Find companies:
Merry Maids
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
226 reviews

Merry Maids Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Location 
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
love it
Maid Service (Former Employee), Kansas City, KSOctober 7, 2013
i like working for them had fun an love benign there .love the people i worked with .
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved the job felt training 2 people at the same time needed higher pay
Team Captain/Trainer (Former Employee), Orlando, FLOctober 3, 2013
Pros: paid milage, paid vacations, customers
Cons: pay persentage could be higher for inflaton
A typical day get to work look over your house list for the day decide who will drive make any notations if needed, fill chemicals, load equipment go to clean homes. I learned more proper ways of cleaning that I still use to this day old habits die hard. I wish the owners listened to their employees better has far has feedback and concerns, I felt percentage – more... pay could have been better. My co workers were fun to work with the majority of them, Merry Maids has a high turn over it was hard to keep the same teams together, the hardest part of the job was getting on your hands and knees to clean all floors( tile, wood, ect..)but you get use to it. The most enjoyable part was all the great people that you meet, you end up with real bond with the most of them, especially if they are home when you clean. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Merry Maids is not a very good place to work at not in Winchester.
Housekeeper (Former Employee), Winchester, VASeptember 28, 2013
Pros: no sundays
Cons: no breaks and a lot of favortism
They have you there before you can even clock in to get paperwork and chemicals together. You leave the office about 8am. They expect you to use your own car and don't even cover your gas. Sure they give you milage but you get a better tax break claiming it that way. I know it didn't cover mine. The manager seems to be ok at the interview but after – more... that he turns into a real ***. They have a sign posted in the office about God which i wouldn't mind if they actually ran the company like it said. They only pay commission not drive time so it's really not worth all the wear and tear on your car and it's dead end there is no room for promotion.
I really liked the other cleaners that work there. They are so nice and helpful they never once made me feel like an outsider. The hardest part of the job is carrying all the equipment around and the vaccuum you carried on your back while using it. The hardest part of the job was getting everything done in the time they wanted it done because you are doing a huge house on your own, and going all day without lunch. That sucks to – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a typical day at work
Housecleaning (Former Employee), Merriam, KSSeptember 23, 2013
Pros: no free lunches, we got tips
Cons: short breaks
i go to work at 7:30 get there at 8am. clock in. I already have my uniform on arriving there. go with my co workers at 8:30am get to the customers house. we would usually do 4 or 5 houses a week. usually i go with different people get more different experience. after i learned a lot about pleasing the customers and talking to them. being kind and respectful – more... which i am good at. what they want me to clean that day from the customers point of view. then we have only 15 mins to eat lunch. go straight to maybe our last house for the day. go back to the office clock out. hardest part of the job i got training i have a learning disability my manager doesnt understand my mild learning disability so i need a lot of training my brain is slower then others. sometimes i get frustrated. i need some help sometimes. getting it down. i hope there is someone or manager out there that can work with me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rip off
Solo Cleaner (Former Employee), Merriam, KSSeptember 19, 2013
Pros: lots of driving
Cons: you will ache all over. terrible pay.
Basically you have to work your butt off for minimum wage. It is much too little pay for too much work! It's semi fun, but not worth it. Co-workers are friendly, very friendly. But basically, you work hard to give all your money to Merry Maids.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and safe workplace very different people
Maid (Former Employee), Athens, GASeptember 11, 2013
Pros: breaks between each house, products smell great
Cons: lots of driving, lots of equipment, hot
A typical day at work included a lot of bending a lifting. It is not a job for somebody who doesn't like moving a lot. The boss is very sweet and will work with you. If you like to meet new people or drive alot on a daily base then it a good job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good place to work
Asst Manager (Former Employee), Hopkins, MNSeptember 10, 2013
I enjoyed working there it was a fun job and the other employees and management was very good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wasn't enough hours and co workers went through customers belongings
Housekeeping (Former Employee), Williamsport, PASeptember 6, 2013
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
not a very good company to work for didn't get enough hours co workers went through customers belongings.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Housekeeper (Former Employee), National City, CASeptember 5, 2013
Pros: unlimited coffee, water.
Cons: no insurance
Very rewarding workplace and fun meeting with the customers whom I would clean for and it was great for getting much needed exercise and it helped keep me in good physical shape as well.
I learned alot about cleaning specifics in the houses and different ways to clean. I also made many friends within the company and we got along nicely.
The hardest – more... part of the job was cleaning first time jobs because it would mean taking many hours of detailed work. Also it was a stress though driving every day which put mileage on my own car but I was making money and staying in shape at the same time so it was half and half. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall great work environment.
Maid (Former Employee), Des Moines, IAAugust 31, 2013
A typical day at Merry Maids would be to look at your schedule book to see what houses you were to clean that day. You would then load the required cleaning supplies in your car. Cleaning consists of vacuuming, sweeping and mopping floors, dusting, cleaning bathrooms, etc. What I learned the most would have to be having good communication skills with – more... the customers and other co-workers. The hardest part of the job is having to use your own vehicle. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, stressful
Office Assistant (Current Employee), Chicago, ILAugust 29, 2013
Pros: decent pay for office satff but not worth all the stress
Cons: you can easily miss taking your break - maids are not always paid correctly
Fast paced & stressful - hours may vary - lots of customer complaints
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Cleaning Technician (Current Employee), Annapolis, MDAugust 25, 2013
As a cleaning tech your day to day routine will consist of driving to and from customers homes to maintain a clean home for them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GREAT PEOPLE TO WORK WITH
I work for a cleaning company as a supervisor (Current Employee), SOUTH YORKSHIREAugust 18, 2013
Hard work but satisfying, working as part of a team within private dwellings.
Good for fitting in with school hours for those with young children.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Looking for work
Maid (Former Employee), Lenexa, KSAugust 17, 2013
I was just back from Iraq and I needed a job this was the first one I found I hated it and just worked there long enough to find another job. The pay was horrible for the long hours we worked but some of the people we worked for left us a tip.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
see new places
cleaner (Former Employee), London, ENGAugust 4, 2013
Pros: new co-workers/ new friends
Cons: traffic
a typical day at work with merry maids was good. there would be 1 driver in each group around 3-5 people depending on the work day. we would go to different locations around London and clean for clients. duties include cleaning equipment, handling keys, rotas, being on time for each job, making sure all tasks were accomplished. all co-workers are friendly – more... and it is very enjoyable to work in a team with them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not for me
Maid/Housekeeping Cleaner (Current Employee), Hopkins, MNAugust 1, 2013
Pros: weekends off and holidays
Cons: pay, no guaranteed breaks
I feel as if my hard work and efforts will never let me get ahead in the financial department. I do enjoy working for the customers and enjoy my finished product.. which is a clean home.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy going
Maid (Former Employee), Casper, WYJuly 31, 2013
This job was very fast paced and kept you busy. Enjoyed meeting clients and visiting with them while I cleaned.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and easy
Housekeeping (Former Employee), Boulder, COJuly 30, 2013
Pros: weekends and holidays off
Cons: made my back hurt
I would go in and we would have a pep meeting before starting our day of work. We would go to houses that were assigned and clean. We would switch between wet and dry work, wet being bathrooms, kitchens, and laundry room, dry being living rooms, family rooms, and bed rooms. I worked with one other team mate and she was a joy to work with. The hardest – more... part of the job was cleaning the floors on hands and knees, the most enjoyable part of the job was being out on my own working and setting my own pace. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly Co-Workers and Management
Housekeeper (Current Employee), Salt Lake City, UTJuly 25, 2013
Pros: closed sundays; saturdays on-call; occasional tips
Cons: lots of commuting to homes; physically demanding work
I currently work here under the most organized management team I have personally worked under. The turnover rate at the employee level is high but the management team and long-term employees are tough under pressure and ever ready to deal with what this industry throws at them. I enjoy working with a great group of people. A typical day includes a morning – more... meeting at which we're given all the information we need to get into two-person teams and clean customers' homes, with routine inspection by supervisors. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard Working Care Buisness
Housekeeper (Former Employee), Bozeman, MTJuly 25, 2013
Pros: mileage compensation
Cons: having to use personal vehicles
When we Get to work and grabbing chemicals and other equipment and put it in to the vehicle we are driving that day. Our team Drives to the customers house and cleans the house due to company and customers standards. Depending on the day we could clean anywhere from 3-6 houses a day if not more depending on if we have regular customers or new ones or – more... move outs.
The management team is very understanding and just wants to make sure the customers as well as the employees are taking care of and happy with everything going on and the clean.
I would say the hardest part of the job is washing the bathroom floors on hand and knees and some of the extra stuff we do depending on the customer.
The best part about this job to me was not having to clean the same room over and over again and getting to travel and see different types of house and people and they way they live.
I loved the team I was with it was the leader me and usually another girl depending on the day. we had teams and they was usually two or three leaders and then they got to pick one person who was always teamed up with them but for the rest of the team members they were floaters and got to go on different teams depending on the days and they got to see more customers house then I did because we had curtain customers that would only want curtain people in there house. – less

About Merry Maids

Merry Maids is happy to scrub, straighten, and sanitize. Founded in 1979, home cleaning company Merry Maids has more than 600 – Read more

Merry Maids Photos