Mersen Employee Reviews

Showing all 29 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Subpar Management
CS Representative/ Inside Sales (Current Employee) –  Boonton, NJApril 27, 2016
Typical environment includes lulls in work, very laid back and unprofessional workers.
No room for potential growth, essentially the position you are hired into is the same one you will remain in
Increasingly added responsibility without compensation
Pros
Holiday favors
Cons
Unprofessional environment
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work
Machinist/CNC Mill Operator (Current Employee) –  Bay City, MIMay 23, 2016
Management is childish and ineffectual. Under new management recently. Plant manager arrested in Ohio at a Kmart for lewd public indecency. Google it. Mersen is a joke. Where machinists go to die. No accountability.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive employer
HR Manager (Former Employee) –  North LanarkshireOctober 11, 2015
I worked with Calcarb Ltd since leaving school. Through out the years the company were taken over a few times and were eventually owned by Mersen (Scotland) Ltd. I was encouraged to work my way up the ladder, through production and shift manager and after 22 years I was HR Manager. My employer supported me while I attended University as a part time student to gain the necessary qualifications required for this role. I am proud to have been part of a team of committed and talented colleagues and friends.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working too many hours
Manager Process Engineering and Quality Assurance (Current Employee) –  St.Mary's PAAugust 17, 2015
I am the only Process Engineer and Quality Person. I work 70 hours a week and need achange. Despite the hours my work is very good.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If I could only turn back time.
Stockroom Associate (Former Employee) –  Rochester, NYMay 31, 2013
Before Mersen took over back on January 1st, things at Eldre were great. Business was good and people were busy. Since Mersen took over, business is down and the employees who have worked there for years are unfortunately paying the price for it and being laid off.
Pros
great people to work for
Cons
executives that are thousands of miles away, should not be making decisions, that adversely affect the success of a business, that they have very little experience dealing with.
Was this review helpful?Yes14No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DON'T DO IT!!!
Factory (Former Employee) –  Rochester, NYDecember 11, 2014
Very disrespectful management. Small company with a big company mentality
Pros
nice employees
Cons
absentee manager
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large in size
Basic Data Entry CSV Files (Former Employee) –  Newburyport, MAJanuary 2, 2014
Very cooperate and professional. A typical day would be entering CSV files into JD Edwards. Friendly co workers, Hardest part of the job was the hour long lunch break. The most enjoyable part of the job was emptying email box.
Pros
long hours
Cons
long lunch break
Was this review helpful?Yes6No8
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a good place to work
production (Former Employee) –  midlandOctober 16, 2012
Unorginized management does not care about.its employes no one knowa what is actually going on...no work....lost all work but building a.bran.new building...does not add up
Cons
20 min breaks management
Was this review helpful?Yes9No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good hours, good money
senior operastor (Former Employee) –  eurocentral holytownAugust 16, 2012
12 hour shifts 4 on 4 off rota, management are awful though co workers were good. Factory now looks as though its closing down
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid company but management is not knowledgeable
Plating Tech (Current Employee) –  Rochester, NYDecember 22, 2014
Hours are good 6 to 2:30. Work non stop and concentrate on tasks at hand. I stay to myself to get the job done so I don't get involved in outside influences.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good place to work
Senior Quality Technical Inspector (Current Employee) –  Portslade, ENGJune 2, 2014
A good enjoyable place to work day to day.Went on training courses to learn more about each part of my job.A good team of co-workers.Most enjoyed learning and thinking about how to check different components on each of the machines i have to program.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, Loved my job till they moved everything to Mexico.
Punch Press Set-up Operator (Former Employee) –  Newburyport, MAJune 16, 2014
Great place to work, Loved my job till they moved everything to Mexico.
Pros
great pay great people
Cons
moved all production to mexico
Was this review helpful?Yes6No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GOOD COMPANY
Team Leader Robot Dept (Former Employee) –  Boonton, NJJuly 9, 2014
GOOD COMPANY
TUITION REIMBURSEMENT
ROBOT
PLC
AUTOCAD
INVENTOR
Pros
fun
Cons
dusty environment
Was this review helpful?Yes1No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place to work
warehouse operative (Former Employee) –  SCTAugust 8, 2013
was a very good place to work it was a good place to work as a team member and also a good job over all
Pros
good bonus
Cons
hard to get to travle wise
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Welder (Former Employee) –  Salem, VAJune 26, 2012
overall a good place to work.wasnt very organized all employees were very friendly
Pros
foreman was a good guy
Cons
not very organized
Was this review helpful?Yes9No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work but enjoyable
Production Operator (Former Employee) –  EurocentralAugust 31, 2012
12hr shifts, 4 on 4 off.

Hard manual graft.

Was a good place to work.

Good bunch of blokes in my team.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Warning! Mersen Nordics: Chaos and disorder
Sales Rep (Former Employee) –  StockholmMarch 23, 2016
Mersen Nordic office is used as a milk cow to feed mother company. The complete absence of skilled management cause enormous amount of stress to all employees. Small groups form to attach other colleagues. Gossip and betrayal are not dealt with. CFO is under the thumb from Paris management. The office suffers from very high rate of staff turnover and the number of notifications to the Swedish Work Environment Authority speaks for itself. Just call them if you want to know more!! I am sorry to say you should keep away from this place.
Pros
Coffee machine.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bonne expérience
Assistant acheteur en Alternance (Former Employee) –  Saint-Bonnet-de-Mure (69)May 18, 2016
Cette expérience à était très intéressante pour moi, du point de vue professionnel car j'ai appris énormément de notion technique (mécanique) mais également du point de vue humain car j'ai pu découvrir et appréhender le monde professionnel.
Pros
Esprit d'équipe et Travail intéressant
Cons
Salaires d'alternance faible
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Découverte du service captage
Technicien de Production (Former Employee) –  Amiens (80)May 17, 2016
Une opportunité de développement et une approche très intéressante du monde du travail.
Expérience très utile.
Pros
Flexibilité
Cons
Expérience trop courte
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Vie dans la société Mersen
CHEF D'EQUIPE (Former Employee) –  Pagny-sur-Moselle, B2October 6, 2015
Un CE au service des salariés.
Une entreprise mondiale, une ambiance agréable.
Une direction et un service RH compétent
Pros
Le comité d'entreprise
Cons
Les conditions de travail (bruit, poussière...)
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 29 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture