Metro Inc. Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
C’était un bon travail!
Emballeur (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC1 December 2017
J’emballais et j’aimais quand même beaucoup sa mais je souhaite trouver un meilleur!
Pros
Repas parfois gratuit
Cons
Courtea po
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bon environnement de travail
Stage en approvisionnement chez Metro INC (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC23 November 2017
C’était une Bonne école d'apprentissage durant mon stage. Bel atmosphère de travail et une équipe composée de personnes compétentes
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Travail deborder et agréable
Commis des viande (Former Employee) –  Ville St Laurent, QC22 November 2017
Endroit plaisant
Experience de travail agreable
Beaucoup de rush pour emplir les comptoire le matin
Pros
Collegues agreable
Cons
Beaucoup de stress a gerer
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Basic retail job but poor management
Customer service/ supervisor (Former Employee) –  Ajax, ON12 November 2017
The Ajax location has poor upper management. Not a good work environment. On top of that, there are very few hours available and low job security due to labour cuts (a Longo’s just opened up nearby). They expect too much for what they pay (minimum wage, even if you’re a supervisor on the customer service desk). And you pay union dues every month (about $30) but the union is basically useless. However, for the most part it’s just your basic retail job.
Pros
Department heads are usually flexible with scheduling
Cons
Lack of hours, bad management, low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great salary and benefits.
Order Selector (Former Employee) –  Etobicoke, ON9 November 2017
Great salary and benefits that is all I can say. Hours are okay lots of heavy lifting. Some managers can be good. Have a fantastic Christmas party for the kids
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Produce Clerk (Former Employee) –  Oakville, ON7 November 2017
a great place to work while i was in high school. i learned much about produce and supply and demand. The management was productive and professional. an overall great part time position.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable work environment
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Thunder Bay, ON5 November 2017
Love it. Great company for advancement. Very friendly staff. Still training but management is very accommodating to individual scheduling times. Many opportunities for growth and change
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was a good starting job
Cashier (Current Employee) –  London, ON25 September 2017
The job can be flexible to your availability but most of the time it isn't. The hours are unstable for the most part between 0-80 a week if you're a student. You are now required to have smart serve to work as a cashier. and Union is absolutely useless.
Pros
Good starting job
Cons
unstable hours, no job advancement, no benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Travail productif
Bakery Clerk (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, QC6 September 2017
Il y a toujours beaucoup de chose à faire, pas le temps de s'ennuyer!
Pros
Longues poses
Cons
Aucun rabais ou avantage pour les employés
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the Best
Bakery Clerk (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON30 August 2017
The company needs to acknowledge its hardworking people. The amount of work required to complete in a short period of time is unreasonable. After a while it starts to build unnecessary stress. Low salary for the type of job and the physical strain.
Pros
Flexible Schedule
Cons
Physical Strain
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Travail valorisant qui demande de polyvalence
Directeur général (Former Employee) –  Anjou28 August 2017
Service à la clientèle est très importants. Le prêt aux affaires essentiel. Travail d'équipe pour l'efficacité ce qui permet d' arrivé dans les budgets .
Pros
Pas routinier
Cons
Budget serré
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Benefits
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC21 August 2017
Flexible scheduling for students, frequent raises and fun atmosphere. I only left because I found a job closer to my school, during my studies, otherwise I would have stayed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive an easy workplace
Salad Bar (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON16 August 2017
While I was working at Denso, I worked at the Salad Bar where I prepared various salads and fresh fruit and vegetable trays. The management was good and communicated well among employees. The hardest part of the job was the limited work hours. The most enjoyable part was the opportunity to improve your creativity skills.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very stressful and not inspiring
Grocery Clerk (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC13 August 2017
I did not like working for Metro. The reasons are that they would set unrealistic goals for you throughout the day. You were always rushed to do everything unreasonably. I did not feel appreciated the whole time that I worked there
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
class
Grocery Clerk (Current Employee) –  Etobicoke, ON13 August 2017
typical first job its pretty easy and if u can stock shelves u should be fine. The fulltimers take their jobs way too seriously and my manager was an absolute noob with the scheduling
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor place to work. No hours.
Food Prep (Former Employee) –  Thunder Bay, ON28 July 2017
I hated it there, it was an okay first job but I wouldn't recommend it to anyone. I am incredibly glad to have moved on. They were constantly hiring but there was no hours as it was. Everyone that I know that works there, hates it. Managers were okay but no one really knew what they were doing.
Pros
Unionized
Cons
No hours, rude employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Physical
Part-Time Selector (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON19 July 2017
The experience was physical, orderly and straightforward. The schedule fit perfectly with my school schedule and the employees are helpful with information to help develop the new trainees.
Pros
Flexible
Cons
Physical
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Compagnie extra puissante
Technician Contrôle Qualité (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC10 July 2017
excelant compagnie, Beaucoup temps pour la formation, super formateur,travail sans stress.
Pros
syndiqué
Cons
travail phisique
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Commis d'entrepôt (Former Employee) –  Montréal-Ouest, QC7 July 2017
fun workplace great customers and a solid management

"Flexible hours for working during school"
"Good work environment, good work life balance"
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management et organisation
Assistante gérante charcuterie (Current Employee) –  Quebec City, QC27 June 2017
Apprendre a travaillé avec le peuple amérindien et leur coutume.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Metro Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 83 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.4
Culture
3.5