Find companies:
Masco
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
69 reviews

Masco Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
gained extensive knowledge in warranty
Bilingual Customer Service (Former Employee), EtobicokeApril 3, 2013
Pros: more technical knowledge
Cons: diverse working hours
A great environment. A fun, open, energetic and creative environment can make a big difference in the overall atmosphere of a company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management is clueless
Sales Consultant (Former Employee), BakersfieldOctober 20, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: everything else
How can you succeed when you have 3 changes in managent 2 levels deep in 10 months. I never talked to my direct supervisor (new and old) more than 2 times in 10 months about MY business. When it came time for my mid year review with #3 the company decided that their business model was not working for the company and they could not justify having a sales – more... person in a territory that had such a small volume of work to chase. WTF! They changed their business model twice in 10 months. It takes time to ramp up a sales funnel people.
Masco is FUBAR. I have been is sales all my life in this industry (construction). Owned my own remodeling business for 17 years. They don't know what they are doing. Too much top heavy busy work and no thought to helping the sales team be more efficeint in what they need to do SELL!
Salaries suck. Comission programs suck. Benefits are good.
If you go to work here in sales negotiate a fat salary and no comission. That is the only way you will make money and be happy.
They average your comission based on margin. So if the truck burns down in a customers driveway (happend) and looses money. The other jobs you sold and fought for more margin to make both you and the company money get averaged out and you make 0.
It took me 6 months to even get access to a comission report to find this out, and even then they would not make it right.
Their training is horrible. You will need to have some real smarts to figure all that is Masco out on your own.I did and it was very frustrating and time consuming. I would stay away unless you really need a job that bad. There are some good people here but they are in the same boat and only will tell you the truth if they trust you. The only salespeople surviving have been here for more than 10 years. Thats because when someone leaves or a divison closes (happened) they absorb the customer base and sales left behind. I had 5 sales people (as much a 300 miles away) with cusomers in my territory. They had all the low hanging fruit before I started 50% of the business. The rest did'nt like us for one reason or another,too expensive,screwed them when we left etc.
This is not disgruntled employee stuff here. I just want everyone to know what they will be getting into before they start. I wish I did.The turn over rate is pretty high for sales people. Beware. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
MRSS
District Representative (Former Employee), St Louis, MOOctober 16, 2014
Servicing Lowe's Home Improvement stores offered a direct line of communication for business units at the store level
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Work Order Support / Administrator (Former Employee), CharlotteOctober 6, 2014
 Work Order Support / Administrator
 Maintained inventory and installer labor wages utilizing data entry via Oracle applications and Microsoft Office
 Entered and booked quotes for salespeople
 Assigned purchase orders to associated orders
 Received and created repair orders for homeowners and builders
 Assisted in planning and sustaining daily – more... scheduling and dispatch.
 Managed filing systems for all information records of clients
 Assisted and directed calls utilizing multi-line telephone systems.
 Coordinated with various insurance companies
 Scheduled and created inspection times for contractors – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome job lots of thimking and trouble shooting
Maintenance mechanic (Former Employee), Waverly, OHOctober 3, 2014
Pros: free lunches, alwayes doing something different
Cons: plant shut down
There was no typical day at Masco . There was always something new and lots of thinking to keep one occupied in an 8 hour shift. I learned a lot about the way production machinery works and how to keep them running. Management was great, would not only work with you on certain projects but also listen when you had a good idea. Co-workers were great,had – more... no problem helping you out if you weren't quite sure how to fix something. Hardest part about the job was trouble shooting, but that was also the most enjoyable part of the job, finding the problem and fixing it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a fun place to work
General Laborer (Former Employee), Waverly, OHSeptember 24, 2014
Pros: free lunch
Cons: short brakes
Just a job to get money to pay the bills learned a lot co-worker were nice management was okay it was all hard the most enjoyable part of the job was to go home
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced job with special need for accuracy and quality
Trimmer (Former Employee), Moorestown, NJSeptember 11, 2014
Pros: had pizza party when things were very productive
Cons: needed longer lunch, management needed to communicate with employees more often
Things were set up first thing before the day began
Always in motion making that sure all orders are completed
I learned that I can do what I set my mind to do.
Being the only women in my department I learned that it takes a lot to keep up with them but I did and am more the better for it
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Pay
Assistant Superviser (Current Employee), Middlefield, OHJuly 31, 2014
Pros: great pay
Cons: hard work
This job is a high stress work environment. It's not for weak minded people. With that said I've lasted 12 years there and made it to the highest paid position. my typical work day starts with printing a list of cabinets. Than I go to my two lines and fine the cabinets that need to ship first. Although that sounds very easy its not some are down at – more... the end of the line and need to be fixed, which I fix them and get them in a box to be shipped that's easy. the others I need to hunt down threw out the plant which is very large. So I look at the list and call the supervisors from that area and find out where the parts are and when I would expect them once all the parts arrive I have the builders put them on the line to build. while im waiting for the parts to arrive I am fixing other cabinets that are not meeting quality standers. I normally have to fix around 200 cabinets a shift while im trying to find and get out late cabinets that trucks are waiting on. I have to run the shipping list every two hours to make sure the late cabinets are out the door, if they don't make it out the door in time it cost Masco 700 dollars a hour so I make sure the late ones are out in time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dublin location is the worst
AR SPECIALIST (Former Employee), Dublin, caJuly 26, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: low pay, poor management, no company structure
Working in the AR billing department is a set up for failure position. The pay is not good at all especially for a bachelor degree requirement. The company is disconnected with corporate office. Save your time and stay away from MASCO especially the Dublin location. Promises are told but not delivered. They chew you up and spit you out.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice people
Windows Engineer (Former Employee), Taylor, MIJuly 13, 2014
nice people, friendly, great work life balance, great management
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Retrofit Sales/Account Manager (Current Employee), Riverside, CAJuly 12, 2014
Learned a lot about the industry as a whole. Management was helpful. Little to no raised. Maxed out in pay very early on in my career. Decent benefits. Not too much room for advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work place get to work with wood
manufacuring (Former Employee), Sayre, PAJuly 2, 2014
lots of fun easy to do kind poeple good place I like to work with wood
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
had they not closed the doors I would probably be still employed there
Top Builder of cabinets (Former Employee), Waverly, OHJune 11, 2014
Pros: we had free lunches until taken away/ we had ymca benefits until taken away
Cons: displaced workers, jobs, discontinued benefits.
I really enjoyed my job and most all of my co workers I feel i was easy to get along with./a 7-3 job sometimes I volunteered to work over and I volunteered a lot when our hours were way down/i liked my job.I learned that nothing last forever and you have to take the positive with the negative and find a happy medium between the 2 and work with or around – more... if that benefits your life the best. not much to say about management in this work area. I would have loved to be a lead for the company.but they were displaced often so i was also ok being where I was. i loved my co workers, i can have fun no matter where i work or who i work with once i get used to their likes and dislikes so i can have fun but also have respect for the more serious worker that don't like to have fun. The hardest part of the job was not knowing for sure if you were gonna get an 8 hour day or a 4 hour day.or if when you go to work if they were going to displace your line and seperate all the ones whom became your work family. or if they were gonna shut the doors and walk everyone out. the family events that they had like kings island for the family discounted tickets for ball games etc. and that i knew i had medical coverage as long as i had my job, – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
seeking a career where i can utilize my experience conbinded with my education
Office Manager (Current Employee), El Paso, TXJune 10, 2014
Pros: working with clients and co workers
Cons: traveling in bumper to bumper traffic to get to work
when you have been working with a company for some many years you think you have learned just about everthing there is to know, but not in this case it seems as there is something new everyday.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great clean super fun chance to live middle class
Panel saw group / CNC Operator (Former Employee), Middlefield, OHMay 14, 2014
Pros: healthcare, perks for quality. pay
Cons: laid off 4 times
employee meeting everyday to go over agenda and employees ideas the go out start Machine to make sure it was running properly. enter computer program I wanted to use and work very hard for 12hrs. I learned how a fortune 500 company operates Lean Manufacturing, JIT, FIFO, Lock out tag out. Management was excellent and I learned how it worked. co-workers – more... were excellent. the hardest part of the job was 12 hrs a day 7 days a week. the most enjoyable part of the job was being apart of such a great company and being proud of where I worked. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great, challenging and rewarding job
Inventory Accountant - Lead (Former Employee), Fair Haven, NJMay 13, 2014
Pros: meals during extended work days. very responsive managers.
Cons: they relocated hq to florida! that's the only con.
One of the better jobs I've had. Both the Accounting Manager and the Project Manager who helped in the Inventory Accounting unit were great mentors. The days were long and sometimes hard, but we were at the very least recognized for our work by our managers. Co-workers were a mixed bag, but the branches we dealt with were far and away more challenging. – more... The systems were changed due to SOX auditing and there was a lot of conversations with Branch Managers in order to hammer out understandings as to why things were being done differently and how to best get information we needed.

The hardest part was the hours, especially during close. 65 to 70 and beyond were the norm. But the atmosphere was not oppressive and my managers were right there with us every step of the way, putting in time as well - that means a lot. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good learning environment
Senior Staff Accountant (Former Employee), Daytona Beach, FLMay 1, 2014
Pros: fun co-workers
Regular work days were productive. More than adequate responsibilities to keep busy. Various projects to be a part of. Great learning experience with the use of excel.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management uses power unethically/unprofessionally
worker (Former Employee), riverside,caApril 30, 2014
Pros: weekly check
Cons: no time for breaks, no raises, horrible management
Work you extra hard, no compensation
good learning experience.
Supervisors use power for personal benefit and not companies.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Active job where you are doing something different daily
Manufacture Sales Rep (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDApril 7, 2014
• Conducted daily store calls organizing in-store merchandising and point of purchase material
• Implemented MASCO training modules for Home Depot Designers
• Regularly negotiate contracts to meet client’s specific needs. Involved in daily operations, planning and logistical support to manage and complete all customer and store requests.
• Work directly – more... with 60 designers, management staff, clients and sub-contractors in a team environment to develop a working plan for an overall cohesive design
• Plan and conduct regular property inspections in a professional manner; design and utilize sales support materials to showcase the diversity of our products.
• Dedicated to maintaining a high level of company loyalty and optimistic attitude while accepting the additional responsibility of conducting in-depth service training with new design members. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for medical field work
Customer Service Representative / MASCO (Former Employee), Boston, MAMarch 27, 2014
Great oppurtunity to get started in the medical field as a customer service agent.

1 2 3 4

About Masco

Masco's ideal customer is a home improvement junkie with a thing for cabinets -- and a hand-washing fetish. The company is a leading – Read more