Find companies:
McDonald's
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
25,344 reviews

McDonald's Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Day In The Life Of A McD Employee
Crew Trainer / Team Leader (Former Employee), TorontoSeptember 4, 2014
Pros: flexible hours
Cons: limited staff in the night
A typical day at work would be doing a pre shift chart before punching in to start work.
You go around the store, and write down what needs to be fixed or clean up and stocked up.
You look on the schedule or ask manager on floor who needs a break, so I can cover for them as they take their however long break.
When that is completed wipe down the stations – more... and stock up whatever needs to be at the moment. Like coffee, bags, milks, water bottles, change the pop machine etc.

You learn over the course of an hour, where your key people should be. Example like having your strongest people at first window, and having a runner. When you know who your strong people are then, you wont be worried about parking cars and angry customers.

My coworkers are the best, not only do they know the hardships of working in a fast food company but they also always wanna have fun while doing the job.

The hardships of the job, are co workers that arent in a team spirit, just having a bad day but nothing tops having disappointed angry customers.

The enjoyable part of the job, is getting to know your co workers, but most of all putting a smile on the customers face through drive thru and lobby. A customer could be having a horrible day, and just because you asked about the weather, or took their order correctly and or/ complimenting them will change their whole attitude. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, and a fast paced environment
Team Leader (Current Employee), Leader, SKSeptember 3, 2014
• Supervising the team while working with the manager(s) to coordinate the efforts of all the crew
• Setting, organizing and making sure hourly goals are met efficiently and consistently
• Delegating work to crew members and running the daily schedule to ensure proper timing for breaks and task completion
• Adhered to the Quality, Service and Cleanliness – more... of McDonalds
• Maintenance of equipment
• Motivating crew to ensure satisfactory team spirit while working in a fast paced environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and busy
Manager (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONSeptember 3, 2014
Great place for students who are in high school looking for part time and full time work. You will only gain from working at McDonalds.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful, poor time management and they did not treat me very well
Crew Member (Former Employee), Maple Ridge, BCSeptember 2, 2014
Pros: free food when you did accomplishments
Cons: short hours
First of all, I was referred by my best friend and she works at the same McDonalds location as well. In the beginning before I got hired, I was working at Starbucks in Target. My used to be restaurant manager wanted me to quit Starbucks and he promised he will give me 40hours/week like my best friend. He broke his promise. He never give me 40hrs every – more... week. I always get 25 hours below.

Second, when I wasn't feeling good / I'm sick, they won't be able to send me home and let me work. One time, beginning summer, I vomit three time because of heat, I told to my manager I wasn't feeling good and I vomit, he didn't let me go home because we didn't have much people for evening shift and he couldn't find someone who can cover my shift. He told me I was just having a "Heat Stroke" because our Air conditioned was broken. So I suffer from 1pm - 9pm.

Third, Aug 14,2014 I didn't get my 30 minutes, I started at 9am, my manager told me I could get my break at 11 or 12 (we always get our break after 2-2.5 hours). Around 12pm, I started vomit blood and it was horrible! I told my manager I wasn't feeling good and told her I vomit blood, but it seemed like she didn't care about me and she told me its mystery shop time so she couldn't send me home. I vomit blood 3 times, still she didn't let me go home. So I suffered. At 3:30 pm, my shift manager started and let me go on my break because I'm off at 4:30. I waited 6.5 hours just to get my break and I was sick that time too. Then after my shift I went straight to the hospital and found out I have ulcer, heat and too much stress. After my surgery, my doctor recommended me to quit my job and wanted me not to go back at my workplace anymore. Also he gave an advice that I should prioritize my health than working at mcdonalds because managers don't even care about my health. So I quit mcdonalds. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, Enjoyable, Productive.
Crew Trainer (Current Employee), Windsor, ONSeptember 2, 2014
In a work day Im required to make sure ll customers are leaving happy weather Im in kitchen or on service the customers are important. We are required to meet goals set for our store which for the most part include time goals as to how long we take. One thing i have learned at McDonalds is patience and teamwork. I know now to bite my tongue in certain – more... situations and to help work with new employees rather than get frustrated if they are a little bit slow. The co workers Im with are amazing we all get along and they just make working at Mcdonalds enjoyable. The hardest part is having the pressure of being fast and accurate at the same time. We want to get the food to customers quickly but also ensure the food is fresh and made correctly. The most enjoyable part is the social aspect of the job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
..
Cashier (Former Employee), St. Catharines, ONSeptember 2, 2014
busy work environment a steady pace of everyday customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at McDonalds
Shift Manager (Former Employee), London, ONSeptember 2, 2014
Overall working at McDonalds was decent and gave me great customer service experience.

I did have issues with 1 store manager which ultimately lead to my resignation however everyone else there was great to work with and made working there enjoyable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and hot
Employee (Former Employee), Barrie, ONSeptember 1, 2014
Pros: free lunch
Cons: hot and bad management
Very poor management and not very clean. There was always drama in the work place as well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i am a hard working person
service crew (Current Employee), Westmount Edmonton, ABSeptember 1, 2014
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
happy in workplace and i am enjoy working with my co- workers all my managers are good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible hours with fast-paced work environment
Cashier, Drive-Thru (Former Employee), Pierrefonds, QCAugust 31, 2014
• Accepted requests for take-out orders.
• Resolved customer complaints.
• Remained attentive and offered efficient service in an often busy environment.
• Issued trading stamps, and redeemed food stamps and coupons.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
McDonalds
Crew Member (Current Employee), Kitchener, ONAugust 31, 2014
-Customer service (taking customers orders and helping make sure they enjoy they're meal.)
-Food assembly
-Cleaning
-unloading/organizing store shipments received
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always a challenge each day.
Manager (Former Employee), Dryden OntarioAugust 30, 2014
Pros: working within a team
Cons: some long days
My day would always start out with me entering the restaurant and greeting our regular customers, then saying good morning to each of the staff members. I always take the time to see how they are.
I have learned many internal jobs during my tenure at McDonalds from customer service to running the restaurant.
The hardest part of my job was actually leaving – more... the restaurant. I enjoyed working with everyone there. My most enjoyable part of my job description was dealing with our customers. It is always nice to have conversations with them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work
Associate (Current Employee), Calgary, ABAugust 30, 2014
every one very nice there
learns lots of stuff

every1 knows about mcdonalds
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Great First Job ! Will Remember for life.
Customer Service/ Shift Manager (Former Employee), Brampton, ONAugust 29, 2014
Pros: food, flexibility, fun
Cons: annoying, repetitive
McDonald's is a great first job. Teaches you alot. Very fun co workers and community out breaks. Could grow fast in the restaurant to be management like I did.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace with friendly people
Crew Member (Former Employee), Burnaby, BCAugust 29, 2014
Good customer service skills are integral to the way we do things at McDonald's. A crew member will be expected to provide customers with a quick and accurate service and show sensitivity to their individual needs, both from behind the till as well as in the dining areas. Food Preparation and cooking the wide variety of food we offer involves using – more... a broad range of equipment and tools. They need to produce orders to a consistently high standard and understand that quality control is vital. Cleanliness and Hygiene requires thorough training in order to maintain our high standards. Before they start, they learn to use a variety of cleaning utensils and chemical cleaning products along with the correct protective equipment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience for my first job
Cashier (Former Employee), Prince Rupert, BCAugust 28, 2014
Pros: mddonalds food for lunch
Cons: bad hours for someone in highschool, stressful work environment.
Good place to gain experience as a teenager, after a couple years of working there I got the experience I needed and I moved on as I didn't like a few of the managers and It was just time to move on.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An unfair, work like a dog, kind of job.
Crew Member (Former Employee), Windsor, ONAugust 28, 2014
Pros: half price food
Cons: dont get treated well, are very unfair at times, and managers will ruin your day if they are having a bad day themselves
McDonalds will put their costumers first if it involves a employee vs. costumer argument nine times out of ten even if the costumer is wrong. The managers put you down and rarely give you a decent compliment for your (example) 3 hours of none stop busyness no time to think, working. This place is the cheapest in every which way they run things, and – more... is a horrible place to work if your older then 17. There's are a long list of more doubts, but on the up side its a good way to meet people, and my most enjoyable time would have to be the time i spent with crew an talk to them when i could without getting yelled at to keep my sanity. Most unreasonable place to work for I've ever play part of / herd of. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast food place, fast environment
Crew Trainer (Current Employee), Beaverton, ONAugust 28, 2014
Pros: co-workers are amazing
Cons: store manager can't handle the workplace, short staff
its a fast food place, but not enough staff are scheduled (the biggest problem). New staff are not fully trained. co-workers are amazing, the best part about working here. Dealing with customers complains is the hardest part of the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun work environment
Crew Trainer (Current Employee), Prince Rupert BCAugust 28, 2014
Pros: 50% off and crew appreciation days
Cons: breaks are 2 hours into your shift even if you have an 8 hr day
I'm always learning and gaining new experiences at work and everytime I work I gain more confidence in my work habits and abilities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its very interesting working at mcdonalds
Cashier/ customer service (Former Employee), Toronto, ONAugust 27, 2014
Pros: free pop
Cons: standing when its slow
a typical day at work starts off busy then slow after the breakfast rush then speeds up at lunch. a lot of different people pass by, some are neighbors

About McDonald's

McDonald's®...Is one of the leading global foodservice retailers with more than 30,000 local restaurants serving 52 million – Read more