Find companies:
MeadWestvaco
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
70 reviews

MeadWestvaco Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
healthcare packaging plant
Feeder/ Inspector (Former Employee), Mebane, NCMarch 8, 2013
Pros: growth and advancement from within the comapny
Cons: long hours, phyically demaning
loading raw material/paper, unloading finished product. this was a job that was physically demanding. you were on your feet 12 hours and the only provide you with a 30 minute lunch. it is repetitive.
tou do advance quickly in pay there and there is plenty of room to grow and expand within the company
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits and Friendly co workers
Quality Auditor (Current Employee), Ajax, ONNovember 29, 2012
Pros: paid breaks
Cons: shift work(days, afternoons and midnights)
My typical day at work is to check for defects on an ongoing cycle throughout an 8 hour shift.I have been with this company for 19 years and work on my own or as a team player.I have learned alot over the years.My management is great and work well with the employees in a big setting enviroment.I work well with my co workers and try to be as friendly – more... as possible to set a good example for others.the hardest part of my job would be not having enough time in an 8 hour shift to get done what needs to be done in my role of a quality auditor.The most enjoyable part of my job would be the people i work along side off and the teamwork. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad Management
Mechanical Assembler (Current Employee), Smyrna, GAApril 15, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: poor management
Atypical day is waiting on parts that was not ordered or ordered wrong. I learned a lot on the mechanical aspects of the job. Most of my co workers were great people who had to deal with the same things I did. The hardest part of the job was the lifting of parts. The most enjoyable part of the job was the learning experience
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corporate management lacking but great employees to work side by side with
Attorney (Former Employee), USAApril 1, 2014
Pros: good people to work with
Cons: poor guidance and direction from management, disconnect between management and employees
MWV hires great people who are good at what they do. However management under values its employees and has provided poor corporate leadership and a lack of focus which has lead to multiple workforce reduction initiatives.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Comfortable work place
Tax Analyst (Former Employee), Richmond, VAMarch 24, 2014
Good relationship between co-workers. Staff members work as a team
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Where I learned SAP
Accounts Payable Administrator - SAP Software (Former Employee), Miamisburg, OhMarch 17, 2014
Pros: great people and learning sap
Cons: job moved to virginia
Great place to work, great work environment, great people to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work.
Senior Pricing & Costing Manager (Current Employee), Richmond, VAMarch 13, 2014
Pros: gym
Cons: job security/advancement
Productive and fun place to work that allows for a flex schedule to work around home schedules. Pay is fair but job security/advancement options can be difficult to maneuver.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company leadership is not able to create nor execute its business strategy
Middle Manager, Strategy and Insights (Current Employee), Richmond, VAMarch 12, 2014
Pros: attractive office building and furnishings
Cons: lack of leadership; poor quality c-level executives
MWV's strategy to transform itself into a packaging solutions company has failed.

The company announced a 180 degree turn regarding their business strategy in Q1 2014; the focus now is on margin improvement to become a more competitive paperboard commodity supplier versus its direct competitors. Unfortunately that meant 550 employees got laid off.

I – more... would venture a guess that the company is preparing its balance sheet to look attractive as a takeover target. Overall it is my opinion that the company lacks leadership and with it strategic direction and execution. In my opinion, MWV is not a good place for career minded professionals. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
MWV
Corp Eng Accountant/Administrative Coordinator (Current Employee), Richmond, VAMarch 9, 2014
Pros: expand on skills, learn new skills, great people
Cons: company just had a large reduction in forces
Working at MWV has been a learning experience every day. The corporate Engineering Department and CPI (R&D) Departments have allowed me to expand on my Web Design, Database skills as well as motivating employees when needed. Learning the different things MWV is doing to improve environmental impact from industries is fascinating.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nothing Good to Say
Director, HR Operations (Former Employee), Richmond, VAMarch 6, 2014
Nothing good to say about company or culture. Hire to fire in a coupe years. Always restructuring company
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diversity Environment
Inventory Clerk (Former Employee), Garden Grove, CAFebruary 28, 2014
Pros: company celebrated some holidays wih free lunches.
Cons: working hours and overtime
MeadWestvaco was a very desirable place of employment. Had excellent benefits and good pay. We had 401K, medical, dental and worked in a diverse environment. Enjoyed showing up everyday and earning my pay. Enjoyed a clean lunch room with coffee ad snacks.
Supervisors were fair and caring.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management sucks, needs to clean house
Multiple Positions at sawmill (Current Employee), Cottonton, ALFebruary 9, 2014
Pros: great co-workers, decent benefits
Cons: management
White hats (management) feel like they know everything and the red and green hats (maintenance and regular workers) know nothing. They preach safety first but yet they want you to travel on ice roads in a city that's not equipped to deal with ice. Their only concern is running numbers and they feel like no one has a life outside of mead... I WOULD NOT – more... RECOMMEND THIS JOB TO ANYONE WHO HAS A QUICK TEMPER BECAUSE MANAGEMENT WILL TREAT YOU LIKE A STRAY DOG – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company
Administrative Position (Current Employee), Cottonton, ALDecember 26, 2013
This is one of the best companies I have ever worked for. The care and understanding of being a new employee is heart-felt. The desire to push individuals that are ready to move forward is strong, and comforting. This means that hard effort is rewarded.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
General assistant (Former Employee), SvitavyDecember 5, 2013
Pros: variety of tasks
Cons: difficult communication with lower management
I didn't have any typical workday. My days were different and I liked that. One day I organized trainings for employees and the other day I welcomed guests and organized accommodation, transport and refreshment for them. I worked closely with management and I think that they do their best. The hardest part in my job was the organization of trainings – more... as there was 350 employees and about 20 trainings so it was complicated but possible to do. I enjoyed the most when there was some creative task - eg. designing of new flyer to advertise new intranet site. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work and good pay
Spray pump manufacturer, General Assembly Worker (Former Employee), Winfield, KSNovember 21, 2013
Pros: good benefits & pay
Cons: standing on concrete and cold working atmosphere
A typical day would be running a spraypump machine that Has 12 hoppers to filled at all times, keep work area clean, make boxes, put out 90 boxes in 8 hrs and sometimes run two of these machines.
I learned team work, and the hardest part of the job is when your machine doesnt like to run correctly. The most enjoyable part of the job was to see if you – more... could beat the goal of 70 boxes. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Produce high quality chemicals.
MeadWestvaco Chemical Operator on shift (Current Employee), N Charleston, SCSeptember 25, 2013
Pros: great salary.
Cons: swing shift.
A typical day at work is very tense, due to the fact that its a very difficult job to maintain three kettles that produce chemicals. I have learn a lot of computer skills. How to trouble shoot and be self sufficient. The management could be better, but due to the fact that most of them or related to the hourly employees, it creates a lot of problems – more... within the company. Most of my co-workers get along great. The hardest part of my job is trying to get use to working the swing shift. The most enjoyable part of my job is making quality chemicals and going home safe. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Kettering, OHSeptember 20, 2013
Everyone is friendly and happy to be there. Never had any complaints!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
relaxed environment
Warehouse operator (Former Employee), Silsbee, TXSeptember 19, 2013
Start our days with a brief safety meeting, then head out onto the work floor. Learned how to operate forklifts and some industrial machinery. Some management seemed hard to talk to about work related issues. Really enjoyed the rotating shift work schedule.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work and long hours but very good compensation
Utility Operator (Former Employee), Extruder-Silsbee, TexasSeptember 7, 2013
Pros: free lunches for safety goals, good pay/benefits
Cons: no breaks, horrible turnover
Overall the extruder plant is decent place to learn and get experience in a plant setting. The pay is great, and if you join the union your always guaranteed at least a 2% annual raise. The turnaround is horrible, So advancement is easily attainable. It's a union ladder progression type, so if someone leaves everybody moves up the ladder. Benefits are – more... good, And the company seems to want to take care of they're employees.

The cons are long hours with little to no breaks. Your shift schedule could change at the drop of a hat with basically no choice but to work. Team leaders did not take anything lightly. If you were taking a water break and not working you got in trouble if not ran off

In general a decent company to work for if you can make it through the long hours and work up from the first couple positions and survive probation you will be okay. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
instrumentl and thankful for the opportunity to work for meadwestvaco
Press Helper/Forklift Operator (Former Employee), Melrose Park, ILAugust 13, 2013
Pros: fast pace environment various job assignments
extremely grateful they were able to give me my first oppurtunity to work in a warehouse environment with no previous expericence. they were instrumental to allow me to pick up the knowledge and correct all and any mistakes as i was a first time employee in the industry. i became certified as a forklift operator and also learned and certified in various – more... departments. – less

1 2 3 4

About MeadWestvaco

MWV is a global leader in packaging and packaging solutions. Our fresh insights, innovative products, global manufacturing, and – Read more