McCain Foods USA Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
System Analyst II (Current Employee) –  Florenceville, NB19 August 2017
Best Place to start an IT career, Management is very supportive and give plenty of freedom to the employees to develop both career and personal skills
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The worst management iv'e ever seen in my career.
Maintenance Electrician (Former Employee) –  Coaldale, AB13 July 2017
Worked there for 2 years. very poor communication, very unsafe place to work. workers deal drugs out of the parking lot. they turn a blind eye. Pathetic.
Pros
money is good
Cons
The office staff is incompetent to the point of being dangerous.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a suivre les regles emises du bureau chef
Gerant de district (Former Employee) –  Quebec City, QC14 June 2017
très bonne compagnie, très ouverte aux changement mais en s'assurant que les directeurs soient avisé des changements a venir sur les territoires concernes
Pros
ouverts a plusieurs nouveautées
Cons
aucuns
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
GLOBAL PROCUREMENT ANALYTICS SPECIALIST (Former Employee) –  Florenceville, NB21 April 2017
It was great to work in Florenceville. Such a great place to work and live. My manager was really helpful and en excellent mentor.
She always encourage me to dig in the data for more useful information so we can use to reduce the spent of teh company.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work - Pool table in lunch room
Assistant Brand Manager, Retail (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON7 March 2017
Working at McCain has provided many opportunities to grow and learn within the industry, however the lack of coaching and development causes workers to get bored and frustrated. Also unknown changes to departments have left many people without a job
Pros
great opportunity, nice people
Cons
no growth, declining markets, unknown goals
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work
General Labourer (Former Employee) –  Florenceville, NB2 March 2017
I worked at McCain foods on the loading docks almost 10 years ago. Writing a review would be pretty pointless as a lot of things have changed in the last 10 years and since I don't know how to skip this review I'm just typing words.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
grande equipe de travaille
Lead Hand (Former Employee) –  Grand Falls, NB3 January 2017
regarde tres fort envers leur profits vs depense. seule chosse ses quill ne prenne seulement leur employee pour des numero
Pros
employer bien pris soin
Cons
assurence
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Logistics Services at McCain Foods Ltd
Logistics Services (Former Employee) –  Florenceville, NB9 October 2016
I was responsible for dealing with O S&D claims for domestic and international customers.

Learned three different data entry systems and how to deal with a variety of customers and cultures.

Management for very organized and made sure workers made their deadlines

Co workers were great and willing to help whenever,

Hardest part of the job was when I first started and all the work was backed up. So for the first month it was just catch up on all the claims.

The most enjoyable part was the team bonding we did every couple of weeks. Which included ice cream parties, and birthday celebrations.
Pros
Lots of team bonding activites
Cons
Repetitive work
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work
Maintenance Mechanic, Lead Hand (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB21 July 2016
Good people to work with. spent the day welding away or working on other machines. Given use of the shop after hours to work on my own cars.
Pros
great people
Cons
Didn't get raises when told you were going too.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
expérience et savoir faire
Aide à la production (Former Employee) –  Blainville, QC17 February 2016
fabrication jusqu a l'emballage de produit fin. bonne esprit d'équipe et employée gentil et généreux.
Pros
heure flexible
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Research Scientist (Former Employee) –  Florenceville, NB7 August 2015
Many Challenging Opportunities. Great team environment! They make a great product and are creating many new ones.

I was offered a great opportunity to be creative developing a new patent through lots of team and management support.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work with excellent management
Quality Assurance Analyst (Former Employee) –  Portage la Prairie, MB6 August 2015
The management seemed to care about me as an individual and praised me when I did well. They provided a pension which would have been nice had I stayed there long term
Pros
Cheap healthy lunches, follows all safety practices, pension
Cons
shift work
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large spacey office building in a quiet place, nice and kind people
Developer Lead (Former Employee) –  Florenceville, NB21 November 2014
McCain Foods Canada is a good place to work. I've joined the company team responsible for global SAP implementation and we succeeded in that! Good people making good products.
Pros
Free Gym, Squash court, sauna
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Scheduler
Field Representative (Former Employee) –  Canada22 October 2014
No room for job advancement. Coworker who had been with the company didn't want to share any information that would help me do my job. Overall poor communication.
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Keep looking or go back to school. Wouldn't recommend this one.
Foreign Material Inspector (Former Employee) –  Coaldale, AB7 October 2014
Hot/cold, long, boring. The air quality is very poor on most days and management does nothing to fix the problem. The tasks are repetitive and there are often injuries from the repetition although Management and WCB will not admit the jobs are repetitive.
Moral in the plant is very low. Management talks about making changes but nothing ever changes.
Hiring for positions that are higher up or in the office are usually filled outside of the plant. Rarely are people promoted.
Most of the people who work there are great. If they hire someone who is difficult to work with they usually keep them even though it often means good employees quit.
Pros
4 Days off even though you are too tired through 2 of them to do anything.
Cons
long hours, poor air quality, extreme temperatures during all seasons, sleep deprivation
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
McCain Foods USA
Administrative Assistant to the Office Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON23 August 2014
I enjoyed working for McCain Foods.

It was a very large and growing company that provided me with a lot of experience and personal growth.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place to work
Fryer Operator (Former Employee) –  Coaldale AB3 July 2014
I loved working here but due to a divorce a few years ago I was no longer able to work night shift and was forced to quit.
As fryer operator I was responsible for all heavy machinery in processing, was responsible for my workers, helped run the control room, and I was responsible for keeping the product in grade with quality control. I loved it all around and I am not afraid of hard work! I am a quick learner and work well with others.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Industrial Electrician (Former Employee) –  Grand Falls, NB6 June 2014
It had a great experience in plc and automation, it was a 4 on 4 off shift. the coworkers were great
Pros
Experience
Cons
night shift
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not as enjoyable as i would of liked
packaging operator (Former Employee) –  Grand Falls,NB16 February 2014
work consisted of packing french fries in bags then sent to boxes.
learned how to do mechanical and electrical work
had to take care of production in my area
helped out my co-workers in time of need
had to do mechanics and elecricians job in my area but never get the wages for it
most enjoyable was leaving
Pros
benefits
Cons
cannot advance and not paid for what I did
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Research Scientist (Current Employee) –  Florenceville, NB5 February 2014
This is an excellent company with excellent pay and benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 3Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at McCain Foods USA. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 155 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Salary/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.2
Culture
3.4