Meredith Corporation Employee Reviews

Showing all 55 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Vibrant workplace with set goals and processes
Video Producer (Former Employee) –  Des Moines, IA18 May 2017
I regularly produced, edited and revised 10-15 videos every two weeks with my team. Our time was also spent assisting with the corporate video needs of the Des Moines location of Meredith and handling corporately sponsored Facebook lives. Overall, I was able to be involved in a myriad of opportunities through this internship as given assignments as a coworker versus just an intern.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bottom Line
Copy Chief, Shape and Fitness (Former Employee) –  New York, NY9 May 2017
Fundamentally, the Meredith Corporation cares much, much more about their profit than their employees. The upper management views the corporations publication as faceless products rather than vehicles for information, enlightenment, and entertainment. Each year the staff of the magazines is trimmed to the point of ridiculousness.
Pros
Getting paid
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Energetic, Hard-Working, Family-like Workplace
Creative Services Writer / Producer (Former Employee) –  Greenville, SC4 April 2017
I worked for two years in the Creative Services/Promotions department for a local broadcast station. The station was great, I got to do a lot of exciting and unique projects in my time. I was hired in a newly created role, which was challenging in defining what it was and how it'd work for the department and station. I really enjoyed working with the community to sponsor or host events and showcasing our talent and content. Management was in transition during my time, but were always supportive and open to new ideas. The people at this specific station made it a great place to work and I was sad to leave, but had an exciting opportunity in New York City.
Pros
Quarterly Station-Wide Events, Meals; Flexible Schedule; Health Benefits
Cons
Compensation
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A well run compny.
Proofreader (Former Employee) –  Des Moines, Iowa24 March 2017
I was impressed with how well organized the freelance process was. I took a grammar exam and was given my first assignment shortly afterwards. I received the company's style book also in a very efficient way.
Pros
Copy Editor who lined up my work was very dependable.
Cons
Competitive
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun group activities, great compensation, low job security
Product Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Des Moines, IA6 March 2017
This is an agency and layoffs are inevitable.
A typical day at work would start with answering emails, inputting information. The end of the days usually got a more social and fun.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Making major moves not positive for print media.
Photo Editor (Former Employee) –  New York, NY28 February 2017
Meredith has a high aim to merge, buy, sell and acquire media. They are visibly gearing towards broadcast media and just starting to understand a digital environment. In the process, it would seem they are minimizing their print. Print has remained stagnant with decreasing budgets and staff. Their multi-cultural division is laughable and practically extinguished due to Meredith's disregard to the growing population.
There are very few promotions and no incentives.
Interestingly enough, each creative division has sensational talent. It is a good place to touch down, learn, and then move on quickly. Don't linger in hopes of merit.
Pros
Great place to learn.
Cons
No growth.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a fun place to work
Accounts Receivable Specialist (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GA6 February 2017
Never gave much of a notice that we had to work at night during closing.
Getting cash & credit cards processed in a timely manner.
Manger wasn't a people person.
Pros
lot of nice people to work with
Cons
supervisor needs more training
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed learning the broadcast business with this team.
Account Manager - KFXO (Former Employee) –  Bend, OR31 January 2017
Meredith was a great company to work for but in Bend, advancement was not really available. I left to go to work for NPG of Oregon, where I advanced from Local Account Manager, to Local Sales Manager, National Sales Manager and then to the position of Director of Sales.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
News video editor
Video Editor (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZ29 January 2017
I would come in and look at the rundowns for each newscast,using inews. I would work my rundown with a partner editor and we would edit packages, late breaking news, feel good stories. in a fast pace environment.
Pros
all the editors are very helpful
Cons
very fast paced.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable but not job security
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  New York, NY17 January 2017
The jobs was great in the accept of wonderful benefits and work/life balance. However, there is no job security and sometimes management doesn't actually do there job.
Pros
Work/life balance
Cons
No job security
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its another job
Traffic Copy Editor (Former Employee) –  AZ12 September 2016
The company itself is fine. Management isn't the greatest in this department. Just another typical office job. Nice people
Pros
hour lunch, free ice cream on fridays in summer
Cons
no consistency
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great, family oriented company
Account Manager (Current Employee) –  New York, NY11 August 2016
Great company, family-oriented, very human and talented management. The best magazine company to work for out there! I would definitely work here again.
Pros
9-5pm hours is respected
Cons
Not a lot of opportunity for job advancement.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment and challenging work
Senior Video Producer (Current Employee) –  Des Moines, IA7 July 2016
Meredith is a enjoyable place to work. Management does a good job of letting you have a good work life balance. The positions I have worked in have been challenging and I have learned from my co-workers. Is great to work at a place where you job can be serious but you have fun while working.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work day with kids
Caregiver (Current Employee) –  Pasadena, CA18 April 2016
I have worked with many families and all great kids. I love being able to make a difference in their lives. Also be a support to the parents.
Pros
flexible weekly schedule
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work for
Associate Image Producer (Current Employee) –  Des Moines, IA8 February 2016
Great place to work for with fairly flexible hours. Friendly people and many different departments and room to grow and move around. The company also provides an in-house fitness center and a variety of classes throughout the day.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meredith Has Potential
Program Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZ26 January 2016
Meredith Corp has potential of being a wonderful company. The mentality of upper management is falling behind the times.
Mid-Level management competency is at an all-time low.
Was this review helpful?Yes15No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard working and creative people
editor (Former Employee) –  New York, NY13 January 2016
I was surrounded by some great minds at this company and glad to have worked there when I did. The environment was a sea of beige, but we managed to look past that when creating content for monthly magazines. I will miss the views!
Was this review helpful?Yes6No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Workplace
Graphic Designer (Former Employee) –  New York, NY27 December 2015
Company treats you well with many benefits. Upper level management are accessible and agreeable people. Everyone takes work very seriously but most add fun within and outside the workplace.
Pros
Great benefits and work enviornment
Cons
Volitile field that has many layoffs and magazine closings
Was this review helpful?Yes8No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You're committing career suicide if you accept a job in Atlanta! Don't do it!!!
Former Employee (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GA25 December 2015
Top 10 Reasons

1. Low paying jobs in a Top 10 market
2. No advancement
3. No job security
4. Low morale
5. Mediocre management
6. No innovation, creativity -- Constant change every other year!
7. Discipline first, ask questions later.
8. No training or mentors
9. Young staff with no veterans
10. Constant revolving door (management, staff)
Pros
Co-workers, new technology
Cons
See list below....apply at your own risk!
Was this review helpful?Yes18No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyable place to work
Freelance Video Editor (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZ14 December 2015
After working in the news industry for only a few months it doesn't take much for you to become jaded by news. I enjoyed working with my co-workers and everyone was very friendly even during crunch-time. The pay-rate was nice based upon the job requirements that were asked of myself. It is a solid starting-job to have if you are looking to take the next step career-wise.
Pros
Co-workers, solidarity, work-flow
Cons
Lack of communication, hours
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Meredith Corporation. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 55 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Salary/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
2.8
Management
3.1
Culture
3.7

CEO Approval

78%
19 ratings
Add your rating