Memorial University of Newfoundland Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 27 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Payroll / Human Resources (Work Term) (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NLApril 3, 2016
it was a awesome place to work I loved everyone at Mun and got along with everyone. The days went by far to fast there was a lot of work to be done and everyone works great as a team. Overall great place to work
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
well oganized career fair every spring
Teaching assistant (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NLMarch 30, 2016
Many big companies and job offers on different areas. Everyone can communicate with any company staff if you are interested. Well oganized and environemt is also good.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Responsibility as Teaching Assistant (TA)
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NLDecember 11, 2015
• Supervise students during exams/tests
• Performing laboratory demonstration
• Ensure safety guidelines are followed.
• Evalute student work and maintain student record
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co-op work term
Electrical Engineer (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NLOctober 9, 2015
• Designed and implemented LabVIEW program for corrosion under insulation project
• Assisted with low current measurement accuracy determination and physical connections for laboratory set-up
• Provided advice on computing needs for lab and field test DAQ system
• Implemented FTP data transfer protocol for field test data
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive environment with lots to learn
Undergraduate Student (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NLMay 14, 2015
A typical day of work included maintaining the lab followed by assisting a graduate student with various assays.I also assisted with various piglet surgeries.
Pros
Learning
Cons
Minimal hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gained much administrative/financial experience
Intermediate Clerk Stenographer (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NLMay 13, 2015
I worked in accounts receivable. I learned so much about accounting and learned many software applications. I enjoyed my work environment and co-workers. Contacting clients regarding overdue payments was the hardest.
Pros
Great learning experience for my career future
Cons
Collecting overdue payments
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work at.
Post doctoral fellow (Former Employee) –  Toronto, CanadaApril 17, 2015
I learned a lot. It was very stimulating environment however involved a lot of hard work. Coworkers were friendly and helpful in general. The research work in the lab was very enjoyable. However, the guidance from the supervisor was not up to the mark and therefore the hard work was not properely steared to obtain the publishable results.
Pros
Big name of the Institute.
Cons
Lack of the required supervisory help.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  St. John's, NLMarch 25, 2015
Memorial University is an excellent place for research. Working environment is also excellent and the research facilities are also excellent.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and creative environment to work in
Resident Assistant (Current Employee) –  St John's NewfoundlandFebruary 11, 2015
Ensuring student safety and rule compliance as well as building management and event planning. Learned how to create fun interactive environments as well as manage and lead large groups of people.
Pros
great staff memebers
Cons
you never get to be "off duty"
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, positive and friendly environment
Teaching Assistant and Lab Supervisor (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NLJanuary 16, 2015
It was a great opportunity to work for Memorial University. Everyday I learned new things and developed my skills. I made great friends over there and it was a pleasure getting to know those nice people.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
FOOD COURT WORKER (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NLSeptember 14, 2014
people especially manager of coordinators are professional in carrying things. and they care about employees, we got gifts before Christmas and the safety training is good. the workload is small. people are easygoing and they are well educated.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working as a student
Student (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NLSeptember 7, 2014
Memorial university made a phenomenal environment for students to study and research.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
professional Profs
Wireless Sensor Networks Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  St. John's, NLJuly 31, 2014
working in the lab,
learning team work,
discussing the challenges
searching to improve the performance of the system,
discussing the solutions with coleages
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly, busy, Professional environment
Student Health Nurse Assistant (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NLJuly 7, 2014
There was a fair amount of data entry involved. I learned a lot about the medical field, terminology, and now have a great understanding of immunization requirements and what they exactly they are. My co-workers were great, helpful and supportive. It is a great job for a student looking to much a little extra money. The hours are flexible and according to your school schedule.
Pros
flexible hours, great co-workers
Cons
minimum wage pay
Was this review helpful?YesNo3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Technical Lead and Co-project Manager (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NLJune 18, 2014
Memorial University is a comprehensive university where students, faculties, and staff work together to create knowledge, culture, and a great community.
Was this review helpful?YesNo4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co-workers
Program Administrative Assistant - Compost Program (Current Employee) –  Corner Brook, NLMarch 27, 2014
Good place to work, people are friendly, management is great.

I love working with people and community engagement but the best part of my job is in the lab work. I am a scientist at heart.

The hardest part would be trying to communicate with some members of the faculty. They can be difficult to work with and hard to communicate to, but I always manage.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive environment
Computing Support Assistant (Current Employee) –  The CommonsNovember 9, 2013
Very good and positive environment, can be hectic sometimes when things don't work. Lots of space to move up in work place and career opportunities are present.
Pros
flexible hours
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and stimulating work environment with access to world class analytical facilities.
Researcher/ MSc Candidate (Current Employee) –  St. John's, NLAugust 6, 2013
At Memorial I worked as a field-based researched at the Voisey's Bay mine site, in northern Labrador.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Research & Teaching Assistant
Research & Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  St. John's, NLJuly 4, 2013
• Research assistant for my professor, research in Active Fault Tolerant Control System Design
• Correct assignments and tests
• Record marks and report to professor
• Conduct tutorial classes
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NLMay 30, 2013
good job with good people, excellent location and employees are treated well
Was this review helpful?YesNo2

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 29 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.4
Salary/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
4.0
Management
4.2
Culture
4.3

Memorial University of Newfoundland Reviews by Location