MAXI Employee Reviews

Found 56 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace that offers a sense of responsibility
FROZEN FOODS WAREHOUSE ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Verdun, QC8 May 2017
Within the first few months of employment had changed from general labourer to Frozen Foods Warehouse Assistant. While this position didn't offer a higher salary, it did offer a greater sense of responsibility.

I was in charge of taking and managing inventory for the deep freezer, making sure that all dates, safety and sanitary standards were respected.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good team spirit
Commis d'épicerie (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC26 April 2017
I did not work there for long, only 2 nights. Yes, I did night shifts working at Maxi while studying in the morning, which is the reason I quit very early. It could have been an interesting place to work at though, but the fact that it was starting to affect my studies was enough to make that decision.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was the worst days of my life
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Gatineau, QC5 April 2017
low staff don't take care of their employees,was not a clean and fun environment,rotation of stock wasn't done properly,didn't have the staff to respond to customer service
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very simple job but would get boring after a while
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Rosemère, QC8 June 2016
Stock the shelves, place sales stickers on products, manage stock, check inventory, maintaining a clean and safe environment for customers and helping customers finding the products they desire or have trouble looking for
Pros
1 hour breaks for lunch or supper when having an 8 hour shift
Cons
Daily job quickly gets boring and not interesting
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good customer service job.
Superviseure des caisses (Former Employee) –  Quebec25 February 2016
Great job for a student looking for part time work. they have great benefits and are unionized.

they pay isn't that great but ever X amount of hours done you get a small raise.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Social
Commis de service (Former Employee) –  Sorel, QC22 November 2015
a day at work would start at 9 am i would ensure a clean place inside and outside 'til 12, after i would eat on my 30 minutes lunch break and do the same thing until 5pm.
Pros
I love social
Cons
got to be polite with EVERYONE
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
General Labour (Former Employee) –  Laval, QC14 July 2014
Fun and interesting place to work, personnel very helpful,
management were great
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor
Nightshift Stock Boy (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC19 August 2012
It was not the best of jobs, they would scream at you for reason!
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and learn new things.
Full time associate (Former Employee) –  Oakville, ON13 August 2012
Every day started with a meeting where the managers would recognize our hard work, cheer us on for a productive and fun days work.
Our store Manager once said, If you go home at the end of the day and you are not tired, it means you did not give it your all. I allways had strong work ethic, but here I learned to appreciate that feeling of accomplishment at the end of the day.
I learned that to lead a team, you must be positive and lead by example.
I worked as a team as well as leading with co-workers.
The hardest part of my job was working in the freezer, but the time passed quickly and it was rewarding to know we did a great job.
The most enjoyable were the customers.
Pros
great people.
Cons
very long freezers meant double gloves.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Un emplois pratique pour la memoire
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Gatineau, QC12 May 2017
J'ai apprécié le fait d'arriver a tout se rappeller les codes par coeur
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Un environnement de travail coopératif
Commis (Former Employee) –  Quebec3 May 2017
Quand j'arrivais au Maxi, j'allais tout de suite me mettre au travail avec le sourire. J'ai appris que je dois apprendre à assimiler où se trouve les aliments pour pouvoir aider le client plus facilement. Les collègues étaient très sympathiques avec moi en m'aidant quand je savais pas où se trouvait tel aliment.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bonne équipe travail
Caissière (Former Employee) –  Beloeil, QC29 April 2017
Condition de travail très bonne. On apprend que le client d'abord doit être la devise de tout commerce.
Pros
Respect de l'employé
Cons
Travil debout stationnaire
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Résumé des tâches
Commis de service (Former Employee) –  Laval, QC18 February 2017
 Gérer les stocks sur les tablettes et s’assurer que tous les produits sont bien disposés
 Assurer le remplissage des espaces conçues pour les paniers
 Accueillir les clients et leur offrir un service professionnel selon leurs besoins
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
agréable
viande (Former Employee) –  Brossard, QC10 December 2016
adorer travailler pour cette entreprise car les employer et client étaients très acceuilant. Lorsqu'il repartait à la maison il avait toujours le sourire au lèvres.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Équipe sympatique, mais très peu payée
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Montreal7 December 2016
C'est un travail pour les jeunes étudiants qui désirent travailler à temps partiel.
Par contre, il est impossible d'avoir un nombre d'heure garanties et celui-ci varie grandement de semaine à semaine.
Il est aussi impossible de planifier des activités avec de la famille ou des amis sans demander congé puisque l'horaire sort le vendredi pour la semaine qui suit (c'est-à-dire du dimanche au samedi) ... on connait donc notre horaire 2 jours à l'avance ce qui est frustrant!!
Le salaire est également peu intéressant puisqu'avec les nombreuses déductions imposées (abonnement au syndicat - qui est en fait une union, frais de syndicat, etc.) qui sont retirés à chaque paie, on se retrouve avec autour de 9$ de l'heure dans nos poches.
Cons
Courtes pauses, impossible d'avoir des heures garanties, impossible de connaitre son horaire dans un délai raisonable
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement de travail poussant l'autonomie
Supervisor/Cashier (Current Employee) –  Pierrefonds, QC12 November 2016
Je suis devenue bien plus autonome depuis que je suis chef superviseure des caisses et que je suis capable de faire face à des imprévus tout en gardant mon calme.
Pros
Horaire flexible
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
avis
Aide générale (Former Employee) –  Sherbrooke, QC4 October 2016
cest tres agreable comme environement les gens son agréable et il ya plusiuer tache a faire mais cest toujours tres agréable de les faire et la direction par exemple a plusieur faille
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bénévole
Vendeur (Former Employee) –  Blainville, QC19 August 2016
Je n'ai fait que du bénévolat pendant deux jours, mais j'ai bien apprécié le faire.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The work environment was great
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC18 August 2016
I loved the people I got to work with. The team work was great and we all were friendly with each other. The work we had to do was very repetitive but i didn`t mind because i knew a cashier's job involved doing the same thing everyday. It was a fairly easy job and i would be pleased to do it again.
Pros
10% off anything bought at maxi
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement super agréable et on se sent comme chez soi !
Caissière (Former Employee) –  Granby, QC9 July 2016
J'ai adoré mon expérience au maxi! Les gens sont vraiment gentils et on s'occupe bien de nous la sécurité et notre bien-être leur tiennent vraiment a coeur.
Pros
avantage sociaux, rabais employés
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at MAXI. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 65 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.5
Culture
3.7