Find companies:
Marshalls
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,154 reviews

Marshalls Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales, costumer service
Sales Representative/Dressing Rooms (Former Employee), Corpus Christi, TXSeptember 15, 2014
Pros: great experience
Cons: ork during holidays
Marshalls is a good place to gain costumer service, I gained lots of experience there. There are many different types of people, and you have to adjust there needs, and have a satisfying day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
marshalls
Merchandise Processor (Former Employee), Cheshire, CTSeptember 15, 2014
daily routine
something new every day
You get to see customers everyday
Get to work effectively with employees on getting the job done.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful company to work for.
Bookkeeper (Former Employee), Murfreesboro, TNSeptember 12, 2014
Pros: first to see new merchandise or clerance items
Cons: sometimes not getting breaks or have to work overtime
The company is a very strong company that treat there employees well. Always new opportunities to advance or just change what you do. Each and every day is different with inventory, clearance, or just office work. I love being able to be around people and helping find what they are looking for or what they don't know they are looking for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not too great
cashier/womens dept clerk- holiday hire (Former Employee), Flemington, NJSeptember 12, 2014
i did not enjoy working here. i worked here for the holiday season and it was very chaotic and the managers were not too helpful
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
slow pace
Sales Floor/Stock Clerk (Former Employee), Bronx, NYSeptember 12, 2014
this job just wasn't for me. the pace was too slow. management was pretty good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad managment
Cash Office (Former Employee), Murray, UTSeptember 11, 2014
When I started I was promised a permanent position in the cash office but my boss the Operations Manager and his boss the Store Manger weren't able to meet sales quotas and my boss kept denying me the raise and title that went with my position so I was working in the cash office performing all the duties but wasn't paid accordingly or anything as promised. – more... After a few months I wasn't able to stay on due to the pay being way lower then I was able to live on and I couldn't work for a management staff that was so deceptive. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The environment was unprofessional and hostile
Sales Associate (Former Employee), New York, NYSeptember 11, 2014
There was favoritism between the managers and the employees, unfair treatment of certain staff members, lack of discipline for some unproductive employees and unethical behavior from the employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall I had a great experience working at Marshalls
Sales Associate/Intern (Former Employee), Bronx, NYSeptember 10, 2014
Pros: discount on entire store
Cons: non-flexable hours
• A typical day at work involved interacting with customers, fufilling their wants and needs, price checking items, organizing merchandise and working with my fellow employees.
• I learned better organization skills and how to be more flexable, how to deal with everyday situations and how to find solutions to problems, and how to better communicate – more... with my fellow peers.
• co-workers were easy to work with, got along easily, had never gotten into an argument or disagreement.
• Hardest part of the job was saying no to unpaid overtime/not wanting to help my co-workers during overtime.
• The most enjoyable part of the job was the experience of greeting new faces every day and connecting with my customers on a daily basis and being friendly with everyone. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good First Job
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Ballwin, MOSeptember 10, 2014
Pros: great variety of merchandise
Cons: even though it is a "discount store" the prices are still a little high.
I worked in several different departments but didn't really enjoy working here. I don't like retail but it was available and I needed a job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment
Cashier (Former Employee), Citrus Heights, CASeptember 10, 2014
Fun place to work and meat new people. Lots of hands on with customers and money.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable place for after school work.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Crystal Lake, ILSeptember 8, 2014
It was a fun atmosphere to work in. My coworkers and bosses made it a good place to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive,Fun Environment
Store Associate (Former Employee), Chicago, ILSeptember 8, 2014
Pros: family oriented employees
Cons: customers during christmas season
The time I had at Marshall's were rewarding . I enjoyed the flexible hours
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
diverse and relatable people to work with
Shoe Coordinator (Current Employee), Royersford, PASeptember 8, 2014
Pros: trustful employies
Cons: often short handed in staff
At the beginning of a shift I start off by checking the weekly report which reads the expected quantity of merchandise I will be receiving in that current week. After taking in the shipment, I process shoes by price coding and censoring all shoes, making display signs, and then "flow" the merchandise. I have learned to be more trustful and become more – more... of a team player in my years spent at Marshalls. I work behind a great team of managers who have entrusted me with many job responsibilities, as well as my many co-workers who have been very supportive in my journey here. I have found that managing my time, stressing to meet the proper store standers and dead lines is a bit of a struggle when it comes to running a department. I strive to have the most successful department, and enjoy merchandising current fashion trends in order to attract the customer boosting sales, and checking the weekly report showing that I coordinate the highest grossing department. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
is not that bad of a place
Backroom Associate (Former Employee), Dallas, TXSeptember 7, 2014
Pros: only parttime
Cons: no breaks because is only 4 to 5 hours of work
well breaking down 14 palettes can take quite a while at 5 in the morning specially still sleepy you have to hustle real hard to get your job done on time plus stock everything where they go
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cashier /sales associate
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Jamaica, NYSeptember 4, 2014
Working for Marshalls help me gain a great customer service skills .ringing up the customer items and checking thye items out.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its an okay place.
Backroom Associate (Former Employee), Campbell, CASeptember 2, 2014
Working in the restaurant is fun if you like working in that industry. i didnt like it but good food.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very well run company with excellent benefits
Store Manager (Former Employee), Countryside, ILSeptember 2, 2014
Growing company with excellent buyers. Corporate office willing to help and listen to store need.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Marshalls
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Frederick, MDSeptember 1, 2014
ITS A GREAT COMPANY EACH STORE NEED TO FOLLOW POLICY AND BE CONSISTANT
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
While fun to work for the compensation just isn't enough
Sales associate (Current Employee), Boston MASeptember 1, 2014
Pros: great staff, when the location is busy time goes by fast
Cons: low pay, uncertain scheduling
While fun to work for the compensation just isn't enough. Minimum wage doesn't pay the bills and if you don't get enough hours with in a month and your rent is due and lights are about to get shut off your stuck.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Staff
Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee), Garfield Heights, OHAugust 31, 2014
Pros: benefits, holiday pay, discount
I typically would work 3 days a week for 4 hours each day. I was at the time working another job and in school. While i wasnt in school. Marshalls gave me amazing hours and they treat there employees like family. I learned customer satisfaction, smiling is the same in every language and the more you are avaliable, the more hours you recieve. I learned – more... shoe processing,markdowns, cash register, backroom coordination, men's department, layaway, fitting room and closing all while working for this company where i starting in 11th grade high school. The first location i worked closed down and relocated all of us to other store. Moving was the hardest part of this job, but i stayed strong because the new employees that i had come across where nice and friendly. – less

About Marshalls

Rifling through the racks is an art at TJX stores. The TJX Companies operates about a half a dozen retail chains, including the – Read more

Marshalls Photos