McMaster University Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 142 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment to work in.
Teacher (part-time) (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ONFebruary 5, 2015
I am a part-time teacher at McMaster University.
I spend only a few hours each day at the University.
The staff, at any level, is very skilled and happy to help at any moment.
The management and my colleagues are helpful and fun to work with.
It is a really pleasure to work in this environment and to try to add my skills to form the future specialists.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a black hole of innovation
Administrative work (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ONJanuary 26, 2015
The structure of the University means no departments communicate with each other. Often, people in different departments are doing the exact same projects, but not communicating with each other. Very inefficient!
Just look at how outdated the webiste is...that will give you a good idea of how fractured this institution is.
Pros
a lively environment
Cons
poor culture, poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An excellent place to study and work
Transportation Planner (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ONJanuary 21, 2015
An excellent place to study and work. I enjoyed and learned a lot.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Neurology Research Fellow; McMaster University
Co- Principal investigator (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ONJanuary 13, 2015
- patient interaction (History taking, Examination, Discussion with supervisor)
- Formulating patient management plan
- Interaction with team workers
- Phone calls and discussion with the multidisciplinary teams
Pros
not applicable
Cons
not applicable
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Internship
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ONJanuary 11, 2015
Was a summer intern. The atmosphere here is great! Lot's of great minds and amazing science taking place.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and rewarding work environment
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ONJanuary 8, 2015
I learned how to work in a team environment and lead project based teams. Ensured collaboration with stakeholders to deliver best solution to their needs. Organized mental health workshops. Assisted in solving business problems of the organization
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to initiate academic work
Postdoctoral Fellow (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ONJanuary 6, 2015
* Typical academic research place.

* Good management.

* Active GYM.
Cons
contract basis and extendability up to one year.
Was this review helpful?YesNo3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ONJanuary 5, 2015
Diverse, organized, accepting and professional atmosphere.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable place to work
Executive Assistant to the Vice President (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ONDecember 23, 2014
There are always new and interesting things going on at the University, courses available to employees to further their education and help with their current position.

Co-workers are helpful and friendly, and were welcoming.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
an environment that provided me many opportunities
encoding clerk (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ONDecember 10, 2014
As a young person starting out this place of employment offered me a starting point.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not work for this Institution
I can't say (Former Employee) –  I can't sayNovember 27, 2014
Not a nice place to work
wide spread discrimination
many employees wrongfully terminate and escorted off the property
employees terminated while on sick leave
if your are an employee reporting to someone involved in an office romance watch out
Old culture
Faculty members are treated like gods, staff are treated disrespectfully
Women I know of have been harassed my tenured professors

Do not work there unless you are a student or wanting to start off your career. Trust me, few people make it to retirement at McMaster
Pros
great benefits
Cons
toxic and discriminatory work environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun professional environment
Human resources assistant (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ONNovember 19, 2014
learned a lot about myself as well as individuals I worked with. Demanding job environment but rewarding. Learned various clerical and administrative duties that will assist me in future positions
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace. Lots of opportunity
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  hamilton, ontarioNovember 15, 2014
Its a great place to work. Im a TA. I mark papers and teach tutorials. A typical day of work consists of reading papers and marking.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boring Science Job
Lab Technician (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ONOctober 13, 2014
I dont like the job , So i plan to change my career . i will start to work as dba now
Was this review helpful?YesNo3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent people environment with co-workers and patients, above average compensation, exellent benefits and family-worklife balance
Business Manager (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, OntarioOctober 9, 2014
McMaster University is one of the best employers in Ontario and the reason is obvious. A strong work-life balance, above average compensation and benefits, staff awards, lifetime learning in any area of choice.

Mangers are well trained to deal with any situation and everyone works as part of a strong team.

Dealing with patients in a professional manner is always critical but training is readily available.
Pros
staff awards and events, education for life
Cons
large staff population so there is not the chance to meet others out of your faculty
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a great university with lots of potential
Instructor (Current Employee) –  HamiltonOctober 2, 2014
It is a great place to learn about health economics. I really like the faculty, they are very knowledgeable and very much approachable. Almost everyone has open-door policy and the resources are made readily available for students to utilize in their research. I like the staff in the RDC; they are great and very friendly.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place, nice people.
Lab Analyst (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ONSeptember 24, 2014
understand metallurgical sample preparing process. worked with nice group members. Professor is very kind, and I learned a lot of staff that can't be found from textbook.
Pros
nice people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ONSeptember 23, 2014
-lots of learning experience
-great supervisor
-very flexible
-fun coworkers
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive colleagues and Administrative Staff
Research Facilitator, Arts and Social Work (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ONSeptember 9, 2014
Encourages intellectual stimulation and encourages depth and expansion of academic and social skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment and great people, and good recreational facilities on campus.
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ONSeptember 9, 2014
As a research assistant in process systems design, there is a lot of work on computer. Typical day involves staying in office for majority of day, while meeting with grad student and supervisor every few days. But it is manageable when there is an interest in research being done!
Pros
good environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 146 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Salary/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
4.0
Culture
4.1

McMaster University Reviews by Location