Mecca Bingo Employee Reviews

Showing all 129 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Wrexham, Wrexham5 June 2017
Must have great customer service skills and a positive attitude. Was long hours on a Saturday if working weekends.staff were great and friendly. Gets very busy some afternoons and evenings
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrid Job
Senior Team Member (Current Employee) –  Glasgow, Glasgow27 May 2017
Management are so rude and don't appreciate anything you do for them. A lot of the staff are arrogant and constantly stick with cliques. It's one rule for one person and another for another.
Pros
none.
Cons
long hours, wages, management, staff, holidays
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mecca Bingo
Team Member - Full Time (Current Employee) –  Bolton, Greater Manchester27 May 2017
There are excellent staff and good customers to work with, however poor pay and poor management (only a specific branch however) not all clubs have poor management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work
Manager (Current Employee) –  nationwide12 May 2017
Good place to get you started and trained in management but company values leave something to be desired with the workplace culture not as it was when I joined
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mecca Bingo
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Blackpool, Lancashire10 May 2017
Terrible pay, under staffed and overall a totally un- professional environment. training is non-existent. long term members of staff get to do what they want when they want whilst new ones are asked to do all the work. The hours are split shift which means staying all day with a lunch break for an hour in between.
Pros
none
Cons
the job
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable and fun
Team Member (Current Employee) –  Oldbury, West Midlands10 May 2017
a usual day at work talking to the regular customers building friendships with them and the team i learned many roles and further improved on my customer service management had changed multiple times since i was there so wasn't too close to management as they would change every so often the hardest part of the job was the kitchen on a weekend being the busiest days of the week and the enjoyable part was getting to know the customers and making sure they have a great time.
Pros
great team
Cons
managment wasnt around
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not family friendly
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Halifax, West Yorkshire17 March 2017
Although the job was a very easy job, the commitments expected of you were not good if you have a family.

Every day was different


Management was constantly changing. In the 15 months i was there there were 4 different managers so you can build a good relationship with one and they move to another club
Pros
1/2 price staff meals
Cons
not good if you have a family
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place to work
Senior Team Member (Former Employee) –  Drumchapel13 March 2017
Fun place to work cash handling,bar work, kitchen work and hands on customer service required for this role bingo hosting and general running of department
Pros
half price meals meet new people
Cons
rate of pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Team Member - Full Time (Former Employee) –  Taunton, Somerset28 February 2017
Food prep
Working in the bar or kitchen for the shift e.g cooking, pot wash, running food, serving on the bar
Cashier/ floor staff- sorting winnings and cashing up at end of shift checking claims
Pros
Free lunch after 6 hours, good staff relationships
Cons
Split shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very fun
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Romford, Essex, UK27 February 2017
work was easy laid back and fun. it builds confidence and promotes both team work and individuality. makes you better at dealing with customer problems
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Customer servive assistant/ handyman (Current Employee) –  Norwich, Norfolk23 February 2017
Mecca bingo was a very fun place to work,it has a new main share holder now and they are very money orientated which has dampened the role considerably.
Pros
Half price food, good holidays, good rates of pay
Cons
Unsociable hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Bradford, UK22 February 2017
I enjoyed working at mecca bingo, it was always a lively, enjoyable atomasphere.
I learnt to work behind a bar and pour drinks, it was the kind of job where you had to smile at the lucky winners.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
summary
Team member (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, South Lanarkshire16 February 2017
A typical day as a team member I cleaned the bingo hall, I worked in the cashline, I learned • Cash line – Collect and give out change to customers
• Cash line – Collect and count money from zone machines
• Cash line – Put leaflets out on tables to help advertise and promote the bingo
• Helped and gave customers the best advice when required – strong customer focus
• Cleaned tables and hoovered
• Worked well as part of a team
• Was required to study and undergo ongoing assessments throughout the year
• Gained Mecca Liquor License accreditation and Food Hygiene certificate
• The role required me to have a good understanding of equality and diversity
• This role allowed me to develop my understanding of managerial performance and behaviours
the environment was very poor as a lot of bad behaviour and it wasn't treated as a job, the hardest part of the job was trying to persuade people to work together as a team and follow the rules and regulations which weren't followed. the most enjoyable part of the job was getting to meet and know regular customers and gaining the experience and skills.
Pros
very challenging, identify levels of structures
Cons
no structor. too much aggression
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved staff and customers
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Cross Gates13 February 2017
Hard work with a great team and lovely customers that made the job enjoyable.Managers were a problem and I felt that if your face didn't fit you did not advance in the job.I also felt that the management had no empathy or support for staff that needed it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful
Team Member (Current Employee) –  Burton-On-Trent7 February 2017
Terrible workplace. Manager is useless and there is never any staff working. Customers treat you like dirt and so does the management....AVOID.
Pros
Good team
Cons
Overworked and Underpaid
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learning
Senior Team Member (Former Employee) –  Southend on Sea, UK5 February 2017
This job had a pros and cons.I learnt a lot whilst working here not just within the industry but about myself. The hardest part of the job was the unsociable hours we worked but the best part of the job was meeting loads of different characters.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and fun place of work
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Stockton-on-Tees, Durham31 January 2017
Going to work was an enjoyable experience, meeting a wide variety of customers daily was ecxiting and I worked with a good team of staff. Timing was extremely important in this job making sure customers recieved the correct payments in good time of claiming and making sure new customers were reassured how to pplay the game and what was expected of us as well as them. Management was always present and could be called upon should there have been a problem that needed addressing.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Definitely a learning curve
Kitchen Staff Member (Former Employee) –  Beeston, Nottinghamshire8 January 2017
Usually, my job consisted of prepping food for customers for later on in the day, checking stock, and doing the stock rotation. There was always something to do. The management in my opinion was poor, and did not allow for circumstances which could not be helped, I saw little compassion or consideration towards me as a person. Some of the staff there can be particularly rude, and insulting. It was very hard to work as part of a team. The most enjoyable part of my job was the interaction I got with customers.
Pros
Discounted Lunch, Work arranged parties
Cons
Lack of organisation, lack of communication, and staff that can be rude and insulting.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Doncaster, South Yorkshire4 January 2017
It was a very good working place except of low staff and stress it was difficult to enjoy the work , the customers were the best thing about working at Mecca
Pros
Customers
Cons
Short staffed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good to work four
Floor Assistant (Former Employee) –  Bradford, West Yorkshire4 January 2017
good place to work for all the staff go to get along with and the management was really easy to talk to and I liked work there because I got to talk to people at the place
Pros
all round
Cons
not really
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Mecca Bingo. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 129 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.1
Salary/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.1
Culture
3.3