Find companies:
Mercer
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
192 reviews

Mercer Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for.
Business Development Data Analyst (Former Employee), Toronto, ONSeptember 11, 2014
Pros: lunch and learn sessions
Cons: massive lay offs
Lots of opportunities but at the same time, too big a company has it's set backs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
International Company
Associate (Current Employee), MontrealApril 29, 2014
Its an International Company that provides good opportunities for employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good company
Pension and Project administrator (Former Employee), Toronto, ONFebruary 28, 2014
Awesome company to work for. The only disappointment was 4 months after hire the company decided to cut cost and did a layoff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great in most aspects except job security.
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJanuary 31, 2014
Pros: great co workers
Cons: zero job security
I enjoyed almost everything about working for this company. The coworkers were great very friendly and helpful. Management was good. The problem with this job was that there was no security. When they give you a start and end date there is no assurance that you will start or end on those dates. I was supposed to start for this company again next week – more... but found out the Thursday before that it would not start for another month. If you could trust their start and end dates there would be absolutely nothing wrong. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging
Associate - Senior Benefits Implementer (Former Employee), Toronto ONJanuary 28, 2014
Opportunity to learn and grow.
Management style is easy going and reasonable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional and Positive work environment
Sr. Learning and Development Analyst (Former Employee), Toronto, OntarioSeptember 16, 2013
Pros: work place training
A professional, team orientated work environment, that learns from each other and is able to meet tight deadlines.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people and work culture
Team Leader – Operations Support (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJune 24, 2013
Leadership and Management had a clear vision.
A fair place to work.
Learned management and leadership skills which led me to the next role in the parent company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive and inclusive atmosphere
Business Systems Analyst (Former Employee), Toronto, ONNovember 16, 2012
Mercer provided a supportive atmosphere in which to develop your skill set. Departments were collaborative.

My work was project-driven, which meant there were peaks and troughs in work flow. However, initiative is encouraged and so I was always able to pick up projects I wished to do around process improvement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very professional with great benefits
Defined Benefit Pension Administrator (Former Employee), Dublin, DSeptember 25, 2012
Pros: flexi time, pension
Mercer in Dublin has flexitime which just really improves work/life balance as you can choose your hours.
Working in such a professional environment is very liberating. Great management, very by the book and fair.
The hardest part of the job is when companies go bust, we got busier, winding up schemes is hard when you see how upset people are
most enjoyable – more... part is the company has a sports and social club, they really promote work/life balance and organize fun activities to get everyone together – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical workplace
Pension Analyst (Former Employee), Toronto, ONMay 22, 2012
AGF provides the cliche workplace environment with little embellishments. Its a warm and favorable place and its generic environment is soothing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dollars over People
Development Manager (Former Employee), Hoboken, NJDecember 13, 2014
Pros: compensation packages are some of the best i've seen, if you can survive long enough.
Cons: if you're not a partner, you are the expendable.
I learned that you can never trust that your job will be not be eliminated at any point. Especially post merger.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Challenge
Participant Service Representative (PSR) (Former Employee), Norwood, MADecember 4, 2014
With Mercer, I learned many things about benefits with which I had no prior experience and/or knowledge. As such, it was a challenge to learn, understand and communicate the knowledge to the clients we serviced.

I am thankful for the training and time Mercer felt I was worthy to receive. It was very gratifying to hear from clients that I made it easy – more... to comprehend topics not easily understood regarding their benefits and made it a simpler process in selecting benefits best suited for the client and his/her family. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at Mercer
Implementation Analyst (Current Employee), Houston, TXNovember 18, 2014
Pros: ability to work from home
Cons: compensation is not as good as competitors
Great place to work. Benefits are awesome and paid time off is better than most companies.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Comment
MARKETING ASSOCIATE - WEST MARKET (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CANovember 17, 2014
The company no longer exists. It was an ok place, but management needed a lot of improvements.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mercer - Principal
Principal - Product Leader (Current Employee), chicago ILNovember 11, 2014
Pros: good benefits and flexible work schedule
Cons: non focused leadership and no commitment to technology
Mercer is a company in flux .. they make changes that are in direct conflict. The cut costs to realize margin at the cost of providing the services and technology clients need.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team Lead Health and Benefits
Team Lead Health and Welfare (Current Employee), Norwood MANovember 10, 2014
Pros: good people, lots of general hr training, exposure to sound hr practices and administration.
Cons: over delegated responsibility to tl to manage clients, to many internal projects, direct manager supervision over focused on internal mercer process, should be more client centric focus
I worked in Health and Benefits administration for 1 year. The Team Lead position is the center for all activity, client contact, third party administration, supervisor for analysts and main contact for all other mercer groups.

The ongoing and open enrollment projects are monster projects requiring over 60 hrs week to keep the OE project on track. – more... The amount of responsibility a team lead has in relation to upper management far exceeds what should be delegated.

The company as whole has good people to work with and a lot of OE training. The technical training is not enough and often every client has a legacy implementation that requires additional process improvement to get client stable.

My H&W group was often in the lead of new "special" projects initiated by senior director by managed by delegated TL's and analysts. These projects created extra work that required overtime that often strained the ongoing weekly benefits processing and administration. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mercer is a wonderful company to work for. Feels like a well knit family with lots of incentives to be productive. Not a lot of opportunities for adv
Participant Service Representative II (Current Employee), Houston, TXNovember 3, 2014
Pros: close knit family feel with co-workers and some incentives for productivity
Cons: no breaks, 30 minute lunches, on the phone all day, required to meet strict metric adherence standards in order to gain bonuses and yearly raises
My typical work day at Mercer begins by opening all systems in order to assist participants with their HR benefit needs. Systems I am proficient in are Siebel Case Management, Business Document Management, Cisco Agent Desktop, Omni Pay, Nice IEX Agent Web Station, Plan Online, etc. I am currently working in the Defined Compensation Department in a call – more... center setting where I handle call volume for the Spanish queue. My department works with over 250 different clients from all ranges of employee populations. I have been trained to take escalated calls where I attempt to de-escalate irate and upset participants for resolution. I am also a non-licensed trade specialist and am able to process investment trades on the participants’ plan portfolios. I provide consultative services and explain tax ramifications under the IRS 402F Tax Code for 401(k) financial transactions. I work aged team service requests with escalated resolutions and place outbound calls on behalf of the clients and administrative team staff on paperwork that is received not in good order. I also assist in training my peers with the Summary Plan Description Rules and system navigation. I have been a contributing team member for Defined Contributions for over five years. Mercer is a wonderful company to work for but unfortunately does not provide many opportunities for advancement and career growth. I am seeking an opportunity to apply the knowledge, skills, and abilities gained at Mercer to a position in a company that provides an opportunity for growth and career development. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Maybe a starting point, but not a strong finisher
Client Services Analyst (DB) (Current Employee), Norwood, MANovember 1, 2014
Working for Mercer allowed me to learn lots of new things and growth experiences.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and comfortable work environment
Participant Services Representative (Current Employee), Norwood, MAOctober 28, 2014
At my current position I have gained experience in both health and benefits and defined contributions. I have gained knowledge with health plans such as CDHPs, HMOs and PPOs. I have also become familiar with government regulated loans, in service withdrawals and IRS federal tax regulations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace work enviroment
Participant Services (Current Employee), Norwood, MAOctober 27, 2014
I enjoyed working Mercer. It is a fast pace environment so you have to be able to multi task and be able to do a few things at once. If you are able to do that then the job comes naturally to you.
The hardest part of the job is really not stressing yourself out over not able to help everyone that may need it. You always want to help everyone to the – more... best of your ability but sadly, you may not always be able too.
My colleagues are great and its wonderful to meet all the people you do by working here. – less

1 2 3 4 5