McDermott Employee Reviews

Showing all 43 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun working
Associate Structural Engineer (Former Employee) –  Chennai, Tamil NaduApril 11, 2016
Very good company to work.Knowledge sharing is very good. Colleagues are very supportive. Department Managers and leads are very supportive and approachable.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boutique/specialty practice law firm, well connected
Paralegal (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAFebruary 29, 2016
McDermott, Quilty & Miller is a great place to learn the basics of transactional practice. They represent mainly bar and restaurant owners in the Greater Boston Area.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work...
Welder (Former Employee) –  Amelia, LAFebruary 22, 2016
Good place to work...
Stayed busy...
Good work atmosphere...
Heard they moved their operation to Mexico.
I wish they were still here.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great place to work
Associate Crew Scheduling Specialist (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXDecember 15, 2015
Very friendly employee. Comfortable workplace. I learned a lot. Management is great! Limited supervision. Can get work done without being disturbed.
Pros
Gym inside the building to workout
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes14No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company with Quality, Safety, Process and System
HOOK-UP / COMMISSIONING ENGINEER (Former Employee) –  Jebel Ali Freezone, DUNovember 30, 2015
It is a big oppurtunity to work with this company which having ethics, quality, safety, system and process.
I gained and enjoy lot of things which i thought in my previous company i already known lot of things but it's not.
Was this review helpful?Yes32No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun at work place
Sales and Marketing (Former Employee) –  Dubai, DUOctober 26, 2015
it was realy agood experience for me to work at mc dermott am its really very productive we can enhance our skills and potential
Pros
free accomadation
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes26No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and learned so much as project secretary
Project Secretary to Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Dubai, DUJuly 30, 2015
McDermott is a good company, I learned a lot regarding, my work as a project secretary, improved my ability, values, and personality.

The management is good, my co-workers are very cooperative, responsible and we have lots of good work relationships.
Pros
benefits, insurance, leave, yearly tickets, bonuses
Was this review helpful?Yes64No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and hard worker
Senior Estimator (Current Employee) –  Dubai, DUApril 1, 2015
Work start from 8am to 5.30 pm and there is half an hour flexibility.
I've learned many new ways of achieving the work with the rule of do it right time first time.
The management there is friendly and the co workers as well.
The hardest part of the job is the commitment as if you have a submission there is no excuse.
Was this review helpful?Yes47No8
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I have enjoyed every minute of working in McDermott.
Rigging Forman (Current Employee) –  JEBEL ALIApril 1, 2015
Reports functionally to the Senior Rigging Supervisor or the Fabrication Rigging Department. Responsible to set and apply standards of Safety and Quality relative project requirements, reading and understanding Rigging Drawings, Project specifications and Rigging Procedures. Provide the Leaderman with the drawings and information required to do the work.
I enjoy the challenge of building relationship with people both within the company and outside. When I handle the issues, I emphasize the positive points rather than negative and concentrate more on professional trails.
Pros
FREE LUNCH, TRANSPORT
Cons
LONG HOURS
Was this review helpful?Yes34No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dirty politics and lack of transperency
Sr Accountant (Former Employee) –  DubaiFebruary 21, 2015
People in this company are focused on politics than performance.
Management of the company is focused more on deliverables only
Salary package is competitive and above the industry standard
Pros
good salary packages
Cons
not a good working environment esp in accounting and finance
Was this review helpful?Yes41No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Creative and fun oriented workplace
Senior E&I QC Inspector (Former Employee) –  Jebel Ali, DubaiFebruary 15, 2015
Working along with multi-cultural co-workers and learned the different skills & techniques of the job was the most enjoyable part of the job.
Pros
subsidized lunch available in the yard canteen
Cons
long travel while going and coming back to abu dhabi.
Was this review helpful?Yes26No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
mostly a manual labour job; follow safety procedures, work with a team, get the job done
Rigger (Former Employee) –  Amelia, LAFebruary 7, 2015
a typical day at work can vary depending on the project:

Lifting and transporting heavy equipment with ropes, chains, and mechanical devices
Working with power tools
Working in teams
Cooperating with crane operators, forklift operators, welders, and other riggers
Safety procedures
Organization of materials
Cleaning, sweeping, and organizing facilities
Standing up for long periods of time, often up to 4 hours at a time
Cleaning and coating of equipment

sometimes the days were fast paced and hectic

other times the days were slow and there were many breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes42No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent HSE Environment
Principal HSES Advisor (Current Employee) –  Dubai, DUFebruary 7, 2015
Top class HSES Management culture implementation. Working since last 13 years in the company. Due to drop in oil prices company is undergoing rationalisation.
Was this review helpful?Yes34No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Driven EPC contractor with high standards of management commitment to project execution
Health Safety, Environment & Security Manager (Former Employee) –  Jebel Ali Free ZoneFebruary 4, 2015
Driven EPC contractor with high standards of management commitment to project execution.
Balanced approach on productivity, safety & quality.
Preference for employee accountability towards safety.
Was this review helpful?Yes23No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Management
Responsible to Project Controls Department Manager (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 24, 2015
No Job security! Current management of planning in project controls is terrible. Other then that company seems decent just needs more work. Right now not a healthy environment.
Pros
benefits are ok
Cons
current management of project controls terrible
Was this review helpful?Yes37No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Making a record list such as motor spicification
Senior Electrician-Electronic Technician (Former Employee) –  Sarawak,MalaysiaOctober 30, 2014
Perform daily maintenance and bring the document form as check list were the machine good condition and none-operational
At the basement of the vessel must be two men job because it is
hazard to work alone in the location.
Make a repair remedy to the machine and inform to my supervisor.
Pros
free laundry, eat and travel expenses
Was this review helpful?Yes24No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best engg office
Senior Instrumentation designer (Current Employee) –  SingaporeSeptember 8, 2014
I enjoy to work with current company. The most enjoyable and changeable part of job is to clash free the model with short time.
Was this review helpful?Yes33No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The work culture of the firm is constantly evolving.
Patent Secretary (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCAugust 13, 2014
Support a partner and 4 associates with preparing legal documents, research on various legal websites and prepare reports, expense reports, Work at balancing the needs of the attorneys and the work flow.
Was this review helpful?Yes34No8
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
peer pressure...bad planning
Structural leader man (Current Employee) –  Dubai, DUJuly 31, 2014
engineering design and drawing required correction.good health and safety environment,,,good training offered by the company.challenging jobs...good cooperation and good team work with every disciplines...
Was this review helpful?Yes31No12
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't work there
Supervisor / Senior Accountant (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 18, 2014
Not stable place to work in. If you know management then you are in good shape, otherwise it is horrible.
Was this review helpful?Yes59No15

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 43 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture