Mecca Bingo Employee Reviews

Showing all 135 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive fun place to work
Senior Team Member (Former Employee) –  Dundee City15 August 2017
loved working at mecca great staff and most customers felt likeifamily i learned how to do stocktaking and the daily running of kitchen i also learned about cashline and booksales but my fav part of job was working in kitchen doing cooking
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved
Catering Assistant (Former Employee) –  Glasgow11 July 2017
well mecca bingo I loved my wee job in here, was always full of laughter and smiles would definitely return here for another time and love helping others out
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Aberdeen, Aberdeen City6 July 2017
I would rather not disclose my thoughts and opinions regarding this line of work as I do not feel it is relevant to any future career. As such I will leave a review.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Domestic Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Great Yarmouth, Norfolk6 July 2017
enjoyed my time here. People were fun and made the working environment have a bright atmosphere. Just a shame that it has now closed down and is now a nightclub.
Pros
people, customers
Cons
hard work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice people and co-workers
Floor Staff (Former Employee) –  Dundee City1 July 2017
Must have great customer service skills and a positive attitude. Was long hours on a Saturday if working weekends.staff were great and friendly. Gets very busy some afternoons and evenings
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intense workplace
Bingo Caller (Former Employee) –  Andover, England, UK8 June 2017
Typical day is you are always on the go, I did learn a lot though but with it being a small business didn't have a lot of staff so you had to stay on your toes, and help each other even if they didn't want it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Wrexham, Wrexham5 June 2017
Must have great customer service skills and a positive attitude. Was long hours on a Saturday if working weekends.staff were great and friendly. Gets very busy some afternoons and evenings
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrid Job
Senior Team Member (Current Employee) –  Glasgow, Glasgow27 May 2017
Management are so rude and don't appreciate anything you do for them. A lot of the staff are arrogant and constantly stick with cliques. It's one rule for one person and another for another.
Pros
none.
Cons
long hours, wages, management, staff, holidays
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mecca Bingo
Team Member - Full Time (Current Employee) –  Bolton, Greater Manchester27 May 2017
There are excellent staff and good customers to work with, however poor pay and poor management (only a specific branch however) not all clubs have poor management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work
Manager (Current Employee) –  nationwide12 May 2017
Good place to get you started and trained in management but company values leave something to be desired with the workplace culture not as it was when I joined
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mecca Bingo
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Blackpool, Lancashire10 May 2017
Terrible pay, under staffed and overall a totally un- professional environment. training is non-existent. long term members of staff get to do what they want when they want whilst new ones are asked to do all the work. The hours are split shift which means staying all day with a lunch break for an hour in between.
Pros
none
Cons
the job
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable and fun
Team Member (Current Employee) –  Oldbury, West Midlands10 May 2017
a usual day at work talking to the regular customers building friendships with them and the team i learned many roles and further improved on my customer service management had changed multiple times since i was there so wasn't too close to management as they would change every so often the hardest part of the job was the kitchen on a weekend being the busiest days of the week and the enjoyable part was getting to know the customers and making sure they have a great time.
Pros
great team
Cons
managment wasnt around
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not family friendly
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Halifax, West Yorkshire17 March 2017
Although the job was a very easy job, the commitments expected of you were not good if you have a family.

Every day was different


Management was constantly changing. In the 15 months i was there there were 4 different managers so you can build a good relationship with one and they move to another club
Pros
1/2 price staff meals
Cons
not good if you have a family
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place to work
Senior Team Member (Former Employee) –  Drumchapel13 March 2017
Fun place to work cash handling,bar work, kitchen work and hands on customer service required for this role bingo hosting and general running of department
Pros
half price meals meet new people
Cons
rate of pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Team Member - Full Time (Former Employee) –  Taunton, Somerset28 February 2017
Food prep
Working in the bar or kitchen for the shift e.g cooking, pot wash, running food, serving on the bar
Cashier/ floor staff- sorting winnings and cashing up at end of shift checking claims
Pros
Free lunch after 6 hours, good staff relationships
Cons
Split shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very fun
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Romford, Essex, UK27 February 2017
work was easy laid back and fun. it builds confidence and promotes both team work and individuality. makes you better at dealing with customer problems
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Customer servive assistant/ handyman (Current Employee) –  Norwich, Norfolk23 February 2017
Mecca bingo was a very fun place to work,it has a new main share holder now and they are very money orientated which has dampened the role considerably.
Pros
Half price food, good holidays, good rates of pay
Cons
Unsociable hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Bradford, UK22 February 2017
I enjoyed working at mecca bingo, it was always a lively, enjoyable atomasphere.
I learnt to work behind a bar and pour drinks, it was the kind of job where you had to smile at the lucky winners.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
summary
Team member (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, South Lanarkshire16 February 2017
A typical day as a team member I cleaned the bingo hall, I worked in the cashline, I learned • Cash line – Collect and give out change to customers
• Cash line – Collect and count money from zone machines
• Cash line – Put leaflets out on tables to help advertise and promote the bingo
• Helped and gave customers the best advice when required – strong customer focus
• Cleaned tables and hoovered
• Worked well as part of a team
• Was required to study and undergo ongoing assessments throughout the year
• Gained Mecca Liquor License accreditation and Food Hygiene certificate
• The role required me to have a good understanding of equality and diversity
• This role allowed me to develop my understanding of managerial performance and behaviours
the environment was very poor as a lot of bad behaviour and it wasn't treated as a job, the hardest part of the job was trying to persuade people to work together as a team and follow the rules and regulations which weren't followed. the most enjoyable part of the job was getting to meet and know regular customers and gaining the experience and skills.
Pros
very challenging, identify levels of structures
Cons
no structor. too much aggression
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved staff and customers
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Cross Gates13 February 2017
Hard work with a great team and lovely customers that made the job enjoyable.Managers were a problem and I felt that if your face didn't fit you did not advance in the job.I also felt that the management had no empathy or support for staff that needed it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Mecca Bingo. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 135 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.2
Salary/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.1
Culture
3.4

CEO Approval

58%
43 ratings
Add your rating