Find companies:
METROLAND MEDIA
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
10 reviews

METROLAND MEDIA Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perfect first job for anyone younger or older.
Paper Carrier (Current Employee), Mississauga, ONApril 21, 2014
Pros: good experience for resumes.
Cons: bad weather.
Great first job to deal with money. Depends on where you deliver papers you may deliver Wednesday, Thursday, and Friday or just Thursdays.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult
PAPER CARRIER (Former Employee), Toronto, ONApril 20, 2014
It was tough getting the newspapers together, and finding the time to deliver them because i would need the help of my parents to pack the papers into the car
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible
Paper Carrier (Former Employee), Oakville, ONMay 28, 2013
Pros: flexible days/hours
Cons: terrible pay, staff, and job security
Terrible Work Environment and Pay
Did not listen to your problems
Would charge $1 a month a house
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
best company i worked for
Metroland Media Auditor (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONMarch 28, 2013
Pros: free lunch, potlogs, switching up the work routine
Cons: very few people working at my station, so the workload was a bit too much
working at metroland was the most rewarding job. my job was to basically call customers on behalf of company to ensure they received their newspaper,however there were days where the manager would switch it up i would print flayers, hire people to deliver the flyers, package the newspaper and get them read, and at times because im an accounting student – more... i would sit and observe how the accounts did real life accounting rather book based at the university. i had great co-workers the only problem was that we were not many, so the workload varied, at times it would more or less. other than that there was nothig i found lacking at metroland media and if it were switching schools i wouldnt have left it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult but Manageable
Newspaper Carrier (Current Employee), Mississauga, ONDecember 19, 2012
Pros: get an income every month
Cons: quite repetitive and annoying
I deliver the papers three times a week which isn't too bad for me. It takes me about an hour to collate the papers on Wednesday and Friday (2 hours on Thursday) Delivering the papers is a half hour on Wednesday and Thursday. Thursday has the most amount of flyers to insert into the paper.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy place
Factory Worker (Current Employee), Smiths Falls, ONNovember 18, 2012
Pros: friendly helpful co workers, good hours
Cons: small wage
nice place to work. people are nice and helpful. the work is repetitive but steady. the wage is too small, some workers work harder than others and are assigned more than one hopper on the machine at a time for the whole 7.5 hrs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good company to gain experience
Production Team Lead (Current Employee), Cambridge, ONOctober 23, 2012
Pros: summer picnic!
Cons: the odd very long day
A good company to learn all about the print industry. Very fast paced environment with short deadlines. A good group of people to work with. Some days are long and tedious. Getting to see your work printed is my favourite part of the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment, with lack of growth potential.
Advertising Account Manager (Current Employee), Oakville, ONMarch 23, 2012
Pros: flexibility
Cons: low compensation in terms of industry-standards, little possibility for growth.
Metroland Media Group is one of Canada's largest media companies, being a subsidiary of TorStar Corp. You would think that with an organization this big growth and advancement opportunities within the company would be mroe readily available and obtainable. Major downsizing and cost-cutting over the last couple of years has left this company devoid of – more... any real growth opportunities within its many divisions.

That said, it has been decent place of employment for the 4 years I have worked here, with no real major complaints. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
low base, no growth unless you kiss a $$
sales (Former Employee), noneApril 27, 2014
Cons: very low salary. unorganized.
Worst media company to work for. Very low salary, management is quite clueless about media trends. This company seems to be moving backwards in the media spectrum. Digital and print properties are archaic.