Find companies:
Marshalls
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
914 reviews

Marshalls Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
8 Years says a lot
Ma Customer Service Coordinator (Former Employee), Braintree, MAFebruary 20, 2014
Worked for this company for 8 years, so yes it is a great company to work for. You meet all kinds of different people, from different cultures, different countries, and its a great learning experience. Customers are great, fun to interact with them
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Associate (Current Employee), New Orleans, LAFebruary 19, 2014
Pros: discount
Cons: not many hourd
i enjoy working there. its nice to meet customers and help them with finding things that they are looking for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You need to love customers to work here and have a lot of patience
Sales Associate/ Cashier (Former Employee), Yuma Arizona , Tucson ArizonaFebruary 19, 2014
Pros: can grow withing company
Cons: break rooms are depressing
A typical day at Marshalls Mon-Thurs will be slow most of the day maybe pick up a little in the evening. Weekends however will be packed with hispanic consumers. I say this because both of the locations I worked at were border towns. I cannot speak for all Marshalls but the ones I worked at customers do not have any shame in throwing things on the floor, – more... opening bottles of merchandise they should not be opening and in all they really feel they have the right to make a mess. To be successful you must have a lot of patience and really like helping people and be able to stay optimistic during rough times. The coworkers age ranged from high school students to tenured associates in there 40's. There is place for advancement within the company but you must excel not only in your area of work, but in all areas of the store. An associate must demonstrate intelligence and potential to grow. Attaining a college degree will really help to grow within this company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Taunton, MAFebruary 19, 2014
Helpful place to work when its your first and they are very understanding
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Sales Floor Associate (Former Employee), Lancaster, CAFebruary 18, 2014
A typical day at work was fast pace and busy. Manangers were always present. Co-workers were friendly. Hardest part of the job was focusing on one task when there were many more to do. Most enjoyable part of the job was the overall enviroment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very hecked environment
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Chicago, ILFebruary 18, 2014
Pros: quickly worked up to another position
Cons: needed more hours
On a daily basis you deal with a lot of different variety of people. Which requires an associate for different demands from customers. Like in the Dressing Room. It get real messy and unorganized where as, clothing gets stack up and, what I learned is that if you move in a quick an orderly fashion you can get the job done. Management and co-workers – more... were understandable and very helpful when you need the help. The hardest part of the job was getting the daily task done by the closing of the store. The most enjoyable part of the job was that I got the chance to meet a different handful of customers and co-workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I liked working there
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Montrose, CAFebruary 17, 2014
Pros: working hours at times
Cons: schedule changes, wages
I was good as a cashier. I learned a lot about handling customers. I can only say that management wasn't the greatest mostly due to the fact of the constant shift changing. Other than that it was ok
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working here. Being able to help customers on a daily bases was amazing.
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee), Hesperia, CAFebruary 17, 2014
Pros: always something to do, meeting new people, very helpful and friendly staff, learning newthings every day.
Cons: having to deal with customers that steel.
A typical day at work would consist of maintaining work area clean, shelf's clean and organized to help customers find what they are looking for, ringing the customer up and asking them if they found everything ok. I learned so much at this job, like how to give amazing customer service, how to deal with rude customers, how to work a cash register as – more... well. my co-workers were extremely amazing and very helpful. if i was strangling with something i would ask for help and they would never deny helping me. The part i mostly enjoyed was engaging with the customers, especially with our regular customers. Meeting new customers every day was the best. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Services Reward
Store Manager (Current Employee), Hawthorne, CAFebruary 17, 2014
On a day to day basic I help all members of management reach there highest potential of Customer Service. By doing this we have am/pm meeting, review sales reports, and excuse associate engagement. At the end of week, we review stats and reward our associates with a pizza party.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun workplace
Sales Associate (Former Employee), South Jersey, New JerseyFebruary 17, 2014
Pros: friendly environment
Cons: pay
Loved working here
co-workers are great (younger & older)
Look forward to lunch parties
I honestly don't think theirs no hard part about the job everyone is so friendly and helpful you feel like a family
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun job, always moving.
Customer Service (Former Employee), aubran hills, miFebruary 16, 2014
Pros: nice enviroment
Cons: asking for tjx cards
AS a cashier i loved talking to the new customers and i always had something to do. i was either cleaning, helping with customers, or out on the floor till an extra cashier was needed. the management was very understanding if you wanted to try something different on the floor. they make sure you know everything just in case were short and need an extra – more... hand. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Marshalls
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Lakewood, CAFebruary 16, 2014
-Most co-workers were dependable and had good attitudes
-didn't get paid because of a school program called R.O.P.
-learned hands-on job environment
-trained and taught well
-hardest part was recovery for the men section, but even then it was not that hard
-best part was the holiday foods in the lunchroom
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Clerk/Cashier (Former Employee), Del Rio, TXFebruary 12, 2014
Pros: meeting new people
Cons: short breaks
My typical work day would consist of clocking in picking up any misplaced merchandise on my way to the cash register, check my work area, and attend customers and while there wasn't any customers put items back into place.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
District Manager (Former Employee), Nashville, TNFebruary 11, 2014
Work life balance does not exist. Hardest part of job was firing people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work in retail
Cashier (Former Employee), Tolleson, AZFebruary 10, 2014
This company was a nice place to work as a kid and just starting out in the workplace.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was an alright Job to work at wasn't so nice and organized.
Retail Associate (Former Employee), Stockton, CAFebruary 7, 2014
Pros: breaks, good food, customers
Cons: management, co-workers, and not organized
I made my days at work there more fun, then what it already was, I learned more customer service skills, the management wasn't as good as I thought, The co-workers was sort of nice to me but I always got a long with each one of them, The hardest part I didn't have a hard part with anything I handled the job pretty well, and the Fun part was that anybody – more... can bring food for everyone, and we always had like pot lucks every once in a while. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
there was always something to do
Sales Associate, Part time (Former Employee), Hillsboro, ORFebruary 7, 2014
i learned a lot about visual merchandising, made a lifetime of friends.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent
Floors representative (Former Employee), Carmel, INFebruary 7, 2014
Pretty relaxed atmosphere but scheduling and job placement wasn't guaranteed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Comfortable Work Atmosphere
Sales Associate (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOFebruary 7, 2014
Pros: friendly atmosphere
On a typical workday, I would usually be in the fitting room taking clothing inventory to prevent loss prevention and organizing clothes. This may sound mundane to some, but I rather enjoyed it. I learned what department each article of clothing belonged in. Management was always respectful and courteous. Co-workers did their best to make anyone and – more... everyone feel welcome. The hardest part of the job was when it was time to move on to a new employer, I was sad to say goodbye to everyone. The most enjoyable part of my job was when I was able to help a customer pick out the right outfit, or help them in any way. I felt satisfaction from knowing my customers were leaving with smiles on their faces and that I was a part of that. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company to work for, but low pay
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Revere, MAFebruary 7, 2014
I like working for the company, but wished they were better salary payer.

About Marshalls

Rifling through the racks is an art at TJX stores. The TJX Companies operates¬†about a half a dozen retail chains, including the – Read more