Memorial University of Newfoundland Employee Reviews

Found 35 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
3D Artist/Modeler (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL7 March 2017
I had all the benefits of working at the university (snow days, pension, health insurance). Had a chance to work with some great people. Professional work environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great school. I cant ask more
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL28 January 2017
Great school and cost effective tuitions. Many room to grow and keep expanding. They work hard to help students for their successful academic life and future.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work if you manage to get a permanent position.
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL12 August 2016
A typical day of work consisted of setting up experiments for the lab.
I developed good language skills towards instructing first-year students basic courses in Biology.
Management is terrible in this place, the science building is collapsing and seems to be a very bureaucratic place to make an impact to Newfoundlanders.
Co-workers are good, in my area all of us young and enthusiastic.
The hardest part of the job is not getting paid enough, compared to other major Universities in Canada MUN, pay grades are low.
The must enjoyable part of the job is the flexibility.
Pros
Good environment to work
Cons
Bureaucracy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Graduate Student (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL2 September 2016
Memorial University offers young researchers ample opportunity to gain practical research skills and exposure to various facets of their field. Memorial's library is well stocked and labs are very well equipped. The atmosphere is friendly and support staffs are always willing to help. A good place to start your career in specialized fields of engineering.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and grow.
Administrator (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL17 February 2017
MUN has a great work environment. The university does very well at encouraging personal growth and development for their employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really amazing
Marketing externship (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL12 February 2017
Really informative, experience was one in a million. Staff and co workers were helpful during my short stay within the organization as part of my summer externship program
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work!
Administrative Specialist (Current Employee) –  St. John's, NL10 January 2017
I love my job at Memorial University. It's a very diverse place. I have worked in several departments and found the work to be very rewarding.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Postal Clerk (Current Employee) –  St. John's, NL4 August 2016
great place to work

friendly co-workers

have been given the opportunity to do some courses in project management.

course in understanding personality types
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place to learn and to work
Software Developer (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL13 May 2016
It gives us opportunities to solve problems by ourselves and group. Assignment and project should be easily done with or without group. Teamwork is quite important for certain tasks.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
well oganized career fair every spring
Teaching assistant (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL30 March 2016
Many big companies and job offers on different areas. Everyone can communicate with any company staff if you are interested. Well oganized and environemt is also good.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Payroll / Human Resources (Work Term) (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL3 April 2016
it was a awesome place to work I loved everyone at Mun and got along with everyone. The days went by far to fast there was a lot of work to be done and everyone works great as a team. Overall great place to work
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gained much administrative/financial experience
Intermediate Clerk Stenographer (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL13 May 2015
I worked in accounts receivable. I learned so much about accounting and learned many software applications. I enjoyed my work environment and co-workers. Contacting clients regarding overdue payments was the hardest.
Pros
Great learning experience for my career future
Cons
Collecting overdue payments
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Responsibility as Teaching Assistant (TA)
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL11 December 2015
• Supervise students during exams/tests
• Performing laboratory demonstration
• Ensure safety guidelines are followed.
• Evalute student work and maintain student record
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co-op work term
Electrical Engineer (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL9 October 2015
• Designed and implemented LabVIEW program for corrosion under insulation project
• Assisted with low current measurement accuracy determination and physical connections for laboratory set-up
• Provided advice on computing needs for lab and field test DAQ system
• Implemented FTP data transfer protocol for field test data
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly, busy, Professional environment
Student Health Nurse Assistant (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL7 July 2014
There was a fair amount of data entry involved. I learned a lot about the medical field, terminology, and now have a great understanding of immunization requirements and what they exactly they are. My co-workers were great, helpful and supportive. It is a great job for a student looking to much a little extra money. The hours are flexible and according to your school schedule.
Pros
Flexible hours, great co-workers
Cons
Minimum wage pay
Was this review helpful?YesNo3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co-workers
Program Administrative Assistant - Compost Program (Current Employee) –  Corner Brook, NL27 March 2014
Good place to work, people are friendly, management is great.

I love working with people and community engagement but the best part of my job is in the lab work. I am a scientist at heart.

The hardest part would be trying to communicate with some members of the faculty. They can be difficult to work with and hard to communicate to, but I always manage.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Memorial University is a five star workplace
Intermediate Clerk Stenographer (Current Employee) –  St. John's, NL2 January 2013
I work from 7:30 to 4:00 p.m. Monday to Friday. I enjoy my work very much. Everyday I am learning new things and meeting new people.

Our office setting consists of approximately 50 people. The only employees are myself and my supervisor. The other 48 co-workers consist of undergraduate and graduate tutors who are hired for tutoring their peers with their papers.

I thoroughly enjoy working with everyone in the office. It's a wonderful place to work.
Pros
the people are wonderful to work with
Cons
i have no complaints whatsoever
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teaching physics and math to undergraduate students
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL2 July 2012
It was an opportunity to teach physics and math to undergraduates, and it was in return to the graduate fellowship I received. I learned teaching aand lab demo skills. Management was very helpful. Team work was amazing. When I see my students succeed, that's the most enjoyable part of the job.
Pros
teaching skills learned
Cons
low stipend
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and creative environment to work in
Resident Assistant (Current Employee) –  St John's Newfoundland11 February 2015
Ensuring student safety and rule compliance as well as building management and event planning. Learned how to create fun interactive environments as well as manage and lead large groups of people.
Pros
Great staff memebers
Cons
You never get to be "off duty"
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work at.
Post doctoral fellow (Former Employee) –  Toronto, Canada17 April 2015
I learned a lot. It was very stimulating environment however involved a lot of hard work. Coworkers were friendly and helpful in general. The research work in the lab was very enjoyable. However, the guidance from the supervisor was not up to the mark and therefore the hard work was not properely steared to obtain the publishable results.
Pros
Big name of the Institute.
Cons
Lack of the required supervisory help.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Memorial University of Newfoundland. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 37 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.5
Salary/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.9
Management
4.1
Culture
4.1

Memorial University of Newfoundland Reviews by Location