MCDIARMID LUMBER Employee Reviews in Canada

Showing all 12 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Had a great time learning new things
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Kenora, ONJuly 24, 2014
Had lots of fun doing my job and met a lot of great people. My co-workers were great to work with
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a bad place to work
Cashier (Former Employee) –  winnipeg m.b.July 14, 2014
got along with everyone learned how to merchandise learned how to find all the stuff we needed for the costumer
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
give a person a good pay rate
Estimator - Sales (Former Employee) –  Prince Albert, SKFebruary 14, 2014
enjoyed to work there for first 6 years of employment.
payed a good comissions
Pros
gas card and visa for sales people
Cons
business poor location
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun enjoyable people where everyday was a challenge
Floor/Front End/Sales Desk Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MBSeptember 30, 2013
typical day was to handle any customer inquiries make sure the staff was active and busy handle any returns of product or customer complaints at the end of the day i would ensure all the money was tabulated and the building was secure for the night
i learned a great deal about how to handle staff and customers from a position of authority in a succinct and positive manner
the hardest part of the job was dealing with irate customers while maintaining my own equilibrium
the most enjoyable part of the job was dealing with the customers because you never knew what kind of day you were going to have each day was a different challenge
Pros
close to home
Cons
company was sold
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Stock Clerk (Former Employee) –  winnipegAugust 31, 2013
i enjoyed working with the staff and helping the customers.
Pros
fridays was pizza lunch
Cons
upset customers because of lack of product
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good job
Department Manager (Former Employee) –  kenora, onFebruary 14, 2013
it was a good job at the beginning but than towards the end it wasn't much fun.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meeting customers on a daily bases
Assistant Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MBNovember 29, 2012
Was an assistant supervisor and head cashier. Dealt with money on a daily bases and accounting for all cash in and out of the day. Greeting customers and helping them with what and where they need help if needed. How to manage personal and how to deal with account and scheduling for personal. Management is alright. Enjoyed working with other coworkers. Shift work was the hardest part. Being in a roll of management.
Pros
being a superivsor
Cons
shift work
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They provided free coffee
Yard Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Brandon, MBOctober 7, 2012
Started with equipment inspections, then picked up the delivery orders and got them loaded on the right trucks for on time delivery.
Assigned the right people for each job required to be done like delivery an order or getting one ready to be hauled out.
I learned to check inventory and reorder as needed along with making sure that the five people under me were kept busy.
The manager was a great guy, wonderful sense of humor. My fellow workers were a great bunch of guys, anything I asked of them they did it without complaining'
The hardest part of this job was trying to keep the customers happy with delivery because sometimes you had traffic backups or truck breakdowns that had to be repaired before they went out again.
The most enjoyable was meeting some new people, made many new friends talking and dealing with them for the delivery of the material they wanted.
Pros
they provided the staff with free coffee and the occasion donuts from tim hortons
Cons
the delivery of ordered material that kept customers waiting, sometimes that was slow in arriving.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy place to work with
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MBSeptember 28, 2012
it's fun working as a cashier where i can meet & help many people, at the same time i can practice my ability to speak english fluently. my co-workers are also fun to be with but not during busy hours for they all become grumpy & moody which i do not like most.
Pros
having bbq party in summer for free.
Cons
long busy hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great learning experience
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MBJuly 19, 2012
great experience to learn lumber and building knowledge while helping customers and putting away stock, constantly busy and moving around. great if you like to be on your feet.
Pros
great co workers
Cons
always short staffed
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun environment
Office Clerk (Former Employee) –  Campbell River, BCMay 5, 2012
Loved this job, great place to be and I miss it there. I learned a lot about office work and became pretty good at typing, did lots of data entry.
The co-workers and management were the best part of the job, sitting still that long was the hardest part.
Pros
good hours
Cons
inside too much
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 12 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.1
Salary/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.4
Culture
3.0