McGill University Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and Fun
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC19 February 2018
-Evaluation of different technology regarding to the needs in project
-self motivation and self discipline is an essential part of this Job
-it's challenging and various possibilities should be concerned
- innovative approaches
Pros
flexible working hours and challenging
Cons
its a temporary positio
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worked in a research lab
Research assistant (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC10 February 2018
Inventing the Future
Rapidly Improving Your Technical Skills
Potential for Professional Advancement
Every individual researcher gets to work on only a small, specialized part of a bigger research problem. But just getting the chance to participate is an interesting opportunity.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Post-Secondary Institution!
3rd-Year Physics Major with Lab Experience (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC8 February 2018
Great lecturers, great curriculum, amazing campus in a great city. Everyone here is super intelligent and friendly. Not to mention the world-class reputation offered here is coupled with a world-class reputation!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Entraide et ambiance agréable.
Concierge (Former Employee) –  Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue, QC31 January 2018
Ses un endroit ou j'ai particulièrement aimé travailler. l'ambiance est très agréable. Mes collègues de travail a l'écoute et tout le monde s'entraide .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive and hostile work environment
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC29 January 2018
With no support for its employees, the workplace is a difficult one to integrate into and even more difficult to succeed in. Competition between employees creates a hostile environment centred on failure rather than success.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Director, Administration (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC25 January 2018
One of the best places to work in Canada! McGill has really strong benefits. There are ample opportunities to grow and advance in your career, as the range of departments is so wide.
Pros
Benefits, work-life balance
Cons
Bureaucracy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sucks
Research Officer (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC11 January 2018
Too bureaucratic, slow moving, people are lazy and arrogant. the tasks were good but the faculty of medicine things they are gods gift to the world and can do no wrong.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The job is good but salary is low and the contact is signed for year by year only (in my case).
Researcher associate (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC24 December 2017
There I work in many of interesting topics, working time is not important there, working environement is perfect. But in my case, the salary is not good (under 30000 without any benefits) and I have to renew my contacts every year, so I don’t know what will happen with me in the next year!
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job where I felt the most respected as an intellectual being
Research Assistant (Alcohol Research) (Former Employee) –  Quebec City, QC20 December 2017
I appreciated everyone's praise and consideration of my intellect. I liked the flexible nature of the hours. I have no complaints. I have nothing more to say.
Pros
Awesome
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
très bonne expérience
Préposé à l'entretien (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC12 December 2017
J'ai appris à être appliqué à mon travaille et surtout à être ponctuel.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Kitchen Staff (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC9 November 2017
My overall experience was both fun and rewarding.good working environment, meeting nutritional needs for staff and students, meeting students from different parts of the world and getting to know them on a daily basis made going to work most enjoyable.
Pros
Free breakfast
Cons
Being moved to different posts
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun.
Demonstrator (Former Employee) –  Montreal campus9 November 2017
McGill a great place to work with so many young people .
Always in.the future and gives you a sense of a greater family.
Inspiring with many cultures at it s service.
Pros
Safe
Cons
Pleasant
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Graduate Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC4 November 2017
Good University and great teaching. Good Campus. Lots of clubs and activities. Reputed for research. Diverse people and mix of culture. Medicine is rated higher than engineering
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great to work here
Researcher Assistant (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC2 November 2017
Good place to work, with amazing and very smart people. Hours were flexible so it provided a good work/life balance. Also people were very nice. Relaxed atmosphere with very hardworking people.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement stimulant
Coordinatrice d'étude clinique (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC31 October 2017
Possibilité de changer de département, avancement possible.
Pros
Stimulation intellectuelle
Cons
Organisation est dépendante de la personne en charge, parfois bien, parfois mal.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Student research assistant (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC22 October 2017
It was a research award. Good experience. Worked closely with graduate student. Weekly meeting with the professor. Learned more about life in graduate school. Also got training on applicable skills such as Matlab and EEG.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i was a volunteer assistant lacrosse coach...
Volunteer assistant lacrosse coach (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC20 October 2017
McGill university is an excellent school in an impressive environment in Montreal Canada. We began the lacrosse program and developed it into National Champions.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good For Grad Student
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Montreal, QC18 October 2017
Not bad for a grad student position but not enough to live on. As with any grad student position, you are in a limbo where you don't get the benefits of a regular employee
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC6 October 2017
Supportive staff and colleagues. Flexible work hours. Great location in a beautiful city. Standard work place, with a standard job nothing amazing but nothing bad.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy workplace with task diversity
Administrative Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC18 September 2017
Possibility of movement between units since there are fairly similar jobs across departments.Smaller units of 3-6 function better than larger teams with multiple managerial seats.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at McGill University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 243 reviews
5124
486
325
26
12

Ratings by category

4.2Work/Life Balance
3.7Salary/Benefits
3.8Job Security/Advancement
3.9Management
4.1Culture