Meredith Corporation Employee Reviews

Showing all 52 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A well run compny.
Proofreader (Former Employee) –  Des Moines, Iowa24 March 2017
I was impressed with how well organized the freelance process was. I took a grammar exam and was given my first assignment shortly afterwards. I received the company's style book also in a very efficient way.
Pros
Copy Editor who lined up my work was very dependable.
Cons
Competitive
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun group activities, great compensation, low job security
Product Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Des Moines, IA6 March 2017
This is an agency and layoffs are inevitable.
A typical day at work would start with answering emails, inputting information. The end of the days usually got a more social and fun.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Making major moves not positive for print media.
Photo Editor (Former Employee) –  New York, NY28 February 2017
Meredith has a high aim to merge, buy, sell and acquire media. They are visibly gearing towards broadcast media and just starting to understand a digital environment. In the process, it would seem they are minimizing their print. Print has remained stagnant with decreasing budgets and staff. Their multi-cultural division is laughable and practically extinguished due to Meredith's disregard to the growing population.
There are very few promotions and no incentives.
Interestingly enough, each creative division has sensational talent. It is a good place to touch down, learn, and then move on quickly. Don't linger in hopes of merit.
Pros
Great place to learn.
Cons
No growth.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a fun place to work
Accounts Receivable Specialist (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GA6 February 2017
Never gave much of a notice that we had to work at night during closing.
Getting cash & credit cards processed in a timely manner.
Manger wasn't a people person.
Pros
lot of nice people to work with
Cons
supervisor needs more training
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed learning the broadcast business with this team.
Account Manager - KFXO (Former Employee) –  Bend, OR31 January 2017
Meredith was a great company to work for but in Bend, advancement was not really available. I left to go to work for NPG of Oregon, where I advanced from Local Account Manager, to Local Sales Manager, National Sales Manager and then to the position of Director of Sales.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
News video editor
Video Editor (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZ29 January 2017
I would come in and look at the rundowns for each newscast,using inews. I would work my rundown with a partner editor and we would edit packages, late breaking news, feel good stories. in a fast pace environment.
Pros
all the editors are very helpful
Cons
very fast paced.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable but not job security
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  New York, NY17 January 2017
The jobs was great in the accept of wonderful benefits and work/life balance. However, there is no job security and sometimes management doesn't actually do there job.
Pros
Work/life balance
Cons
No job security
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its another job
Traffic Copy Editor (Former Employee) –  AZ12 September 2016
The company itself is fine. Management isn't the greatest in this department. Just another typical office job. Nice people
Pros
hour lunch, free ice cream on fridays in summer
Cons
no consistency
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great, family oriented company
Account Manager (Current Employee) –  New York, NY11 August 2016
Great company, family-oriented, very human and talented management. The best magazine company to work for out there! I would definitely work here again.
Pros
9-5pm hours is respected
Cons
Not a lot of opportunity for job advancement.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment and challenging work
Senior Video Producer (Current Employee) –  Des Moines, IA7 July 2016
Meredith is a enjoyable place to work. Management does a good job of letting you have a good work life balance. The positions I have worked in have been challenging and I have learned from my co-workers. Is great to work at a place where you job can be serious but you have fun while working.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport

Want to know more about Meredith Corporation?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work day with kids
Caregiver (Current Employee) –  Pasadena, CA18 April 2016
I have worked with many families and all great kids. I love being able to make a difference in their lives. Also be a support to the parents.
Pros
flexible weekly schedule
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work for
Associate Image Producer (Current Employee) –  Des Moines, IA8 February 2016
Great place to work for with fairly flexible hours. Friendly people and many different departments and room to grow and move around. The company also provides an in-house fitness center and a variety of classes throughout the day.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meredith Has Potential
Program Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZ26 January 2016
Meredith Corp has potential of being a wonderful company. The mentality of upper management is falling behind the times.
Mid-Level management competency is at an all-time low.
Was this review helpful?Yes15No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard working and creative people
editor (Former Employee) –  New York, NY13 January 2016
I was surrounded by some great minds at this company and glad to have worked there when I did. The environment was a sea of beige, but we managed to look past that when creating content for monthly magazines. I will miss the views!
Was this review helpful?Yes6No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Workplace
Graphic Designer (Former Employee) –  New York, NY27 December 2015
Company treats you well with many benefits. Upper level management are accessible and agreeable people. Everyone takes work very seriously but most add fun within and outside the workplace.
Pros
Great benefits and work enviornment
Cons
Volitile field that has many layoffs and magazine closings
Was this review helpful?Yes8No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You're committing career suicide if you accept a job in Atlanta! Don't do it!!!
Former Employee (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GA25 December 2015
Top 10 Reasons

1. Low paying jobs in a Top 10 market
2. No advancement
3. No job security
4. Low morale
5. Mediocre management
6. No innovation, creativity -- Constant change every other year!
7. Discipline first, ask questions later.
8. No training or mentors
9. Young staff with no veterans
10. Constant revolving door (management, staff)
Pros
Co-workers, new technology
Cons
See list below....apply at your own risk!
Was this review helpful?Yes18No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyable place to work
Freelance Video Editor (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZ14 December 2015
After working in the news industry for only a few months it doesn't take much for you to become jaded by news. I enjoyed working with my co-workers and everyone was very friendly even during crunch-time. The pay-rate was nice based upon the job requirements that were asked of myself. It is a solid starting-job to have if you are looking to take the next step career-wise.
Pros
Co-workers, solidarity, work-flow
Cons
Lack of communication, hours
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meredith is evolving daily
sales (Former Employee) –  Chicago, IL7 December 2015
Great brand roster that is evolving to meet the changing desires of the American female reader that the company serves so well.
Great camaraderie among the employees.
Top execs are very open and honest about the finances and the expectations.
Pros
open, honest, great brands
Cons
not growing topline revenue fast enough
Was this review helpful?Yes3No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Legal Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Des Moines, IA15 November 2015
Supportive management, encouraging personal growth and development. Department Head was the most interesting and talented person I've ever worked with, and was inspiring to whole Division. Family-oriented company with fantastic perks!
Was this review helpful?Yes6No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment
Assistant to the Publisher (Former Employee) –  New York, NY8 November 2015
Worked with the Publishing Director/Publisher of several shelter magazine. As his assistant, I managed his calendar, travel, expenses and other administrative work, as necessary.
I loved working with the PD as he was very knowledgeable, a forward-thinker, creative and caring. He allowed me the opportunity to work on several projects with the Marketing/Promotion department when I expressed interest.
There was an atmosphere of camaraderie throughout the office and this was one of the first times I experienced in publishing in which the Editor and the Publisher got along and had great respect for each other.
When the magazine was sold, I went with the Publisher to another publishing company.
Pros
creative; opportunity to work on different aspects of publishing
Was this review helpful?Yes4No4Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Meredith Corporation. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 52 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Salary/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
2.8
Management
3.2
Culture
3.7