Find companies:
Michaels Arts and Crafts
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
201 reviews

Michaels Arts and Crafts Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Michaels Arts and Crafts is not an ideal workplace
Michaels Asscociate (Former Employee), Sarnia OntarioSeptember 8, 2014
Pros: clean work environment
Cons: management
At Michaels Arts and Crafts you deal with angry and grumpy customers on a daily basis. Michaels has very strict rules and policies that complicate everyday work. You will learn that if you are not friends with management you will be not favoured and constantly be told you have done something wrong. However, aside from management, co-workers are friendly – more... and helpful. Having a job on the floor you are expected to keep work environment clean and tend to customers needs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you like arts and crafts, this is a nice place to work
General sales, Floor associate (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABJune 9, 2014
Pros: lots of product to learn about, very flexible working hours
Cons: very low pay, can get boring quickly
Fairly good place to work. A nice discount on art supplies comes with working here.
Working the floor can get very dull, but flexible hours are great for people with busy lives.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A super fun place to work, but you never know if you're going anywhere.
Framer (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJune 3, 2014
Pros: lunchrooms, laid back junior management, no pressure.
Cons: terrible holiday hours. too easy to get written up.
I loved working for Michaels. 90% of the employees are fantastic people who love what they do, and really enjoy helping people. The other 10% make you not want to come to work. The management always appear to be very busy, so it is difficult to address problems or concerns with them. Sometimes when you do a really good job, someone will actually notice, – more... and let you know. The hardest part of my job was not saying anything rude to certain people who thought they could do my job better than me. I was written up 3 times for things I didn't do, so the higher management needs to take a better look at their lower management. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail focused business
MANAGER IN TRAINING (Former Employee), London, ONApril 30, 2014
Pros: added more skills to portfolio
Cons: store only accomodated a certain customer base
-different tasks for every day of the week
-trained to do custom framing which I found extremely enjoyable
-train and educate team members on diverse skills and applications
-relaxed place to work
-everyone usually kept to themselves because of the abundant workload
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
framing manager
Framing manager (Former Employee), calgarySeptember 17, 2013
Pros: helping with the choices of the frames etc. and seeing all kinds of different art
Cons: long hrs on your feet
helping customers pick frames and matts for thier art
I learned a lot about framing how to frame. stretching canvace
Management wasn't in the framing shop much
co-worker for the most part were fun to work with
making sure the fames and matts were measured to the right size was both the hardest and the most enjoyable part of the job. Seeing
the finished – more... product – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Absolutely appalling
customer experience (Former Employee), prince george, bcApril 7, 2013
Pros: a few employees were ok
Cons: everything else.
Michaels was the absolute worst working experience of my life. The management was horrendous, treating its employees like slaves and actually breaking several labor laws. Employees are expected to do everything for minimum pay and are treated as criminals, forced to wait to leave work despite being off the clock while the managers searched their bags/purses. – more... Hours were poor and the upper management would cut everyone else's hours to maintain their steady pay. Awful policies were in place and you would be punished for not talking to customers even if you had already spoke with them; it only mattered if you did it in front of the manager. There was no incentives and many would freeload off the work of the few like myself who actually tried. Any promotion prospects they tell you about are basically lies. However some of the employees were Ok. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable Occupation
Seasonal Sales Associate (Former Employee), Richmond, BCJanuary 21, 2013
Working at Michael's was an over all enjoyable learning experience. A typical day at work would include working the floor and ensuring each customer found the exact product they were looking for and got the assistance they needed. It also included working the cash register and recovery of merchandise (returning products to their rightful place.) The – more... managers were over all pretty helpful although I did have to learn nearly everything on my own. My co-workers were extremely respectful and helpful towards me and were much appreciated. I would say the "hardest" part of the job would be standing out your feet for long periods of times or trying to find a product that is very scarce. The most enjoyable part would be the atmosphere and the people; coming to a place you enjoy being at and doing work that you are confident in. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun place to work
Store Manager (Former Employee), Saint JohnJuly 5, 2012
Pros: pride in my work
Cons: location
I loved working for Michaels. I loved the management team, the creative custoemrs and the fantastic team of associates.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting and always learning something new.
Lead Sales Associate (Former Employee), Grande Prairie, ABJune 16, 2012
A typical day at work would involve morning meetings to hear our previous days achiements and our daily goals. Michaels was always a continous learning store with multiple crafts and all the different techniques customers used for their crafts. The management, as well as, the staff were all great to work with all the time. This job in general was a – more... rewarding and fun experience. The hardest part of the job would have to be when you couldn't give a discount to schools or organizations in need. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work.
Art Instructor (Former Employee), Rutland, VTNovember 28, 2014
Pros: i love art.
Cons: i never had the chance to fully use my talent and was treated unfairly.
The management is the biggest problem there. I was scheduled, then told that the class was, "cancelled." The pay was unfair, the projects expected of me were not clearly defined, the atmosphere was depressing and there was no communication between management and employees whatsoever.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to merchandise
Merchandiser (Current Employee), Victorville, CANovember 26, 2014
Pros: merchandising a store i love shopping at
Cons: hours are less than part time
The days that I do work were fun. I enjoy all aspects of my job. All co workers are very good team players respectful and fun to work with. The most enjoyable part of my job is after unloading of truck is putting away the merchandise. Love the smells of the store
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nationwide Craft Store Chain
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Santa Rosa, CANovember 13, 2014
Tell us about:

a typical day at work
what you learned
management
your co-workers
the hardest part of the job
the most enjoyable part of the job
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Michaels
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Madison, TNOctober 29, 2014
Started as a seasonal cashier and ended my time here as a support specialist.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place depending on manager
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Huntington, NYOctober 28, 2014
Pros: co workers, events
Cons: managers, hours, work ethic
Starting off, it was a great job, loved it. Time went by, managers left and work ethic decreased drastically. Shrink rose, Hours decreased and the job was just not fun anymore.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad place to work at.
Replenishment Associate (Current Employee), Humble, TXOctober 12, 2014
Pros: team effort and co-workers
Cons: waking up very early and not many hours.
Typical day is going in and working hard as a team. Good managers and awesome co-workers. Hardest part is waking up very early to work. Most enjoyable part of this job for me is the co-workers I have.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and creative workplace
Front End Supervisor (Former Employee), Atlanta, GASeptember 30, 2014
Working in an arts and crafts store allows you to let your creativity run free. You are able to help customers with their projects and get employee discounts of projects of your own.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job, Unreliable hours
Customer Service (Former Employee), Chino Hills, CASeptember 27, 2014
Pros: great coworkers, understanding manager
Cons: short breaks, no hours
Maintain clean isles and keeping customers happy
Unreliable hours due to high amounts of employees and lack of business.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience
Senior Custom Framer (Former Employee), Bridgewater, NJSeptember 26, 2014
Great place to advance, I could have gone further if I had stayed with the company longer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Jewelry Associate (Former Employee), Henderson, NVSeptember 26, 2014
Pros: great product
Cons: poor management
No flexibility and the management team did not communicate.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Open store,fill out dailly schedule,assign duties,morning meeting,plan upcoming projects
General Store Manager (Former Employee), Tampa, FLSeptember 24, 2014
Pros: fun atmosphere, leading the team, achieving goals, limited managing from my boss
Cons: not much freedom for pursuing local merch.opportunities.
Open store,review e-mails for changed priorities,filled out daily schedule board,assigned registers , dept duties,and breaks and lunches.Reviewed next weeks projects and assigned duties according to budgets.Reviewed salary bugets and made adjustments to achieve salary percent goals.Walked sales floor with dept mgrs. and asst.mgr to check progress of – more... ongoing projects and to ensure display and merchandising in stocks are up to standards.Verified bank deposits and reviewed cash handling procedures were being followed per procedures.Walked sales floor during prime time sales activity to assist with customer service and to observe staff to identify outstanding behavior and identify any training issues.Walked sales foor with closing mgr,reviewed the days progress and assigned closing priorities.Worked with a fun creative hard working staff ,created a team that did what it took to get the job done. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Michaels Arts and Crafts

Michaels Stores is crafty. The nation's #1 arts and crafts retailer owns and operates¬†about 1,075 Michaels Stores across the US – Read more