Metro Employee Reviews

Sort: Helpful | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked as a contractor in offshore - onsite model
QA-Lead (Former Employee) –  CA19 September 2017
Worked as a contractor in an offshore - on-site model. Great team. Open to suggestions. Wonderful work ethics. Cool attitude. Very professionally run company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice friendly evrioment
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Perth, ON19 September 2017
Everyone is really friends and willing to help all the time and everyone always has a smile on there face great customer service

They have picked all nice managers who always keep the staff on track
Pros
Air conditioned building
Cons
No discount
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Cashier Clerk (Former Employee) –  Orillia, ON18 September 2017
loved the people i worked with and the environment. would work there again. was nice being paid weekly instead of biweekly. Were very flexible with your schedule.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its an Okay job
Produce Clerk (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON18 September 2017
It was good for the time, but that type of business is not for me, I got along with everyone and i understood the job fuilly. always working my absolute hardest.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and great for teens
Produce Clerk (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON15 September 2017
great place to work for teens who need a part time job, had a great time with everyone I worked with and I am thankful for the great opportunity I was given.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun Workplace
Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON12 September 2017
I leaned what its like to work in a kitchen and learned how to wash dishes and chop vegetables. Co-workers are nice and helpful. The most enjoyable part of my job was socializing with other employees.
Pros
Nice managers
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wasn't too busy and i didn't like my manager.
Produce Worker (Former Employee) –  Chelmsford, ON12 September 2017
I worked in the Deli for a short period of time. I loved what i did in the Deli and i liked the people i worked with. Unfortunately my manager was very rude. I would ask questions and she would tell me to figure it out on my own, causing me to screw up what i was doing and then getting in trouble. I gave my two weeks and applied for a spot in the Produce section.
Pros
you work in a grocery store so what ever you want to eat for lunch is there
Cons
awful manager
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Deli Clerk (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON11 September 2017
I overall loved my experience working at metro. Atypical day at work was easy and I learned that this company is fair and management is good and the workplace culture is great.
Pros
Great
Cons
having to idea with annoying customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good working environment
Meat Cutter/Meat Manager (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON5 September 2017
Customer service, cutting, merchandising, ordering, scheduling, inventories, training, quality assurance, up selling. Helping at new stores and controlling daily production
Pros
close to home
Cons
no advancement opportunities
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temporary job
Grocery Clerk (Former Employee) –  Beaconsfield, QC4 September 2017
I had this job as a fill till i get something better .. I was a bagger was organizing the carts outside and helping customers with good service answering their needs
Pros
Assistive
Cons
Mis balanced schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A day and life at Metro.
Produce Clerk (Part-time) (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON31 August 2017
Great place to work with great people. I enjoy my hours and I look forward to going into to work everyday because everyone is so kind. In conclusion, metro is a great place to work at!
Pros
great work environmenrt
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not provide a safe workplace
Front End Cashier (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON28 August 2017
Upon working here i had my wallet stolen from me in the locker room, the managers claimed they reviewed the tapes and said they saw nothing but refused to show the evidence to anyone else
Cons
they steal your property
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and enjoyable
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON21 August 2017
It's a very comfortable environment. staff and management is great. A place where your're always happy to work and encouraging . always flexible with our schedule, and appreciate your work.
Pros
Clean
Cons
the commute is too far
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Metro
Customer service Representative/ supervisor (Current Employee) –  Bowmanville, ON17 August 2017
Metro has been a decent place to work for me. I've been there for almost four years. Over all, i've had a decent experience. Its a decent environment. Upper management is reasonable, and fair.
Pros
Accomondative
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
belle environnement et divertissant
Boulangerie stage (Former Employee) –  Rimouski, QC15 August 2017
j ai aimer mon experience au metro gp sa ete super comme stage
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy but not the best
Bakery Clerk (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON11 August 2017
a typical day at metro is fairly simple, i work in the bakery so mainly the thing we have to do is break out breads, buns and stuff along those lines. and by breakout i mean grab the cases of the frozen product out of the freezer and tray it up. while working at metro i have learned how valuable time is and how to manage it properly. management is not the best buy also not the worst (this is my opinion on where i work i don't know about other metros)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not an enjoyable job
Grocery Clerk (Current Employee) –  Sturgeon Falls, ON11 August 2017
Constant gossip. Childish management. Unacceptable cleanliness. Health and safety not followed by most workers and management. No chance for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great part-time job
Grocery Clerk, Meat/Seafood Clerk (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON10 August 2017
first official part-time job all throughout high school/post secondary as well I played rep-level soccer which kept me very busy however metro was always understanding and accommodating.
Pros
Flexible shifting
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working there
Cashier and Service Desk (Former Employee) –  Sault Ste. Marie, ON8 August 2017
I loved working at metro. Everyone was so happy and excited to work with you, you really felt like one of the team. You always had the tools you needed to complete the job and were always told when you were doing a good job.
Pros
friendly enviroment
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
normal
Service à la clientèle (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC6 August 2017
une journee typique serait de servir les client et faire le menage et etre a l"ecoute des client
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Metro. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 805 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.4
Culture
3.6

CEO Approval

76%
257 ratings
Add your rating