Find companies:
Merry Maids
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
253 reviews

Merry Maids Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting but repetitive work.
Associate cleaner (Current Employee), Lawrenceville, GAAugust 21, 2014
The work itself is interesting but it is the same at every house I go to. So it's not boring but its not really engaging either. It is hard physical labor but I get to more or less set my own pace for the work I do.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Maid (Former Employee), pineville,laAugust 13, 2014
okay place just the company shut down,Washed and spot-cleaned furniture, blackboards, mirrors, wastebaskets and garbage cans, office machines and ashtrays.Polished furniture and metal fixtures.Gathered and emptied trash and recycling bins.Dusted and mopped all hard surfaces.Cleaned Venetian blinds, including washing and vacuuming them.Scraped gum off – more... of hard surfaces and carpet – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding
Housekeeping (Former Employee), Anchorage, AKAugust 6, 2014
I learned new ways to clean. It was rewarding to finish a job and the customer being satisfied with your work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
We cleaned peoples homes usually groups of two
Team Trainer (Former Employee), n.oakJuly 30, 2014
Pros: monday through friday andpaid weekly
Cons: no understanding from boss.
Each day was different not organized out. We would wait for our routes and than leave in our cars, straight to first house, we would have keys, garage codes or some were home. Clean top to bottom each room or rooms the home owner wanted. Finish each house take paperwork back to the office and fill all we used and clean our equipment. Than done for day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Physical Job
Residential Cleaner (Former Employee), Laurel, MDJuly 23, 2014
Cleaning houses, sometimes really bad sometimes pretty clean. The hours in the day vaires. Nice to get out and about working in different areas. The hardest part of the job is the physical toll it takes but you get used to it after a couple weeks and then it is no big deal.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very nice job
Housekeeper (Former Employee), Lawton, OKJuly 21, 2014
Pros: very quiet and get to work alone
Cons: low pay
Come into work, get all cleaning supplies ready, sweep. mop and wax floors all day, move al furniture in rooms to clean and wax floors, put away all equipment at the end of the day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace.
HOUSE CLEANER (Former Employee), Pitman, NJJuly 8, 2014
It's fun when you don't have to clean the DIRTY houses but it's only a few. The rest of them are just your normal dirty. This job keeps you active and on your feet constantly, I loved that.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy going
Housekeeper (Current Employee), Jeffersontown, KYJuly 7, 2014
Pros: you work mostly by yourself
Cons: it's flat rate
It is an easy going place. Co workers are great, hours can be all over the place. Management is all over the place, no communication. I enjoy seeing new faces everyday and knowing that I made their life easier.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Merry Maids....What a Day!
Housekeeper (Former Employee), Little Rock, ARJune 19, 2014
Pros: birthdays off
We would come in and have our morning meetings before we would head out. We would laugh, joke and eat our breakfast that they would bring us some mornings. Learned how to be a leader when I was out cleaning homes. I use to have to train some new people and show them what to do when going into customers homes. the managers were ok, they would have they're – more... days. But I loved my coworkers, they were easy going, easy to get along with. The hardest part of this job is all the driving u have to do, it put's wear and tear on your vehicle, but if you aren't use to familiar surroundings you get use to them and learn your way around town. he most enjoyable part of my day is knowing that my customers are satisfied with the work I've done to their homes! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a job
Housecleaner (Former Employee), Schaumburg, ILJune 16, 2014
It started out good working there, but was always a lot of drama and felt like I was back in high school. I did not agree with them making up customer complaints just because we were too quick in cleaning a house. I also think they should make sure people know we are coming the night before because there were many times that we would get to a house – more... and they were not expecting us or we would have to wait an hour or more for them to be home. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great full time job
HOUSEKEEPER (Former Employee), Lake Stevens, WAJune 9, 2014
Pros: weekly pay, employee drawings for prizes, recognition for hard work
Cons: dirty homes
Typical days at Merry Maids was a lot of hard work, but you always had a coworker with you to help you get through the day. I learned how to be very detail oriented in a job and how to go above and beyond for your customers. Management was great. My coworkers were always a pleasure to work with. The hardest part of the job was some of the things you – more... see in peoples homes that you have to clean. The most enjoyable part of the job was coming home feeling like you worked hard that day and feeling accomplished. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Opportunity to build customer base and get bonuses
Solo Housecleaner (Current Employee), Evansville, INJune 5, 2014
Pros: management often brings in snacks for us
Cons: may have a partner and only get 1/2 of your daily compensation
Clearly organized management team provides daily assignments, the sales rep sets up new business but we can get a lot of referrals from our current customers, paid training, teamwork encouraged, co-workers are helpful, there is a lot of heavy lifting (couches, recliners, tables), bonus opportunities every month, some customers tip very well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Variety of good attitudes, management very professional, hard work but good pay.
Team Mate - House Cleaning (Former Employee), Granada Hills, CAJune 4, 2014
Pros: good pay, mileage compensation
Cons: hard work, wear and tear on car.
Always clock in the office first, then a team of two or three women drive in the same car to sometimes several cleans per day. Always take a lunch in the middle of the day and report back to the office after completing every house. I learned all the aspects of deep clean, in a variety of settings such as homes, offices, and some janitorial work. The – more... management is very professional, prompt, friendly, and care a lot about their employees and customers. Co-workers were always hard working. The hardest part of the job was the labor itself. The most enjoyable part of the job was the pay and the occasional pot lucks/birthdays in the mornings. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Merry Maids not so merry
Cleaning Specialist (Former Employee), Santa Ana, CAJune 3, 2014
Working at Merry Maids sucked. Worked like a slave and got paid almost nothing. We had to drive on own cars and didn't get any help with maintaining them. Worked 40 plus hours most weeks and and wasn't offered any benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Driving and a lot of physical work
House Keeper (Former Employee), Virginia Beach, VAMay 29, 2014
Pros: worked 20 hours a week
Cons: heavy equipment and drove own vehicle
I enjoy cleaning but I honestly did not enjoy this job very much. I had to use my own vehicle and carry all the equipment to each house. It was a lot of physical work and did not get made much.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting place to work
House Keeper (Current Employee), Tacoma, WAMay 27, 2014
Some days are more stressful than others. Always fast paced.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boss was racist
Supervisor (Former Employee), Mesa, AZMay 21, 2014
I enjoyed this job. I enjoyed cleaning houses. Its therapy for me. The owner though was very racist. I never understood because 99% of her team was minority
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and very work oriented work place
House Cleaner (Current Employee), Springfield, ORMay 17, 2014
All the girls meet at the office in the mornig to clock in, no later than 8 oclock. My partner and I go through our book to see what houses we have for the day, then we load up the car with all of our equipment and head out to start the day. I learned how to to properly clean according to the Merry Maids system. The most enjoyable part of my day is – more... going to our regulars, and talking to them and getting to know them. Some we see every week so you really get to know them and they're families. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It pays the bills
Cleaner (Current Employee), Seattle, WAMay 11, 2014
Work about 3 homes a day, clean whole house top to bottom and side to side and upon request what is needed.
The co-worker will do opposite work for instance, they do wet work and I would do dry work.
The hardest part is not being able to do more for our customers.
I like cleaning which is enjoyable to me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very enjoyable, organized workplace
Residential Cleaner (Former Employee), Lynchburg, VAApril 15, 2014
Pros: great people to work with
Cons: no benefits
I learned proper technique and "Clean for show" skills while employed with Merry Maids. They management is so organized and caring, I was treated as family. They take great care of their employees. All of my co workers were very easy to get along with and very great teachers. The hardest part of my job was the physical aspect of cleaning but I thoroughly – more... enjoyed it. My co workers and amazing clients made my job so enjoyable. – less

About Merry Maids

Merry Maids is happy to scrub, straighten, and sanitize. Founded in 1979, home cleaning company Merry Maids has more than 600 – Read more