McMaster University Employee Reviews

Found 229 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good school
Golden Key International Honours Society Student (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON12 October 2017
it was a good school to go to. i learned lots and loved my life there. i was a student not an employee i don't why i have to write a review on this but lets just go with it
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Experience !
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON11 October 2017
Awesome Experience
Great environment
Great People
Friendly Place
No Complaints
Lots to Learn
Great Work Culture
Great Management
Great Days at work
Everything was fantastic
Pros
its great
Cons
no Cons
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace to conduct research
Research & Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON26 September 2017
Although research was quite challenging, it was so enjoyable when I could obtain the satisfying results. I learnt how to manage time more efficiently to meet the deadlines.
Working with people in group projects was another fantastic opportunity I experienced.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workspace
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON7 September 2017
Enjoyable environment with a lot of support from the professor. The pay and benefits were very good. Would have liked more support during the training period.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Absolutely Amazing
Marauder Swim Camp Assistant Camp Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON6 September 2017
Would not have chosen another University. The culture and the friendships I have made will be in my heart forever. Wish I could go back to school and do it all over again.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to go to school and to learn
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON7 August 2017
There is always lots of help from all departments in succeeding as both an employee and student. I would highly recommend working here as the pay is fair.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive and supportive environment
Part-time Faculty (Former Employee) –  hamilton3 August 2017
Loved working for McMaster. Always a fun and exciting environment. A lot of room for self and professional development. Very evidence-based with relevant and reliable resources.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Has been a good place to work over the past 14 years
Associate Professor (Current Employee) –  Hamilton ON Canada1 August 2017
Easily accessible from home with reasonable driving time; I work in a large General Hospital with varying experiences and exposure to numerous clinical conditions; services are regionalized according to areas of expertise; patient friendly.
Pros
Good working relationship with colleagues
Cons
Very busy service and patient load; free health care
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning & personal growth
Equity Analyst, McMaster Investment Council (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON31 July 2017
Fantastic job, lots of learning, collegiality in the environment, professors willing to help out. Excellent students. Good libraries, Bloomberg terminals and live trading floor.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity for growth and wonderful colleagues
GIS & Data Management Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON27 July 2017
Great colleagues and bosses, lots of very interesting projects happening, a lot of opportunity for growth and learning. It was a pleasure to work here!
Pros
Hours are set for when the library is open so there is no over time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lab work.
HLA research. (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON13 July 2017
They taught me all the basics of electphoresis and how to sequence genes.
Met a lot of people.
Not enough responsibilities. Did not get a project of my own and did not maximize my research skills.
Pros
Lots of free time
Cons
Only a part time job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Recognized educational institution, but it needs to improve management and work processes/systems.
Part-time employee (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON13 July 2017
Pros:
- Really nice campus.
- Salary is above average.
- You can contribute to education of young people.

Cons:
- No support for professional growth.
- Do not provide the tools/systems needed to do the job.
- Management is bureaucratic and fragmented.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Telecommute
Part time Instructor (Current Employee) –  St. John's, NL6 July 2017
I have telecommuted with McMaster for several years, and for this reason, rate this employer highly. I am consistently rewarded for a job well done and my compensation is reasonable
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helpful and very supporting
Student (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON4 July 2017
Our professors helped and guided us to achieve more than we thought we were capable of. Weekly meetings were set up to allow us to discuss any difficulties encountered and they provided us with solutions to get past the challenges.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at Mac is a standard academic axperience
Graduate Researcher (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON29 June 2017
As a teaching assistant I was paid fairly for my hourly wage, however, the work is limited and precarious, as with most if not all modern academic institutions.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People oriented which made the work awesome
Residence Community Advisor (CA) (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON27 June 2017
The work involves students one way or another. For me this meant building a community in a residence as a CA, serving the move out traffic or volunteership as part of the students union.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON22 June 2017
Strong research-oriented environment
Competitive environment\
It offers good working atmosphere to acquire knowledge and new skills.
Interaction with people of different expertise and backgrounds
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
McMaster University is really good.
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON16 June 2017
I had really good time in McMaster University. Here, I finished my master studies and I felt really proud. I also developed great relationships with my colleagues.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good learning atmosphere
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON16 June 2017
very flexible and good culture. interacting with student gives a lot of satisfaction. professors are willing to help and listen to your opinions. a lot of autonomy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great school!
Tour Guide (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON7 June 2017
Very friendly and kind hearted student body. I have enjoyed being able to inform incoming first year students about McMaster University as an institution
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at McMaster University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 234 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Salary/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
4.0
Culture
4.1