Find companies:
Menchie's Frozen Yogurt
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
27 reviews

Menchie's Frozen Yogurt Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning new skills and making new friends
MIxologist (Current Employee), Oshawa, ONDecember 4, 2013
Pros: free 8oz yogurt every shift and amazing co-workers.
A typical day at work includes cleaning snack containers, making fresh yogurt, cleaning tables and chairs, and general cleaning. I also inform people about our yogurts new and old. This information includes nutritional information as well as answering any other questions they may have.

My co-workers are amazing and I always have a great time interacting – more... with them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun place to work at
General Manager (Current Employee), Markham ONNovember 25, 2013
very good people to work with the guests are always happy the team members are very friendly. overall this is a good place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Menchie's Frozen Yogurt
Mixologist, Supervisor (Former Employee), Whitby, OntarioJuly 2, 2013
Pros: free frozen yogurt and care for our personal lives
Cons: exhausting work
Menchie's was such a great place to work, everyone was happy, customers were always satisfied and time flew by. I learned great customer satisfaction skills and I always had specific people come in regularly and always complimented me or thanked me on my job well done.

I worked at two different Menchie's -- Whitby for a year and 3 months and Bowmanville – more... for 4 months. The difference between management was drastic; Whitby had fabulous Management who were understanding and great mentors! We always got along and we had a great relationship. Bowmanville's management had a different way of doing things, however, being an authority figure in Bowmanville still taught me important skills such as taking care of my fellow employees and treating them with the respect I would want my boss or manager to treat me with, a lot of them have told me they appreciated it.

The most challenging part of the job at Menchie's was co-ordination; every person in the store had to communicate at all times possible to let each other know what the current situation was to reach maximum customer satisfaction. We got that down pretty early once we all got comfortable in our surroundings.

Of course, the most enjoyable part of the job would have to have been the customers and the employees. The customers were always so excited about the product and that made us passionate about it as well. I always talk highly of the franchise and the employees always had a great bond including outings! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor place of employment
Anything and everything (Former Employee), canadaAugust 21, 2012
terminated me because of my nationality. Would not recommend this employer to anyone whatsoever. Mench means good person. These people are not! Therein lies the irony.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy job
Shift Leader (Former Employee), Toco Hills, GAJuly 10, 2014
Pros: free lunch breaks
Cons: too many kids
easy daily tasks, great environment, does get repetitive on cleaning, heavy cleaning job
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Shift Manager (Former Employee), Valley Village, CAJuly 1, 2014
NOTE: reviewing job worked in 2010

-Self serve, so your main job is to keep machines full/ clean, and most importantly stay friendly and attentive towards customers.
-Learned how to effectively multitask.
-Manager I worked with was very helpful and approachable. Many times when it got busy he would help- I thought that was pretty respectable.
-Co-workers – more... are all pretty up-beat people, very engaging with customers- so they were all pretty friendly people outside of work too.
-Hardest part was when it got busy. It got hectic at times, the store I worked at isn't the biggest, so it got crowded at times.
-Most enjoyable part is dealing with happy people, because typically people getting fro-yo are happy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and friendly, on the low side of pay.
Shift Leader (Former Employee), Fredericksburg, VAJune 20, 2014
Pros: up to $5 in free yogurt every shift, you get to sample the flavors a lot
Cons: you have to have a constant smile. kinda makes your jaw hurt.
This job is a lot of hard physical labor and work. It is not an easy job but it is fun and enjoyable with very genuine and hard working people. The pay is decent for a starter job, I wouldn't start here if you're used to $10/hr pay because I was started at $7.40 and even when I was promoted it was only to $8/hr and I was doing a lot more work than before. – more... The management is awesome, they're such nice people who work hard to make sure you're in a safe and comfortable environment at all times. The hardest part of the job, for me, was being in a position of leadership/management and having no one do their jobs right so every mistake is riding on you. The most enjoyable part is making genuine connections with the guests, and seeing regulars come in and greet you by name. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall okay place
Team Member (Former Employee), miamiMay 12, 2014
It was a good atmosphere in general, but it was also a lot of work for the pay in my opinion. Maybe it was just the menchies I worked at.The scheduling was pretty weird. The good thing about Menchie's is that we got tips at the end of the week.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace that keeps you busy!
Team Member/Cashier (Current Employee), Chattanooga, TNMay 12, 2014
Working at Menchie's is a great way to build your people skills and time management. During a typical work day you must maintain the balance between caring for our valued customer base and keeping the store clean and inviting. With a semi flexible schedule, this job is well suited for high school students, college students, or those just looking for – more... a few more hours. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Menchie's
Mixologist (Current Employee), Riverview, FloridaMay 11, 2014
It is a thrilling and exciting work environment. The days can be slow but on the weekends it is nonstop. Lines are usually wrapped around the store.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Managments and people
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), hialeahMarch 7, 2014
Pros: half-off yogurt
Manager is very nice and willing to accomodate to school schedule.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A DOPE JOB
Retail Associate (Former Employee), pembroke pinesJanuary 29, 2014
EVERYTHING WAS GREAT
EXCEPT HOURS AND PAY
environment was good
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy going workplace
Shift Lead (Current Employee), Seattle, WAJanuary 20, 2014
Pros: free yogurt per shift, easy
Cons: not much room for advancement after shift lead position, can get boring during the slow season
I've been working during the winter, it has been very slow. The guest are normally very nice and understanding if it is busy. Very rare to see the bosses of the small franchise. The rest of the employees are very nice. I have enjoyed working there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best available opportunity in the restaurant industry; not challenging
Team Member (Current Employee), Houston, TXDecember 22, 2013
I have to constantly clean the restaurant and make sure everything looks presentable. Trash has to be frequently changed and chill bar restocked. Co-workers are about the only best part of working there, as the job is mundane and repetitive. There is little incentive to work hard. Owners are nice, but always on you for every little thing. Overall, there – more... is low morale for those at the bottom of the hierarchy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting first job.
Team Member (Former Employee), Encino, CANovember 25, 2013
Pros: meet new people, customer service experience, free yogurt
Cons: late meetings, only worked weekends
I learned how to fill yogurt machines, cashiering, retailing, and trained franchisees. I also learned how to value customer service and display it fully to ensure loyalty of customer in order for them to return in the future. The hardest part was working around my schedule and the employee meetings were inconvenient at times. Also trying to deal with – more... co-workers who often missed work was not easy to balance. The most enjoyable was being able to meet new people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun family environment, I would definitely recommend Menchie's to friends for employmennt
Shift Leader (Former Employee), Raleigh, NCSeptember 15, 2013
Pros: free yogurt
Cons: no benefits
A typical day at work as a Shift Lead consists of opening the store about an hour an a half to reassemble the dining area, prep and clean the yogurt machines and do any other stocking and prep in the front of the house.
I learned how to be a team leader and not just a leader. Rather than abusing my authority I chose to work alongside the other team – more... members and assist them when needed as well as correct them when necessary.
My management team was amazing. We kept in contact everyday either face to face or through email and developed a strong communication relationship. The team members kept the establishment feeling young and exciting. They engaged the guests, especially the children, and made them feel welcome and at home inside the store. The hardest part of the job was staying away from the sample cups lol. What I loved most was the family atmosphere, my job didn't feel like a job because I enjoyed it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with a friendly environment.
Shift Leader (Former Employee), South Pasadena, CAAugust 27, 2013
Pros: friendly environment, great employees
Cons: late hours
As a shift leader, I was required to direct team members and ensure that the store operated smoothly. I learned to prepare all yogurt flavors, how to stock the store, open and close the store, operate the cash registers, and lead the team to work efficiently. My co-workers were great and were very personable and cooperative. The hardest part of the – more... job was dealing with late-night rushes of customers. Keeping the topping sections clean, prepping for the following shift leader, and maintaining the yogurt levels proved difficult when the store was busy. The best part of the job was working with a dedicated team and realizing the importance of a positive attidude. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It pays off to work for nice people
Lead Cashier (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAJuly 28, 2013
Pros: great bosses
Cons: no benefits
The reason I stayed for so long was because my bosses were very engaged with their employees. They made sure our needs were met, and that we did everything we could to helpful to customers and give them the best experience. This is when I was introduced to customer satisfaction, as small as the store was, if we had an opportunity to make someone happy, – more... we did. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work.
Menchie's Team Member (Former Employee), Alcoa, TNApril 1, 2013
Pros: music playing, fun environment.
Cons: none.
Typical day includes cutting up the fruits and tasty treats, setting out the bins, cups, spoons, and other products. I also opened up the umbrellas, set up the chairs and tables, wiped down everything, made sure the bathrooms were cleaned, greeted guests, and rang up their orders. I learned how to work in a working environment. Management was awesome – more... as well as the Co-workers. Hardest part of the job would be getting into the Menchie's costume and walking around. Most enjoyable part was seeing my friends come in, and dancing to the music while working. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun environment with great customer service
Manager (Current Employee), Chatsworth, CAFebruary 27, 2013
Managing my employees was a great experience. We grew very close with each other and we are like a family now. Providing excellent customer service was not always easy with the difficulties we faced once in a while, but every situation was treated different and was resolved quickly.

Menchie's Frozen Yogurt Photos