Find companies:
McDonald's
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
20,505 reviews

McDonald's Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Sandwich Artist (Current Employee), Ottawa, ONMarch 31, 2014
Great work enviroment
Fun and fast paced
productive workplace
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun, friendly.
Team Leader (Former Employee), Kitchener, ONMarch 30, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Cons: short hours
Get to work, very basic, stay at our station. Not move unless asked to. Work is distributed through out the workers, not equally. Full-time workers only made 20 hours... 80 workers all fighting to get shifts. Management wasn't fair to some employees. What I learned why McDonald's the busiest restaurant across the world. The hardest part of the job was – more... trying to get more shifts. 7.5 hours a week wasn't great for a part-time college student. The most enjoyable part was the co-workers they're all the same age as I was and we all got along well. Every season the owners would give the store money to take out the crew to bowling or Canada's wonderland. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work, one of the top restaurants in terms of sales in Western Canada.
Shift Manager (Former Employee), Winkler, MBMarch 29, 2014
Pros: customer dealing
Cons: low wages
The job was basically customer service, handling guest complaints, their requests and providing with quality service.

Handling cash, and maintaining cash books, making deposits to the bank.

Guest recovery follow up and feedback.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to learn and work at for a student.
Kitchen Crew Member (Former Employee), Gravenhurst, OntarioMarch 28, 2014
Pros: benefits and work trips.
Cons: long hours at times.
McDonald's allowed me to learn about what it was like to work for the first time. They were helpful and I made a lot of friends there. It was challenging during busy moments but the great team helped.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a a decent place
Kitchen/Lobby, Cashier, Inventory Management (Current Employee), MontrĂ©al, QCMarch 28, 2014
I enjoyed working there. My management listened to my opinion and helped me out if I had any doubts. The hardest part of the job is the rush when everyone wants buy food, but it has helped me structure my time in order to be efficient.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Young management and crew. Easy to get along with crew members, very flexible hours
Team Leader (Current Employee), Winnipeg, MBMarch 26, 2014
Pros: 50% off meals
Cons: overnights (11pm-7am) are required once a month
The convenience in hours makes McDonalds an excellent workplace for students. You learn to deal with high levels of stress and preasure as you are constantly being pushed to execute service and orders with as much efficiency and quality as possible. The co-workers are generally easy to get along with and everyone usually works as a team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always had something to work on.
MANAGER IN TRAINING (Former Employee), Richmond hill, OnMarch 26, 2014
Pros: met alot of people
Cons: extremely long hours.
At McDonald's, it was never a dull moment, my position was in drive through there for i gained the ability to multitask and complete each task efficiently. I built a back bone working there, i dealt with many types of personalities, therefore you much know how to remain calm. The hardest part of the job was being on my feet for up to 10 hours. I love – more... the experience i gained and enjoyed the company of my co-workers and my managers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment with amazing coworkers and customers.
Crew member (Former Employee), Calgary, AlbertaMarch 25, 2014
I enjoyed working their and the staff, however I prefer something more fast paced and like to stay busy. I also am looking for a reception/customer service representative type position because it is something that I enjoy and comes natural to me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You always remember your first
Swing Manager (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONMarch 25, 2014
This was my first job, and it was a lot of fun. The people I worked with were lively and fun to be around. The management was good as well. The job its self was the hardest part of all of it. It was very dynamic and some days extremely fast paced. No order was ever the same. This job definitely taught me how to work in a team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great coworkers and safe work environment
Crew Member (Current Employee), Welland, ONMarch 24, 2014
Pros: 50% off meals
Cons: sometimes too many short shifts
Typical day at work is alright with nice coworkers. I learned how to handle tough situations within a time limit and how to deal with hard customers. Management is great however sometimes don't pay attention entirely to crew members needs. Co-workers are awesome other than the odd slacker. Hardest part of job is having to deal with a lot or difficult – more... customers with few staff. Most enjoyable part of my job is making new friends with my coworkers and meeting nice and polite people everyday. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to learn and gro while working here if you love fast past invironments
Cashier (Former Employee), Calgary, ABMarch 23, 2014
Pros: regulars and co-workers
Cons: not enough salary and hours
I learned so much working here, how to work under pressure, working in a very fast paced and high demand work area, I loved my co-workers I also had a lot of regulars so when they came to order I had already know what they wanted and were going to order. I can;t say that it was hard working here cause I mastered everything after I had got the right – more... training and worked with everything. I loved and looked forward to going to work everyday the people and customers were amazing. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good starting job
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONMarch 23, 2014
Pros: good benefits
Cons: low pay
A normal fays of work was very fast pace but also easy to keep up with. Working at McDonald's taught me how to utilize all the important skills need to further my work career such as: Communication, Team work, Time management, Multitasking, etc... The Managers and CO-Workers were the best part of the job all friendly people and easy to get along with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
forever young working in mcdonalds
1st Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Doha, DAWMarch 23, 2014
It is very happy atmosphere working in fast food company. It will give you challenge in your day to day life. Stress, pressure in daily operations yet dealing with different kind of people will help you improve your self more than what you expected. Hardest part in my job was that your whole life was a part of this job because for me even i am not physically – more... in the operation, mentally my mind occupies half of what was happening inside the restaurant. I cant help but think everything need to accomplish on the next day . Working with different nationalities makes me much more better than who i was before and I'm Lovi'n it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable job with great people.
Short Order Cook (Former Employee), St. Catharines, ONMarch 22, 2014
Pros: 50% off mcdonalds
Cons: long hours
I worked midnights for Mcdonalds during my midnights I learned how to manage the kitchen by myself at a steady pace. I learned that there was a lot to do to keep a business such as Mcdonalds up and running. The management there was great to every employee as long as you were always working. The hardest part of the job was being the only one of the shift – more... who could lift any produce boxes. The most enjoyable part of the job was during midnights we would go hours without a customer and we all did are best to clean and the crew would have long in-depth conversation. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced fast food restaurant with great customer service
Cashier, Kitchen Crew (Former Employee), guelphMarch 22, 2014
Amazing workplace, you learn to work with others the most enjoyable part of this job was getting to work with friends, and have fun while you work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun
cashier (Former Employee), Orillia, ONMarch 20, 2014
you learn to work with others, and make new friends. the hardest part of this job was when it got really busy. the most enjoyable part of this job was getting to work with friends, and have fun while you work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid Back Workplace with Great Coworkers
Cashier (Current Employee), Magnetic Hill, NBMarch 20, 2014
Pros: great coworkers, 50% meals
Cons: fast-paced
A typical day of work at McDonalds is full of running back and forth through the store. You have to be quick and efficient to make the customers happy. Management was great. They all tried to keep the staff busy. The hardest part of the job was keeping up the pace when the restaurant was packed. Customers tend to get angry and upset when it's busy as – more... it takes longer to get their meals. The part of working at McDonalds that I enjoy the most, is just being able to spend the day with great people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good enviroment and friendly people.
Cashier (Former Employee), Midland ONMarch 20, 2014
Pros: free drinks and 50% off
Cons: strict managment
It was an overall good learning experiance and oppurtunity
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
prodictive
Cashier/Cook (Former Employee), Surrey, BCMarch 20, 2014
was an amazing place to work, I was always having fun on the job, I met great people, got along with everyone and had the help if I needed it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What did you expect from McDonald's though?
Crew Member (Former Employee), Brampton, ONMarch 19, 2014
Pros: 50% off cards
Cons: short hours
A typical day at work was brutal, there was a lot of hustle and bustle and for nothing but snotty calls from management. I learned how to be patient with customers. People tend to be rude to McDonald's employees and I learned how to properly deal with a customer that's been upset. My co-workers were another thing, the environment felt hostile almost. – more... It felt like everyone was competing for something all the time, they tried to out-do each other on a regular basis. There was too much drama for my liking. The best part of my job was cleaning, I liked the time to myself - even if it was just for a second, it was nice to get away from the environment. – less

About McDonald's

McDonald's Corporation (NYSE: MCD) is the world's largest chain of hamburger fast food restaurants, serving around 68 million – Read more