Find companies:
Marshalls
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,192 reviews

Marshalls Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Bettendorf, IAOctober 1, 2014
Pros: good discounts
Cons: no healthcare
Typical sales-work duties. I leaned to organize and work together with co workers. Management is management. Co-workers are friendly. Most difficult part of the job would be nothing for me. Most enjoyable part would be interacting with fellow co-workers and customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Vienna, VAOctober 1, 2014
was great place to work for your first job. not too hard. easy job to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One big mad house
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Conshohocken, PASeptember 29, 2014
Pros: occasional free lunches
Cons: short breaks, poor management, no teamplayers, 10% discount
Although it has been my first official job and I have learned a lot about retail there are times where I really don't want to go to work. I'm sure everyone says that about their job, but sometimes employees and customers make it hard just to get through the first hour of the shift. Working together is all about teamwork and helping each other out, but – more... more often than not, it's every employee for themselves when it comes to getting things accomplished or how it gets accomplished. Many a-times it comes from poor management, people get hired...but not many of them stick around; they leave or everyone goes on break at the same time making it very difficult to call for cashiers or price checks. The hardest part of the job is the hours and pay. Maybe full-timers get better benefits than part-time but working 4-9 hours only to get $100 and some change at the end of the week after having to put up with the crabby attitudes of customers and employees that set out to ruin your day makes working difficult. Not to mention the underhandedness of some managers. The store is constantly a mess no matter how many times you fix it and service with a smile doesn't always exist. Even worse no one wants a TXJ rewards CREDIT card! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved my customers
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Roanoke, VASeptember 26, 2014
enjoyed the customers, friendly environment, fast paced, their was always room to grow within the company
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Exciting
Customer Experience Coordinator (Former Employee), Salem, NCSeptember 26, 2014
Pros: great team
Cons: benifits
Marshalls has a joyful fill every time you walk in. Whether as a employee or a customer. While working there I have learn a better and new way to approach and appease customers. I have a better understanding for how to maintain a work relationship with associates and managers. Not everyone will become a friend but they all will be respected. The hardest – more... thing about working here is to give constructive criticism. Not everyone knows how to take it and use it for the better. The most enjoyable part of that job is getting to know the customers and being able to help out. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a learning experience
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Wethersfield, CTSeptember 26, 2014
i walked into work looked for my name on the employee placement sheet and started work it was nice to work there because i also got to shop i learn how to price and organize merchandise co-workers werent has friendly has i had hoped but it was my first working experience so i got over it over time it was hard for me to get it work on time because the – more... work site was far away from my house – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work day
Sales floor associate (Former Employee), carolina, puerto ricoSeptember 26, 2014
cashier, customer service help people, lay away, procesing, invemtory, pickup
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over worked and under paid
Sales Associate (Former Employee), City of Sunrise, FLSeptember 24, 2014
Pros: flexible hours
Cons: over worked and unpaid
A typical day was working my department and with customers. Patience and dedicating proper time at Marshalls was key. Some co-workers were amazing while others dreadful which was the hardest part also. Most enjoyable part of this job is very unclear.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
internship
Sales Associate (Former Employee), gateway centreSeptember 24, 2014
i went there as an intern. and it was an experience more skills wise. learning and improving sales and customer service skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a fun and creative place to work at
Sales associate (Former Employee), Lancaster, CASeptember 21, 2014
I worked there as a student employee for experience, i liked it there i got to decorate displays, that was fun.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and high stress job
Associate (Current Employee), White Lake, MISeptember 20, 2014
A typical day at Marshalls was servicing customers to make sure all customers were highly satisfied with their visit. There is also marketing the in store credit card, and any other promotion or charity event the store is holding/sponsoring. I learned how to remain calm during high stress times. There really isn't a hard part to this job, so I'd have – more... to say the hardest part of the job is training yourself, because the management team didn't always give me all the details needed. I really love the fact I was able to teach myself how to do my job better than the management team expected, and I've never had an unresolved conflict with a customer. (Who always left as happy, if not happier than they were before entering the store.) – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experience with toys.
Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee), New York, NYSeptember 19, 2014
Pros: great lunch room, good venting machines, microwaves and lockers.
Cons: rude and not attentive management. never called me back for y interview.
I would start my day by picking up all the toys on the floor left by children. Afterwards I would find the right place to put the toys, making sure all the puzzles are together, all the teddy bears on in the bins, all the books are facing the front with the title. My co-workers were nice and caring. Everyone in the store would often find things that – more... did not belong in their area. The coworkers in the bag area would find a teddy bear on the floor and bring it to me to put it in the right spot. I enjoyed working in the stockroom, putting tags or price numbers on items was fun and easy. The hardest part of my day was children playing with balls in the store. I would have to tell "Please do not play with the ball in here." Many times they did not listen. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work at
Sales/stock/cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee), Bronx, NYSeptember 19, 2014
Pros: discounts
Cons: the schedule want always what you liked
Atypical day of work was hectic a lot of customers but i feel like it made me work harder.A learned a number of things but the one thing i learned was hard work and dedication and that the costumer comes first.The management was great i loved my mangers they are the best people to work with.The hardest part of the job was stock having to mark things – more... down and label them and sort them but i got used to it. The most enjoyable part of the job was going to work and working with my co workers we are like a family and im glad ive meet them – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This job is ok.
Customer Service Supervisor/Manager (Current Employee), Oroville, CASeptember 18, 2014
Pros: the customers are great.
Cons: 10% off merchandice
I deal with the customers in and out of the store and love the fact that I am helping others.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Customer Service (Former Employee), Decatur GASeptember 17, 2014
Pros: health benefits
Cons: short lunches
Clocking into work before the alarm sounds. Then a group meeting about making revenue, safety topics etc. Learned how to manage time and work with a sense of urgency. Management at the warehouse are very fair also the employees are friendly and helpful. Hardest part about this job is being active to bend, lift, and move quickly allot of physical labor – more... but he enjoyable part is work parties and appreciation you get in return from the company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job performance
Supervisor (Current Employee), Jacksonville, FLSeptember 16, 2014
a typical day at work is always changing the way the flow of the crowd enters in is the way the day is altered
you learn how to do retails sales
the management team is pretty unreliable
the co worker do there job
the hardest part of the job is working without teamwork
the most enjoyable part is working with the team
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FRIENDLY AND SUPPORTIVE STAFF
Cashier (Former Employee), DALLAS TXSeptember 16, 2014
Pros: paid weekly
Cons: short breaks
ITS A PRETTY RELAXED ENVIRONMENT FOR THE MOST PART. BUT WHEN ITS BUSY,ITS BUSY. IT CAN BE JUST A LITTLE FRUSTRATING AT TIMES TRYING TO DRIVE DONATIONS FOR CHARITIES AND ASKING EVERY CUSTOMER TO SIGN UP FOR A CREDIT CARDS. THE EASY PART OF THE JOB IS MAKING EVERY CUSTOMER HAPPY AND FEELING COMFORTABLE.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Marshalls
Coordinator (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXSeptember 16, 2014
I learned a lot of merchandising techniques. Oversaw up to 15 team members at a time, while ensuring great customer service to customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales, costumer service
Sales Representative/Dressing Rooms (Former Employee), Corpus Christi, TXSeptember 15, 2014
Pros: great experience
Cons: ork during holidays
Marshalls is a good place to gain costumer service, I gained lots of experience there. There are many different types of people, and you have to adjust there needs, and have a satisfying day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
marshalls
Merchandise Processor (Former Employee), Cheshire, CTSeptember 15, 2014
daily routine
something new every day
You get to see customers everyday
Get to work effectively with employees on getting the job done.

About Marshalls

Rifling through the racks is an art at TJX stores. The TJX Companies operates¬†about a half a dozen retail chains, including the – Read more

Marshalls Photos