Find companies:
Marshalls
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,053 reviews

Marshalls Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard Work, Little pay
Sales Floor Associate (Former Employee), Cleveland, OHJune 22, 2014
Pros: discounts, great co-workers
Cons: not flexible, overwhelming work load, little pay
I was a sales floor associate working in the Women's department, the biggest department in the store. Unloading trucks, sorting the materials, taking out racks, merchandising, putting back returns, and also working the cash register were typical duties of the day. I learned how to merchandise, utilize a cash register, and increase my communication skills. – more... Management tried to work with your schedule, they were decent for the most part. I loved my co-workers! We had fun and tried to enjoy those hours together. The hardest part of the job was coming in at night to see that the shift before you left all the returns and the area a mess. The most enjoyable part was the customers. When I had a rough day, the customers were there to brighten my day! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not the best place to work but we do why we have to right.
sales floor (Current Employee), new rochelle new yorkJune 20, 2014
Pros: good hours
Cons: short lunches
management is a mess, they don't pay a lot but they want you to give your all and do other people jobs as well as do yours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable, productive and motivated place to work.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Solana Beach, CAJune 20, 2014
Typically I worked either in the fitting room, which is fast paced and a fun place to work. I also worked at the cash register which was challenging at fist but easy and enjoyable to get to greet the customers. I learned how to do returns, how to keep track of money, I also learned how to keep a chaotic work space organized and under control. My co-workers – more... were great, as well was management. The hardest part of my job was keeping the space behind the cash registers under control and organized. The most enjoyable part of my job was working with people I loved. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly Environment, but management was very unorganized.
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee), Dublin, CAJune 20, 2014
I worked as a Sales Associate/Cashier so a typical day would start at the register. I ring people up, make sure the line stays short, then when i'm not busy, I go to the Sales Floor to do a little recovery. Picking thing up off the floor, and straightening racks and shelves. And if assigned to Fitting Room, I would stand in there for a few hours assisting – more... customers with their purchases and suggesting items to go along with them. I've learned the basics of retail and the importance of customer satisfaction. I found myself relating well with the customers' concerns and was able to be the employee that they needed me to be. My coworkers were nice and the staff was very diverse. I loved working with all of them. The management however, was not setting too good of an example for us, as they were getting fired left and right and changing on us all the time. It was never consistent but those who stayed with the company definitely learned how to work around it. The hardest part was conveying any message with management as they were always busy, or changing staff, but the most enjoyable part was customer service and getting to know the customers. I really loved working at Marshalls. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning experience
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Blaine, MNJune 17, 2014
I am usually at the service desk. My coworkers are fun to work with. My most enjoyable part of the job would be seeing customers happy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very fun and exciting experience
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Peoria, ILJune 16, 2014
THe management made this job fun and flexible. I enjoyed working for this company even on days that could get stressful. I don't think all retail jobs are as enjoyable as this experience was for me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy
Retail Associate (Former Employee), Bel Air, MDJune 16, 2014
Pros: being around a business and helping the business sell more merchandise
Cons: didn't have enough work hours
I learned to process clothing, and how to set up merchandise to attract customers for the items to sell.
Always busy environment
I loved working with people in a team and helping customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Under paid
Customer Service (Former Employee), Greenbelt, MDJune 16, 2014
Only hiring part-time workers but with full time hours with no benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very diverse environment, Friendly and helpful
Cashier (Former Employee), Livonia, MIJune 12, 2014
A typical day working at Marshalls was very busy It's retail so we were always busy Marshalls was a good environment my co-workers were very nice and we all helped eachother to get the job done i would have to say Marshalls taught me the meaning of team work, we all work together to make sure that the store was looking it's best and customers were satisfied
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beware of Store Managers
Associate (Current Employee), DORCHESTER, MAJune 9, 2014
Pros: associate appreciation lunches/dinners
Cons: schedule problems, very busy store, customer attitudes
Working at Marshalls is great if you work with people that you get along with. The store where I work has great assistant managers, but a store manager with an attitude problem. This person does not care about their associates like other managers in the company. They believe that they are better than everyone else. Most recently an associate had a loss – more... in their family and the first thing this manager said was Are you coming to work? instead of sorry for your loss, take all the time you need or something along those lines. I do still enjoy my job because of my co-workers, but it would be way better if that manager was no longer there or transferred to another store. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive with great associates
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZJune 9, 2014
everyone greats everyone early mornings we share laughs and get to work. on an average day we accomplish our duties 30-45 minutes before time to clock out. We heed to other duties to be done. Management is well. Rules are set, rules are abided by. Nothing really hard about the job. I love my associates!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun to work
Retail / Customer Associate (Current Employee), Plantation, FLJune 7, 2014
Working at Marshalls is fun because you meet different type of people every day. Co-workers are united and responsible.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never again!
Area one sales rep (Former Employee), Shelby township MichiganJune 7, 2014
Pros: browsing merchandise
Cons: terrible management, no hours
I hated this job. I don't understand a company that insists on hiring as many non English speaking people as it does. This was really frustrating when they would page me on the walkie. Customers who come to this store are absolute pigs. No regard whatsoever for the store. The coordinator who worked in my area would do nothing all day and id come into – more... work with a full rack at the register AND in the dressing room. Another one who barely spokE English. I should have been paid a lot more for the amount of work I did. I understand being a part time employee but I'm not driving all the way to work to work a three hour shift! I can't even justify gas money on that! Also getting paid every week sounded convenient at first but after awhile you realize how poor it really makes you. Especially when you bring home a 60$ check. This was the worst place I worked next to target. And that's saying a lot. Also a 10% discount doesn't do much! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People Person and Fun
Sales Associate (Former Employee), manati, puerto ricoJune 5, 2014
Pros: vacations, paid holidays, sick payments
Cons: poor ethic on the manager groups, a lot of gossip, gender orientation discrimination
I'm a people person, got a great experience on sales, enjoy helping and listening to people love costumer service never got an issue with a costumer and they always like how i treat them just the way a liked to be treat. I care about environment and don't like any abuse.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work for college
Customer Service and Inventory Management (Current Employee), Enfield, CTJune 5, 2014
Pros: people
Cons: customers
Work was good, especially being a full time college student
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no advancement
associate (Former Employee), california tustinJune 4, 2014
Pros: affordable clothes
Cons: waisted labor and no advancement
Long story short Marshalls is no place for advancement. To many managers had to many different ways of doing things, employees dropped left and right because of the lack of communocations
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no advancement
associate (Former Employee), california tustinJune 4, 2014
Pros: affordable clothes
Cons: waisted labor and no advancement
Long story short Marshalls is no place for advancement. To many managers had to many different ways of doing things, employees dropped left and right because of the lack of communocations
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no advancement
associate (Former Employee), california tustinJune 4, 2014
Pros: affordable clothes
Cons: waisted labor and no advancement
Long story short Marshalls is no place for advancement. To many managers had to many different ways of doing things, employees dropped left and right because of the lack of communocations
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Day a Marshalls
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Oklahoma City, OKJune 4, 2014
I loved the customers that came in everyday I liked that I was able to do a little of everything in the store.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
....
customer experience coordinator (Current Employee), Hackettstown, NJJune 4, 2014
I would manage the front end, Dealt with all the customers concerns and complaints. I've learned to have high patience in all situations. I've also dealt with the daily cash office handling the money from the day before. I've worked with some amazing people and that makes the job more enjoyable.

About Marshalls

Rifling through the racks is an art at TJX stores. The TJX Companies operates¬†about a half a dozen retail chains, including the – Read more

Marshalls Photos