Find companies:
McGraw Hill Financial
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
183 reviews

McGraw Hill Financial Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Senior Product Team Associate (Former Employee), Whitby, ONJanuary 11, 2014
Pros: flex hours
I learned a lot throughout the years. My colleagues were all wonderful and we learned from each other. It was like a second family to me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work inviroment
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee), Whitby, ONAugust 2, 2013
Pros: company functions
Working for Mcgraw-Hill Ryerson Ltd.
is like working with a tight knit family. we all get along quirks and all.
Over 23 years I have learned Order Picking,Picking and Packing
Postal Machine, Receiving, dispatching, inventory Cycle counts,
Receiving, Returns clerk and shrinkwrapping plus computers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
be afraid ... be very afraid
POW (Former Employee), Whitby, ONOctober 24, 2012
Pros: salary, benefits
Cons: micro-managing, unrealistic expectations, no work/life balance
I am still traumatized by working there.

Poor training, micro-managing, non-existent work life balance.

Clique-y, back-stabbing, never felt secure in my position despite being 10% over target. If the regional manager was havinga bad day, then you can bet you're gonna have a bad day too!

If you are a size 0, vegan single woman with no life outside – more... of your job then you'll be very happy there.

Otherwise run far, run fast. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Might be a good place to work if one doesn't have to commute.
Developmental Editor (Former Employee), Whitby, ONApril 16, 2012
Pros: learning seminars.
Cons: commuting. rather unfriendly, highly stressed employees.
I was hired to full a position that had been vacant for more than six months. It was a highly stressful position with much to do and little turn around time on projects. Unfortunately, there seemed to be some conflict between my managers expectations and those of management, the latter of which informed my contract and my decision to take on the job – more... in the first place. Given that this was a commuting job, I was told by management that I would have at least two work-from-home days per week and that I could meet directly with authors -- whatever it took to ready key final draft manuscripts. Within a few weeks, it was clear that my immediate manager was not in agreement with this arrangement, and I was forced to commute daily, After spending upwards of 40 hours commuting weekly for an already stressful job, I determined this was not the job for me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managers were great to work for
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Burr Ridge, ILDecember 9, 2014
Pros: dept. managers
Cons: publishing industry is downsizing all over
I enjoyed my 11 years at McGraw-Hill. I met many interesting authors/college professors, and learn a great deal about the publishing industry.

I was sad to be downsized back in 2011.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Daily productivity at work place
Site Support Analyst / Desktop support / Help Desk (Former Employee), New York, NYDecember 9, 2014
The day would start out by printing the tickets issued to me and spent my day troubleshooting and apply remedy to the tickets. What I love the most about MGH is the fact that I was able to travel to all the other offices and troubleshoot the problems there I really enjoy the traveling part and visiting other offices I love the challenge.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Energetic and Dynamic
Business Support Analyst (Former Employee), New York, NYNovember 24, 2014
Company is very dynamic and is always growing and changing to meet the needs of its customers and employees. The most enjoyable part of working here was all the oppourtunities for advancement and growth.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
xxx
Sr Director Global OE & Talent (Current Employee), London, ENGNovember 14, 2014
Organisation going through significant transformation in all Lines of Business.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Underappreciated people work hard and get little acknowledgement
Handscoring Supervisor (Former Employee), indianapolis, InNovember 12, 2014
Pros: work with a variety of people
Cons: managment
On every project I have been on the supervisors and team leaders work their tails off to get it done on time and done with the customers standards in mind. The higher ups don't seem to care about the customer. They just want the project early for their bonus and the large things the customer wanted done well. Other than that, the details that are needed – more... for the projects, are thrown out the window. Also if something goes wrong it's automatically the supervisors fault, even if the supervisors kept telling management that their plan was not going to work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Senior Project Manager (Current Employee), East Windsor, NJNovember 11, 2014
Ok place to work at.

A typical day at work
what you learned
management
your co-workers
the hardest part of the job
the most enjoyable part of the job
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Staying busy and continuous learning keeps me motivated
Regional Supervisor - Content Operations (Current Employee), Hightstown, NJOctober 29, 2014
Pros: i belong to several great groups within the company...win's (women's imitative networking), mentor/mentee group
When I get into the office, I hit the ground running. I start by reaching to my staff in India to see how their day went and what needs to be done by the evening shift. I then reach out to my Canadian staff and US staff. I want to see how everyone is doing and if there are any issues that need to be talked about before they become bigger issues. I've – more... learned to deal with remote managing and how to do team building within different time zones. My position at McGraw Hill has given me the opportunity to grow as a manager and be part of several Green Belt projects to learn how to be "Lean". – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Business Analyst (Former Employee), New York, NYOctober 24, 2014
Pros: nearby
Cons: healthcare
Its an great experience learn many new things.it was like an tutorial.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Oracle financials functional QA consultant
Oracle applications Sr business analyst (Former Employee), Princeton, NJOctober 23, 2014
Good working here as Oracle financials functional consultant
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Colleagues
Business Data Analyst (Current Employee), Bedford, MAOctober 23, 2014
Pros: lunch and learn sessions
Cons: commute but worth it when you enjoy what you do.
We are group focused environment willing to do what it take to get the job done accurately and on-time..We supply custom data to a large number of clients to be used as marketing, sales and business intelligence tool.

I truly like everything about my job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
short term
mailroom (Former Employee), Hightstown, NJOctober 7, 2014
wasn't there long ,but for the time I was there it was a pretty good place to work, giving the oppuntinty I would have like to work there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice company
ASU Co-ordinator, (Former Employee), londonOctober 1, 2014
Nice company to work for, very diverse, fast paced and a lovely enviroment to work in
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
SENIOR PURCHASING BUYER (Former Employee), Chicago, ILSeptember 29, 2014
Pros: excellent place to work
Cons: excellent place to work
Normally you have to put 9 to 10 hour days

Operating system up to date

Management is under stressful environment

Co-workers very devoted people

Many meeting for product development and management
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent working environment
Data Entry Operator (Former Employee), Monterey, CASeptember 28, 2014
Pros: learning of new skills to help advance my knowledge of the educational testing environment.
Cons: the learning curve.
The McGraw Hill Companies/CTB was a fast paced educational test publishing company that gave me numerous skills and productive working procedures.
CTB provided me with the basic knowledge and skills essential for each daily project. They sent me to classes where I learned computer skills, how to do journal entries, and read multiple types of reports.
Co-workers – more... were quick to teach and help in a pinch when a deadline is near.
The hardest part of my job was learning cost analysis debits and credits
Most enjoyable was the holiday parties of course. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employer Based
Assistant Manager of Payroll Accounting (Former Employee), Hightstown, NJSeptember 24, 2014
Pros: good benefits
Cons: not employee driven
Advancement within the organization is not appreciated.
Outsourcing has changed the entire culture of the Company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Workplace
Java/UI Developer (Former Employee), New York, NYSeptember 22, 2014
I am expert Java / UI Developer.
The most enjoyable part of the job.

1 2 3 4 5

About McGraw Hill Financial

McGraw Hill Financial is a high-growth, high-margin benchmarks, content and analytics company serving the capital and commodity – Read more

McGraw Hill Financial Photos