Find companies:
Merry Maids
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
221 reviews

Merry Maids Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Housekeeper (Former Employee), National City, CASeptember 5, 2013
Pros: unlimited coffee, water.
Cons: no insurance
Very rewarding workplace and fun meeting with the customers whom I would clean for and it was great for getting much needed exercise and it helped keep me in good physical shape as well.
I learned alot about cleaning specifics in the houses and different ways to clean. I also made many friends within the company and we got along nicely.
The hardest – more... part of the job was cleaning first time jobs because it would mean taking many hours of detailed work. Also it was a stress though driving every day which put mileage on my own car but I was making money and staying in shape at the same time so it was half and half. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall great work environment.
Maid (Former Employee), Des Moines, IAAugust 31, 2013
A typical day at Merry Maids would be to look at your schedule book to see what houses you were to clean that day. You would then load the required cleaning supplies in your car. Cleaning consists of vacuuming, sweeping and mopping floors, dusting, cleaning bathrooms, etc. What I learned the most would have to be having good communication skills with – more... the customers and other co-workers. The hardest part of the job is having to use your own vehicle. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, stressful
Office Assistant (Current Employee), Chicago, ILAugust 29, 2013
Pros: decent pay for office satff but not worth all the stress
Cons: you can easily miss taking your break - maids are not always paid correctly
Fast paced & stressful - hours may vary - lots of customer complaints
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Cleaning Technician (Current Employee), Annapolis, MDAugust 25, 2013
As a cleaning tech your day to day routine will consist of driving to and from customers homes to maintain a clean home for them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GREAT PEOPLE TO WORK WITH
I work for a cleaning company as a supervisor (Current Employee), SOUTH YORKSHIREAugust 18, 2013
Hard work but satisfying, working as part of a team within private dwellings.
Good for fitting in with school hours for those with young children.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Looking for work
Maid (Former Employee), Lenexa, KSAugust 17, 2013
I was just back from Iraq and I needed a job this was the first one I found I hated it and just worked there long enough to find another job. The pay was horrible for the long hours we worked but some of the people we worked for left us a tip.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
see new places
cleaner (Former Employee), London, ENGAugust 4, 2013
Pros: new co-workers/ new friends
Cons: traffic
a typical day at work with merry maids was good. there would be 1 driver in each group around 3-5 people depending on the work day. we would go to different locations around London and clean for clients. duties include cleaning equipment, handling keys, rotas, being on time for each job, making sure all tasks were accomplished. all co-workers are friendly – more... and it is very enjoyable to work in a team with them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not for me
Maid/Housekeeping Cleaner (Current Employee), Hopkins, MNAugust 1, 2013
Pros: weekends off and holidays
Cons: pay, no guaranteed breaks
I feel as if my hard work and efforts will never let me get ahead in the financial department. I do enjoy working for the customers and enjoy my finished product.. which is a clean home.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy going
Maid (Former Employee), Casper, WYJuly 31, 2013
This job was very fast paced and kept you busy. Enjoyed meeting clients and visiting with them while I cleaned.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and easy
Housekeeping (Former Employee), Boulder, COJuly 30, 2013
Pros: weekends and holidays off
Cons: made my back hurt
I would go in and we would have a pep meeting before starting our day of work. We would go to houses that were assigned and clean. We would switch between wet and dry work, wet being bathrooms, kitchens, and laundry room, dry being living rooms, family rooms, and bed rooms. I worked with one other team mate and she was a joy to work with. The hardest – more... part of the job was cleaning the floors on hands and knees, the most enjoyable part of the job was being out on my own working and setting my own pace. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly Co-Workers and Management
Housekeeper (Current Employee), Salt Lake City, UTJuly 25, 2013
Pros: closed sundays; saturdays on-call; occasional tips
Cons: lots of commuting to homes; physically demanding work
I currently work here under the most organized management team I have personally worked under. The turnover rate at the employee level is high but the management team and long-term employees are tough under pressure and ever ready to deal with what this industry throws at them. I enjoy working with a great group of people. A typical day includes a morning – more... meeting at which we're given all the information we need to get into two-person teams and clean customers' homes, with routine inspection by supervisors. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard Working Care Buisness
Housekeeper (Former Employee), Bozeman, MTJuly 25, 2013
Pros: mileage compensation
Cons: having to use personal vehicles
When we Get to work and grabbing chemicals and other equipment and put it in to the vehicle we are driving that day. Our team Drives to the customers house and cleans the house due to company and customers standards. Depending on the day we could clean anywhere from 3-6 houses a day if not more depending on if we have regular customers or new ones or – more... move outs.
The management team is very understanding and just wants to make sure the customers as well as the employees are taking care of and happy with everything going on and the clean.
I would say the hardest part of the job is washing the bathroom floors on hand and knees and some of the extra stuff we do depending on the customer.
The best part about this job to me was not having to clean the same room over and over again and getting to travel and see different types of house and people and they way they live.
I loved the team I was with it was the leader me and usually another girl depending on the day. we had teams and they was usually two or three leaders and then they got to pick one person who was always teamed up with them but for the rest of the team members they were floaters and got to go on different teams depending on the days and they got to see more customers house then I did because we had curtain customers that would only want curtain people in there house. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A FUN PLACE TO WORK
maid (Former Employee), Austin, TXJuly 23, 2013
Pros: discont on getting own house clean
Cons: during the days, drive own car
LOVE MEETING NEW PEOPLE, THE HEAD PEOPLE ARE REALLY GOOD TO WORK WITH
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The overall job is very demanding
Crew Member (Current Employee), Tallmadge, OHJuly 22, 2013
Cons: no benefits, not paid enough for miliage to customers houses.
During my few months at Merry Maids, I have found that other employees there are very rude to their coworkers. I work very hard during my job and I never get any credit for it, someone else always takes the credit for my good work. I would really like to find another full time job in which I will enjoy going to work everyday instead of dreading it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love my job
Operations Manager (Current Employee), Normal, ILJuly 17, 2013
Great place to work. Fantastic boss and Mentor.

Small Franchise with about 20 employees.

Able to work independently and be a active employee.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This job had great hours because my husband is military and I was able to spend the weekeds at home
Team Captain/Office Assistant (Former Employee), Manhattan, KSJuly 13, 2013
Pros: having weekends off
Cons: driving my own car
• Answered Phone
• Customer service
• Quality control inspections
• Cleaned houses
• Followed daily work orders
• Training associates
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work
Housekeeper (Former Employee), Ridgecrest, CAJuly 12, 2013
everyone who worked for merry maids were treated like family and was treated fair no matter the situation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible schedule with good work/family balance
BRANCH MANAGER (Former Employee), Wilmington, NCJuly 11, 2013
Fair place to work. Communication from management lacking.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You put wear and tear on your car that you cant afford.
Solo Teammate (Former Employee), Roscoe, IlJuly 7, 2013
Working at Merry Maids was honestly one of the worst experiences of my life. Not only did I put 10s of 1000s of miles on my car with little compensation, but I also dealt with one of the most heartless bosses Ive ever encountered. He did not care about our safety, listened to none of our concerns. He basically asked us questions and then would answer – more... for us. There was no arguing with him. He was always right, and we were always wrong. Basically you kill your car and don't make enough money to fix anything that may happen to it. Youre better off not working. Heaven help you is you choose to work for Merry Maids. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Team leader (Current Employee), Naples,FLJuly 2, 2013
I have a great boss and manager. I have learned many ways to make others happy and how to help employee members who need a boost to get further. Also I have learned how to be a customer service rep and I have greatly achieved a lot of experience in many ways from this company.

About Merry Maids

Merry Maids is happy to scrub, straighten, and sanitize. Founded in 1979, home cleaning company Merry Maids has more than 600 – Read more

Merry Maids Photos