Mattel, Inc. Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace and great brands
Assistant (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON7 July 2017
Great place to work. Positive culture and good benefits. Small Canadian team but still has Canadian decision making capabilities.
Work life balance is good.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place
Graphic Designer (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC25 May 2017
I was employed by Mattel to work at Mega Brands. Mega Brands has an awesome pop-culture-people who thrive about design, toys, and games. I felt very good among them and would really go back if the opportunity arises.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work as a full time
Packaging (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON17 April 2017
its good working at the toy factory but its also very tiring but the is simple but you have to stand up long hours but its okay since they pay me every end of the week i get less tax that way
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Business in transition
Senior Manager (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON8 February 2017
Organization is in need of experienced Senior Leadership to successfully guide the transformation.

Organizational goals are not clearly communicated, and priorities change regularly.

Lack of process, training, and support means day to day is interrupted by last minute requests and changing priorities.

Workplace culture is lead by long tenured employees who actively dissuade change and exclude new ideas.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved it
Brand Ambassador Representative (Former Employee) –  Vaughan, ON4 February 2017
Great place, great people. hours were wonderful the job itself was very enjoyable and i had lots of fun during this position, i would 100% work for them again and i think this was the best job i had
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and team work
General Laborer (Former Employee) –  material handler1 December 2016
they provide the grate team environment. Hour hours a shift. Discount on kids toys and special discount on special holiday.
Pros
free pizza party
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An international toy maker
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Nova Scotia7 November 2016
It was my duty to visit local stores to ensure that Mattel products were properly displayed and stocked on retailer shelves. I worked alone for Mattel and received help from store employees when needed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good atmosphere
Warehouse Associate (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON26 August 2016
Good atmosphere and nice job culture, supervisor was good human being. It was great pleasure working with him and looking forward to work with them once again
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hardworking place of work
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON26 April 2016
its a typical day
i learned how to price and stack items on the sales floor
very friendly staff
very hard working
when the day goes slow
meeting and helping customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mattel
General Helper (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON24 March 2015
Friendly environment
fast paced
learned how to make skids
hardest part of job was standing all day
packed toys
excellent co workers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
unloader/Inventory (Former Employee) –  Etobicoke, ON14 March 2015
Complete tasks such as loading, unloading, sorting, picking, stocking, staging, fabrication and transportation of goods.
Load and unload materials to and from designated storage area, such as racks, shelves, or vehicles. Stack or pile materials, such as lumber, boards, or pallets
Install protective devices, such as bracing, padding, or strapping, to prevent shifting or damage to items being transported.
Verify computations against physical count of stock.
Maintains condition of work area (i.e. free of trash, product in correct location, etc.). Follows company safety policies and procedures and encourages other associates to do the same.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Category Manager
Senior Category Advisor/Analyst Wal-Mart Account (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON3 March 2015
-Reviewed sales productivity on a weekly basis.
-Main job was to create planograms for the account and report on productivity.
-Line reviews of current program and placement of new merchandise.
-Worked directly with the Category manager to determine store layouts and product placement.
Pros
Most enjoyable part of the job was working with a great category manager.
Cons
Most challenging Mattel did not play in the categories I was working on.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent place to work very good people and environment.
Clamp Truck & Raymond reach operater (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON5 January 2015
fast passed using different machines order picking navigating the warehouse safely not damaging product.
speed, accuracy, working with others in a fast pace environment
Management was excellent received praise for excellent work ethic.
the group of guys i had the pleasure of working with was excellent as well as the foreman and lead hand some of the best i have ever worked with.
hardest part of the job leaving contract work seasonal.
enjoyed everything about this job and was invited to return next year if available.
Pros
the team work and comradery
Cons
Seasonal work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work.
Seasonal Help (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON7 June 2014
I love the staff there and I only work for them during the sales. About 4 times a year. I help customers with finding something, stocking the floor and ticketing the goods. I also do alittle cash and help clean the floor. I enjoy helping Mattel out.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong focus on gaining market share
Sales Director (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON15 May 2014
Led seasoned sales team to measure daily Key Performance Indicators, plan future selling cycle and develop long term plans for budgeting, sales projections and P&L management.

Led team to develop OMNI channel plans to achieve Mattel strategic initiatives.

Developed retailer Joint Business Plans to drive profitable sales & P&L management.
Pros
Friday Half Days all year long
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well-known company
Business Planning Specialist (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, Ontario13 February 2013
Good opportunity but many product recalls when I was part of the organization. Many management changes
Pros
close to home
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

See more Mattel, Inc. reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Mattel, Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 474 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Salary/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.6
Culture
3.8