Find companies:
Mecca Bingo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
73 reviews

Mecca Bingo Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Workplace
Team Leader (Current Employee), lutonMay 20, 2015
Pros: customers
Cons: long hours
With Mecca Bingo everyday is different. It Varies. it can be good can be bad. the customers are great which i enjoy. meeting new people and the regulars also
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job to start a career
Team Leader/ Duty Manager (Current Employee), Luton, BedfordshireMay 11, 2015
Pros: Achievements and team development
Cons: Long Hrs
A typical day at mecca for me is very long hours but most days rewarding and productive. Mecca keeps you on the go all the time.

I have lurnt so much in the 7 years i have worked here and started all – more... the way at the bottom, from team member up to team leader, events manager and duty manager.

my co-workers when they are on the ball are such an amazing team with lots of different personalilties.

the hardest thing about my job is that its very long hours and dont spend alot of time at home but the reward thing is achiving all my goals individually and as a team.

my mind is always coming up with new iders and my office is full of projects i really want to try if i had the funding to deliver them

the 1 thing i can take from my career at mecca is i have made some brilliant friends along the way and i met my husbond here to – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nights and weekends
Team Member (Current Employee), Bolton, ENGMay 7, 2015
Pros: a free main session once a month
Cons: late nights, weekends, rubbish pay and no staff
worked here for 16 years , now getting made redundant. had some great managers over the years. wont miss the job as its nights and weekends but will miss the lovely friends that ive made.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mecca was ok but not great
Team Member (Former Employee), Saint Peters, ENGMay 6, 2015
Pros: It paid the bills
Cons: Too much Favortism
Working for Mecca was ok but management was really Kronyistic and treated their favourites better than other employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management in my club are second to none
Cashier .. Admin (Current Employee), StaffordshireMay 4, 2015
Pros: Part of a team
Cons: Long hours (take some getting used to ..)
I've been in Mecca for two weeks and got to say this is a complete change for me always worked a Monday to Friday 9to 5 but Mecca offers me the unsociable hours I need. My club is brilliant the management – more... and staff are amazing, the training isn't as structured as liked but in a club with not a lot of staff and a lot to do there are not many people that can be spared to babysit the newbies but they understand we are new and help us out as much as humanly possible. My manager is brilliant and makes me feel totally at ease that I'm new and will make mistakes but not to beat myself up about it etc . Some reviews are awful but not all clubs are the same so please do not take the bad reviews as a generalisation . If you are considering a career in Mecca yes there are long shifts but the club and its team members are a family and if you can cope with the hours you will be welcomed with open arms . – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awful company to work for
team member (Former Employee), north eastApril 30, 2015
Pros: customers
Cons: split shifts, long hours, lack of training, bullying management team
I took this job after being advised by friends not to work for them, so wish I had listened, honestly this is the worst company I have ever worked for, you work long hours with split shifts and little – more... to no training is given, and if you ask for additional training you get ignored then reprimanded for asking, I was very often left on the floor looking after 400+ people on my own with never anybody around to help, then I was pulled in the office to ask why I had missed hands that were up, lost count of the times staff were investigated or disciplined for the least little thing, team leaders on the other hand get away with everything and are very clicky. The management team including team leaders are a joke they don't respect there staff, talk down to you and don't listen, you never get any praise or thanks from managers or team leaders and managers are just bullies who will always back there management team(team leaders) every time when something happens and even told me that to my face, don't know where they get the managers from. Breaks if you were lucky you got a 10 minute break. Unless there was an artist on in the club you wouldn't see a manager after 9pm. Staff morale is very low and the turn over of staff is high, the only good thing about the job was the customers. Word of advice DONT WORK HERE.

. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
mecca bingo
Team member (Former Employee), ipswichApril 29, 2015
Pros: good team work
Cons: not enough hours
it was a very nice environment , i enjoyed working there, it was like a second family ,i enjoyed learning new things... i would of liked to have learnt more.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can have fun, but don't go into management.
Team Leader (Former Employee), sittingbourneApril 12, 2015
I worked at Mecca for over 5 years

Cons: The hours are long and unsociable. Customers are very rude and arrogant. No money is put into maintenance or hygiene. The management is a complete joke. They – more... employ managers who have never worked in the role, and will put no effort into wanting to learn anything. Most of the staff run the club.

Pro: The staff are friendly. They work very hard to do what they can to help each other out. Overtime is paid (not all companies do that). Rota's can be flexible.
Free main session once a month to play at another club.
50% off food and drink. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Front of House Staff (Former Employee), Southport, ENGMarch 26, 2015
long but fun
how to work in a team
good management
long hours
friendly family atmosphere
mecca bingo was a great place to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mecca Luton is a terrible place to work
team member (Current Employee), Luton, ENGMarch 24, 2015
Pros: customers
Cons: management, unprofessional
I thoroughly enjoyed the first month, until the pair wears off and you see how hideous it is underneath. Lots of staff but never anyone around to help you when it's busy. "management" are shoddy and have – more... no idea what they're doing. They are good friends with some of the team members so expect them to be talking about you tothem
I enjoyed working with the customers it was the best part but the overall running of this club is terrible and staff have a bad attitude and very full of themselves. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work and mingle with guests/customers
main stage caller (Former Employee), Hayes, ENGFebruary 27, 2015
Pros: half price food menu
Cons: finish at midnight
really miss working here as was a great well paid job with lots of prospects and room for promotion

working day would be from 11 am to 12 am

there were at least 4 managers on site at any one time

co workers were great and did there job well and efficiantly

hardest part of job was getting customers out the building at 12 am

best part of job was seeing people win big money
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun staff and cutomers
Team Leader (Former Employee), DagenhamFebruary 26, 2015
I could start work at any rotad time, this could be 8 in the morning leading anytime up until midnight and sometimes later, My job was all about giving great customer service and setting examples. As a – more... team leader it was down to me to make sure my department was run correctly and that the best possible customer service was given.

I learned a lot whilst working there for over 6 years, i respect all staff that do any hard work and as part of the management team i was the only one who used to go round and individually thank the staff if it was a busy evening or if we was short staffed.

Over the years i had a number of different managers, i performed to the best of my standards with each one and completed the jobs that needed to be done.

The team i worked with was a large team and over the years i have worked with 100s of staff, this involves staff from other clubs aswell as my own, most of the staff had a good attitude towards there work and were willing to come to work and get the job they are being paid for done, others who did not have such a positive attitude and were rude to staff and customers were dealt with, this included disciplinary procedures or maybe just pulled to the side for a chat and to air any problems they have.

The hardest part of my job could possibly be when a number of staff call in sick on a busy night when admissions are over 800+, It becomes a struggle and the customers can notice that, but with hard work and a no quit attitude the work gets done and the staff are rewarded.

The most enjoyable part of my job was to meet new customers on a daily basis and build a great rapport with regular customers.
The team i chose to represent my department were very hard working and i enjoyed getting positive feedback from customers on there performance on a regular basis. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
customers services
Customer service representative (Former Employee), London, ENGJanuary 24, 2015
Pros: free lunch
Cons: part time
my day at work as always been the best because I relate with my co- workers very well, I learnt a lot of things e.g answering calls meeting new customers chatting making customer feel at work honestly it was a great job, no hardest part enjoyable part is when I receive a credit at work by my manager I did excellent well
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great training aspects, unsociable hours
Duty Manager (Former Employee), Burnt Oak Station, ENGJanuary 21, 2015
Supervising staff, ensuring all departments are covered, help where required, ( cooking to bingo calling).
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good starter job
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee), Brighton, ENGJanuary 21, 2015
I started my working life at Mecca Bingo,It was a good job tostart me on my working life, It taught me all about managing wages and time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ever changing
Senior Team Member (Current Employee), Leeds, ENGJanuary 19, 2015
depending in which department. Prepare for shift collect float, check winning claims, payout prize money, keep work area clean and tidy, greet customers, be alert when calling mainstage bingo, access order – more... of play and prize money when calling cashline bingo. Hardest part of job is five ten pm finishes a week. Most enjoyable is the buzz when you have had a good result of a good shift and customers have enjoyed themselves. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great workplace and got on well with other staff members
customer service assistant (Former Employee), Hamilton, SCTJanuary 16, 2015
Pros: reduced cost lunches
Cons: distance from homme
i started selling books, giving out change, checking claims, paying prize money, inputting data onto computer,meeting and greeting customers. i learned quickly and advanced to supervisor in my first year. – more... i also learned the catering side of the business and worked in the cafe/restaurant for a while. management were very fair and helpful to all the staff and everyone got on well together.there were no hard tasks in this job but the most enjoyable part of it was meeting the customers and building up a good rapport with them. i learned a lot at mecca bingo and enjoyed my time there very much – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Book sales (Former Employee), GlasgowJanuary 5, 2015
Pros: free lunch
Cons: on work experience so no actual wage
I loved working here. The staff were so helpful whenever you needed it. My favourite part of the job was working cash-line and speaking to the customers. The hardest part for me was probably gathering all the used dirty dishes from the entire bingo hall with only the one trolly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nearly ruined my life working there
Team member (Former Employee), .November 29, 2014
Pros: customers
Cons: split shifts, nasty co workers
Started working for the company in 2010 in the kitchen,was never really asked if I wanted to move around in the club and do different jobs just stuck in kitchen for four years.managemnt are a joke. Split shifts are nightmare and the hours are unsocial able.staff member at my club were horrible that's why I left.working for Mecca is just so stressy
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy place with high expectations with little reward
Team Member (Former Employee), GatesheadOctober 22, 2014
Pros: you meet a lot of new people
Cons: poor pay and long hours
Busy place to wotk with little appreciation from higher management same crop of people expected to pick up the slack time and time again with little reward

1 2 3 4