Find companies:
Medtronic
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
329 reviews

Medtronic Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
independent job with lovely people
Assembly Worker (Former Employee), Plymouth, MNDecember 21, 2013
Pros: independence
Cons: the hot sweat suit
a typical day at work would consist of me dressing in a clean room suit, and taking my projects to my stations. i would inspect and assemble different medical devices and parts. i learned how to do tedious repetitive work in a timely fashion, i learned how to sanitize in between breaks and how to work in a clean room environment. management showed great – more... leadership, and always did their part as a team member. my co workers were really helpful, and we were all like a family in a sense. the hardest part of the job was the outfit because it was really hot. the most enjoyable part was the fact that i could work alone, and they trusted me to do my part – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting entry level position
Technologist (Current Employee), Goleta, CADecember 18, 2013
Working at Medtronic provides a great opportunity to learn about corporate culture, quality management and component production. This facility places an extremely high value on engineering degrees and without one there is very limited opportunity to advance. That being said, I have learned a tremendous amount about Agile, FDA readiness, quality management, – more... and communications both with suppliers and internal assets. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Confused,wasteful, and anti-people.
worker bee (Former Employee), CODecember 16, 2013
Pros: the employees are good workers.
Cons: poor project follow through.
Out of balance on sales, product development and follow through.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always pushing you to strive to achieve your best.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXDecember 16, 2013
Pros: bonuses, incentives, great cafeteria, lounge /game/break room, benefits, work from home program
Cons: overtime often, changing products often
I enjoyed working here and management made the job fun. We had bonuses and incentives for productivity. I once won a 100 $ gift card, won free lunches from the cafeteria numerous times, and gift cards to Target and HEB. The environment is much like a typical call center but you are assisting patients with their medical supplies for treating diabetes – more... and there is a level of knowledge required regarding the supplies and diabetes. I really liked my co - workers and remain friends with many of them. The hardest part of the job was dealing with angry customers who may not have had their needs met. I learned that most of those customers just want to speak and if you listen attentively and help them , they become calm and happy. I felt good helping people and this was the most rewarding thing I did. I also found it very enjoyable to meet new people from all over the country through the phone and make them satisfied with the level of service I gave them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic Job
Customer Service Home and Office Representative (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXDecember 12, 2013
Pros: i had great insurance and 401 k, all the overtime i wanted, great pay
Cons: had to deal with insurances and customers irrate about not getting supplies asap .
I was in charge of inbound and outbound calls to help out customers with diabetes, I had to call insurances and doctors and also work the order to the fullest to get all the information needed for the patient to get their supplies. The hardest part was listening to the bad attitude of the customers when they waited till the last minute to order then – more... expect right away or they will die they would say. I loved helping the people and also I was able to work at home and get all the overtime that I wanted. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GE Culture in place with new CEO
Technician (Current Employee), Fridley, MNDecember 12, 2013
Pros: good pay and benefits
Cons: deteriorating and toxic culture
Company culture has really gone down hill in recent years. Very top heavy company. Continually adding layers of directors and management, yet the frequency of layoffs of their workforce seems to be accelerating. Focus is much more on bottom line than it is about customer focus. Constant drain of experienced talent for the bottom line. Many jobs lost – more... here are being outsourced over seas to India and China. The CEO is a protégé of Jack Welch and many ex GE management brought in after Omar became CEO. Culture is more of GE and satisfying Wall Street and the bottom line with little regard to cost to their employees or talent pool. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Employee's and Great team leadership
Outbound Processor/ Shipping (Current Employee), Memphis tnDecember 9, 2013
Pros: relaxing break room enviorment
Working at Medtronic is great environment to work and as well as converse with fellow friendly staff, i believe having a comfortable work place makes the day more enjoyable. The management always is friendly and helps with all issues that need resolutions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company is bad about Sex Discrimination
Line Tech! (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLDecember 9, 2013
Pros: none really
Cons: discrimination
I worked for this company years ago. I enjoyed working for the manager I worked for but when I found out that the men they were hiring were making way more than me that was it! I went to my manager and then to his manager, HR, etc and to no avail!! I was fired because of it and I won a sex discrimination law suit against them. Watch out ladies this – more... company is KNOWN for this behavior!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning environemnt
SW Project Manager (Current Employee), Twin Cities, MNDecember 3, 2013
Medtronic is a great place to work with lots of opportunities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An enjoyable workplace
Accounting Clerk II (Former Employee), NorthridgeDecember 3, 2013
Pros: awesome facility, very comfortable environment
I really enjoyed working here. I picked up a lot of useful skills during my time at Medtronic, and I learned a vast amount of information, especially with healthcare, that I can use in the future. An example is that I now have a better understanding of the disease diabetes. Management was nice and I always felt comfortable approaching them with any – more... questions or concerns. All of my co-workers were pleasant and friendly. The hardest part of the job was a general issue with any job, which is having to sit for most of your shift. The most enjoyable part of the job was that I felt secure at this job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
International Shipment Coordinator (Former Employee), Corona, CADecember 3, 2013
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing
small warehouse, no more than 15 employees learned to run my own department and I was trusted with a lot more responsibility , great organization, great associate appreciation, all coworkers got along great and did everything together, enjoyed every minute there,
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Contractor Security Receptionist (Current Employee), Fridley, MNNovember 25, 2013
During the first half of my shift i got back and forth in 2 buildings giving the breaks for the day at the reception desk, then i take my break and take over and the main entrance in the Headquarters building watching the doors, greeting and making sure that everyone that enters have a badge to scan in or is giving a visitor's badge.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most Fulfilling Job I Have Had
Team Leader/ Escalation Line (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXNovember 25, 2013
Pros: great pay, incentives and recognition
Cons: false information in using loa
I can not say enough positive things about Medtronic.
Customer Service was among the best I have ever seen, always putting our customers first, myself seeing this first hand with being on the Escalation Line.
The management (even the call center director, Ed Monas) showed interest in you as an individual person and dropped by reps desks to see how their – more... days were going.
Not only was the job supplying life saving products the most satisfying I have done in the customer service field, but the company as a whole wanted to see each individual excel in what they did.
A lot of incentives and recognition.
Unfortunately, upon leaving to Iowa with my husband, the company told me they were putting me on LOA and if I returned within 6 months I would have my position back, 4 months later I called to let them know I was returning and after 8 months of running around in circles, they never put me back into my position. So once in, don't leave. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Engineer, extensive knowledge, experience, and leadership
Senior Manufacturing Specialist R&D (Former Employee), Santa Rosa, CANovember 21, 2013
Pros: solid corporation
Cons: unyielding conglomerate leaders
● Coordinated logistics for the extrusion process resulting in a 70% increase in process efficiency and operational effectiveness
● Assisted with the development and implementation of training programs, modules and documentation; participated in high level problem solving teams
● Demonstrated leadership in anticipating, recognizing, and reacting quickly – more... to training trends and needs
● Recommended changes to the Standards of Procedures, Process Improvements, and other relevant documents
● Maintained familiarity with all appropriate training documentation, required Equipment Manufacturing Controls (EMCs) and Equipment Manufacturing Qualities (EMQs) and maintained appropriate databases
● Responsible for training over 25 employees and ensuring that the appropriate documentation was completed
● Provided feedback and resolution regarding training issues to the Extrusion Training POS Team
● Set-up and managed extrusion lines, maintained records of extrusion products
● Performed trouble-shooting; complete product builds in manufacturing
● Instructed and trained extrusion apprentice as well as manufacturing in sub-assembly, main, and final assembly lines
● Responsible for leading new projects
● Responsible for validations torque testing, spring tension, and electrode testing
● R&D Test and release in raw materials department
● Managed implementation policy and procedures
● Completed production schedules and shift productivity improvements for staff
● Produced finished products in compliance with manufacturing requirements – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very good place to work with excellent benefits.
Production Group Leader (Former Employee), PRNovember 20, 2013
Pros: excelent benefits, team work
My day starts by assigning tasks to my co-workers informing to my manager how we turned out the day before.I learned a lot about safety,quality procedures, the most enjoyable parte is that we all work to accomplish the same goal Costumer satisfaction and on time delivery as a team.it's been the best place I have ever worked.
if I woudn't have to move – more... I'd sill be working there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great opportunity to learn and develop.
Sales Manager, Diabetes- MENA (Current Employee), BeirutNovember 13, 2013
Medtronic offers its people an excellent opportunity for on-the-job learning. My exposure to and experience with more than 20 countries across the MENA region significantly boosted my knowledge. Moreover, I was lucky to meet and learn from great people within the organization.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company for professional development
Diabetes Clinical Manager (Former Employee), Central GANovember 13, 2013
Pros: skills, training
Cons: lots of travel, windshield time
Clear expectations are set from Management/Corporate initiatives.
Training experience was great. Everything was always rolled out to Field sales smoothly. MDT coaches employees how to think/function on a higher level, work smarter not harder.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall good place to work
Company Truck Driver (Former Employee), Memphis, TNNovember 11, 2013
A typical day started with load and delivering what needed to be distributed out. I learned the importance of getting what was needed to the right place on time. Management was easy to work for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work very welcoming and very nice fellowship
manufacturer (Former Employee), PRNovember 7, 2013
it was teamwork that the product was of high quality and it was heart medical devices for management coordinators and supervisors were reliable and the atmosphere was very pleasant to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved the people I worked and excellent benifits
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Northridge, CANovember 4, 2013
Pros: lunches, great bosses
Cons: short lunch
At the time the system SAP took a while to learn because you needed to go threw several steps for one thing

About Medtronic

Medtronic, Inc. is engaged in medical technology. The Company functions in seven operating segments that manufacture and sell – Read more