McMaster University

McMaster University Employee Reviews

Found 149 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Challenging experience of scientific discovery
Postdoctoral Fellow (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON30 April 2015
Excellent place to work for someone with who loves challenges and innovation. I have learnt project management and leading a project with industrial partners. Management and co-workers are great. We share each other's expertise and we grow as a team. The hardest part comes when we face a burning challenge where no one to seek a help for- very common in a research environment. And the joy comes soon after when we manage to solve the problem and get the recognition.
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
Salary/Benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learning experiece
Student Success Leader (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON23 April 2015
busy day at work, co-workers are helpful, nice. Managers are nice too, face paced working environment, Good, good, good, good, good
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to learn new skills
Student Support Therapist (Former Employee) –  McMaster Hamilton Ontario22 April 2015
This was a good learning experience. My responsibilities grew over the years and I was able to network with many great minds in the field.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON14 March 2015
office hour; helped professor invigilate exam; marked students exams; assisted professor for teaching goals

learned a lot from this job and professor is nice
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great environment
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON12 March 2015
had fun learning in the lab. ran in to some problems with my research but learned how to tackle things head on. professors are great and well knowledgeable.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Academic working environment, each professor offers a difference research environment.
Research Associate (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON12 March 2015
Academic working environment, each professor offers a difference research environment. Depending on professor level of funding, the work environment could be quite nice. Flexible working hours, low stress
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced environment
Senior Business Systems Analyst (Current Employee) –  Hamilton,Ontario1 March 2015
Fun place to work,Excellent Co-Workers, Good place to learn new technologies. Successfully implemented ERP system.
Beautiful Campus
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment to work in.
Teacher (part-time) (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON5 February 2015
I am a part-time teacher at McMaster University.
I spend only a few hours each day at the University.
The staff, at any level, is very skilled and happy to help at any moment.
The management and my colleagues are helpful and fun to work with.
It is a really pleasure to work in this environment and to try to add my skills to form the future specialists.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a black hole of innovation
Administrative work (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON26 January 2015
The structure of the University means no departments communicate with each other. Often, people in different departments are doing the exact same projects, but not communicating with each other. Very inefficient!
Just look at how outdated the webiste is...that will give you a good idea of how fractured this institution is.
Pros
a lively environment
Cons
poor culture, poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An excellent place to study and work
Transportation Planner (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON21 January 2015
An excellent place to study and work. I enjoyed and learned a lot.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Neurology Research Fellow; McMaster University
Co- Principal investigator (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON13 January 2015
- patient interaction (History taking, Examination, Discussion with supervisor)
- Formulating patient management plan
- Interaction with team workers
- Phone calls and discussion with the multidisciplinary teams
Pros
Not applicable
Cons
Not applicable
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Internship
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON11 January 2015
Was a summer intern. The atmosphere here is great! Lot's of great minds and amazing science taking place.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and rewarding work environment
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON8 January 2015
I learned how to work in a team environment and lead project based teams. Ensured collaboration with stakeholders to deliver best solution to their needs. Organized mental health workshops. Assisted in solving business problems of the organization
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to initiate academic work
Postdoctoral Fellow (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON6 January 2015
* Typical academic research place.

* Good management.

* Active GYM.
Cons
Contract basis and extendability up to one year.
Was this review helpful?YesNo3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON5 January 2015
Diverse, organized, accepting and professional atmosphere.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable place to work
Executive Assistant to the Vice President (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON23 December 2014
There are always new and interesting things going on at the University, courses available to employees to further their education and help with their current position.

Co-workers are helpful and friendly, and were welcoming.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
an environment that provided me many opportunities
encoding clerk (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON10 December 2014
As a young person starting out this place of employment offered me a starting point.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not work for this Institution
I can't say (Former Employee) –  I can't say27 November 2014
Not a nice place to work
wide spread discrimination
many employees wrongfully terminate and escorted off the property
employees terminated while on sick leave
if your are an employee reporting to someone involved in an office romance watch out
Old culture
Faculty members are treated like gods, staff are treated disrespectfully
Women I know of have been harassed my tenured professors

Do not work there unless you are a student or wanting to start off your career. Trust me, few people make it to retirement at McMaster
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
Toxic and discriminatory work environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun professional environment
Human resources assistant (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON19 November 2014
learned a lot about myself as well as individuals I worked with. Demanding job environment but rewarding. Learned various clerical and administrative duties that will assist me in future positions
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace. Lots of opportunity
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  hamilton, ontario15 November 2014
Its a great place to work. Im a TA. I mark papers and teach tutorials. A typical day of work consists of reading papers and marking.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 153 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Salary/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
4.0
Culture
4.0

McMaster University Reviews by Location