McGill University Employee Reviews

Found 213 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy workplace with task diversity
Administrative Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC18 September 2017
Possibility of movement between units since there are fairly similar jobs across departments.Smaller units of 3-6 function better than larger teams with multiple managerial seats.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hockey instructor
Hockey Camp Instructor (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC27 August 2017
• Instructed girls between the ages of 7 and 13 on basic hockey skills
• Responsible for girls on and off the ice including lunch and break supervision
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great life-work balance
Student (Current Employee) –  Montreal, QC22 August 2017
McGill is a very reputable institution with a long history. It is a great place to work with a great environment, and a very multicultural work. The facilities are also great
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
McGill
Doctoral Student (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC21 August 2017
Doctorate student working for 4 years. Regular salary with no paid vacation because that is the usual for PhD students. Good environment to work and good learning environment
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Environment
Student Worker (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC15 August 2017
I worked at the steam table, serving students a well balanced meal. A typical shift includes setting up the steam table, and serving students food. Overall everyone in the work place was helpful and had a positive attitude.
Pros
Free meal
Cons
Limited hours available
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very bureaucratic
Architectural Designer (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC2 August 2017
The people working at McGill are generally very friendly, especially the front staff and those in student services. As a new employee, you can face a lot of red tape and confusion with regards to administrative policies. For those hired permanently, the benefits and job security are great, but consequently, there is little space for advancement.
Pros
great location, easy access via public transport, beautiful campus
Cons
almost impossible to penetrate the bureaucratic policies
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome team in my department
Administrative Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC19 July 2017
I started as a mat leave replacement, but everything worked out so well that they wanted to keep me on. The only reason I left was because of a support staff strike that dragged on too long. The team I was with felt like a family. GREAT people!
Pros
great team spirit, great benefits
Cons
really low salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work as a student, allowing you to have some pocket change
Laboratory Intern, Abouheif Lab (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC15 July 2017
Good place to work as a student. Great side job opportunities. The management is very friendly and the jobs are enjoyable. Everyone you come in contact with in this job is happy.
Pros
Fun environment
Cons
Facilities are outdated
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing University
Student (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC12 July 2017
It is a challenging place with very smart people. It is all up to you. There are unlimited opportunities for you but you have to go find them. You can make the most out of it if you want.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great academic place
Research & Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC27 June 2017
I have a memorable experience during my studies at McGill University. The academic environment is very professional and the method of teaching/research is efficient.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
PDF (Former Employee) –  JGH21 June 2017
McGIl is one of the best University in Canada and in the world. It most exciting place to learn new advents and develop career. A potential place to grow connections and foresee new opportunities.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun working
Security Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Montréal-Ouest, QC19 June 2017
I enjoyed working at this company .Now I need to do something else ,like driving a bus .the culture is great ,a nice place to work .Nice colleagues .I learn how to protect the students and the company
Pros
free lunch
Cons
working night
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Progressive and fun
BITS Promotional Clerk (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC12 June 2017
You have a formation and they will tell you what is the task. You soon learn to be independent and give the best of you ! I enjoyed learning. The best part is to see the changes or progress you bring to the team.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great short summer job
Administrative Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC11 June 2017
Checked in students and provided them room's key
Recorded any damages on each room, provided services to clients and students.
Manager is good and caring person, very friendly.
The most enjoyable part of this job is good working atmosphere, fun, learning, and cheerful.
Pros
Great working atmosphere
Cons
Office might be crowded when people came in office at one time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting workplace
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Montreal11 June 2017
Very good team and volunteer supervisors.They were very attentive and ready to help. The hospital is very new and is interesting to see. I enjoyed helping people find their way around the hospital.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good staff support, healthy working environment
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC6 June 2017
As a teaching assistant at McGill I enjoyed the support of senior staff and administration when it came it integrating into the work environment. I was given independence, but help was available when I needed it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
We are currently restructuring so the atmosphere is very tense
Adninistrative Assistant/Secretary (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC5 June 2017
currently restructuring so the atmosphere is very tense.

Employees are unhappy because the MUHC is currently restructuring.
Many employees are losing their positions and are bumping others that have less seniority. The overall atmosphere is very tense.
Pros
n/a
Cons
too many employee deductions
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mcgill University
Graduate Student (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC18 May 2017
Hard work environment but very rewarding, involved supervisors and professors. The hardest part of the job is the work life balance, as McGill is entirely type-A personalities looking to get ahead.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good from the outside
Compensation Advisor (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC14 May 2017
I went to work at McGill because it seemed like a dream job. They offer great perks like summer Fridays, 3 weeks' vacation from the start and an extra week at Christmas. These perks are not worth the politics, lack of job security, a toxic work culture and the bureaucracy that fills the offices.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with
Administrative Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC11 May 2017
My experience working at McGill was very rewarding, I learned so many new things and met some amazing people who I am still in contact with today. I enjoyed my job very much, it was challenging and I was always busy.
Pros
The people I worked with
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at McGill University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 221 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Salary/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.9
Management
3.9
Culture
4.1