Find companies:
maurices
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
146 reviews

maurices Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning environment that packs a punch of passion
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Saint Joseph, MOOctober 15, 2013
Pros: alot of feed back on oppurtunities
Cons: wages
this is a high energy fast paced memory making environment taking care of customers with hearts and going home with a smile on your face you get great constructive criticism on the spot that will make you successful in the future it opens up a lot of opportunities to promote and succeed and best of it all you work where you love to shop!!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun place to work with lively, loving people
Sales Support (Former Employee), Medford, OROctober 11, 2013
I would stock shelves, price and tag all merchandise, fix and clean fixtures around the store, and help out with anything else that was needed.
I learned a lot about management and how to run a growing business and the different tricks to keep the business going.
My management was terrific and I had no problems with the people I worked with.
My co-workers – more... made me feel at home and I loved talking to them and helping them out with chores in the store.
The hardest part of my job was doing the same thing over and over again and standing up for the whole time I was at work.
The most enjoyable part of my job was the friendly co-workers that made me feel like I was at home and that I was needed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Kingsville, TXOctober 7, 2013
I would Provided Customer Service, Cashier Duties, and the stocking and replenishment of clothing and store items. Achieved sales and store goals. Other duties as assigned or required.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun outgoing working enviroment
Assistant manager (Current Employee), Jeffersonville, OHOctober 3, 2013
Pros: we could take ourlunch whenever we wanted but was a 30 min break
Cons: no paid vacation for a part time manager
A typical day at work through the week wasnt very busy. I learned that during our slow times that i made sure that whatever needed done i got done as much as i could that day on our planner. Managing the store by myself was really easy and my associates we very good at doing what i asked them to do but at the same time we had a fun time with it. The – more... hardest part of the job was the scheduling. most enjoyable part was i loved going into work because it was a fun place to be and i wasnt complaining of going or trying to rush my day so i could go home. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Lavale MDSeptember 30, 2013
Pros: working with the public
Cons: meeting credit card quotas
I was an assistant manager and retail sales associate in charge of daily operations including opening and closing duties, processing markdowns on merchandise, implementing sales, and encouraging employees to do their best and be held accountable. I loved my co-workers and enjoyed the retail aspect.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run far, far away
Store Manager (Former Employee), Salina, KSSeptember 25, 2013
Pros: pay as a store manager was good
Cons: everything other than pay
I loved the team of girls that worked for me, but the upper management was horrible. If they wanted you out of there, they did everything in their power to get you out. The work/life balance was ridiculous! They expected you to live in the store, while complaining about what you WEREN'T doing to make the store successful!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong values.
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), Selinsgrove, PASeptember 17, 2013
Pros: great discount.
Cons: individual associate selling statistics.
Company is filled with strong and respectable values that encourage a positive work environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Poplar Bluff, MOSeptember 10, 2013
Pros: working with the public
Cons: location of the store
The most enjoyable part of the day was being able to help people find the clothes and accessories they wanted.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Store Manager (Former Employee), North CarolinaSeptember 10, 2013
Pros: exciting work environment
Cons: no work life balnace
Maurices is a good place to work the typical day deals with customer service and sales

co- workers were great
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with the community
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Zanesville, OhioAugust 27, 2013
The most enjoyable part was meeting new people. What I learned was experience of how to keep a store running.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and very interactive.
Retail/Sales (Former Employee), Saint Joseph, MOAugust 9, 2013
Pros: working with people
Cons: cleaning the dressing rooms
Helping customers to find the style they like and help to make them feel good about the wardrobe choices. I learned to interact with different types of people.
Management was wonderful, very helpful and very gracious with accommodations, such as scheduling or unexpected emergencies.
Co-workers were fun, helpful and very pleasant to be around.
The hardest – more... part was learning the registers when I first started working.
Most enjoyable part of my job was seeing the smiling faces on customers that were happy with your service. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overworked and Under paid
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Sturgis, MIAugust 5, 2013
Pros: clothing discount
Cons: everything but the clothing discount
Maurices is a great store to work for if you like to be over worked and under paid. The hierarchy of management does not want their associates to progress in the company, if they did not come up with the idea first. This company is overall female, and the cattiness and back biting reaffirm that an all women work force should be highly discouraged. Motivation – more... to be the best is quickly shot down by your "superiors" saying that all you care about is yourself. If you try to correct this behavior they are quick to tell you that your numbers are slipping and you need to be more focused. The daily ping pong of what is expected of a associate/ asst. manager is confusing and tiresome. My recommendation for anyone that is thinking about applying is this: if you're a individual whom strives for the the day to day social behavior of high school girls whom want to best each other and talk behind each others back rather than work as a team and act professionally, than by all means, apply. If you want to succeed and be recognized for your accomplishments and want to work in a professional environment; do not apply. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working with customers in helping them with their fashion needs.
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), Centerville, GAAugust 1, 2013
I administered Opening and closing procedures, solved customer issues as they arise, filled out daily game plan for all employees with individual sales goals as well as store sales goals. Multi-tasking was a huge part of the day while still keeping in mind the customer is always first and foremost. I learned to be a team player. I learned time management – more... as well as excellent customer service skills. I trained other associates on a daily basis. The hardest part of the job was coaching associates in a positive way rather than being negative; be able to find ways to teach the Maurices way and not my way. It was difficult at times, however, I was able to be positive just by learning different tactics. Working with the customers and making them feel special and helping them in any way I could; displaying exceptional customer service was the most enjoyable part of the job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working here
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Morganton ,NCJuly 30, 2013
Pros: flexible schedule, amazing people, great benefits
Cons: not enough hours
Maurices is an upbeat place to work with exceptional customer service and quality clothing . My workday was always fun but plenty to keep you busy , The management team worked with everyone to maintain and better each day . I enjoyed working with customers more than anything , teaching them and being there personal shoppers was a challenge but one I – more... enjoyed very much . – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great starter for management
Assistant and Retail Manager (Former Employee), Conyers, GAJuly 30, 2013
Pros: major discounts and incetive pay
Cons: getting held up at gun point
I loved the job working with women and being their personal clothing expertise . I was able to work with some amazing people who are now life long friends.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to meet friends
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Decatur, ALJuly 23, 2013
Loved the job but there was not enough hours or pay for everyone to live on.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place with customer interaction
Pt. Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Winchester, VAJuly 23, 2013
Pros: we are sent goodies when we make sales goals
Cons: no communication
i love working with my customers and helping them find the right outfit.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job for someone looking to make a career out of retail
First Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Hannibal, MOJuly 23, 2013
Pros: great benefits, generous discount, advancement opportunities
Cons: long and inconvenient hours, unrealistic expectations at times
A typical day at work for me, since I was a first assistant manager, was selling and giving great customer service to every customer who walked through our doors, and after awhile giving the other sales associate working with me an opportunity to sell as well as I did some tasking, mainly visual tasks. I would process freight, re-work departments in – more... our store, dress mannequins, complete POVs (Point Of View, our visual guides for how our store was to look), etc. I would oversee register and customer service execution, making sure all was being done according to protocol and that the associates understood the whats and whys of running the store the way we did. I also took time in the back room to audit the Sales and Documentation Envelopes we completed at the end of every night, making sure there were no register, training, or loss prevention issues. If there were any problems that arose, I would take care of it accordingly. I invested in a self-driven management training program, also. This taught me things like making schedules, recruiting and hiring, investing in the community, running every little bit of a store, etc. I learned much about managing a business through this training; I was basically the store manager when my own manager wasn't present. Our store environment was a good one, being one that supported open communication and feedback. I tried to make it as positive of an environment as I could. The hardest part of the job was time management, since we had so many things to do all the time, and there was never enough time to complete the tasks, so we had to constantly prioritize and delegate. The most enjoyable part of the job was knowing I was relied upon, like the "go-to girl" of sorts; people came to me for questions, advice, and I was given a lot of the load of running the store because I was reliable and I was good at it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible experience. Makes you never want to work retail again.
STORE MANAGER (Former Employee), Hutchinson, KSJuly 17, 2013
Pros: 40% discount.
Cons: most vindictive and unproffessional group ive ever worked with in 30 years.
Worst company and district manager I ever worked for. .District manager was very condescending. Training program and life /work balance was horrendous. Run hard and fast before working for this company and district manager.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive friendly workplace
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Peoria, ILJuly 11, 2013
Pros: $ benefits to being management.
Cons: even when you ask off time far in advance.. you may not get it off even if it's a family function
between customer service, we have tasks to complete each day. we have a dollar amount goal as well as credit card application goals. Its not a commission job so our customer service and shared opinion is honest and genuine. the management staff is fantastic and they trained me in well. the communication between the team is great and keeps the team running – more... well. – less

About maurices

Maurices outfits the young women of small-town America. The chain sells dress, work, and casual apparel for 17- to 34-year-olds at more – Read more