Find companies:
maurices
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
170 reviews

maurices Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Staff
Cashier (Former Employee), Cornwall, OntarioMarch 7, 2013
Great clothes and staff, your half tempted to buy it all yourself. Flexible hours and a bright environment and quick learning techniques.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and competitive work environment
ASSISTANT MANAGER (Former Employee), Georgetown, KYSeptember 17, 2014
Merchandising, sales, fun, competitive. Great corporate structure and room for advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Upbeat fun enviorment
Fashion adviser and daily operations trainer (Former Employee), Kingsport, TNSeptember 10, 2014
Pros: discount on clothes, upbeat music and relaxed
Cons: very limited hours.
A typical day at Maurices consisted of assisting a variety of women in any needs they may have had relating to clothing. Dressing store front mannequins as well as product display cases. And insuring every guest has a personalized experience. The hardest part of the job was trying to sell credit cards. The most enjoyable part of my job was seeing the – more... smile on their faces after finding that "perfect fit". – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and sales oriented
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Troy, MOAugust 26, 2014
recognition did not go unnoticed and learned a lot about sales.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun place to work and meet people.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Tooele, UTAugust 24, 2014
Pros: awesome employee discounts
Cons: nights and weekend shifts
I loved working in sales and helping women with current fashion trends. My manager and co-workers were great girls to have fun with. An upbeat company with great incentives. Flexible hours and always something new, never a dull moment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive fun place to work
Sales associate (Former Employee), Salem, OregonAugust 19, 2014
A typical day at Maurices was I come in and as soon as customers needed help you were on the fool trying to meet there needs. On down time when the store is slow (no customers) I would fold, stock and put product away. As a part-time key holder I made sure the store was in order before I closed out the registers and counted the tills. After the store – more... was completely finished for the day two-three associates would walk the deposit over to the bank. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work if you dont want balance in your life
sales associate (Former Employee), willmar, mnAugust 12, 2014
Pros: 40% discount, pay
Cons: 9hour days and not getting appropriate breaks, ridiculous sales goals, being a pushy sales person
The best part of the job was the pay and a few awesome coworker's. Sadly, the pros didnt outweigh the cons. The daily sales goals were ridiculous. In a small town they arent easy to achieve especially on a very slow night but even then, you are expected to make sales for the day. They say there is no excuse and that you should be able to turn a 50 dollar – more... sale into 300. They also push credit cards like crazy. The dress code started out fine but towards the end of my employment they were making you wear full maurices outfits fully accesorized. Basically you work there to buy their clothing for work. Management was not the grestest. Instead of helping sakes people better their sales they would judt steal the sale from under you. The first assistant manager was the worst, not to mention talking behind coworkers backs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company and employees to work for and with
Sales Support-Duties (Former Employee), Sparks, NVAugust 9, 2014
Pros: the company gave kudos to everyone
Cons: not able to do new duties
I processed the clothes as they came in and learned different methods that I had not been using before. Management is very caring and made me feel a big part of the team and the co-workers treated me like family. The hardest part of the job was when I was no longer able to do the physical duties that were added to my duties. The best part of the job – more... was going to work and doing my work or helping others when needed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job, but not for everyone
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Portage, MIAugust 8, 2014
Pros: employee discount, employee incentives for meeting goals
Cons: catty work environment, inconsistent management
I worked at Maurices for over two years. I did gain a lot of valuable knowledge while working there, with sales and management. However, they tell you it's not "a clock in, clock out" job, and that is something to take very seriously. If you do come in ready to build outfits for customers, and to create a connection with your customers you will succeed. – more... Come in ready to run. Sometimes the job is tough and sometimes you have a bad day, while the management say that they will help you through those days, that is not always the case. Get to know your managers, you will figure out who you can talk to and trust and who is doing their own thing and don't really care about you. There were a lot of things I loved about my job, however, no real opportunities presented themselves after I graduated college and I had to let the job go. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The management leaves something to be desired
associate (Former Employee), Grand Forks, NDAugust 6, 2014
Pros: nice employee discount
Cons: short breaks, poor management
Working with customers is great, but it gets stressful when you do not have the support of a Store Manager who is just as concerned about the well-being of the individuals working as well as the bottom line of the store
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sales associate
Sales associate (Former Employee), Cleveland, TNJuly 31, 2014
Operating a cash register
Assisting customers on the sales floor
Opening and closing the store, which included cleaning and straightening the shelves for the next day, as well as accounting for my register at the end of my shift.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Management
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Derby ksJuly 28, 2014
Pros: great discount
Cons: no communication, terrible management
I worked there for over six months. After six months we were having a lot of turn over and associates quitting. I was promoted to assistant manager after 5 months of working there. I thought I would love it and I could turn it into a career for me. However, that is not what happened. First of all my stats were very high and I was meeting every sales – more... goal, including selling credit cards. I loved working there, but needed more hours in order to support my family. A week after I got promoted, my manager left to go open her other store and left me to hang. NO TRAINING. She left me to learn my own training from the other managers. The managers all felt threatened by me and how well I was doing in sales that they took it upon themselves to cause all this high school drama and I would get punished for not doing something that I wasn't even trained to do. If I would have had the proper training, I would have stayed. But at the end the managers felt threatened and then they tried pushing me out. First, they cut my hours, which I was guaranteed 30 hrs a week, and then all the drama and backstabbing started happening. I was so sick and tired of all the managers and some of the associates, that I would come to work very unhappy. I find it very discriminating that I got yelled at for not having "enough" makeup on, when other associates didn't have ANY on. There were a lot of double standards and no communication whatsoever. The absolute worst place I have ever worked at. I also don't like to be forced to sell credit cards to people that just went through bankruptcy. Word to the wise, if you don't want your customers leaving and shopping elsewhere, then don't badger the customer when they come into the store. Customers want to shop in peace, if they want your help, they will let you know.

My advice to the management is stop micromanaging your employees and when you promote them, take it upon yourself to train them, even if you have to come in on your day off. That is what your job is as the manager. Also, communicate with your employees and especially at manager meetings. STOP with the double standards and make sure if you say you want something done a certain way, that ALL your managers and employees follow by the rules. If you ever want to succeed in your career, STOP the favoritism as well. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and fun place to work
STORE MANAGER (Former Employee), Burlington, WaJuly 28, 2014
Pros: new clothes almost every day
Typical day working at Maurices clothing store is that you must always be customer obsessed. They are all about customer service if your not getting it then something is wrong, There is always some type of manager on duty. Must enjoyable part about working there is just the atmosphere in the store, everyone's just always in a happy mood.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Phenomenal Company
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Chambersburg, PAJuly 24, 2014
Pros: 40% associate discount, communication, celebrating the small wins as well as the big wins
Cons: scheduling, pay
I loved working for this company. Customer service was our main focus, and they loved sending us things to encourage us to go above and beyond to satisfy our customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun working environment
Co- Manager (Former Employee), Craig, COJuly 23, 2014
Pros: 40 percent off employee discount
Cons: working holidays
Customer service. Management of store was great. I had lots of different co-workers through the time I worked there. I got to meet a lot of different people which made the work environment really fun. The hardest part of the job was working holidays.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very laid back atomosphere
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Richmond, KYJuly 22, 2014
Pros: fun atmosphere
Cons: absent regional manager
I was never stressed or reluctant to go in to work. My managers and co- workers were very positive and fun to be around.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Concord, NCJune 25, 2014
Very laid back atmosphere. A lot of fun to work there. Always meeting new people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and enjoyable place to work
Sales Support (Current Employee), BrentwoodJune 23, 2014
I love working here we work as a team and look out for each other and everyone gets there work done
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service is Key
Store Manager (Current Employee), Alamosa, COJune 13, 2014
Pros: customers, my supervisor, decision making
Cons: not being challenged to my full potential
Maurices is a customer service based environment which involves servicing customers, common human resource responsibilities, interviewing, coaching, communication, and future planning.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, Lively, Entertaining
Sales Associate/ Stock (Current Employee), Mentor, OHJune 8, 2014
Pros: awesome employees, great company.
Cons: nothing
A typical day at work is something that I look forward to. The managers are there to help you learn and grow instead of putting you down. I know that everyday that I go into work, I will meet some of the best people and have some of the best conversations. My co-workers are the best people that I know. We all feed off of each other and learn from each – more... others accomplishments. The most enjoyable part of my job is getting to interact with such great customers. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About maurices

We’re maurices, a fast-growing women’s fashion retailer offering real style for women, sizes 1-24. It’s our – Read more