Michael Hill Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful Experience
Supervisor/Team Leader (Former Employee) –  British Columbia15 November 2017
This was my worst job yet. First of all the manager was young (which is fine) but he was not prepared to be a manager. He would constantly leave the store and then get mad when we weren't doing something right, yet he was never there to show us. Then there was the district manager who when I handed in my resignation, she acted like a child and instantly crossed out the rest of my shifts for the next two weeks. What kind of grown women acts like this? I was so offended but still finished that day, which ended up being my last day returned my key and never went back. The most unprofessional mannerisms I've ever encountered, I even had to go to the labour board to get my last two weeks pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and great workplace for business minded individuals. goal setting and achieving targets, coaching and building talent within your team.
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Surrey, BC22 September 2017
Fun and great workplace for business minded individuals. goal setting and achieving targets, coaching and building talent within your team. conducting daily meetings, weekly/daily coaching sessions. analyzing P&L providing reporting and measurable forecasting for RM and CEO. Growth is measured within the ability of leadership and Teamwork.
Pros
lucrative bonus structures, Great reward structure
Cons
high turnover
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stifling
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB14 September 2017
there is no place for creativity or thinking outside the box the merchandising is rigid the hours are long they expect you to work through breaks frown on you going to the bathroom
Cons
long hours no rewards
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun people to work with
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB31 July 2017
I learned a lot about jewellery like the difference between gold and silver and all other types of diamonds. I worked there during Christmas and it showed me how much people care about each other and it made me really happy to see customers happy with what they bought.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Sales Professional (Current Employee) –  Rocky View, AB26 July 2017
I love working here! I have met some pretty amazing people being here! I love my team and the atmosphere and how flexible my manager is! He treats me like I'm an equal with him which is the one thing that I really like about working with him, We are all fun dynamic team that customers love coming into see us.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON17 July 2017
Excellent with so many opportunities to go higher in management. Great hours even though it was seasonal. it was an amazing experience working for them
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ethics and values not in place
Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ON28 June 2017
Management just look the other way as long as you getting the numbers, doesn't matter how..
First time meeting the CEO expecting some wisdom, inspiring words.
and he said:" If you don't meet the sales targets you don't deserve to be here"
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can be a fun place to work but extremely demanding that results a compromise of life/work balance.
Sales Professional (Current Employee) –  Metrotown, BC3 June 2017
It is a very good place to work because it provides training for Sales Professionals,But it can also be extremely demanding on weekly sales targets that continues to rise but the bonus and compensation remains the same if not least.
Pros
Free trips .
Cons
Long commute, stress in meeting high weekly targets, demands if higher targets but least bonus and compensation.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demanding and Competitive Workplace
Jewellery Consultant (Current Employee) –  Niagara, ON3 May 2017
It is a comfortable environment to work in, but the job requirements can be stressful and demanding. You must meet weekly sales based on your hours worked but do not receive bonuses or commissions on those sales
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun job
Sales Professional - Part Time (Current Employee) –  Newmarket, ON2 May 2017
As far as retail goes, its a fun place to work. Lots of interesting people. Management is fair and as hardworking as the rest of us. Team atmosphere.
Pros
employee benefits, variety of people
Cons
retail hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Compensation, Self-Interested Leadership
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Southern Ontario1 May 2017
I found many of my managers/peers at Michael Hill to be supportive, motivating and inspiring.

However, a few in upper management seemed to me to be self-interested, ego-driven, and not ethically oriented. This resulted in a stressful working environment.
Pros
Great staff purchase program, good pay for managers
Cons
Hard to make commission for sales pros, ego-driven upper management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible! no ethics !
Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  ON22 April 2017
if you want to advance you cant have ethics, Moral or
values..thats the only way youll get somewhere in that company.

Maybe in Australia where they are from is different but here I wouldn't recommended.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor experience
Sales Professional/Keyholder (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC16 April 2017
Most enjoyable part is the clientele and being part of their special moments.

Compensation is not worth the amount of stress.

Seriously take advantage of their employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place
Sales associate (Former Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON10 April 2017
I loved working at Michael Hill. All employees were so welcoming and fun to work with. I learned a lot of new things about this company compared to previous places I have worked.
Pros
Easy going atmosphere
Cons
sometimes was quiet
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales Focused Culture
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON16 March 2017
- heavy focus on sales targets/metrics
- great camaraderie between teams and stores
- ability to travel and network worldwide
- rapidly growing company
- work/life balance is not a priority
- very little chance to bring your own personality to the scene
Pros
travel for conference/trainings
Cons
long hours expected and next to no work/life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
high pressure
Sales Professional (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB7 March 2017
Very high pressure sales job with super high weekly targets.
Very in depth training program.
nice customers.
Super strict dress code.
Management moves around a lot.
Pros
great discount
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor management
Department store Associate (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB7 March 2017
management was very disorganized - very rude to their employee's - very stressful work place. managers would get mad in front of customers. I love working there because I was good at what I do, however I felt very disrespected working there
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong Culture, Good Pay, Poor Work/Life Balance
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON6 March 2017
Michael Hill is a Decent employer however does have its problems. The pay is generally higher then industry average but then so is the work load. Expectations are VERY high on their staff. This leads to VERY HIGH burn out rates. Most management only survive 2-3 years before quitting or being fired. Culture is very much turn and burn.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Prince George, BC17 February 2017
This is a Nice place to work. There is a Fun atmosphere and Rewarding work. Beautiful product. Training is good, wages are comparable. Overall, few complaints.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Micheal Hill was a great place to work.
Seasonal Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  North Bay Ontario13 February 2017
Micheal Hill Jewelers was a wonderful place to work. A typical day at Michael Hill involved mostly stocking and organizating merchandise. I love looking at pretty things and therefore strive to maintain and/or create it. I was able to apply some of my skills such as dedication, patience and organization with fine detail.
Pros
I had an amazing manager.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Michael Hill. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 113 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.1
Salary/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.2
Culture
3.3