Find companies:
McMaster University
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
80 reviews

McMaster University Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Research Assistant (Former Employee), Hamilton, ONAugust 6, 2014
One of the best research universities in Canada, perhaps the world. High tech laboratories and renowned faculties prepares one for a productive career ahead.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Postdoctoral Fellow
Postdoctoral Fellow (Current Employee), Hamilton, ONJuly 23, 2014
Pros: flexible hours
Cons: long hours, no benefits, little pay
My rating is in reference to a postdoctoral fellow position at McMaster, not necessarily of the University as an employer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive work environment
Research Assistant (Current Employee), Hamilton, ONJuly 20, 2014
Pros: free dinners
Cons: long hours
A challenging and engaging work environment. Highly competitive and rewarding.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work for.
EXAMINATION STAFF (Former Employee), Hamilton, OntarioJuly 11, 2014
This position was very structured with great co-workers that worked very well as a team. Management was great to everyone which the job very enjoyable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Office of Chief Human Resources Officer, Assistant (Former Employee), Hamilton, ONJuly 8, 2014
Great way to transition from University to practical working experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work and study place
Teaching Assistant and Tutor in Math and Physics (Former Employee), Hamilton , ONJuly 8, 2014
Pros: fun place to work and study
Cons: long distances between buildings to attend the sessions on time
Excellent educational environment with very knowledgeable professors.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Allows for creativity
Lecturer (Former Employee), Hamilton, ONJuly 2, 2014
Pros: great food on campus
Cons: parking services
I loved working with talented 3rd and 4th year students.
I fully appreciated the complexities of the task with
respect to the student culture, the faculty needs
and the supervisor's dual role.
I wasn't a fan of the parking authority. I also felt
the online part of the job posed too big a risk to
both my students and myself.
Also, they need a job center – more... for music students--also
debt counselling.
And finally, the commute was ugly on so many days--hardest
winter ever.

Otherwise, music students, faculty and admin at McMaster U.
kick some ****! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and releaxed
Technology Consultant (Former Employee), Hamilton, ONJune 22, 2014
Part-time job as a Student.
Valuable learning experience. Very good opportunity to learn University IT services infrastructure.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great employer
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee), Hamilton, ONMay 7, 2014
Teaching 1st year undergraduate students was fulfilling.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a very nice place to work and study.
Graduate Research and Teaching Assistant (Current Employee), Hamilton, OntarioMay 7, 2014
The school provides good resources for students and employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with great people
University Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), Hamilton, ONApril 30, 2014
Working as a Teaching Assistant for McMaster university was a great experience. The team I worked with was highly professional, and full of wonderful people to work.
I would recommend McMaster university for any of my fellow co-workers looking for a job without a second thought
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Helpful connections
Research Assistant (Current Employee), Hamilton, ONApril 28, 2014
Flexible hours, got all the help I can get from fellow coworkers and professors, all were helpfull
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
TA - review
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), Hamilton, ONApril 27, 2014
It was an incredible experience to be able to teach your peers and aid their understanding in someway by relaying on what I learned from my education at Mcmaster University
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good school
Research Assistant (Current Employee), Hamilton, ONApril 26, 2014
good research environment, good supervisor, good research funding
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent research culture
Research Assistant (Former Employee), Toronto, ONApril 22, 2014
Pros: work culture, management, life balance
Excellent autonomy. I was able to come into the lab and work on my own schedule so long as tasks were completed. Coworkers were great. Opportunities for growth dependant on work completed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Masters Degree
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), Hamilton, ONApril 17, 2014
I am pursuing my Masters degree in Chemical Biology. Currently, I work on the determination of Aβ oligomers binding sites within HSA domains. The experimental protocol includes NMR and fluorescence experiments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive
Support Staff (Current Employee), Hamilton, ONApril 9, 2014
Pros: free snacks and lunch
Cons: walking distances
I am the Lead Floater for McMaster during the MCC medical exams. I delegate duties to other floaters during the day where we run documents from clinic to clinic throughout McMaster and other various duties.

This position is a very demanding role since it's important for the clinics to run as smoothly as possible from start to finish.

During these – more... exams I work close to 24 hours in 2 days.

The hardest part of this job is how many different areas there are to look after. Usually there are 8-10 different clinics happening at once. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great universty to study Chemical egineering
Chemical Engineering Student (Former Employee), Hamilton, ONApril 3, 2014
Pros: good education
Cons: ave to work really hard
McMaster university is a great place to study Chemical engineering. So far is one of the top university in chemical engineering because of its quality delivering of education and its unique choice of course materials that are basically industrial application based. Thus giving students a taste of the industry well in time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working environment
Masters Candidate/ Invigilatior (Former Employee), Hamilton, ONMarch 17, 2014
A great reputable university with very distinctive degrees and programs. forward thinking initiatives in teaching and research and always aiming to achieve the highest standards of education and delivering solution.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
McMaster Graduate Research Assistant
Graduate Student Researcher (Current Employee), Hamilton, ONMarch 14, 2014
As a graduate research student in Physics I felt supported and encouraged to excel in my studies and research projects.

1 2 3 4