Find companies:
McDonald's
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
23,626 reviews

McDonald's Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was good working t mcdonalds only thing that was not so good is the pay.
crew member (Former Employee), Wisconsin Dells, WIJune 9, 2014
Pros: discounted lunch
Cons: work extra time for persons who always reach at work late because they didn't like their jobs.
a typical day at mcdonalds was good, sometimes more busy than some but whichever it was nice working there. i learned to work with persons with different personality, management at mcdonalds is very good, you feel like a valuable employee. my coworkers were fun working with. the hardest part of the job was to be doing more than one things at a time – more... due to some employees moving too slow. the most enjoyable part of the job was satisfying the customers and meeting new friends – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment with a good team
Cuisinier (Current Employee), Pointe-Claire, QCJune 9, 2014
Pros: 50% off anything
Cons: long hours
McDonald is fast paced, high volume. I learned how to be a great team player and I am organized and paid attention to detail. I am responsible for quality control.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good to work with
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Ponoka, ABJune 9, 2014
Pros: half price on meals
Cons: hours are good
fun,free,smiles,friendly
working with customers
lite cleaning,sweeping,mopping,
dinner and supper time was the busiest.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Co-workers, poor management and job diversity
Back Employee/ Cashier (Former Employee), Concord, ONJune 8, 2014
Pros: free lunches, many hours, fast paced
Cons: oil filled air, boring, repetitive
The people are the reason to stay at this workplace. The Job itself is very repetitive and the management delegates crew very poorly. The hardest part of this job is the time management involved in getting certain tasks completed within short periods of time, whether it be getting the customer their food as soon as possible or getting the store ready – more... to serve the lunch menu. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for getting through highschool
crew trainer (Current Employee), Fort Saskatchewan,ABJune 8, 2014
Pros: half off at any mcdonalds in canada
Cons: not much oprotunity for advancement, low wages
dealing with people while keeping a restaurant clean. working with hot objects, nto a lifetime job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work at with free foods and free drinks
Grill Cook (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJune 8, 2014
Pros: free food
-I am assigned as a griller or grill cook so I cook patties, chicken meat etc.
-I learned time management, this work has broaden my communication skills
-they are ok, my co-workers are like my family
-the hardest part of the job is when its busy lot of meat to grill or cook with limited time but i still manage
-the fun part are the foods its all free
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible and Fun
Cashier (Former Employee), Vancouver, BCJune 7, 2014
Pros: being rewarded for good work and making sales, regular shifts, flexible working hours and shifts.
Cons: working in a faced pace, sometimes stressful envoronment, and dealing with impatient customers.
McDonalds is the perfect job for anyone who is starting work and doesn't have much experience. Thier training is great, and the staff are very friendly and easy to work with. Being a cashier at McDonalds taught me alot about customer service, and dealing with stress/multitasking in a fast paced envoronment. Its difficult for me to find anything that – more... i disliked about the job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work day
Crew Member (Former Employee), Lansing, YTJune 6, 2014
Pros: lunches free
Cons: long hours
I would set the grill up to make food than i would help with making sandwiches i would also help out on the front counter and drive threw
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Generic McDonalds Review
Line Cook (Former Employee), WaterdownJune 6, 2014
Pros: cheap food
Cons: bad food
The McDonald's I worked at prided itself on it's clean environment and top of the line work space (as it was brand spanking new and been awarded every year since its' opening as the best in it's area). The job culture was engaging, as the management tried to develop a sense of community and identity for the employee's. This is however about as good – more... as McDonald's gets. The food in all honesty is greasy, and a lot of the ex-employee's I originally worked with did not like to follow rules and regulations set in standard and accordance by the Municipal Board and the Management. Often co-workers when busy would not wash their hands when working the grill and dressing burgers, with the exception of a few awesome staff members (and my closer work acquaintances). I would like to note that this does not speak on behalf of all McDonald's Franchise Chains, but this was my honest experience at my store during my employment as a McDonald's Line Cook. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Accomodating
Crew Trainer, all on the floor duties (Former Employee), Prince Rupert, BCJune 6, 2014
I find working here to be very fast paced. There is sometimes little no no communication however on the job training when pushed for it on a daily basis can be attained. I feel that I need to do more with my life in regards to career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mcdonald's
Cashier, Drive-Thru and Crew Trianer (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONJune 6, 2014
Working at Mcdonald's during high school was fun times, it was my first job and i had the opportunity to meet new people, as well as making new friends. Loved the manager's there they were amazing and i've learned at lot from them.I have to say there was no hardest part working for Mcdonald's.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast past working erya
Crew Trainer (Former Employee), Rothesay, NBJune 6, 2014
Pros: 50% off meals and free fountain drinks while working
Cons: no choice to work one closing per week
hot in the summer cold in the winter
alot of managers are teenagers
need to have discipline
have to be quick
will give you hours if you show potential
become a mcdonalds familly
encourage workers with prize
diffrent level of managment (you will see them all)
managers expect top quality in the foods
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive in food service with the leadership to the people
Shift manager (Former Employee), philippinesJune 6, 2014
Pros: free meal
Cons: 1 hour
i take the BSM class, the BASIC SHIFT MANAGEMENT class, its all bout how to handle pre shift,during shift and post shift manegement.

i also take the ASM class, the ADVANCE shift management class, its all about counseling and coaching people,

at last, i take food safety class, its all about the security and safety of people and products.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a good job to start your career with
Crew Trainer (Former Employee), Winnipeg, MBJune 5, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Cons: long hours
I have learned so many things while working with this company. The most enjoyable part was working with different communities of people and their friendliness way.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
McDonalds Review
Cashier (Former Employee), Gravenhurst, ONJune 4, 2014
A typical day at work would consist of me taking customers orders, cleaning the lobby (wiping tables, changing garbage's and filling up the condiment station) and behind the counters (sweeping, quick mop, filling everything back up ex; ice bins, coffee, juices and milk, happy meal toys; garbage's) also taking dishes to the back and cleaning them.

I – more... learned how to handle pressure from customers if they're angry. I also learned better communication skills.

The management could of been a little better. There were certain managers I did not like. If a manger didn't like you, they were sure to make you well aware. I found that they just got mad at you a lot instead of just talking to you about something, or they would talk about you.

My co workers for the most part were amazing. Always helping you if you needed it or wasn't sure of something. Always friendly.

The hardest part of my job would of been dealing with customers who were angry, or working when it was really busy in the summer and trying to make sure everyone got what they needed, and everyone's orders were taken.

The most enjoyable part of my job would be the times when it was a good day and no one messed up the managers were all happy and as well as the customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace but at times stressing
Cashier (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJune 4, 2014
In the morning it was usually busy, and towards lunch time busy again.I learned to have patience with some costumers because some of them had many disabilities or were really annoying or impatient. Management was OK, my co-workers were fine when I needed help they were there to help me with anything. The hardest part of the job was to deal with sometimes – more... drunk people and people that came in and just swear at you for no reason. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced
Swing Manager (Former Employee), ottawaJune 4, 2014
same thing every day, easy to learn, easy to do, the only great part is the people you work with
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
customer service experience.
Team Leader (Current Employee), Milton, ONJune 3, 2014
Pros: free food
Cons: full time 8 hour
As a Team leader my duty is to do my pre-shift before starting my work.make sure everything is stock up,timers,set up the floor plan,set up the goal,inform crew about the new or up coming promotions.enforce them to up sell as much as they can.run my whole shift smoothly.
In the food industry McDonald is reknown for the best customer service.i have been – more... trained and have been taught professionlly by the best management team.My six years of experience enhance my customer skills.
i am working under very professional and experienced management team.their support build up my confidence and i put all my efforts to follow the procedure accurately.
I build a strong and friendly relationship with my co-workers.i always discuss with them a daily goal plan and set a reward for them after achieving the goal.
The hardest part of my job is to work with the part timers.most of them are school kids.
Most enjoyable part of my job is to keep an eye on the mystery shopper and on every HBO order(hang bag out) ring the bell before customer come to the drivr thru window. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reading books,learning new things,meeting new people ,
Crew Member (Former Employee), Vancouver, BCJune 3, 2014
Pros: loved the dis count there was good around my breaks
Cons: part time hours was good but
I work in the back making fries and chick nuggets,
wrapping the food up and handing orders ,
co workers that i remember we really friendly,
I enjoyed getting out there and trying new things have not work for a while ,,,been 7 years in the waterfront location... I live in surrey BC so would be good to get a closer location
was good but reason for leaving – more... it was to far from where i let for work every morning ...the hardest part was I was trying to get myself to cashier...but didn,t make it that far ,,,I am 23 years old and have not really work for a while ...I am a person with a Disability and would love if I could find a Part time once again – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day at work
o Cashier (Former Employee), Burlington, ONJune 3, 2014
I was responsible for taking food orders through cash and the drive-thru. I performed maintenance throughout the restaurant and hosted birthday parties.

About McDonald's

McDonald's Corporation (NYSE: MCD) is the world's largest chain of hamburger fast food restaurants, serving around 68 million – Read more