Memorial University of Newfoundland Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working morale
Senior Clerk (Current Employee) –  St. John's, NL24 October 2017
I have worked here since 2009. I have been working customer service on the front desk. The working morale is wonderful, uplifting and motivating. I book rooms for conferences, seminars and teaching spaces for the school of medicine. I assist those with technology.
Pros
Fun
Cons
Technology
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and easy to do to help training doctors
Faculty (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL14 October 2017
Easy job and well pay for young kids trying to make some money and very helpful for training nurses and doctors to become well educated on a real person and not on a doll or mannequin.
Pros
Easy to do, Very fun
Cons
Did not work often
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job
Patrol Officer (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL27 September 2017
Great job, worked here for 30 years, Great benifites, job security,education.12 hr shifts, give lots of time off. the down side being you sometimes miss life events.
Pros
time off
Cons
shift work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work, with lovely colleagues
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL24 September 2017
At Memorial I worked as assistant to a researcher in Genetics, maintaining and updating a database of pedigrees (family trees) using the Cyrillic and Progeny computer programs, which were new to me. I also maintained the associated filing system of medical information, and did typing and reprographic work as required.

It was a very friendly place to work, and my bosses were always very appreciative of what I did.

It was very rewarding to produce a complicated pedigree and work out how to make the program do what I needed it to do.

The hardest part was waiting to find out if research funding was going to be available, and having to give up the job when the funding ran out.
Pros
My hours were flexible
Cons
Insecurity because of research funding
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful educational institution
Library Assistant VIII (Current Employee) –  St. John's, NL22 September 2017
I have enjoyed working here for the past 15 years. I have learned many great things like research skills and customer service skills. Organizational change is limiting my ability to advance my career.
Pros
great coworkers
Cons
Evening work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best place to research and study
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  St. John's, NL26 July 2017
Oil & Gas Engineering
Electrical Engineering
Safety & Risk Engineering
Project management
good team work
friendly workplace culture
design and research
execution of research models
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work day
Language Tutor/ TA (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL3 July 2017
I would start along with students, have my lunch during breaks and help support the learning process throughout the day when classes were offered.

My favorite part of the job was the language details issue and explaining those to students: grammar issues, translation issues.

Hardest part of the job was that sometime it run into evenings work on top of day's work.

All the rest was very good.
Pros
attention to detail
Cons
long hours at times
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid back
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL19 April 2017
Profs were easy going and laid back. I was required to answer students' questions during lab sessions and helped demonstrate concepts and techniques. Enjoyed partaking in field trips.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty Good!
Student Telefund Communicator (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL11 April 2017
Great staff, flexible hours. Job is a little repetitive but it's rewarding because you're helping raise money for students. Overall a good experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
3D Artist/Modeler (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL7 March 2017
I had all the benefits of working at the university (snow days, pension, health insurance). Had a chance to work with some great people. Professional work environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and grow.
Administrator (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL17 February 2017
MUN has a great work environment. The university does very well at encouraging personal growth and development for their employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really amazing
Marketing externship (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL12 February 2017
Really informative, experience was one in a million. Staff and co workers were helpful during my short stay within the organization as part of my summer externship program
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great school. I cant ask more
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL28 January 2017
Great school and cost effective tuitions. Many room to grow and keep expanding. They work hard to help students for their successful academic life and future.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work!
Administrative Specialist (Current Employee) –  St. John's, NL10 January 2017
I love my job at Memorial University. It's a very diverse place. I have worked in several departments and found the work to be very rewarding.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Graduate Student (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL2 September 2016
Memorial University offers young researchers ample opportunity to gain practical research skills and exposure to various facets of their field. Memorial's library is well stocked and labs are very well equipped. The atmosphere is friendly and support staffs are always willing to help. A good place to start your career in specialized fields of engineering.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work if you manage to get a permanent position.
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL12 August 2016
A typical day of work consisted of setting up experiments for the lab.
I developed good language skills towards instructing first-year students basic courses in Biology.
Management is terrible in this place, the science building is collapsing and seems to be a very bureaucratic place to make an impact to Newfoundlanders.
Co-workers are good, in my area all of us young and enthusiastic.
The hardest part of the job is not getting paid enough, compared to other major Universities in Canada MUN, pay grades are low.
The must enjoyable part of the job is the flexibility.
Pros
Good environment to work
Cons
Bureaucracy
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Postal Clerk (Current Employee) –  St. John's, NL4 August 2016
great place to work

friendly co-workers

have been given the opportunity to do some courses in project management.

course in understanding personality types
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place to learn and to work
Software Developer (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL13 May 2016
It gives us opportunities to solve problems by ourselves and group. Assignment and project should be easily done with or without group. Teamwork is quite important for certain tasks.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Payroll / Human Resources (Work Term) (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL3 April 2016
it was a awesome place to work I loved everyone at Mun and got along with everyone. The days went by far to fast there was a lot of work to be done and everyone works great as a team. Overall great place to work
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
well oganized career fair every spring
Teaching assistant (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL30 March 2016
Many big companies and job offers on different areas. Everyone can communicate with any company staff if you are interested. Well oganized and environemt is also good.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Memorial University of Newfoundland. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 47 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.5
Salary/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.8
Management
4.1
Culture
4.1

Memorial University of Newfoundland Reviews by Location