
Nothing much to say just a laid-back kind of work environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great part-time job
Jewelry teacher/ instructor. (Current Employee), Lewis Center, OHSeptember 24, 2014
They always were good about working around my school schedule and giving me days off when I needed them. Best retail place I have ever worked at. The customers really make me like my job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was ok
Nail Technician (Former Employee), Centerville, OHSeptember 23, 2014
the manager and boss are very rude people. but the other people i worked with i loved and i loved being able to help people and help them relax after a long stressful day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast and fun work environment
Operations Manager (Former Employee), Trussville, ALSeptember 22, 2014
Pros: great people, good benefits
Cons: stock room and break room were both very warm
I never regretted going to work. I absolutely loved it! From the customers, to the associates, managers and store manager to the district manager, they all were like family. I have found so many ways to figure things out and how to solve any problem that arose, so there wasn't anything negative or hard about my job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace
Sales Associate (Former Employee), West Covina, CASeptember 20, 2014
I was a seasonal worker for Michaels. I love the store and was very excited to have worked for them. The store during the holidays is very packed and crowded. I did enjoy the busy atmosphere. The hardest part of the job was the ads. I was not told anything about the ads and how they worked into the sales. Yes it is common sense, but I was expected to – more... have just figured it out myself instead of teaching me the proper way to understand and use the ads. The most enjoyable part of the job was seeing how creative people can be. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Honey Baked Ham Company was exciting at the holidays.
Customer Service-Front End (Current Employee), Boca Raton, FLSeptember 8, 2014
I enjoyed my tenure with Honey Baked Ham. I learned many things about managing people fro my District Supervisor.
I loved the time I was at Honey Baked Ham.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love it
Cashier (Former Employee), Phoenix,AZSeptember 3, 2014
Pros: awesome store associate discount
Cons: poor hours
Let me first start off by saying my hours were awful! And that is one of the reasons why I had to leave. However, this job was fun and I enjoyed it over all, especially for it being my first job ever. The store always smells awesome however after being there for so long, I grew blind to it.
It is clear no matter where you work you are going to run into – more... problem customers and the customers I had to deal with were always upset over coupons. Working here, I learned that people will cause scenes, whine and argue to get there way. It was extremely irritating but over all I enjoyed the job. Cashiering was so fun! And the environment and my co-workers also made the job fun too. As employees we all had walkie-talkies, and that was another fun part of the job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A productive workplace
Cashier (Current Employee), Manhattan, NYAugust 28, 2014
The people are nice and fun to work with. Its a great environment to work in.

About Michaels

Michaels Stores is crafty. The nation's #1 arts and crafts retailer owns and operates¬†about 1,075 Michaels Stores across the US – Read more