Find companies:
Merry Maids
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
254 reviews

Merry Maids Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good first job
Team Lead (Current Employee), Poulsbo WashingtonNovember 3, 2014
Pros: hours are nice and holidays you get off.
Cons: pay, the cleaning, little to no tips, no benifits.
You don't get paid very much and there is no longevity in the job but as far as first jobs go it's not bad.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ingroup
Housekeeper (Former Employee), Manchester, New HampshireNovember 3, 2014
Pros: the over all experance
Cons: i was allergic to the cemeicals used to clean
Traveled to personal homes and business to clean. We got travel pay. There was always two or three people per home. No more then 4 homes per day. Deep cleaning, importance to dusting and special request due to specific health conditions of personal request. Management was only seen at clock in and clock out in the main office. My coworkers were nice – more... everyone had their likes and dislike on wet and dry cleaning but every home we switched positions to get an over all feel of each home. The hardest part of the job was working while clients were home making request in person to have us clean there home kinda like being bossed and nit picky. The enjoyable part was not having to work nights or weekends. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Paid by commission sometimes better than minimum wage
Housekeeper (Current Employee), Burlington, WANovember 2, 2014
Pros: happy customers
Cons: drive time and compensation
Go to customers home or business and clean top to bottom of all rooms and surfaces, and to make them feel relaxed that the work is done. We work by a set standard that the customers expect to receive every time.I like to see the customers happy and glad that we make their lives easier for them, less for them to worry about.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse group of employees and customers
Solo Cleaner (Former Employee), Pensacola, FLOctober 30, 2014
I enjoyed meeting new and different people, the compensation is really well for the job. The only downside is there are little chances to be promoted and the job really wears down on your body and your vehicle.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Bonuses Available
Maid (Former Employee), Akron, OHOctober 29, 2014
Pros: bonuses available
A typical day at work involved cleaning residential homes.

Bonuses were available at Christmas time to consistently productive employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long days at work
Maid/Housekeeping Cleaner (Former Employee), Torrance, CAOctober 26, 2014
not enough pay for the work....not a enough money to pay for life living
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very exhausting
Cleaner (Former Employee), Bel Air, MDOctober 16, 2014
Pros: no weekend work
Cons: the hours
Don't let them fool you it says no evening work but there was handfuls of times when I worked from 8:00am to 8:30pm with rude teammates and very unorganized. Say you'll have 3 houses and your done before everybody they will either give you one of there house or make you go help
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Varied tasks during the day. Lots of customer interaction.
Office Assistant (Current Employee), Goodrich, MIOctober 16, 2014
Used many team building skills. Hardest part-negative feed back from clients. Inconsistent revenue making it difficult to schedule team mates.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really gives you strong customer service experience.
Captain/Housekeeper, Assistant Manager (Former Employee), North Augusta, SCOctober 13, 2014
Pros: great management
Cons: no benefits, no pay raises
With this job you really just have to leave home life home because every customer deserves the best of you and a smile to go with it. As far as my co-workers you have some that are good and some not so good you just have to pull some extra weight for the greater good of the company. The hardest part of my job is just all the down times traveling and – more... the most enjoyable part is really connecting with the clients and feeling a sense of satisfaction because they are satisfied. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Typical Day at Merry Maid
Team Captain (Current Employee), Durham, NCOctober 9, 2014
I start the day by going and unlocking the office and checking the phone messages and gathering supplies for each team. Then I review my assignments for the day with my team and then we leave out after a brief meeting with the Manager to go to our first appointment. My majority of my co-workers are Hispanic and I have learned so much about diversity – more... and culture bridging. The hardest part of my job is have an unsatisfied customer. The most enjoyable part of my job is customers that are glad to see me come back. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible place to work with no fun
Teammate (Current Employee), Gloucester, MAOctober 1, 2014
Pros: my coworkers
Cons: the owner, long work days, no life balance
typically we get to work at 7:30 and dont even actually leave until 7:50. the first couple days of the week are light loads and usually thursday and friday are heavily loaded days even though it should be the other way around. my coworkers are the best part of the job. management is the absolute worst part. god forbid someone takes a day off for being – more... sick. we get pushed to the limits. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Their way or no way
Maid/Housekeeping Cleaner (Former Employee), Bel Air, MDSeptember 30, 2014
Pros: paid mileage
Cons: to much chemicals
Residential cleaning that lead me to have bronchitis due to the way they make you clean.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
merry maids
Housekeeping (Current Employee), Lakewood, NJSeptember 22, 2014
Its a very hard job and you met people everyday. Everyday is different at this job but for people like us we just have to do what we have to do to move on.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is ok
maid (Current Employee), Durham NCSeptember 16, 2014
Not a place to work if you have lots of bills to pay. Not very much pay
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay job.
solo maid (Former Employee), houphauge, nySeptember 12, 2014
Pros: you can early days.
Cons: very short breaks. use of you're own car.
I only worked for this office for a few months when the holidays where right around the corner. The girls at times where a bit snotty because if you get teamed up the % gets cut between the 2 or 3, the main manager is generally nice but don't get her mad because she can be very nasty... her assistant is very nice. Just make sure you ask how you are – more... doing on the job if youre doing something right because I found out when they got mad that I was doing a few things wrong the whole time I was there, it wasn't until they where mad that I found out. It's a rough fast paste job, some girls take their time and alot of them rush through, there are really nice costumers and there's going to be a few who watch over you're shoulder what you're doing the whole time, alot of traveling with you're own car, if the costumer doesn't have a trash can you have to leave the trash in you're car until you find a dumper. Apartment is going to be like that. So get used to the smell of trash being in you're car if you do or trunk. And the main manager is going to tell you good numbers to get you interested in the job so be careful of that. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly co workers
Maid/housekeeper (Former Employee), 1119 Mockingbird driveSeptember 12, 2014
Pros: free food in the morning
Cons: no breaks
Clean customers houses.
Management- Nice and willing to help
Co-workers- We nice and friendly
Working for very little
When you got a clean house.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy cleaning homes and commercial business. It was a good fit for me.
Janitor (Current Employee), Eau Claire, WISeptember 10, 2014
Pros: very physically demanding job.
Cons: no compensation for travel time between jobs.
Organized business caters to professionals in providing cleaning services. A typical day entails the cleaning of scheduled homes and or businesses. Requires travel and the loading and unloading of equipment and supplies needed to complete the job. Cleaning is done in a timely manner due to a set rate of pay per location.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed the customers
Maid/ Housekeeper (Former Employee), Wilmington, NCSeptember 9, 2014
Pros: sometimes people were unhappy and could not please
Cons: overall, it is always a pleasure to make people happy.
The job was great, the co-workers where good to work with. The things I enjoyed the best was the customers and the service I provided for them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place to work
Team Member Trainer (Former Employee), Tallahassee, FLSeptember 8, 2014
The most enjoyable part of this job was the customer interactions. The worst part of the job was that I had to use my own car and this created a lot of wear and tear.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work.
Office Assistant (Former Employee), Frederick, MDSeptember 2, 2014
Pros: enjoyed the customer relationships
Cons: some days are longer than others
Morning routines are double checking schedules and making sure cleaning teams have what they need for the day. Verifying tat the team captains have the correct keys for the day. During the day is handling phone calls from employees, customers, and potential customers. Closing of the day includes, closing out reports from the employees, creating deposits – more... from the day, and making sure the next day schedule is complete. – less

About Merry Maids

Merry Maids is happy to scrub, straighten, and sanitize. Founded in 1979, home cleaning company Merry Maids has more than 600 – Read more