Find companies:
Merry Maids
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
235 reviews

Merry Maids Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a job
General cleaner (Current Employee), Indianapolis, INNovember 6, 2013
Pros: some early days
Cons: management, and communication
Busy days sometimes, not enough pay or gas mileage. Co-workers are okay, but its always an issue as to who will drive for the day, Its ok if you dont mind hard work
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive fast paced work place
Team Leader (Former Employee), Flagstaff, AZNovember 5, 2013
Pros: job satisfaction
Cons: heath insurance
the day started with getting all equipment loaded and prepped for properties to be cleaned. Then drive to each location and clean as instructed above the standards and collect payments. The manger was great and cared a lot for the employees. Co-workers were hard working and willing to help out with as much as the could. Cleaning is a hard job but in – more... was very satisfying to see the customer pleased at the end of each clean. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work but not enoigh pay per house or per gas miles
Housekeeper (Former Employee), Weyers Cave, VANovember 3, 2013
a typical day at work you are teamed up with 1-2 people and givin paper work for each house for the day. You drive your vehicle to each house record the time you arrive and the time you leave. You also record miles to and from each house you clean. You use the companies equipment and supplies. the managment there is very friendly and pleasant to work – more... for the hardest part of the job is loading and unloading thee equipment for each house and carrying it all inside. Id have to say the most enjoyable part of the job is the customers you clean for – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and thorough
Team Mate (Former Employee), Cocoa, FLOctober 31, 2013
Pros: friendly, short hours.
Cons: tiring.
Very wonderful trainers and bosses, such a comfortable work environment. Very thorough in their training and making sure the job is getting done correctly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management were liars to customers and unfair to employees
Cleaning Associate (Former Employee), Detroit, MIOctober 31, 2013
Management treated employees unfair. They lied and cheated customers out of money. They were very disrespectful. Wages were ridiculously not accurate for the jobs we did. A customer would pay $500 to get a house clean and after they deducted 30% we got 17.5% of that..
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work
Maid/Office assistant (Former Employee), Pittsburgh, PAOctober 30, 2013
Didn't enjoy this type of work but a nice place to work nice place to work nice place to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clean houses all over the area
Professional Cleaner (Current Employee), Saint Cloud, MNOctober 29, 2013
Enjoy working with the employees, however the constant travel is a bit much. The pay isn't that great either, but I love to clean!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for someone who wants to work part-time.
Team Leader (Current Employee), Mount Dora, FLOctober 24, 2013
Typical day consist of leading a team of two employees out in the field. Daily customer service skills. Co-workers vary every week can be different people which makes that the hardest part of the job. The most enjoyable part is that they are very flexible with your schedule.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Nice Place To Work
Housekeeper (Current Employee), New Braunfels, TXOctober 15, 2013
Pros: meeting new people.
Cons: drama
Start between 8:30 am and work until the jobs are finished. I clean houses from top to bottom, making sure everything gets finished before leaving the house and going to the next one. My co-workers are ok, for the most part. The hardest part of my job would have to be learning to deal with all the drama that my co-workers have. The most enjoyable part – more... of my job would be the clients I work for. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
love it
Maid Service (Former Employee), Kansas City, KSOctober 7, 2013
i like working for them had fun an love benign there .love the people i worked with .
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved the job felt training 2 people at the same time needed higher pay
Team Captain/Trainer (Former Employee), Orlando, FLOctober 3, 2013
Pros: paid milage, paid vacations, customers
Cons: pay persentage could be higher for inflaton
A typical day get to work look over your house list for the day decide who will drive make any notations if needed, fill chemicals, load equipment go to clean homes. I learned more proper ways of cleaning that I still use to this day old habits die hard. I wish the owners listened to their employees better has far has feedback and concerns, I felt percentage – more... pay could have been better. My co workers were fun to work with the majority of them, Merry Maids has a high turn over it was hard to keep the same teams together, the hardest part of the job was getting on your hands and knees to clean all floors( tile, wood, ect..)but you get use to it. The most enjoyable part was all the great people that you meet, you end up with real bond with the most of them, especially if they are home when you clean. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Merry Maids is not a very good place to work at not in Winchester.
Housekeeper (Former Employee), Winchester, VASeptember 28, 2013
Pros: no sundays
Cons: no breaks and a lot of favortism
They have you there before you can even clock in to get paperwork and chemicals together. You leave the office about 8am. They expect you to use your own car and don't even cover your gas. Sure they give you milage but you get a better tax break claiming it that way. I know it didn't cover mine. The manager seems to be ok at the interview but after – more... that he turns into a real ***. They have a sign posted in the office about God which i wouldn't mind if they actually ran the company like it said. They only pay commission not drive time so it's really not worth all the wear and tear on your car and it's dead end there is no room for promotion.
I really liked the other cleaners that work there. They are so nice and helpful they never once made me feel like an outsider. The hardest part of the job is carrying all the equipment around and the vaccuum you carried on your back while using it. The hardest part of the job was getting everything done in the time they wanted it done because you are doing a huge house on your own, and going all day without lunch. That sucks to – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a typical day at work
Housecleaning (Former Employee), Merriam, KSSeptember 23, 2013
Pros: no free lunches, we got tips
Cons: short breaks
i go to work at 7:30 get there at 8am. clock in. I already have my uniform on arriving there. go with my co workers at 8:30am get to the customers house. we would usually do 4 or 5 houses a week. usually i go with different people get more different experience. after i learned a lot about pleasing the customers and talking to them. being kind and respectful – more... which i am good at. what they want me to clean that day from the customers point of view. then we have only 15 mins to eat lunch. go straight to maybe our last house for the day. go back to the office clock out. hardest part of the job i got training i have a learning disability my manager doesnt understand my mild learning disability so i need a lot of training my brain is slower then others. sometimes i get frustrated. i need some help sometimes. getting it down. i hope there is someone or manager out there that can work with me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rip off
Solo Cleaner (Former Employee), Merriam, KSSeptember 19, 2013
Pros: lots of driving
Cons: you will ache all over. terrible pay.
Basically you have to work your butt off for minimum wage. It is much too little pay for too much work! It's semi fun, but not worth it. Co-workers are friendly, very friendly. But basically, you work hard to give all your money to Merry Maids.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and safe workplace very different people
Maid (Former Employee), Athens, GASeptember 11, 2013
Pros: breaks between each house, products smell great
Cons: lots of driving, lots of equipment, hot
A typical day at work included a lot of bending a lifting. It is not a job for somebody who doesn't like moving a lot. The boss is very sweet and will work with you. If you like to meet new people or drive alot on a daily base then it a good job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good place to work
Asst Manager (Former Employee), Hopkins, MNSeptember 10, 2013
I enjoyed working there it was a fun job and the other employees and management was very good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wasn't enough hours and co workers went through customers belongings
Housekeeping (Former Employee), Williamsport, PASeptember 6, 2013
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
not a very good company to work for didn't get enough hours co workers went through customers belongings.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Housekeeper (Former Employee), National City, CASeptember 5, 2013
Pros: unlimited coffee, water.
Cons: no insurance
Very rewarding workplace and fun meeting with the customers whom I would clean for and it was great for getting much needed exercise and it helped keep me in good physical shape as well.
I learned alot about cleaning specifics in the houses and different ways to clean. I also made many friends within the company and we got along nicely.
The hardest – more... part of the job was cleaning first time jobs because it would mean taking many hours of detailed work. Also it was a stress though driving every day which put mileage on my own car but I was making money and staying in shape at the same time so it was half and half. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall great work environment.
Maid (Former Employee), Des Moines, IAAugust 31, 2013
A typical day at Merry Maids would be to look at your schedule book to see what houses you were to clean that day. You would then load the required cleaning supplies in your car. Cleaning consists of vacuuming, sweeping and mopping floors, dusting, cleaning bathrooms, etc. What I learned the most would have to be having good communication skills with – more... the customers and other co-workers. The hardest part of the job is having to use your own vehicle. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, stressful
Office Assistant (Current Employee), Chicago, ILAugust 29, 2013
Pros: decent pay for office satff but not worth all the stress
Cons: you can easily miss taking your break - maids are not always paid correctly
Fast paced & stressful - hours may vary - lots of customer complaints

About Merry Maids

Merry Maids is happy to scrub, straighten, and sanitize. Founded in 1979, home cleaning company Merry Maids has more than 600 – Read more

Merry Maids Photos