McMaster University Employee Reviews

Found 189 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to go to school and to learn
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON7 August 2017
There is always lots of help from all departments in succeeding as both an employee and student. I would highly recommend working here as the pay is fair.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning & personal growth
Equity Analyst, McMaster Investment Council (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON31 July 2017
Fantastic job, lots of learning, collegiality in the environment, professors willing to help out. Excellent students. Good libraries, Bloomberg terminals and live trading floor.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lab work.
HLA research. (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON13 July 2017
They taught me all the basics of electphoresis and how to sequence genes.
Met a lot of people.
Not enough responsibilities. Did not get a project of my own and did not maximize my research skills.
Pros
Lots of free time
Cons
Only a part time job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Recognized educational institution, but it needs to improve management and work processes/systems.
Part-time employee (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON13 July 2017
Pros:
- Really nice campus.
- Salary is above average.
- You can contribute to education of young people.

Cons:
- No support for professional growth.
- Do not provide the tools/systems needed to do the job.
- Management is bureaucratic and fragmented.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Telecommute
Part time Instructor (Current Employee) –  St. John's, NL6 July 2017
I have telecommuted with McMaster for several years, and for this reason, rate this employer highly. I am consistently rewarded for a job well done and my compensation is reasonable
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helpful and very supporting
Student (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON4 July 2017
Our professors helped and guided us to achieve more than we thought we were capable of. Weekly meetings were set up to allow us to discuss any difficulties encountered and they provided us with solutions to get past the challenges.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at Mac is a standard academic axperience
Graduate Researcher (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON29 June 2017
As a teaching assistant I was paid fairly for my hourly wage, however, the work is limited and precarious, as with most if not all modern academic institutions.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People oriented which made the work awesome
Residence Community Advisor (CA) (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON27 June 2017
The work involves students one way or another. For me this meant building a community in a residence as a CA, serving the move out traffic or volunteership as part of the students union.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON22 June 2017
Strong research-oriented environment
Competitive environment\
It offers good working atmosphere to acquire knowledge and new skills.
Interaction with people of different expertise and backgrounds
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
McMaster University is really good.
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON16 June 2017
I had really good time in McMaster University. Here, I finished my master studies and I felt really proud. I also developed great relationships with my colleagues.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about McMaster University?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good learning atmosphere
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON16 June 2017
very flexible and good culture. interacting with student gives a lot of satisfaction. professors are willing to help and listen to your opinions. a lot of autonomy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great school!
Tour Guide (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON7 June 2017
Very friendly and kind hearted student body. I have enjoyed being able to inform incoming first year students about McMaster University as an institution
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON4 June 2017
Good place to work. Decent benefits including tuition assistance. Safe place to work because of campus police service. Good employee development. Decent wages.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
MSU Spark Mentor (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON1 June 2017
It was a very effective and engaging organization within the campus and was able to provide the academic support that incoming students needed. Overall, everyone was very outgoing and eager to complete their tasks.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed work culture but great learning opportunities
Senior Consultant (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON31 May 2017
Worked as a senior consultant for a year leading a team of 30 students. Good projects that have a real impact. Pay is minimal but fun co-workers. Would recommend.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Student (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON30 May 2017
I enjoyed the school spirit as well as the personable professors and tutors. The school was quite disorganised however they are constantly striving to improve.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Teaching and Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON25 May 2017
Very flexible in terms of balancing the teaching and personal research aspects. A lot of fun events all year round. Management for training is very well done.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly environment where research and teaching are of high standards
PhD Candidate (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON18 May 2017
One of the top 100 universities in the world, where high end research projects are carried out. The job included leading tutorials and lab demonstrations for undergraduate engineering students.
Pros
Career development courses and workshops
Cons
Sometimes it gets stressful to keep up
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place
Mac Ambassador (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON11 May 2017
very enjoyable and flexible work hours. It was a joy to work at McMaster University. I couldn't have asked for a better place to work at. I gained a lot of exposure with regards to customer service and hospitality by becoming a part of this institution.
Pros
amazing co-workers
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place
Nuclear Reactor Tour Guide (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON3 May 2017
McMaster is a good place to work at, working as the nuclear reactor tour guide was a great experience. It helped me enhance my public speaking skills, and gained valuable experience talking with different people of different ages.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at McMaster University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 194 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Salary/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.9
Culture
4.0