Find companies:
Michael Kors
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
116 reviews

Michael Kors Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive but not strong in advancement
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee), DC Metro AreaMay 1, 2014
Pros: learned alot
Cons: no advancement
I learned a lot about management and managing people. Sometimes hard to make goals because they are subjective and made by store managers whim. The company play favorites and is not always great at advancing those that deserve it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work environment, with team cooperation
Sales Assistant (Current Employee), Paramus, NJApril 24, 2014
Very great company to work for. Every employee worked together to achieve tasks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, busy
STOCK MANAGER, RUNNER, CASHIER (Former Employee), Denver, COApril 22, 2014
Pros: allotment, store discount, clients
Cons: lack of respect internally
accept shipment and process, shift stock room, inventory control and store transfers, help customers on really busy days, build client relations,
co workers happy for the most part
store manager on power trip.
hardest part was dealing with lack of respect for employees
the most enjoyable was working with the rest of the staff on floor sets
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Staff
Sales (Former Employee), Houston, TXApril 16, 2014
Loved the people I worked with and would definitely work with this company again.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Michael Kors Sales Associate
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Lawrenceville, NJApril 9, 2014
· Maintain knowledge of companies’ products, marketing programs, and promotions.
· Partner with store manager to offer a positive customer service environment.
· Exceptionally self-motivated and great ability to work on own initiative.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace, Great employees, educational
Order Entry Specialist (Former Employee), East Rutherford, NJApril 6, 2014
Pros: free parking
Cons: hires for temp work
Day 1 was physical filing according to client orders.

Everyday job consisted of entering bulk orders by season for their clients such as Ross Stores, Nieman Marcus, Lord & Taylor and Macys.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Lead Cashier (Current Employee), City of Sunrise, FLApril 3, 2014
Pros: managers are very helpful and flexible when scheduling work hours with school hours.
Cons: part timers don't get as much benefits as a full timer.
Working at Michael Kors has perfected my customer service skills by a lot. I was also exposed to leadership where I had the opportunity to look over the cash wrap as well as assist the manager and make sure my coworkers are completing their tasks. I was able to learn and speak Portuguese while communicating with our customers who were mostly from Brazil. – more... The work environment at MK is fun and everyone is treated equally. The most enjoyable part of this job is meeting people from different countries. Interacting with customers is great and I've been able to learn so much about different countries just by having a conversation. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail environment, different experiences
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Houston, TXApril 1, 2014
Pros: rewarding, flexible hours
Cons: short breaks, long meetings, competitive
-Styling clients
-Meeting new people
-Creating and maintaining relationships with clients
-Competition between co-workers for commission
-Love when I can find the perfect item for my client
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was just a part time job i needed money to help out my family.
Packer/ shipping (Former Employee), Whitter, CAMarch 28, 2014
Pros: meet new people
Cons: the hours
Working at michael kors i earned how to label, pack and do shipping. My co-workers were fun and cooperative.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management
Retail Sales Specialist (Current Employee), Houston, TXMarch 26, 2014
Pros: great people
Cons: communication with teams would be nice.
It's a job. I really love interpersonal relationships with the customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Driven Managment Team, but lacks Development for Upper Mangment
Client Retention Manager (Current Employee), New York, NYMarch 17, 2014
Pros: fun work enviorment, challenging, complementry clothes
Cons: inability to retain top talent, lack of development for upper managment
A typical day at work is coming in and ensuring that both back and front of house is sound. Once the operations is completed, I ensure that all employees are "floor ready". Also, I conduct a walk thru of the store and deliver product knowledge with all the associates so that they are empowered when conducting the "Michael Kors Selling Ceremony". Furthermore, – more... I touch base with each sales associate to support them on their client retention goals.Lastly, I review and confirm any task that need to be completed for all upcoming in store events.

Since working at Michael Kors, I have learned to be patient and not assume that everyone processes information the same. I have learned that in order to be successful in management it is important to achieve the staff's trust, remain composed and to lead with results. It has become evident, wayward thinking guides me through some of the toughest challenges. Moreover, I have also learned how to analyze the business using qualitative and quantitative data.

Management at Michael Kors is composed of 8 including myself. We are each responsible for a department in the store, for me Ready-to-Wear and Shoes, and we are to increase that specific business. We support each others focus by constantly communicating our department goals, challenges and successes.

The hardest part of my job is training. Because Michael Kors hires candidates with little or no luxury retail training it seems their talent lacks the basics of customer service (ie. client book, retention,conduct and selling techniques.) Changing the culture is the most challenging because Michael Kors continues to hire inexperienced candidates who are more transactional then client focused. The most enjoyable part of the job is when an individual finally comprehends the Michael Kors' selling culture and they excel in their role. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Incredible learning experience!
Editorial Intern (Current Employee), New York, NYMarch 16, 2014
My experience with Michael Kors has been incredibly educational. Every day I gain hands-on experience and valuable industry knowledge through my involvement in both daily and long-term projects, competitive analyses, research, editing, pitching, copywriting for social media and the Destination Kors site, and even more. Not only has Michael Kors given – more... me the opportunity to explore and improve my writing skills, but it has also given me the opportunity to collaborate, work, and thrive with a team. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Sales associate (Former Employee), Sacramento, CAMarch 9, 2014
Pros: able to make own schedule
Cons: weekends are mandatory
It was an honor working here. I loved helping customers and having a laugh or two with coworkers. The atmosphere is fun and energetic. Hardest part of the job was black friday and retail hours which can sometimes be very random and hard to work around.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and enjoyable work enviroment
Retail Sales Associate (Current Employee), San Marcos, TXMarch 6, 2014
Working with many people of different race, religion and ethnicity has taught me respect for them because we are different. I have been given the opportunity to speak my second language which has enabled me to help non English speaking customers and give them the service they deserve. I enjoy a working position that keeps me busy or that allows me to – more... help beyond my duties. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place to work
Sales associate (Current Employee), Houston, TXMarch 6, 2014
Pros: get to eat anywhere, and order take outs
Cons: short breaks, healthcare, etc.
It gets very busy, but you must have to approach each costumer to make sure they are being helped. I have learned that its not about who sells the most items, or who approaches the most costumers. It is about teamwork and working together to understand who your costumer really is as a person, and how you can maintain a healthy relationship with them – more... so they are guaranteed to come back. The hardest part of the job was making sure the sales floor was still maintained, neat and well organized as well as helping your costumer. The part i enjoyed most was interacting with my costumers, getting to know them, and seeing them come in on a daily basis. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Retail Development Manager (Current Employee), Jersey City, NJFebruary 18, 2014
Pros: ability to make your own schedule
Cons: weekends are mandatory
Working for Michael Kors is an honor. They are the #1 leading retail brand in the country.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fabulous,
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Commerce, CAFebruary 16, 2014
Pros: good employee discount, fabulous work environment
Cons: short breaks, little space for employees
Interaction with customers, must always be engaging and going through "michael moments."
Management has their duties in operations, so not so much of a presence on the floor.
co-workers have great chemistry and work very hard every day.
hardest part of the job i the long periods of time of just having to constantly be engaging. Nothing is necessarily – more... difficult about being a sales associate though. Most enjoyable part of my job is being able to work for my favorite brand and convincing others as to why it's the best choice.I work hard for my clients overall. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work with the right co-workers!
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Miami, FLFebruary 7, 2014
Cons: didn't know scheduling for the next week until saturdays and the week starts sundays.
I love working here! A typical day is helping customers and having a laugh or two with coworkers. The atmosphere is fun and energetic. The management is amazing as well as are my co-workers. Hardest part of the job was black friday and retail hours which can sometimes be very random and hard to work around.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Sauce !
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Limerick, PAJanuary 25, 2014
Pros: discount 50% off
Very Competitive but i love the friendly competition!
Your are expected to sell with your own personal selling goals and engage with the customers. Overall it is a team effort and the managers were very hands on with intercating, and selling as well.

Adding on wallets and key chain to a $500 bag sell was easy! because the management team was great – more... and all my co- workers were AWESOME! Although i only worked there seasonal i enjoyed it so much! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Sales Associate Wholesale (Current Employee), LondonJanuary 17, 2014
I am a self-motivated and enthusiastic candidate with excellent communication and IT skills. I am articulate and personable with the ability to work both on my own and as part of a team. I am ideally looking for a dynamic role, in a forward-thinking environment where I will have the opportunity to progress and develop. I have great attention to detail – more... and a creative flair along with excellent experience which I hope to utilise in a future position. – less

About Michael Kors

Michael Kors dresses the stars, both real and imagined. The company designs, distributes, and sells high-fashion apparel, footwear, – Read more

Michael Kors Photos