Find companies:
Maurice Sporting Goods
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
17 reviews

Maurice Sporting Goods Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inside Maurice
Seasonal Full-time (Former Employee), McDonough, GeorgiaApril 29, 2014
Pros: working with the under privileged chhildren
Cons: no safety or background checks
Maurice is the type of job for those that have a hard time finding a job or due to background issues they will hire you. There is no room to grow within the company. Management is not bad personal wise but business wise is poor. Personally do not think its an average job or for safety issues among employees or OSHA regulations. The hardest part of the – more... job is bulk and weight of products. The most enjoyable part of the day was once a year you get to work with a groups of under privileged children teaching them how to fish. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management
Forklift Driver (Current Employee), Reno, NVApril 14, 2014
Pros: good benefits
Cons: not enough employees to handle work volume
No input allowed from employees, under staffed and over worked to many responsibilities for job description to be done in a timely precise manor
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Inventory Control Supervisor (Former Employee), Elizabethtown, PAJanuary 6, 2014
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
Was a great place to work but the company close in 2006. No need to write a review.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
MERCHANT TECHNICIAN (Former Employee), McDonough, GAJanuary 2, 2014
Pros: friendly environment
Cons: when it slows down
learned different things about the company and about shipping and receiving products the hardest part was lifting heavy items at times
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace.
Merchandiser/Vendor (Current Employee), Long Beach, California.December 10, 2013
Pros: flexible schedule
Cons: driving
Steady job with steady pay. Hardest part of the day was driving from store to store which can get very boring. Besides that, I am very grateful for the opportunity that Maurice has given me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong Marketing Dept
Marketing Project Manager (Current Employee), Northbrook, ILAugust 17, 2013
Pros: not willing to review
Cons: not willing to review
Challenging work environment. Priorities not clear. Dept heads do not provide information needed to do job effectively.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
team work
Territory Manager (Current Employee), Boise, IDAugust 14, 2013
Pros: freedom to make nessasry changes to schdule
Cons: long periods of time without meeting with fellow territory managers.
Largest wholesale supplier featuring hunting and fishing equipment in the country. Strong support staff. Despite the miles between employees we are certain that we have support merely a phone call away. Excellent quality of goods. Sales managers are not monitored 24/7 but are allowed to spend the time necessary to increase sales.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place friendly enviroment
Forklift Operator (Former Employee), McDonough, GAJune 4, 2013
Pros: being able to learn a skill thoroughly
Cons: none that i could think of
Come in make sure my forklift is clean free of debris find out instructions for that day and get to it, Management was fair and really friendly ,co-workers were helpful and very respectful, the hardest part of the job was that some days you would end up doing your job and someone else's but I looked at it as a challenge to see if I could get it done – more... , I mostly enjoyed the experience . – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family-Owned Sporting Goods Company
Import Sales (Former Employee), Northbrook, ILFebruary 6, 2013
Pros: great people, great experience, gym on-site, opportunities for advancement
Great experience. Corporate environment that sought to create a familial atmosphere with its employees. The whole experience was seriously stellar. They had a gym onsite to encourage their employees to get active and fit. The people were all pleasant. If I hadn't moved it would have been a place to stay.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Opportunity and they Refused to remove Fed Taxes
Merchandiser (Former Employee), Lakeland, FloridaJanuary 29, 2013
Pros: there are none.
Cons: no opportunity, few hours, and they don't take taxes out.
I worked for Maurice Sporting Goods for almost 6 months. I was not allowed to work more than FIVE (5) hours each week and I had 10 to 12 stores to visit every month. There was NO opportunity to even get another 30 minutes let alone a few more hours. They are cheap when it comes to giving out hours and then they expect everything to be perfect.
The territory – more... manager rarely contacted me and I only saw him ONE time for less than 3 hours, at training. When he did contact me, it was over the phone and he acted as if Maurice was the only company I was even allowed to work for.
Part of the job was to order in product. When store managers discovered that they could order this product on their own system, they told me I wasn't allowed to order anymore in their store.
I also discovered that Maurice managed to NEVER take Federal income taxes out of my check. They claim that the amount I was making was so small they didn't have to by law. But at the end of the year, I discovered there wasn't even one dime ever taken out and now I have to PAY TO THE IRS all the taxes that Maurice SHOULD HAVE TAKEN OUT. This is money I just do not have. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a good place to work.
NATIONAL ACCOUNT MANAGER &- WAL (Former Employee), Fayetteville ARDecember 31, 2012
Pros: location and opportunity
Cons: middle management - little clicky.
Overall a good place to work. My direct report was a great mentor and always led by coaching and example.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Products, Great Company
merchandising/sales (Former Employee), HISeptember 25, 2012
Pros: flexible hours
Great part time job on Maui, HI. I worked a full time job on most evenings so I worked part time at Maurice. Very flexible hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fast pace environment
order puller (Current Employee), McDonough, GAJuly 27, 2012
Pros: great work schedule
Cons: not enough pay
A typical day at work for me is being productive and efficient , in pulling my orders and making production.my co workers a nice and very easy to get along with. the hardest part is constantly walking at a fast pace for hours at a time. the most enjoyable part for me was participating in maurice cares day which is an annual event that teaches kids how – more... to fish. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Look elsewhere
Commercial Collector (Current Employee), Northbrook, ILJuly 20, 2012
The place is okay and beats unemployment. The upper management is very stingy about raises, but have great benefit package. Very small company and older systems. The executive area is family members and they make their own schedules. They really don't care about any but themselves. Many job titles pay the salary way under average. If you can, look somewhere – more... else in my opinion. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job
Order puller (Former Employee), Mcdonough, gaJuly 18, 2012
Pull orders, pack and ship them. First learned to pull orders. Management was the best over all. Co workers were easy to work with. This was an easy job. I really enjoyed this job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of wind shield time.
Territory Manager-Midwest District (Current Employee), KansasMay 25, 2012
Lots of travel, could be 12 hour days . Off weekends. Low pay.

About Maurice Sporting Goods

Maurice Sporting Goods stocks the stores with gear you need for fun outdoors. As one of the largest sporting goods distributors – Read more