Find companies:
Marshalls
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,129 reviews

Marshalls Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad managment
Cash Office (Former Employee), Murray, UTSeptember 11, 2014
When I started I was promised a permanent position in the cash office but my boss the Operations Manager and his boss the Store Manger weren't able to meet sales quotas and my boss kept denying me the raise and title that went with my position so I was working in the cash office performing all the duties but wasn't paid accordingly or anything as promised. – more... After a few months I wasn't able to stay on due to the pay being way lower then I was able to live on and I couldn't work for a management staff that was so deceptive. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The environment was unprofessional and hostile
Sales Associate (Former Employee), New York, NYSeptember 11, 2014
There was favoritism between the managers and the employees, unfair treatment of certain staff members, lack of discipline for some unproductive employees and unethical behavior from the employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall I had a great experience working at Marshalls
Sales Associate/Intern (Former Employee), Bronx, NYSeptember 10, 2014
Pros: discount on entire store
Cons: non-flexable hours
• A typical day at work involved interacting with customers, fufilling their wants and needs, price checking items, organizing merchandise and working with my fellow employees.
• I learned better organization skills and how to be more flexable, how to deal with everyday situations and how to find solutions to problems, and how to better communicate – more... with my fellow peers.
• co-workers were easy to work with, got along easily, had never gotten into an argument or disagreement.
• Hardest part of the job was saying no to unpaid overtime/not wanting to help my co-workers during overtime.
• The most enjoyable part of the job was the experience of greeting new faces every day and connecting with my customers on a daily basis and being friendly with everyone. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good First Job
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Ballwin, MOSeptember 10, 2014
Pros: great variety of merchandise
Cons: even though it is a "discount store" the prices are still a little high.
I worked in several different departments but didn't really enjoy working here. I don't like retail but it was available and I needed a job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment
Cashier (Former Employee), Citrus Heights, CASeptember 10, 2014
Fun place to work and meat new people. Lots of hands on with customers and money.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable place for after school work.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Crystal Lake, ILSeptember 8, 2014
It was a fun atmosphere to work in. My coworkers and bosses made it a good place to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive,Fun Environment
Store Associate (Former Employee), Chicago, ILSeptember 8, 2014
Pros: family oriented employees
Cons: customers during christmas season
The time I had at Marshall's were rewarding . I enjoyed the flexible hours
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
diverse and relatable people to work with
Shoe Coordinator (Current Employee), Royersford, PASeptember 8, 2014
Pros: trustful employies
Cons: often short handed in staff
At the beginning of a shift I start off by checking the weekly report which reads the expected quantity of merchandise I will be receiving in that current week. After taking in the shipment, I process shoes by price coding and censoring all shoes, making display signs, and then "flow" the merchandise. I have learned to be more trustful and become more – more... of a team player in my years spent at Marshalls. I work behind a great team of managers who have entrusted me with many job responsibilities, as well as my many co-workers who have been very supportive in my journey here. I have found that managing my time, stressing to meet the proper store standers and dead lines is a bit of a struggle when it comes to running a department. I strive to have the most successful department, and enjoy merchandising current fashion trends in order to attract the customer boosting sales, and checking the weekly report showing that I coordinate the highest grossing department. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
is not that bad of a place
Backroom Associate (Former Employee), Dallas, TXSeptember 7, 2014
Pros: only parttime
Cons: no breaks because is only 4 to 5 hours of work
well breaking down 14 palettes can take quite a while at 5 in the morning specially still sleepy you have to hustle real hard to get your job done on time plus stock everything where they go
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cashier /sales associate
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Jamaica, NYSeptember 4, 2014
Working for Marshalls help me gain a great customer service skills .ringing up the customer items and checking thye items out.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its an okay place.
Backroom Associate (Former Employee), Campbell, CASeptember 2, 2014
Working in the restaurant is fun if you like working in that industry. i didnt like it but good food.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very well run company with excellent benefits
Store Manager (Former Employee), Countryside, ILSeptember 2, 2014
Growing company with excellent buyers. Corporate office willing to help and listen to store need.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Marshalls
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Frederick, MDSeptember 1, 2014
ITS A GREAT COMPANY EACH STORE NEED TO FOLLOW POLICY AND BE CONSISTANT
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
While fun to work for the compensation just isn't enough
Sales associate (Current Employee), Boston MASeptember 1, 2014
Pros: great staff, when the location is busy time goes by fast
Cons: low pay, uncertain scheduling
While fun to work for the compensation just isn't enough. Minimum wage doesn't pay the bills and if you don't get enough hours with in a month and your rent is due and lights are about to get shut off your stuck.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Staff
Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee), Garfield Heights, OHAugust 31, 2014
Pros: benefits, holiday pay, discount
I typically would work 3 days a week for 4 hours each day. I was at the time working another job and in school. While i wasnt in school. Marshalls gave me amazing hours and they treat there employees like family. I learned customer satisfaction, smiling is the same in every language and the more you are avaliable, the more hours you recieve. I learned – more... shoe processing,markdowns, cash register, backroom coordination, men's department, layaway, fitting room and closing all while working for this company where i starting in 11th grade high school. The first location i worked closed down and relocated all of us to other store. Moving was the hardest part of this job, but i stayed strong because the new employees that i had come across where nice and friendly. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Marshalls
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Chicago, ILAugust 31, 2014
Pros: nice co-workers, teaches you how to have patience
Cons: under paid, managers careless, under staffed
A typical day at Marshalls is working in the fitting room, counting customers merchandise in and out of the fitting room. Making sure clothes are sorted neatly on the racks, so the employee that's on the floor can put clothes back on the sales floor in a fast matter. Sometimes, I will go on the sales floor and help recover as well. The management at – more... this company can be friendly at times, but the managers doesn't do a good job with communicating with each other. I can truly say I met co- workers at this job that I can call my friend's. The hardest part of this job is working under pressure, because 90% of the time the store is understaffed so there is more work for you to do. The most enjoyable part of the job is meeting new people and working with good driven workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
family baseed, care about there workers
Sale Representative (Former Employee), El Cerrito, CAAugust 30, 2014
learned a lot transferable skills. management was ok. head manger had favored people and based on gender and race. co-worker where great. hardest part of the job was the guild lines it was not set what you had to do so you might end un doing more/ less work then others, even find yourself doing other co-workers job while they do little to nothing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy going work day with lots of smiles.
Associate (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOAugust 28, 2014
Working at Marshalls was one of my favorite things do in the day. The customers were nice and easy to deal with on a regular basis. My co-workers were easy going and helped out when i needed assistance. The hardest part of the job is dealing with unpleasant customers and having o call the manager down to help assist you. the best part of the day would – more... have to be the customers who you could help and make smile. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun fast paced
Cashier, customer service rep, sales associate (Former Employee), chicagoAugust 27, 2014
Pros: 15% discount, being able to see first hand new merchandise
Cons: no benefits, unstable break time
mistakingly filled this section out first
typical day starts as soon as your clocked in, lunch break changes with every shift. exciting place to work. ive learned how to manage my respect, be punctual, not to let the little most irrelevant bother you. management is always around when needed, kept confidential, reliable, concerned, and very helpful. – more... coworkers can be very lazy, talkative, nosey, non productive , and some hardworking, besides a bounced around schedule, and keep a positive attitude, nothing is hard. most enjoyable is seeing a satisfied customer. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Company with your usual up and downs
Department Manager (Former Employee), Neptune City, NJAugust 27, 2014
Pros: fun place to work, great place to move up
Cons: everybody doesn't pull their own weight
The store has great products at great prices. Marshalls has a great system and management staff. You can move up in this company and make a career out of it.

About Marshalls

Rifling through the racks is an art at TJX stores. The TJX Companies operates about a half a dozen retail chains, including the – Read more

Marshalls Photos