Find companies:
maurices
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
146 reviews

maurices Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Natchitoches, LAJanuary 27, 2014
I loved the co workers I was able to work with. I learned a lot more about retail than I already did and how much I enjoy it. The management wasn't always as professional as I thought she should be, but other than that was very nice. I loved to help customers and put out inventory. I didn't like having to vacuum the entire store on some nights if I – more... closed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Environment
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Mason City, IAJanuary 27, 2014
Great pay and great with working around your schedule. You're always working with customers and your co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service Training At It's Finest!
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), Jackson, TNJanuary 22, 2014
Maurices instills in each and every associate the true meaning of customer service. This is an amazing job for any student or entry level retail salesperson to learn the true meaning of customer service!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
First Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Bourbonnais, ILJanuary 21, 2014
Although working with the public can be difficult at times, Maurices is a company that rewards its employees for achieving goals. They have a great company!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great 1st Job
Associate Manager (Former Employee), Somerset, KYJanuary 10, 2014
Pros: discounts
Cons: hours
Loved working with clothes and the people. Learned a lot about sales and management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company has a lot of training programs to help in your advancement
First Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Concord, NCJanuary 9, 2014
I loved my experience at Maurices everyday I learned something new.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Assistant manager
Asst. Mgr (Former Employee), Granbury, TexasJanuary 7, 2014
Pros: didnt have to take lunch
Cons: short break
• Monitored most sale transactions.
• Greeted customers
• Responsible for all monthly accounting
• Reviewed employment applications and interviewed potential employees
• Promoted a safe working environment through monthly safety meetings
• Processed all refunds and credit applications
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The worst job ever
Seasonal Cashier (Former Employee), Bourbonnais, ILDecember 28, 2013
Pros: nothing
Cons: working for the company
I'm not going to lie, I hated this job. The manager and assistant manager were rude and with me being the only plus size girl there I was always targeted. The hardest part of my job was actually getting there because I hated it so much. I enjoyed nothing about the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work but only if you're management.
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Alice, TXDecember 12, 2013
Pros: the 40% discount. flexible schedule.
Cons: unprofessional store manager. rude customers. working nights and weekends.
I really have nothing too bad to say about this place. I guess the discount really compensated for the all the ickyness that went on behind closed doors. But let's see a typical work day started with clocking in, counting in your drawer, then making your game plan for the day. After that there was always something that needed to be done. From tagging – more... freight and filling in racks to cleaning the fitting rooms or the break room. Regardless there was always something to do. I learned here a lot about fashion and how to be more creative with my sense of style. I'm not really scared to try new things. Management here was awesome when I first started. The store manager and 1st assistant had a great thing going. After the store manager left things kind of went downhill after that and never really recovered. No one was really straight forward with their intentions with you and with your position with the company. I felt the store manager was only out for herself and never really cared about the people that worked under her. The hardest part about my job was the customers. Sometimes you would get some really rude ones but they were the most enjoyable part about this position too. Majority of them were really nice and fun to work with. The same can be said about my co-workers. Everyone had their days but most of the time everyone was on point with that they needed to do and got it done. I would recommend this company to future applicants for temporary means of income. Unless you are truly exceptional at your position will you not see advancement. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
LOVE my job! Very fun and exciting place to work!
PT assistant manager (Current Employee), cambridge, ohDecember 11, 2013
Pros: associate discount, manager bonuses, associate incentives (extra money to spend on merchandise, etc), great co-workers, great customers, tools to succeed
I never thought I could go to work and actually LOVE my job!! After a few days off, I am excited to go back to work! The company rewards us constantly, for what I view to be our normal job requirements. I work with a great group of girls in an upbeat environment, and the customers are fantastic! Going to work is like going shopping with some great friends – more... and I get PAID to do it! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee), Ozark, MODecember 10, 2013
Pros: extra discounts and promotions to encourage associates
Cons: holiday hours
Management was wonderful at coaching and developing new associates and they truly want you to succeed. Flexible around school schedules. This corporation made you really feel valued and as part of a team. Taught me life long skills that are needed and valued in the workforce that are sometimes hard to attain in daily life. The team was great and always – more... friendly to work with, developed lasting friendships here. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, goal driven work place
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Alexandria, MNDecember 2, 2013
I love working with Maurices. Their company culture makes the entire environment very comfortable not only for me, but every customer that comes through our doors.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Allowed to interact with customers and enjoy your time working.
1ST ASSISTANT MANAGER (Former Employee), Lumberton, NCNovember 11, 2013
Pros: hour lunch break, good hours
Cons: communication between managers
I learned a great deal about what it means to be a leader. I worked with great people who did their jobs very well. I enjoyed helping customers who came in feeling down, but left feeling good about their selves.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun fast paced environment
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Madison, ALNovember 6, 2013
Working at Maurices for me was very fun. It always went by fast. The managers were very flexible with your schedule. The co-workers were very helpful. The hardest part of the job was trying to sell the Maurices Credit cards. The most enjoyable part of the job was helping the customers find items that made them feel great about themselves.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Faribault, MNNovember 5, 2013
It was fun working with the customers and you get a great discount!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer service oriented workplace with a welcoming environment
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Warner Robins, GANovember 1, 2013
Pros: quick commute to work, friendly co-workers and working environment
Cons: breaks between shifts were not always timely during high traffic days in the store
Maurices is a very customer service oriented retail store - the customer ALWAYS comes first. Creating a welcoming environment to everyone who enters the store was a main priority. Working at Maurices was very enjoyable. Each of my co-workers had a sense of humor and a friendly attitude. It was also a store that cared about the community and allowed – more... its workers to participate in volunteer opportunities and donation drives inside and outside of the store for great causes. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place to work at, id rather work fast food!
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Chico, CAOctober 31, 2013
Pros: employee discount
Cons: no hours, unprofessional and unfair managment
This is by far the worst business to work for. I worked here for a couple months and had to go once i found out all the pros and cons of this job.
The pros are maybe the employee discount which is good if you like the clothes. The only actual cute clothes they carry are probably the silver jeans which when bought that nice diacount doesnt even help. – more... The cons would be hours and managment. I started out working 40 hours a week and dropped down to 3 hours a week. I asked managment why my hours had such a significant drop. The answer i recieved was you have to be a good sales person. Ok so when the weekly sales stat sheet came out i was 2nd from the top for 3 weeks straight!! Im not sure why i would get 3 hours then. Seems sketchy to me. Now on to managment if your an older woman with lots of job experience im pretty positive you wouldn't appreciate some young 18 year old with no job experience to be your manager, especially when you find out she is getting 20 or more hours a week and is near the bottom of the stat sales sheet. To top that off is also making $15 an hour. I could go on all day about this place, but to save all of you who are apyin or thinking about taking a job here DONT!! Plenty of other aweome places to work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NOT family friendly at all
Store Manager (Former Employee), WisconsinOctober 28, 2013
Pros: discount
Cons: upper management, amount of hours put in by management
As a former store manager you were basically wanted to live and breathe Maurcies. This makes it very hard to date, but when you do start taking time off upper management breathes down your neck that you should be doing more for your store than the 60+ hours/week you are working.

Very caddy women!!!! And for years I tried to figure out why and how one – more... individual has kept her job with this company!!! She doesn't do mannequins and talks about everyone after they are no longer with the company!!! I recently heard that I gave birth a month early to an autistic child!!! Sorry sweetheart that can't be determined at birth!!!!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a work study position
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Baraboo, WIOctober 23, 2013
Wonderful place to work where integration between work and school was placed in the forefront. Students were allowed to work between classes and still gain work experience to prepare them for career fields after graduation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Achievement
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Derby, VTOctober 16, 2013
Pros: learning experience, corporate benefits
Cons: changing schedule, low hours
Greeting customers, introducing the promotion, helping creative a fun and well fitting outfit was the highlight of my day. I treated customers as if they were my best friend and we were having a girls day of shopping! The learning experience of setting the floor for visual impact is what I was drawn to for my creative side. Learning to give feedback – more... was a jump out of my comfort zone but got easier the more I did it. – less

About maurices

We’re maurices, a fast-growing women’s fashion retailer offering real style for women, sizes 1-24. It’s our – Read more