Merck Employee Reviews

Found 32 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
equipe de management professionnelle
Kirkland, QC (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC28 February 2017
ce que j ai appris le plus est de travailler avec confiance aupres de tous nos collaborateurs autant au bureau que sur la route.
Pros
tres grande liberte de creativite
Cons
peu de marketing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellence ambiance de travail
Représentant des ventes (Former Employee) –  Sherbrooke, QC10 August 2016
Très valorisant! Excellent soutien et formation plus qu'adéquate.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great research products, well received, innovative management.
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON15 July 2016
My years with Merck were probably the best years of my career. Within 2 years I my work was acknowledged and was promoted into the Head Office in Montreal, where I was usually given every new challenge that came up. As such, I developed vast industry knowledge and a variety of skills. As Sales Trainer, I developed training material that was used for several years later. Many "firsts" as whenever there was a new position, I got selected for the job.
Pros
Exceptional research products, innovation
Cons
As in any large organization, politics.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work life balance
Administrative Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Kirkland, QC29 February 2016
great company to work for. great work/life balance. competitive salaries & benefits. the people here are polite, helpful and believe in team building. always encouraged to apply and grow with the company. managers are always available to speak with/suggestions, problem trouble shooting.
Pros
work/life balance
Cons
difficult to get a permanent position
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Project Manager for infectious disease studies
Senior, Clinical Research Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC23 November 2015
This was my first job in Clinical Research. This was my goal as I obtained my Master`s degree in Pharmacology.
I reported to the Director of the department. The entire department of Clinical Research inspired me and reassured me of my career direction. My Director provided me with the autonomy and trust that allowed me to grow and develop leadership skills that proved to be of the essence in my career to date.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great professional development
MSL (Current Employee) –  Lisbon, ON20 September 2015
Great company to learn on the job, opportunities to work in several projects out of the functional area, with Regional Groups and several people with different backgrounds and experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very pleasurable, clean environment. Highly professional coworkers, a lot to learn for a new person in Pharmaceuticals.
Drug Safety Associate (Former Employee) –  Montreal, Canada2 May 2015
Very satisfactory. Highly professional.

I have learned a lot. Very corporate. Clean, a lot of attention to health. Events related to health, life-work balance.

Precision, speed, professionalism are very common.
Pros
Often free snaks. A lot of attention to health.
Cons
Too corporate.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work life balance
Accountant (Current Employee) –  Montreal, QC28 April 2015
People are professional and flexible on working hours. Great for work/life balance. A productive environment encouraging learning and career advancement.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bon travail
Électromécanicien (Former Employee) –  montréal canada28 March 2015
tous les employés travail avec sincérité résponsabilité jai travallé comme electromecanien je donne un coup de main au niveau de production en plus je répare la machine
Pros
l'ordre dans le travail
Cons
rien
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company with strong ethics and integrity
ASSOCIATE SALES DIRECTOR- ONCOLOGY (Current Employee) –  Toronto, Ontario, Canada9 March 2015
Merck is largely a primary care organization and buts up internal barriers to getting things done quickly in the interest of customer value. Speed does not have to mean unethical nor wrong and the evolving competitive landscape requires adaptation which is more troublesome in a large organization.
Pros
Ethical and Makes Medicines that matter
Cons
Large and inflexible.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Merck Kuwait
Product specialist Kuwait / CRA Gulf (Former Employee) –  Kuwait10 February 2015
I did learn a lot in Merck
It is a great company to work for
It add to my knowledge & develop my skills in the best way.
I held a CRA position with Merck as part time in addition to my product specialist job where I conduct phase 3 & 4 trials.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Financial Cost Analyst (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC6 February 2015
Enjoyed working in the field as I learn a lot by being there, my immediate supervisor has thought me a lot, I would recommend this company any one of my friends or family members
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Top pharmaceutical company
Key Account Manager Fertility (Former Employee) –  Ontario East and Atlantic provinces30 October 2014
Over the past 12 years, I have enjoyed the opportunity to learn and grow in a variety of different roles and therapeutic areas.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company.
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC12 October 2014
Great company to work for. Very competitive benefits and salary, and very innovative in R&D field.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Marketing Manager
Marketing Manager - Canada (Former Employee) –  Kirkland, QC6 October 2014
Great company. Great products. Great people. Wish I were still there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great multinational to work for
CRM, Reports and Process Trainer Manager (Former Employee) –  Montreal area, Canada10 June 2014
Until early 2000 one of the best company to work for. As the business started to move in bigger centers, and in emerging markets, it become more difficult, but Merck is still a good company.
Pros
permanent contact with the clients
Cons
repetetive lay-offs changed the company culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the best employers
Senior Health Solutions Sales Customer Innovation (Current Employee) –  Ontario11 May 2014
Highly ethical company leading in innovation outside the 'normal' realm of pharmaceuticals by embracing non-promtional relationships to further the delivery of health care to Canadians.

I am proud to say I am from Merck due to the reputation earned over 100 years by the company in helping people "Be Well"
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
environnement de travail tres agréable
Assistante de laboratoire (Former Employee) –  kirkland ,Québec26 March 2014
le meilleur employeur ,,,tres flexible et tres professionnel,,,tres pres des employés et leur écoute
Pros
reconnaissance de ses employés
Cons
femeture
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well respected pharmaceutical company
Vice President, Regional Legal Lead (Former Employee) –  Montreal, Quebec14 March 2014
Interesting and challenging position working with European and Canadian lawyers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive and ideal company to work with
Sr. SCCM Patching Engineer (Former Employee) –  Blue Bell, PA10 December 2013
The work is more related to engineering works for SCCM stuff like patching, infrastructure issue resolution.
The management was pretty helpful for any information.
I enjoyed the work all my tenure.
Pros
No bossism and micro management
Cons
Lot of policies for any changes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Merck. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 2,291 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
4.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.6
Culture
3.8