Find companies:
METRO
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
323 reviews

METRO Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to Work
Customer Service / Stocker (Former Employee), Cambridge, ONNovember 18, 2014
Pros: no cons
Cons: lots of hours, and team environment
Metro is an amazing place to work..Customers and staff were awesome to work with
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Cashier (Current Employee), torontoNovember 11, 2014
Pros: good team building
Cons: not enough hours
management at metro is a very understanding team. collectively they bring up employee morale by using the human relations theory of hearing the employees needs and wants.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Warm, productive and enjoyable talking to different people everyday
Customer Service/Cashier, H&S Rep. and Trainer (Current Employee), BramptonNovember 3, 2014
Pros: flexible schedule and times
Cons: lack of communication and minimum wage pay
At work I run the customer service desk which requires assisting customers with their questions, concerns, complaints etc. as well as managing the front-end floor. I need to manage breaks, money deposits, change, cashiers etc. The most enjoyably part of the job would be interacting with different customers each day with different problems etc. that – more... I as the customer service rep. needs to learn to deal with in a professional manner The hardest part of the job would be trying to communicate with everyone around the store to get things done since everyone is on shift work. Co-workers are excellent, friendly and work hard but sometimes they need some direction to fix a problem. I have learned and developed excellent customer service skills, management skills, time management skills, problem solving and interpersonal skills. I have developed further the ability to work as part of a team, in a team oriented environment as well as working alone and being able to manage projects solely such as being the health and safety rep. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard place to work
Sales Clerk (Former Employee), Bracebridge, ONOctober 30, 2014
you were unable to grow with the company and kept dropping hours,
the management was terrible but has sense improved , the most enjoyable part of my job was dealing with customers and the most staff were great to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and a great place to work.
Deli Clerk (Current Employee), Mississauga, ONOctober 28, 2014
This job has helped me grow as a person, being my first job has helped me become more confident in myself. I have also learned great customer service, communication and team working skills. It was a very physical job, I would be lifting up to 60+ lbs. I would have to say the best part of this job would be the friends ive made, and the people I've met.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run well
Deli Clerk (Former Employee), Kingston, ONOctober 28, 2014
Pros: not much
Cons: no incentives at all
So cooking chickens isn't the best job I must admit, but seeing customers everyday was the best part of my job there.
The management was not the best and co-workers depending on who you were working with.
They were pretty flexible with shifts and there were plenty to pick up as well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I did eveything in the meat possible
Meat Manager (Former Employee), NapiervilleOctober 27, 2014
Pros: free luches
I work usually from 7 a.m. till 5 p.m.
I do everything required by the bosses and even more
I love to be a butcher, It`s natural for me It`s in my blood
I can do chickens, pork ,beef, dears, moose,turckeys.
My hobbies are Hunting ad fishing outdoor sports.
LOVE CAMPING AND going to Cuba for my vacation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun to work
Cashier (Current Employee), Toronto, ONOctober 16, 2014
Pros: enjoy working
Cons: nothing to complain
It was very productive and fun. It was great working with a coustomer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work hours and good environment
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), London, ONOctober 6, 2014
Pros: multiple shift opportunities
Cons: working with dejardins financial securty
Metro is a good company to work for.

Good benefits, but all benefits depend on the amoount of hours you put in.

Hours were good, shifts always available. co- workers were fantastic,

Hardest part of the job is standing in one specific spot for long periods of time.

most enjoyable part of the job is communicating with customers that are regular shoppers, – more... and making good relationships with co workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Comfortable pleasant place to work
Floral department manager (Current Employee), Hamilton, ONOctober 6, 2014
Pros: hours are flexible benefits are good
Cons: i would like to work more hours but they are not available
Metro is a nice place to work. The staff are friendly and helpful,and we have a lot of regular customers that have been shopping there for years.

A typical day would be serving customers,watering plants,cleaning ,ordering fresh cut flowers., I have learned that I can manage a department and trust my judgement on what I'm ordering.
Management are easy – more... to talk to and will listen to any concerns.
Co-workers are friendly and helpful.
The hardest part of the job is time.. I wish I had more time to make arrangements for customers to buy.
The most enjoyable part is a satisfied customer, when they walk away happy with their purchase and appreciate the service I have provided. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, high energy, fast paced work environment
Deli Clerk/Customer Service (Current Employee), Bowmanville, ONSeptember 24, 2014
Receiving and stocking product.
Customer service is the main priority of my job as a Deli Clerk/Supervisor at Metro. Ensuring that the team of co-workers are working together and that everyone is completing the tasks for the day.
Working with the public in customer service can be the hardest AND the most enjoyable part of my job. I enjoy helping and – more... talking with customers however, there are times where customer requests and demands can become a challenge. It is my job to find the most effective solution. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive
Deli Clerk (Current Employee), Ottawa, ONSeptember 23, 2014
Pros: bonus air miles
Cons: very busy days
The store has six departments and they all have their own tasks and responsibilities which makes for an easier and organized work setting. Weekdays can be very quiet until around 3pm. Weekends can be extremely busy. The metro that I currently work at is one of the model stores so we constantly get visits from department specialist or even higher management – more... ex CEO/President. The staff in all the six department are great, everyone is very social and easy to work with. The hardest part of work is not having enough staff to work at times due to the amount of hours given in the department, so your're often doing a lot of extra work responsibilities but that's were communication and having great co workers can help make things much easier to handle during those busy work days. I learn how to be a lot more time organized and efficient since working at metro. Its a good place to first start working because you pick up many different work skills that can help you in almost any career/job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good workplace
Chief Clerk (Current Employee), North York, ONSeptember 20, 2014
working in produce dept
good people
management is ok
work is not bad
pay is alright
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Busy workplace
Deli Clerk/ Fresh to Go (Current Employee), Bowmanville, ONSeptember 19, 2014
I like to be busy and to interact with people. This job and very busy and you are very involved with people. Everyday at Metro is different. I enjoy when I get the chance to train because I like seeing how people start and progress. The management and co-workers are great to work with. The hardest part of working there is trying to keep up with the – more... customers when it gets really busy. The most enjoyable is being able to work with and talk to all of the people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work
Customer Service Representative and Cashier (Former Employee), Toronto, ONSeptember 16, 2014
Pros: fair with all workers
Cons: just weekends hours to new employee
• Provided services to customers
• Sound skills in problem solving in person or by phone
• Listening actively to customers’ needs, feed backs, comments, and informed management appropriately
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customers
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee), Toronto, ONSeptember 15, 2014
The most enjoyable part of my day is interacting with the customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Cashier (Former Employee), Renfrew, ONSeptember 7, 2014
A typical day at work would include consistent customer service as a cashier, cleaning, organizing shelves, and problem solving.
I learned how to provide adequate customer service, how to work under pressure, and how to be a better multi-tasker.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very demanding and physical work enviroment
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), Oakville OntarioSeptember 6, 2014
Cons: long hours, 6 days a week
Learned how to motivate people in this type of fast paced enviroment
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy going with a fast pace but poor management!
Cashier/Cash Office (Current Employee), Burlington, ONSeptember 2, 2014
Pros: flexible shifts and close to home
Cons: not enough hours
A typical day would usually consist of average things you do at a retail/grocery store such as cleaning, cash, stick etc etc.
I learned to organize my time better and communication skills. Management was okay, hard to talk to and hard to find with a bad work ethic!
My co-workers were great! Fun people who you could easily get a long with.
Hardest part – more... of my job was probably angry customers and the easiest part was flexible hours! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Customer Satisfaction
Cashier / Supervisor (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONAugust 21, 2014
Pros: meeting different kinds of people
Cons: n/a
Fast paced environment.
Meeting variety of people from different walks of life.
Dealt with customers and made sure they were satisfied at the end of their shopping experience.

1 2 3 4 5

About METRO

Los Angeles County Metropolitan Transportation Authority (Metro) is unique among the nation's transportation agencies. It serves – Read more