Find companies:
Maxxam Analytics Inc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
39 reviews

Maxxam Analytics Inc. Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not sure what you are asking here? Like mostly what I did & what I accomplished.
Customer Service Administrator (Former Employee), Calgary, ABAugust 24, 2013
Pros: satisfaction for a job well done. other than that, only client recognition.
Cons: long hours; but mostly satisfying.
Worked with many systems.
Excel, word, or whatever client was currently working with.
Preparing, printing reports. Sending them out thru email, mail & whatever customer requested.
Invoicing; preparing & sending invoicing out manually & Physically.
Helping with clients requests by phone, emails, etc.
Helping clients with ANY requests needed.
Updating – more... & keeping client info up to date.
Doing each & every task required as per client. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very driven as in over worked
GC/MS Senior Analyst (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONAugust 22, 2013
Pros: too busy, diverse client/work
Cons: burn out
low pay and benefitsxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary
Laboratory Technician (Current Employee), Mississauga, ONAugust 21, 2013
We have free Tim horton party at the end of every month.

I learned so many skills like work under pressure, meet dead lines, priority of work, work independently as well as as a team player

Our management is very co-operative

I have very good relations with all co- worker. My co-workers always tell about me i am very quick learner, hard working, – more... responsible and confident about my work.

we are focus on health and safety. We always think safety starts with me

Most enjoyable part of the job is my work. I am always enjoy with my work. I like to solve trouble shooting during work and like to accept challenges. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience, learned great people skills and Independent work
Project Management/ Client Services (Former Employee), Vancouver, BCJuly 5, 2013
I dealt with over 500 companies doing environmental project management. Worked with all testing regulations in British Columbia Canada with respect to Industrial Hygiene, Water quality, asbestoes testing and Soil samples. I also worked with reclaimation and remediation in environmental standards and regulations in BC. My office was a great tool to learn – more... from because I worked with Project Managers at all levels and they were a great fountain of knowledge. I enjoyed dealing with the clients and teaching new customers about the testing requirements and regulations. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to learn
Analyst 1 (Former Employee), CalgaryMay 29, 2013
there are opportunities all over the company to move and to learn about everything.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with multicultural environment
Microbiology Laboratory Technician (Current Employee), Mississauga, ONMay 19, 2013
Easy going and multicultural environment
Great place to enhance knowledge
Very helpful co-workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Appreciated the people very much.
Human Resources Generalist (Former Employee), Calgary ABMay 1, 2013
Pros: much opportunity for leadership and employee coaching
Cons: too much administrative detail involved in the job, giving long hours
Appreciated the opportunity to learn more about the environment lab industry. There was a big variety of positions to recruit for including those on the field, those in the lab, and office staff along with management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Maxxam provides an excellent overall work environment
Operations Manager, Environmental Division (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONMarch 4, 2013
Pros: great team
Cons: none that i have experienced during my 19 years of employment.
I was employed with Maxxam for 19 years and I have a lot of fun, was provided a lot of room for growth. I would recommend Maxxam to anyone who wants to work in a progressive environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace with excellent managemt, social culture and work time flexibility
Laboratory Technologist (Current Employee), Mississauga, ONJanuary 13, 2013
Pros: job due date, meeting customer demands, free lunch, employee kids christmas party, employee christmas lunch, new year party.
Cons: work pressure to accomplish as much as possible during the work day.
A typical day at work starts with lots of things to organize before beginning to setup experimental batches. One has to make sure that the work environment is clean and free from any material that is potential cause for hazards. Everything that is reqiured for the job should be ready and in sufficient quantities for the day's activities.

It is important – more... to prioritize the daily work according to rush, rework and regular samples. The management is supportive and gives guidance in all aspect of day to day activities.

I learned scientific procedures and principles for different types of analytical works in addition to social cultures and how to work within a team. I also learned how to deal with co-workers with difficult characters.

The hardest part of the job is when one has to repeat an experiment setup due to quality control failures. This doesn't happen so often. However, when that happens, it is time consuming to search for archived samples and to re-work all the way from the start.

The most enjoyable part of the job is that it is a team work. As a team everyone does the best to accomplish the task in due time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed being busy and establishing my own workflow
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Winnipeg, MBNovember 9, 2012
Pros: working independently as well as the opportunity to demonstrate teamwork and flexability
Cons: management style
Established a prioritized daily work flow:
- record voice mail messages from clients and return calls
- sort new work orders from provincial government by Drinking Water Officer and scan/email to each officer daily
- sort new work orders by job number and file by date
- process credit card and cash payments for pre-paid work orders, scan all related – more... documents to accounts receivable, record payments in tracking file
- run database report for new jobs requiring price approvals and do price approvals
- run database report for completed jobs requiring invoicing, do invoicing, print and mail invoices
- answer calls as they came in, providing information regarding company services, redirecting calls as required, researching information or services, providing information on job status, results of testing, invoicing information, locating and supplying clients with copies of prior job results or invoices
- assisting lab manager and project manager by locating documents they required or returning client calls for them
- assisting shipping & receiving department with data entry of new work orders, and filling client orders for testing supplies
- assisting lab assistants by disposal of their expired soil or water samples – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A TYPICAL LAB ENVIRONMENT PLACE
Laboratory Analyst (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONSeptember 6, 2012
I WORKED IN LABORATORY FOR EXTRACTION VOLATILE SUBSTANCES FROM SOIL AND WATER AND ANALYSIS WITH HPLC.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Sample Reception Login Technician (Current Employee), Calgary, ABAugust 23, 2012
Pros: team building activities such as free lunches
Cons: long hours during the summer months
Maxxam Analytics is a great place to work. The people are absolutely wonderful. As well, the company offers an important and quality service to oil and gas clients. Maxxam is involved in the Environmental reclamation process of drill sites in northern Alberta and abroad. Maxxam's attention to detail and success through science is what propels this company – more... to succeed in this industry niche.

A typical day at work consists of receiving environmental samples from clients, and inputting the required test codes into a custom software program for future laboratory analysis. Samples are stored in coolers, and kept available for analysis for several months. Hazardous waste is dealt with following WHMIS guidelines. Some heavy lifting is required.

The co-workers and management are phenomenal. Maxxam Sample Reception is a social team-oriented atmosphere with a stellar cast. The supervisors are phenomenal, and help the team to function to its absolute potential. There is always someone to ask if questions arise. It is a fast paced, and enjoyable atmosphere. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I learned method development from this job
R & D Analyst, Forensic Equine Drug Testing (Current Employee), Burnaby, BCJune 24, 2012
It is one of the biggest analytical labs in Vancouver. Since I joined the company, I learned lots of lab techniques as a chemical analyst. However I hope I will have more opportunities to grow.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Nice environment to work
Microbiology Laboratory Assistant (Part time) (Current Employee), Mississauga ONMay 31, 2012
Pros: nice people to work with. great chance for inexperienced person.
Cons: responsibilities. but its good.
Everyday it keeps me busy.
I learned lot of tests regarding quality control.
Management is good.
Co workers are supportive and friendly.
Nothing is hard there.
Most enjoyable part is you get good environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place for an Entry level Lab work
Lab Technician (Former Employee), Mississauga, OntarioMay 8, 2012
Pros: free breakfast once a month
It provided a good hands on experience on Laboratory work including safety. All teams were very supportive and helpful. The hardest part was getting there by bus (took me around 2hours)
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Lab Technician (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONApril 19, 2012
Pros: bagel day is the good idea
good scope for better growth
working with coworkers is the best part where i enjoyed the work.
management was well organized with schedules and tasks.
its a busy place everyday.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Liked the work, pay was not enough
Laboratory Technician (Former Employee), Calgary, ABApril 16, 2012
Not much variety, no room for advancement, routine work, logistics, acid digestions, oil/gas tests
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for science nerds (like me!)
Analyst 1 (Current Employee), Saint Laurent, QuebecDecember 29, 2011
Maxxam Analytics is a great place to work if you're enthusiastic about Analytical Chemistry. Our branch is like a family, with many barbecues during the summer, and bagel breakfasts during the wintertime.

About Maxxam Analytics Inc.

Founded over 40 years ago, Maxxam has developed into Canada’s leader in analytical services and solutions to the energy, – Read more

Maxxam Analytics Inc. Photos