Find companies:
Mecca Bingo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
43 reviews

Mecca Bingo Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mecca Bingo
Team Member (Former Employee), Chesterfield, ENGJune 16, 2014
Cons: long hours, evening and weekend. flat rate pay.
Long hours and you have to work evenings and weekends. Rolling rota with the possibility of different shifts on different departments each week. Co-workers are great, but always under a lot of stress as most of the time their understaffed, but they do the best they can. For what you have to do the pay is a bad joke! Minimum wage. Staff morale has been – more... very low for a long time with no sign of it changing! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
team leader (Former Employee), yorkJune 7, 2014
i thoughly enjoyed working for the company, there were plenty of opertunitys for growth in my work position
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall, good.
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee), Reading, ENGMay 7, 2014
Varied roles, depending on customer needs. Cash handling, sorting claims, etc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard Work
Team Member (Former Employee), GlasgowMay 5, 2014
Cons: long hours
A typical day is serving customers, food preperation, stock management. I worked with the best team that anyone could ever ask for, management were very supportive and hands on at very busy times.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Customer Service Supervisor (Former Employee), HertsApril 26, 2014
Pros: fun
Cons: shift work
Really enjoyable to work for. Keeps you fit with all the walking about!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun School Leavers Job
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee), BlackpoolApril 8, 2014
Pros: great salary for my age
Cons: weekend work
Had a blast working here, this was my first real job after leaving school. i met some great people, had fun but also very fast paced and target driven plus had to be very good with your maths as didn't have a calculator or a till when selling the game books. was some late nights but all the staff was great to work with and years later still speak to – more... most of them – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great team members. corrupt management
tl (Former Employee), kentMarch 4, 2014
Pros: great team members
Cons: rubbish/uneducated management
Corrupt management, favouritism. Unreliable management. No chance of progression unless your buddy buddy with management. Disregard for employment law and policies set in place.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to be
Team Member (Former Employee), Wakefield West, ENGFebruary 28, 2014
Pros: competion time
Cons: long hours
a typical day was startimg at 10am i would prep the kitchen ready for dinnertime service aswell as checking and setting up the bar area i would also help out on the main bingo floor giving change aswell as calling party bingo.I learned how to deal with difficult situations. the management was always on hand whenever we had a problem we couldnt deal – more... with the hardest part of my day was when we had problems in the club i.e technical faults the most enjoyable part was when the customers were happy when they was leaving with winnings in there purses and the smiles on there faces – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great to work with the public
Office Controller (Former Employee), ManchseterFebruary 26, 2014
Cons: long weekend shifts
I loved my job at Mecca Bingo and believe we gave outstanding Customer service
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable to work for.
Customer service Assistant (Former Employee), Gateshead, ENGFebruary 21, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Cons: long hours
Learning new things each day, grew a lot of confidence within myself.
Meeting new people
Working on my own
Working part as a team.
There wasn't a hardest part of the job.
The most enjoyable thing about working for Mecca is i got to make friends and got respected as a hard worker and got appreciated.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a good working environment
Team Member (Former Employee), Manchester, ENGJanuary 30, 2014
Pros: learning new skills eg on reception and sales
Cons: the job involves a lot of walking and standing
I enjoyed my time at Mecca Bingo, most of the staff I worked with were down-to-earth people and good team members. A typical day at Mecca was very busy, kicking in as soon as the doors opened, and going full-tilt until they closed at 10.There was always plenty to to, especially in the restaurant and bar. The biggest thing I learned there, I think, was – more... enhanced customer skills and how to deal with complaints and problems as quickly and efficiently as possible, but also how to interact with the various customers while maintaining a professional air. The hardest part of the day was probably the evenings from 5 to 10 when we were at our busiest, it could be quite challenging. The most enjoyable aspect of the job was some of the people I met, both staff and customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
normal
Cleaner (Former Employee), Leeds, ENGJanuary 17, 2014
Pros: discount on kitchen
Cons: short hours as i were a cleaner..
normal days at times but get the busy day at times.
management were there to make sure that work was at top quality.

meeting new customers everyday and learning new stuff within the job role.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working for Mecca Bingo
Bar/Food Service (Former Employee), boltonDecember 5, 2013
Pros: working close with customers
Cons: split shifts
Bar and food service another on your feet and going all day job loved every minute working for Mecca bingo. Had good customer to chat with and have a laught.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management is a complete joke!
Team member (Former Employee), BristolNovember 14, 2013
Pros: the staff are amazing
Cons: the boss is all talk and the dm is just horrible
The hours are unsocial! They could easily work out a rota that people could work one weekend a month but that would involve work! The dm deb dresses like she's 20! And she's very rude! She's her own worst enemy ! She will tell you off for chatting yet sit there and natter with her sister who is a team leader.
Iv herd them both slagging staff off in – more... the office! She can't spell she's unprofessional and I don't understand how she got that job! The pros of working hear are the staff! They are like my family it's lovely will keep in touch with most of them! But don't work here! The management is shot!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service
Customer Services Assistant (Former Employee), Dundee, SCTNovember 11, 2013
Attending customer services desk; processing memberships;
Taking Admissions; giving out change; claim checking and
assisting in Cafe.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Cook (Current Employee), dewsburySeptember 24, 2013
Cons: bus ride to work.
it is a very busy place to work! whitch is enjoyable.i have compleated basic food higene.the hardest part is the late finish.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great staff
Catering assistant (Former Employee), Huddersfield, ENGSeptember 19, 2013
Pros: free food
Cons: very hot in the kitchen
Loved the staff. Was hard to work in the kitchen during the summer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Brilliant place to work!
Customer Service Supervisor (Former Employee), Ayr, SCTSeptember 11, 2013
Pros: family atmosphere, fun, wages above minimum wage, job progression
Cons: no tips allowed, split shifts
Mecca staff became my family and I loved it.

I learned a lot about myself and gained confidence to move on to a higher level job!

It's hit and miss with management, like everywhere, but if you get a good management team your a happy bunny.

There is a good opportunity to progress if people move on and the company has a step by step management training – more... scheme.

Split shifts are the hardest part of the job but after a while you get used to it!

Good for students (evening work) or people looking for full time work. I started part time and moved to full time.

Chances to be part of national schemes and recognition for things done well is broadcasted throughout the company.

Learn different departments to increase your wage too!

Working with mostly older people was the best part of the job as they are so funny and the nicest people, when I left those were the people I missed most!

I would work for them again :) – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Team Leader (Former Employee), Leeds, ENGAugust 27, 2013
Pros: half price meals
Cons: late finishes and long hours
Working on the Bar or in the Kitchen as a cook
I have learned at lot from Mecca and achieved a great deal including
two NVQ's in Food and Beverage.
The most enjoyable part would be the staff and customers and the great times we have had
The hardest part would be not having enough hours in the day to get everything done
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mecca Bingo
Membership Manager Rank Group (Former Employee), SwanseaAugust 14, 2013
In this role I worked to achieve quarterly KPI targets of generating new business, customer retention and organising party packages including providing advertising opportunities to maximise profits to the company.

1 2 3