Find companies:
Marshalls
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
919 reviews

Marshalls Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive environment.. Friendly people
OPERATIONS MANAGER (Former Employee), Decatur, GAMarch 19, 2014
A typical work day for me usually consisted of a 10-12 hour shift.. That would began at 7am. Ensuring that the store was customer ready before 9am was priority. This involved overseeing maintenance issues. Such as bathroom and dressing room cleanliness. Floors, walls, and window cleanliness.. All time clock entries from the prior day were reviewed and – more... reconciled.. Additionally preparation of the days bank deposits. After which i would analyze sales data from prior business day, and compare data against previous years gross.. Ensured store was adequately staffed for peak profitability. The job taught me that projecting discipline, effort, and patience can help you achieve real results. I enjoyed the daily interactions with my co-workers and customers as well. The most difficult part of the job I guess was being able to sustain team motivation and not have some areas to slack off. Optimal performance relies on complete effort by the team and sometimes people tend not to give their best efforts. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Associate (Current Employee), Lakeland, FLMarch 18, 2014
Great coworkers, management can be a bit inflexible. Many departments to work in.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boring and christmas time is hell
SALES ASSOSSCIATE (Current Employee), West MelbourneMarch 16, 2014
Pros: people are nice
Cons: just about everything else is a con
The job itself is easy, but customers are always rude or you have to explain something to them 100 plus times before they understand what you're explaining to them. You're always hounded by management to get TJX reward cards, our store credit card. Hours are terrible, you either have to live at the store or you're there once a week. No inbetween. The – more... only positive is that everyone there is nice and helpful, spare the few gossipy people. The only way to advance is to work there for 5 or more years, with barely any raises. I've been there for almost 2 years and received a 14 cent raise from minimum wage, but now I make minimum wage again since they raised it. Overall its a decent place to work if you're a teenager, but don't expect to be able to live on it unless you're full time and even then you're barely making it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Works great with schedules/life
Customer Service/Retail Associate (Current Employee), Independence, MOMarch 12, 2014
Pros: 1 in 30 day program (work once a month, still employed)
Cons: not enough hours, not career related
Participated in all Marshalls' sales initiatives and met sales goals while providing excellent customer service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work enviornment
Sales Associate (Former Employee), New Britain, CTMarch 11, 2014
A typical day at Marshalls I had to clean the floor and make sure that the store looked presentable. My co-workers were very helpful, if I needed help they would help me. There was nothing really too complicated at Marshalls. I just had to make sure everything looked organized and help customers find what they were looking for. The most enjoyable part – more... was to help the customers and answer any questions they had. I like interacting with people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very clean great customer service
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Chicago, ILMarch 11, 2014
Pros: great workers
Cons: no hours
made sure store was neat and organized greet every customer with a smile
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay beginners job
Cashier/Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), 76 E Main St, New Britain, CT 06051March 11, 2014
Management was not as I thought it would be they weren't really demanding and didn't really expect much. People I worked with were ok but really didn't care, hardest part of my was nothing it came natural. Most part I enjoyed about my job was break because I got to rest didn't really like this job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Place to Work
Back Room Associate (Former Employee), Levittown, PaMarch 10, 2014
A typical day at Marshalls consisted of myself clocking in then immediately. I would begin to process the clothes. This includes unpacking the clothing and separating them by departments. After, I would hang the clothing and sensor the articles that required security tags. Then I would unload the racks of finished clothing onto the sales floor where – more... the public can purchase them. The employees are fun to work with and the management was great at communicating with employees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun workplace.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Brownsville, TXMarch 7, 2014
Pros: great co-workers, and discount.
Cons: i have nothing bad to say.
I loved working at Marshalls. It was a very fun place to work at I always had something to do. It was very fast paced.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An amazing place to work for and to grow within company.
Coordinator/Front Line Supervisor (Former Employee), Placentia, CAMarch 6, 2014
Best part of job is to being able to communicate with customers and reconmmend them a product that is on the sales floor.

management communication is a great tool.

coworkers may be young be a great way to improve
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning environment
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Folsom, CAMarch 6, 2014
I learned a lot working here. I actually chose the accounting degree because I worked in the cash office. I learned how to lead people being a coordinator and a markdown captain.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun and productive work environment!
Retail Associate (Former Employee), El Centro, CAMarch 5, 2014
Pros: working and interacting with customers. very friendly co-workers
Cons: very small discounts.
I love working there I learned so much from my supervisors and co-workers. I definitely recommend it for a stable job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
stock room associate (Former Employee), Santa Fe Springs, CAMarch 3, 2014
Pros: recognition
Cons: not enough pay
loved working here all my co workers where nice and respectful. managers where really cool and professional.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good comapany
Cashier/Sales Associate/ cash office worker (Current Employee), Lakewood, WAMarch 3, 2014
very good company to work for, very flexible schedules managers are really nice, everyone gets along well together
love working with the public
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work environment
Cashier/Sales-Domestics (Current Employee), Minneapolis, MNMarch 1, 2014
Pros: discounts, full time and permanent benifits
Cons: unpaid lunches
A typical work day for me is coming to work and processing all the boxes making sure everything is ready to go out to the floor. At Marshalls I learned that employees come first and customers come second. My co-workers/Managers have became my friends, we laugh, we play and we get down to business. Co-workers/Managers is what makes the work environment – more... a great place to work and working in a great environment will help you deliver exceptional customer service skills with the ability to build customer relationships. The hardest part when working a job is adapting to new changes and the most enjoyable part is learning from those new changes. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High volume, very busy and tense
Cashier (Former Employee), Greenville, SCFebruary 28, 2014
Pros: small discount
Cons: hours
Marshalls is a very busy store that employees a large amount of people. Hundreds of customers come through the cashier line everyday and it is part of my responsibility to ensure they have a pleasant experience. As first cahier, I must be very careful and thorough with money handling. Multitasking is key to keep up with all merchandize being purchased – more... meanwhile selling the Tjx card and carrying on conversation with the customer. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Front Desk Clerk (Current Employee), Solana Beach, CAFebruary 26, 2014
great place to work for. Great environment, people are very nice, management was organized and on task, great working with other people, and learning more about customer service
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love working here!!
Retail Sales Associate (Current Employee), Tracy, CAFebruary 25, 2014
Pros: great atmosphere, great deals, friendly staff
Cons: n/a
My absolute favorite job I've ever had! I love the management there they are all so helpful. development opportunities. I receive customer surveys there all the time because of my customer service! Great recognition from staff ! I love working here!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Marshalls
Sales Associate (Current Employee), HuntersvilleFebruary 25, 2014
Pros: good environment
Cons: full time work needed
Great place to work if you're seeking part time work. that means under 19 hours and no benefits. Advancement is available. to coordinators position.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent workplace
Operations Manager (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INFebruary 25, 2014
Pros: seemed we were always having store paid lunches
Cons: very task driven for a customer service industry
Operationally overloaded. Constantly required to perform audits (approximately 5 per week) that are very time consuming and task driven. Stores as a whole are forced to become very task driven in order to perform well on audits which affects customer service. It seemed like we were never caught up.

About Marshalls

Rifling through the racks is an art at TJX stores. The TJX Companies operates¬†about a half a dozen retail chains, including the – Read more