Find companies:
McGraw Hill Financial
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
170 reviews

McGraw Hill Financial Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Senior Product Team Associate (Former Employee), Whitby, ONJanuary 11, 2014
Pros: flex hours
I learned a lot throughout the years. My colleagues were all wonderful and we learned from each other. It was like a second family to me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work inviroment
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee), Whitby, ONAugust 2, 2013
Pros: company functions
Working for Mcgraw-Hill Ryerson Ltd.
is like working with a tight knit family. we all get along quirks and all.
Over 23 years I have learned Order Picking,Picking and Packing
Postal Machine, Receiving, dispatching, inventory Cycle counts,
Receiving, Returns clerk and shrinkwrapping plus computers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
be afraid ... be very afraid
POW (Former Employee), Whitby, ONOctober 24, 2012
Pros: salary, benefits
Cons: micro-managing, unrealistic expectations, no work/life balance
I am still traumatized by working there.

Poor training, micro-managing, non-existent work life balance.

Clique-y, back-stabbing, never felt secure in my position despite being 10% over target. If the regional manager was havinga bad day, then you can bet you're gonna have a bad day too!

If you are a size 0, vegan single woman with no life outside – more... of your job then you'll be very happy there.

Otherwise run far, run fast. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Might be a good place to work if one doesn't have to commute.
Developmental Editor (Former Employee), Whitby, ONApril 16, 2012
Pros: learning seminars.
Cons: commuting. rather unfriendly, highly stressed employees.
I was hired to full a position that had been vacant for more than six months. It was a highly stressful position with much to do and little turn around time on projects. Unfortunately, there seemed to be some conflict between my managers expectations and those of management, the latter of which informed my contract and my decision to take on the job – more... in the first place. Given that this was a commuting job, I was told by management that I would have at least two work-from-home days per week and that I could meet directly with authors -- whatever it took to ready key final draft manuscripts. Within a few weeks, it was clear that my immediate manager was not in agreement with this arrangement, and I was forced to commute daily, After spending upwards of 40 hours commuting weekly for an already stressful job, I determined this was not the job for me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
SENIOR PURCHASING BUYER (Former Employee), Chicago, ILSeptember 29, 2014
Pros: excellent place to work
Cons: excellent place to work
Normally you have to put 9 to 10 hour days

Operating system up to date

Management is under stressful environment

Co-workers very devoted people

Many meeting for product development and management
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent working environment
Data Entry Operator (Former Employee), Monterey, CASeptember 28, 2014
Pros: learning of new skills to help advance my knowledge of the educational testing environment.
Cons: the learning curve.
The McGraw Hill Companies/CTB was a fast paced educational test publishing company that gave me numerous skills and productive working procedures.
CTB provided me with the basic knowledge and skills essential for each daily project. They sent me to classes where I learned computer skills, how to do journal entries, and read multiple types of reports.
Co-workers – more... were quick to teach and help in a pinch when a deadline is near.
The hardest part of my job was learning cost analysis debits and credits
Most enjoyable was the holiday parties of course. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employer Based
Assistant Manager of Payroll Accounting (Former Employee), Hightstown, NJSeptember 24, 2014
Pros: good benefits
Cons: not employee driven
Advancement within the organization is not appreciated.
Outsourcing has changed the entire culture of the Company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Workplace
Java/UI Developer (Former Employee), New York, NYSeptember 22, 2014
I am expert Java / UI Developer.
The most enjoyable part of the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong financials a leader in the area of its expertise
Client Relationship Manager (Current Employee), New YorkSeptember 14, 2014
A pleasant work environment. Must multi-task with numerous situations that need my attention.

Co-workers very enjoyable to work with all have a strong work ethic.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice peolpe fun place
dock worker (Former Employee), Dallas, TXSeptember 8, 2014
I had a lot of responsibilities that I always livd up to, love a work place that keeps me busy and moving all day
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fine place to work
Annoymous (Current Employee), AnnoymousSeptember 4, 2014
The company is well managed and focused. The employees are highly motivated and there is adequate work/life balance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned for some nice people
System Administer/ Production Support (Former Employee), Centennial, COAugust 26, 2014
Multi-platform environment with several systems.
Managed day-to-day ticket requests. Responsible for processing secure critical data files to end user web servers. Managed day-to-day ticket requests, created file systems, and changed permissions for end users to adhere to strict multiple SLA’s
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mcgraw hill was a beautiful place to work at
BNC/News Technician (Former Employee), Kenwood, OHAugust 4, 2014
Pros: long bussiness history
Busy and fulfilling

I learned to steps of bidding on job sites

Management was great

Co workers was pleasant to work with

Hardest part of job, was no overtime to complete all that needed to be completed.

The most enjoyable part was completion of assignment each day
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work enviornment, great management!
Financial Analyst (Former Employee), New York, NYAugust 4, 2014
Pros: great commute and pay
Was working a long term consulting assignment with MHFI, the mangers there were very well verse in their field and had the oportunity to learn from them. While I was kept busy with guiding our India subsidiary in their reconciliations and other projects they had taken over, I was able to bring them up to speed as to how to do a proper account reconcilliation – more... as well as other projects that they needed to master. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a good fun place
TEAM LEAD (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INJuly 24, 2014
Pros: good caring supervisors
Cons: seasonal
A typical day at McGraw Hill could either be relaxing or a long rough day.
I learned from this job how to take initiative and lead a group.
Management was great at the time I started then had got a little unorganized in the long run.
My co-workers could be a hand full at times just the simple fact that I was younger in a different position than they – more... was but they and I both had coped with it and I didn't make them feel as if I was the boss and they were under me.
Taking the initiative to lead a group for the first time it was a lot but I wanted that responsibility and I held on and stuck to it.
Having a good time with my coworkers and supervisor it was always laughs and jokes throughout the day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Distribution Clerk (Former Employee), Blacklick, OHJuly 23, 2014
Pros: free lunches, wellness programs, 401k opportunities
Cons: alot of favoritism
My fellow co-workers are fantastic! You felt like you were part of a family. The job gave you a sense of purpose. I wouldn't trade my co-workers for anything.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A diverse work place with opportunity to grow
HR Data Specialist/Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Jamesburg, NJJuly 21, 2014
McGraw-Hill believed in me and gave in a chance to truly shine in the career that i have now.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
logistics
Logistics (Former Employee), Reynoldsburg, OHJuly 10, 2014
Pros: easy work
Cons: extremely long hours
I worked in the warehouse as a pick/packer basically i had to pick books and pack them
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Friendly Workplace
QA Analyst (Current Employee), Hightstown, NJJune 11, 2014
I learned how IT Department of a popular Financial Company works.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Respectful of your work and knowledge
Server Admin (Current Employee), East WindsorMay 30, 2014
Good co-workers
availability for advancement
Good place to learn new technologies

1 2 3 4 5

About McGraw Hill Financial

McGraw Hill Financial is a high-growth, high-margin benchmarks, content and analytics company serving the capital and commodity – Read more

McGraw Hill Financial Photos