Find companies:
Marshalls
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
903 reviews

Marshalls Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Front Desk Clerk (Current Employee), Solana Beach, CAFebruary 26, 2014
great place to work for. Great environment, people are very nice, management was organized and on task, great working with other people, and learning more about customer service
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love working here!!
Retail Sales Associate (Current Employee), Tracy, CAFebruary 25, 2014
Pros: great atmosphere, great deals, friendly staff
Cons: n/a
My absolute favorite job I've ever had! I love the management there they are all so helpful. development opportunities. I receive customer surveys there all the time because of my customer service! Great recognition from staff ! I love working here!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Marshalls
Sales Associate (Current Employee), HuntersvilleFebruary 25, 2014
Pros: good environment
Cons: full time work needed
Great place to work if you're seeking part time work. that means under 19 hours and no benefits. Advancement is available. to coordinators position.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent workplace
Operations Manager (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INFebruary 25, 2014
Pros: seemed we were always having store paid lunches
Cons: very task driven for a customer service industry
Operationally overloaded. Constantly required to perform audits (approximately 5 per week) that are very time consuming and task driven. Stores as a whole are forced to become very task driven in order to perform well on audits which affects customer service. It seemed like we were never caught up.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My everyday life
Retail Sales Associate (Current Employee), Canton, MIFebruary 24, 2014
Pros: i love everyone that i work with
Cons: i wish that i got paid a little more
Greeting customers as I walk in. I go to the front to go over my checklist for the night to see what has to be done. I get register cleaned for the next cashiers to come in to start on ring up the next customers waiting. I follow up with the managers to see where we are in card credits for the day. I'm coaching my cashiers to keep asking customer to – more... sign up for tjx reward card. I'm answering the phone as they ring throughout the night. Helping customers as well as the other associates as they need me. At the end of the night I am making sure that all of the registers have been counted down and closed out. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great first job for experience
Cashier (Former Employee), Massapequa, New YorkFebruary 24, 2014
I learned responsibility and how to be patient with customers. Working with a team and individually was an important aspect I have learned to work with. I became close friends with my co-workers and still have close relationships with them today. The most difficult part of the job was the stress during holiday seasons. The most enjoyable part of the – more... job was getting rewards for your hard work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good first job experience
Backroom Associate/Sales floor Associate/Cashier (Former Employee), Lewisville, TXFebruary 24, 2014
A very good place if you are looking for entry level in retail. Management could have been better, store was dirty and messy most of the time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work was like a 2nd family
Coordinator (Former Employee), Plainville, CTFebruary 22, 2014
Pros: we would receive from our company lunches, snacks and awards.
Cons: sometimes not scheduled enough hours to complete a task.
My day would start out by receiving the truck and getting the new receipts to the floor, placing them in their respective departments and arranging them to make them appealing to the eye. Some days would be dedicated to doing markdowns. I would also need to ring a register when i was needed. Always customer service was tops on the list of duties everyday. – more... In my 23 years i was exposed to the numerous departments in the store i had knowledge of all departments. Management and co-workers were just like a 2nd family. The hardest part of my job was building fixtures for displaying and making moves on the floor and on the walls but was enjoyable when the finished product was all set up. The most enjoyable part of my job was dealing with the customers, we would get customers from all over CT and also from other countries. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace.
Cash Office Associate (Current Employee), Bay City, MIFebruary 21, 2014
A typical day of work would start with balancing the safe, and continue with balancing the cash office.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
8 Years says a lot
Ma Customer Service Coordinator (Former Employee), Braintree, MAFebruary 20, 2014
Worked for this company for 8 years, so yes it is a great company to work for. You meet all kinds of different people, from different cultures, different countries, and its a great learning experience. Customers are great, fun to interact with them
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Associate (Current Employee), New Orleans, LAFebruary 19, 2014
Pros: discount
Cons: not many hourd
i enjoy working there. its nice to meet customers and help them with finding things that they are looking for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You need to love customers to work here and have a lot of patience
Sales Associate/ Cashier (Former Employee), Yuma Arizona , Tucson ArizonaFebruary 19, 2014
Pros: can grow withing company
Cons: break rooms are depressing
A typical day at Marshalls Mon-Thurs will be slow most of the day maybe pick up a little in the evening. Weekends however will be packed with hispanic consumers. I say this because both of the locations I worked at were border towns. I cannot speak for all Marshalls but the ones I worked at customers do not have any shame in throwing things on the floor, – more... opening bottles of merchandise they should not be opening and in all they really feel they have the right to make a mess. To be successful you must have a lot of patience and really like helping people and be able to stay optimistic during rough times. The coworkers age ranged from high school students to tenured associates in there 40's. There is place for advancement within the company but you must excel not only in your area of work, but in all areas of the store. An associate must demonstrate intelligence and potential to grow. Attaining a college degree will really help to grow within this company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Taunton, MAFebruary 19, 2014
Helpful place to work when its your first and they are very understanding
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Sales Floor Associate (Former Employee), Lancaster, CAFebruary 18, 2014
A typical day at work was fast pace and busy. Manangers were always present. Co-workers were friendly. Hardest part of the job was focusing on one task when there were many more to do. Most enjoyable part of the job was the overall enviroment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very hecked environment
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Chicago, ILFebruary 18, 2014
Pros: quickly worked up to another position
Cons: needed more hours
On a daily basis you deal with a lot of different variety of people. Which requires an associate for different demands from customers. Like in the Dressing Room. It get real messy and unorganized where as, clothing gets stack up and, what I learned is that if you move in a quick an orderly fashion you can get the job done. Management and co-workers – more... were understandable and very helpful when you need the help. The hardest part of the job was getting the daily task done by the closing of the store. The most enjoyable part of the job was that I got the chance to meet a different handful of customers and co-workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I liked working there
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Montrose, CAFebruary 17, 2014
Pros: working hours at times
Cons: schedule changes, wages
I was good as a cashier. I learned a lot about handling customers. I can only say that management wasn't the greatest mostly due to the fact of the constant shift changing. Other than that it was ok
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working here. Being able to help customers on a daily bases was amazing.
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee), Hesperia, CAFebruary 17, 2014
Pros: always something to do, meeting new people, very helpful and friendly staff, learning newthings every day.
Cons: having to deal with customers that steel.
A typical day at work would consist of maintaining work area clean, shelf's clean and organized to help customers find what they are looking for, ringing the customer up and asking them if they found everything ok. I learned so much at this job, like how to give amazing customer service, how to deal with rude customers, how to work a cash register as – more... well. my co-workers were extremely amazing and very helpful. if i was strangling with something i would ask for help and they would never deny helping me. The part i mostly enjoyed was engaging with the customers, especially with our regular customers. Meeting new customers every day was the best. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Services Reward
Store Manager (Current Employee), Hawthorne, CAFebruary 17, 2014
On a day to day basic I help all members of management reach there highest potential of Customer Service. By doing this we have am/pm meeting, review sales reports, and excuse associate engagement. At the end of week, we review stats and reward our associates with a pizza party.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun workplace
Sales Associate (Former Employee), South Jersey, New JerseyFebruary 17, 2014
Pros: friendly environment
Cons: pay
Loved working here
co-workers are great (younger & older)
Look forward to lunch parties
I honestly don't think theirs no hard part about the job everyone is so friendly and helpful you feel like a family
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun job, always moving.
Customer Service (Former Employee), aubran hills, miFebruary 16, 2014
Pros: nice enviroment
Cons: asking for tjx cards
AS a cashier i loved talking to the new customers and i always had something to do. i was either cleaning, helping with customers, or out on the floor till an extra cashier was needed. the management was very understanding if you wanted to try something different on the floor. they make sure you know everything just in case were short and need an extra – more... hand. – less

About Marshalls

Rifling through the racks is an art at TJX stores. The TJX Companies operates¬†about a half a dozen retail chains, including the – Read more