Metroland Media Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was once a good company but is deteriorating rapidly.
Advertising Sales Executive (Former Employee) –  Burlington, ON16 January 2018
The newspaper business was once a thriving business but the entire industry has taken a complete nosedive. Company is desperate and morale is at it's lowest. Every decision is made to save money rather than expand the business. Management is completely out of touch with current market trends and has unrealistic expectations of their sales staff.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bon really good
Newspaper Carrier (Former Employee) –  Cumberland, ON10 January 2018
Tres bonne entreprise j'ai adorer , je recommande a tout le monde
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Manager (Former Employee) –  London, ON4 January 2018
My personal experience with Metroland Media Group Ltd was outstanding. I enjoyed my time there very much. Extremely fast paced environment and a fantastic team.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Somewhat hard job with horrible pay
Newspaper Carrier (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON1 January 2018
This is a job where the management is very kind and welcoming, but you have to deliver newspapers on Thursdays and Fridays no matter the weather-conditions all this plus horrible pay. After excessive calculations,I found out that I was being paid $2.50 an hour for working in such horrible conditions.
Pros
The management is very kind and welcoming
Cons
Have to deliver no matter the weather-conditions and horrible pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  London, ON30 December 2017
Good people but the job is boring and theres not much room for growth within the company itself. Overall however if you are just there for a paycheck than itll do.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not enough focus on editorial staff
Reporter\photographer (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON30 November 2017
The business model wasn't as effective for the editorial staff as some other organizations I've worked for. The management style varied a lot from region to region and there's not a lot of clear expectations.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was a very fun and productive workplace
Distributor (Former Employee) –  Belleville, ON28 November 2017
outstanding place to work. very flexible shifts and employee benefits. Great people to work with. lots of positive vibes. the company has since closed their doors.
Pros
location was great and people were friendly
Cons
closed down
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for Kids
Paper Carrier (Current Employee) –  Burlington, ON28 November 2017
Paper distributing is a good job for kids, if they work hard they can make lots of tips, I would make almost 500 every two weeks off of two routes. :)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun for first small job
Newspaper Delivery Person (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON16 November 2017
This job is great for people who would like to start working but are too young ( example; under 16) to actually get a “real” job such as McDonald and so on.
Pros
Whenever you want
Cons
Walking a lot
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work with a great way to know your community.
carrier (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON11 November 2017
Working for metro land media involves sorting and distributing store flyers, catalogs, and promotional materials to 150 residences on a designated route.
Pros
Great way to interact with the community.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
immature supervisor
metro land midea paper (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON30 October 2017
I don't approve of this place very rude and very unintelagent immature supervisor and if there is anything I need at this place such as extra bags elastics I would have to wait a while
Pros
nothing
Cons
got paid less then 2 dollars an hour
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of room for advancement
Contributing Writer/Publication Manager (Current Employee) –  Burlington, ON26 October 2017
Individuals who do get in the door with Metroland find that many opportunities are available to them beyond their current position. Training and skill upgrades are available through HR and encouraged by management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice people
Hand delivered over 200 flyers (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON18 October 2017
no problems with the company and the people that I dealt with.
it was work at own pace but with requirements to get the job done by wed,
it was a great workout, my children went with me and enjoyed the time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dedicated employees who want to make a difference
Managing Editor (Former Employee) –  Vaughan, ON17 October 2017
A productive work environment where all staff are afforded the opportunity to make a difference to the communities they report on. High performance standards are often met and supported by management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy to get by and easy paced
Newspaper Carrier (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON28 September 2017
Even though you get to delivery at your own pace and time, it still allows you to learn about yourself and how you work along with the owners of the houses that you deliver to. The hardest part of the job is the environment. The weather is a big factor. It gets darker quicker during colder weather and if you get a long route, you're stuck outside for a good while. The most enjoyable part is the exercise and you can practice your communication skills.
Pros
Exercise, Enhance communication skills
Cons
Stuck in cold weathers
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
slow and painfull
Feeder/ packer (Former Employee) –  Smiths Falls, ON19 September 2017
This job is very slow and boring depending on your position. when working on a hopper all you do is stand there and move papers and the time passes by very slow. Now working back table organzing truck loads and sending them out time tends to pass by faster
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Paper boy
House sitter (Current Employee) –  Oshawa, ON16 September 2017
Well well organized and delivered people on my street their papers every Wednesday and Thursday. This was a very balanced job and did not interrupt my school ability.
Pros
always after school
Cons
alot of houses to remember
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lot of work for not much pay
Newspaper Carrier (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON1 September 2017
My work at Metroland Media was... mediocre. They pay wasn't that great but you could work whenever you felt like on a specific day. But they pay was only about $20 biweekly for delivering newspapers twice a week to 64 houses for me. I wouldn't recommend this job. Is it really legal?
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
Too much work for WAY less than average pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible pay, no benefits. Newspaper carrier, Midland Mirror.
Newspaper Carrier (Former Employee) –  Midland, ON31 August 2017
Alot of slave work for very little pay!!. Takes two hours just to put together 64 flyers and 4 hours just to deliver them, all for a whopping $20 biweekly. No benefits, I would not recommend this job to any adult.
Pros
Free snacks, occasional tip.
Cons
Terrible pay!!
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not great wage. Not the easiest of jobs either.
Newspaper Delivery (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON20 August 2017
Wage was low for the ammount of work required at the position. Sometimes the work was unorganized. Wage benefits were not very substantial. But good for young people looking to work.
Pros
Can be young and work
Cons
Bad wage
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Metroland Media. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 193 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Salary/Benefits
2.9
Job Security/Advancement
2.9
Management
3.1
Culture
3.3