Find companies:
Marshalls
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
907 reviews

Marshalls Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
extremely friendly work place, very cooperative staff, flexible schedule, productive work environment, positive vibes
sales associate (Former Employee), Salinas, CAApril 7, 2014
Pros: flexible schedule, managers compromise if you go to school, welcoming environment, great staff.
Cons: hours can be unpredictable.
a typical day at Marshalls consisted of recovering a designated department, providing customer service, and cooperating with co-workers and managers to maintain department standards. from working in this job i got first hand retail experience and found the significance of customer service. management was extremely welcoming, goal oriented, and helpful. – more... my co-workers were overall great fun people and make the Marshalls staff what it is. There is no difficulties with this job, if you are a efficient employee and use your common sense. the most enjoyable part of my job is interacting with both the customers and the Marshalls team. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sucks
Operations - assistant store manager (Current Employee), Dayton, OHApril 7, 2014
Pros: close to home
Cons: idiot management
new management is target people upper management with sporting goods experience not letting individual stores do their thing,
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place to start fresh
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Richmond, VAApril 7, 2014
Great stepping stone position for someone getting back into the work force.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive working place.
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Lake Worth, FLApril 7, 2014
Pros: great working environment
Cons: short breaks
typical day at the job is assisting customers . I have learnt that the customers are always right. management is always there to assist when necessary, co workers helpful . hardest part of the job is closing and restocking. the most enjoyable part of the job is getting 10% off whatever I buy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company/ extensive management learning tools available
Distribution Supervisor (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PAApril 7, 2014
Pros: very professional
Cons: overnight shift
Great management programs to supplement experience and education
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dealing with so many different people on a daily basis.
Retail Associate (Current Employee), Charlotte, NCApril 5, 2014
Pros: flexible work scehdule
Cons: only management is full time
The most enjoyable part of my job is helping and meeting so many different people. The great sense of accomplishment when the area I'm responsible for looks great, and all items are displayed correctly, all the shelves are organized.
My typical work day could start at 430am or 5pm. I could be responsible for muliple areas in the store. I could be unloading – more... a truck of new merchandise or marking down items that have been on the shelves to long.
The hardest part of my job getting up at 430 in the morning, and working exetremly hard to only get 20 hours a week, and no chance to get anymore due to company policy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Services
Customer Service Supervisor (Former Employee), Schaumburg, ILApril 5, 2014
Started working as cashier was move up to customer services. Then became customer services supervisor. I help out on sales floor when they where short hand.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales accosiate s
Customer Service sales associate Fitting Room (Current Employee), San Antonio, TXApril 3, 2014
I greet customers, make sure they don't have no more then 10 items I love working
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very enjoyable working atmosphere
Sales associate (Former Employee), TomballApril 1, 2014
Pros: discount on purchases, activities for employees on occasion
Cons: the only problem was low salary
Marshalls was a great place to work and only left because I relocated to Florida for a year. Loved the work atmosphere at Marshalls, enjoyed learning all new skills in the retail business. Marshalls management made the training process very pleasant and they were extremely supportive in all aspects of the job. I would gladly work for them again at any – more... time. I worked in all aspects of retail, helped open the store initially, worked the fitting rooms as needed, also register and on floor. My main duty was working in the warehouse unloading the truck and distributing the merchandise on the floor. I think the hardest part of job was initially getting used to being on my feet all day, but after a few weeks all was well. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced Customer Service Company
Customer Experience Coordinator & Sales Associate (Former Employee), Coral Gables, FLApril 1, 2014
Pros: close to home and face paced environment
Cons: hard to receive a promotion and the pay was not great
A typical workday is busy with customers and supervising and overseeing the front end of the store. Management trusted me and allowed me to supervise and delegate with all the associates in the store. My co-workers was nice to work with and always willing to assist when needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned a lot about sales floor and changing things on floor
sales associate (Former Employee), white lake michiganMarch 31, 2014
Co workers were awesome, as much as i learned on the floor.....i could always teach things to others also.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and growing environment
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Chula Vista, CAMarch 31, 2014
Although it's not related to my major, I very much enjoyed working as a Sales Associate at Marshalls. During my almost-three years there, I learned the value of excellent customer service, and how that goes a long way. Moreover, I learned that providing a good service for my customers and putting myself in their shoes made me feel good. It made me realize – more... I enjoy serving others.
The environment at Marshalls was always friendly yet professional. I could easily communicate with all members of management when I had concerns and/or questions. They always made themselves approachable, and more importantly, they resolved any given issue. The company's main interest was customer service, so as a Sales Floor Associate, and as a Cashier, I had to make sure to genuinely greet every customer, ask them if they needed any help, and connect with them based on their needs.
Another thing I greatly enjoyed was how my former coworkers would team up working together in order to help each other clean and recover the whole store. (This generally happened every night at closing time. -I worked all shifts during my employment there-). Therefore, I enjoy and I'm used to working with diverse people as a team to complete tasks. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was Very Productive & Employers Were Kind And Nice
Sales Floor Maintenance (Former Employee), Manchester, CTMarch 30, 2014
Pros: great benefits
Cons: short lunch breaks
They taught me alot working here , this was my First job in which i worked in retail . if they were to hire me back i would definitely take the job !
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun work place
Retail (Former Employee), Miami, FLMarch 27, 2014
this job require we to focus on clothing, by stocking and at times work the registered. I learn a great deal of experience in customer service and handling a registered with the help of my managers and co workers as it was my first job. It require me to focus and pay attention to all of the clothing at all times as it can get very unpleasant having – more... clothing on the floor but it was always enjoyable helping a customer – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work at.
Receiving Clerk (Former Employee), Miami, FLMarch 25, 2014
Learned how to be a great team player.
Learned how to be organize.
learned how to sort-out merchandise.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
LOVED THE COMMIOSSON SALES
Customer Service Rep/Sales Associate (Former Employee), Dunwoody, GAMarch 25, 2014
I enjoyed working being in competion with other co-workers and competing for sales.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee), Valparaiso, INMarch 24, 2014
Pros: wonderful employer
Helping children learn through art instruction was the highlight of my life and work experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical retail experience
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Brewster, NYMarch 24, 2014
Able to learn a variety of job functions, hard to move beyond the standard progression of wage.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical job
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Rehoboth Beach, DEMarch 24, 2014
Pros: partime employement
Cons: no benefits, cut hours at anytime
Nice Co-Workers and an okay place to work if you looking for extra income or just a part time job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Productive
Cashier/ Sale Floor Associate (Current Employee), Dallas, TXMarch 24, 2014
Pros: no uniform and you get to express yourself
Cons: not benefits does not pay good
I love this job talk with customer and get to know people and keeping a clean work environment.

About Marshalls

Rifling through the racks is an art at TJX stores. The TJX Companies operates¬†about a half a dozen retail chains, including the – Read more