Find companies:
Marshalls
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,209 reviews

Marshalls Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FUN RETAIILSTORE ENVIRONMENT
FRONTLINE CUSTOMER SERVICE AGENT (Current Employee), Scarborough, ONMarch 27, 2012
Pros: free lunches, hot chocolate, timmies, starbucks, cake, fruit, games, activities
Cons: no cons to report
WORKING AT THE STORE FOR JUST OVER A YEAR HAS BEEN A FUN RIDE. SOME GOOD AND NOT SO GOOD EXPERIENCES HAVE MADE THE YEAR A VERY FULL EXPERIENCE.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Smyrna, GADecember 19, 2014
It was hard working for Marshal's on the sales floor. having to pick up shoes everywhere in the store. What I learned was how to communicate with customers. Management was not good, because they would pick favorites. My co-workers did not last long in Marshal's, always had someone new everyday or week. The hardest part of the job was closing. The most – more... enjoyable part of the job was seeing the new arrivals first when they came of the trucks and were put on to the sales floor for sale. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big Lunch Room
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Huntington Park, CADecember 19, 2014
Pros: 1 hour break
Cons: no benefits
Marshalls was my first job so i really enjoyed it but it took a while getting used to, great co-workers, really nice manager, i learned how to talk and greet people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice team environment
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Mashpee, MADecember 17, 2014
Loved working with the team at Marshalls. Had the training and opportunities to set up sales displays to help push the product. Great experience around customer service, processing payment and advanced sales of product. Management team was very supportive and provided me with regular feedback on my work performance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy, upbeat workplace
Sales Associate/Customer Service (Current Employee), West Allis, WIDecember 13, 2014
A typical day would be constantly running around and handling a whole bunch of tasks at the same time. It's stressful but I got used to it and learned to manage my time wisely. The management is very good. My coworkers are very cooperative and kind. The hardest part of the job is being in the middle of a big project and then halfway through you get – more... called to help at the registers or to take a phone call. At the end of the day, the customers are the ones who keep us in business so the most enjoyable part of my job is helping customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Room for advancement
Retail Sales Associate/ Cashier (Former Employee), Canton, MIDecember 11, 2014
Pros: multi task and work with great employees
Cons: low hours and low pay.
Clock in and see the floor lead to see where to go. Go where you need to accordingly and help customers. Learned how to interact with customers to find what they need. Learned how to multi task in a fast paste environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Being able to help customers to the best of my ability.
Sales Assosiate (Current Employee), Queens, NYDecember 10, 2014
Pros: great experience
Cons: none.
Marshalls is a great employment to start to build your confidence and experience in the sales field. Co-workers and managers are very friendly and cooperative. Being able to attend many customers at the same time was the hardest but I worked through it due to my impressive knowledge at the store. I knew everything on all the merchandise, so whatever – more... the customer needed I was pleased to help them out very smoothly. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bring a cultural balance
Administrative Coordinator (Former Employee), Atlanta, GADecember 8, 2014
Maintained all store functions as well as all monies and customer intake. manage payroll as well as store events
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PRODUCTIVE AND EXCITING PLACE TO WORK
Sales Associate (Former Employee), HOUSTON, TEXASDecember 7, 2014
Pros: team work spirit
Cons: breaks
GOOD MANAGERIAL SKILLS
TEAM WORK
GOOD CUSTOMER SERVICE SKILLS
ENSURE CUSTOMERS NEEDS ARE MEET ON A DAILY BASES
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved it and miss it
Store Manager/Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Houston, TXDecember 5, 2014
Loved the location I was at, loved the store the customers and the associates. Certain district personal left alot to be desired but live and learn. Liked having dibs on new merchandise too
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Llearning Expirence
Shoe clerk (Former Employee), Chicago, ILDecember 5, 2014
Pros: great breaks
Cons: co workers
I learned patients is a time taking effort. I also learned how to organize and stack shoes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Work Place
Work on sales floor (Current Employee), Chicago, ILDecember 4, 2014
Learned how to handle money, help customers with questions, call other stores for products.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice place too work - Managers all very nice - very nice group of women
Customer Service Associate/Cashier (Current Employee), Greensburg, PADecember 3, 2014
Pros: they are always feeding us, every couple of months we enjoy a 20% discount instead of the normal 10%
Cons: working holidays and weekends, no advancement, minimun wage
I have worked at Marshall's a little over 4 years. This is my "fun" job. I love to shop and we get a discount and 1st pick on all of the new items coming in.
I only work part time either "on the floor" doing recovery, greeting or cashiering.I am a people person so working at the register and greeting are what I enjoy most.
I also enjoy working with – more... such a nice group of women (young and old). We all get along really well!
On the downside, it only takes that 1 nasty customer to ruin your whole day!! The one that yells and screams at you and you have to call your manager to deal with them!!!
I knew NOTHING about retail , I did have prior experience in dealing with the public when I owned my own restaurant, and it is very interesting. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Organized Department floor
Floor leader (Former Employee), New York, NYDecember 2, 2014
Pros: good working environment
Cons: no benefits
Unload merchandise off truck. Place security tags on clothing and furniture. Organize all merchandise on department floor.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love it
Floor & Fitting Room Assistant (Current Employee), Methuen, MANovember 26, 2014
Pros: the work nature
Cons: not enough hours
Love it and i wish i can get more hours. I like the time management plus the work environment we got to meet people and help them. Provide each costumer with great service and don't let them leave without smile. However the hardest part of this job is to get more hours or get full time status.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They needed too many things from me
Retail Sales Representative (Former Employee), Webster, TXNovember 26, 2014
Cons: asked too much
i was only 17 when i started working here and they expected me to run 4 different departments, they were crazy. i have never recommended someone to work here
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun/Stressful Environment
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Jacksonville, NCNovember 26, 2014
Pros: discounts, flexible hours
Cons: hard to move up, lack of organization
A typical day at work would include, but not limited to: decorating displays, marking down items, cleaning the store, working on projects with management, working at the register, customer service desk. I learned to work with people of all ethnicity and races, team work, and how to solve problems when they arose in a store setting. The store that I – more... worked at had a decent management team, some were not quite as professional as they should have been at times, and at times were very unorganized. Most of my co-workers were hard working individuals and were looking to move up in the business. The hardest part of the job was dealing with the lack of organization throughout the store. I am a very organized person and to see things out of place, or members of management have no idea what was going on most of the time was very frustrating. The most enjoyable part of the job was the co-workers and being around people and knowing that I helped someone find something for a good price. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working as a Sales Associate
Sales Associate (Former Employee), PRNovember 26, 2014
I worked throughout my free time during the week. College hours and working hours never conflicted. I found myself highly motivated, working on a fast pace area. It brought me great interpersonal relations and motivates me to work on fields surrounding hospitality.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Incredible work experience
Loss Prevention Detective (Former Employee), Gurnee ILNovember 25, 2014
Pros: developmentally rewarding
Cons: low pay
I was hired back in 2010 as a loss prevention detective. I enjoyed my time with Marshalls the four years I was with them. Their Loss Prevention team is an excellent one compared to some that I have heard or worked for. They actually let you work mostly on your own to look for shoplifters and investigate associate dishonesty. I learned a lot from this – more... company and will be taking the tools I have gained here to my new job. I am thankful to the loss prevention management team for giving me the opportunity to be part of the team and gain the knowledge I have gained. I highly recommend district 1202 and the district manager, awesome boss who always answers his phone and is very understanding. He always looks for ways to help you and develop you. if you are looking for reviews to work for this company, here is one, go for it, you wont regret it! best of luck and get ready to work hard and catch people! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy Workplace
Stock Associate (Former Employee), Bronx, NYNovember 25, 2014
Pros: nice managers and co-workers, meet new people
Cons: short breaks
A typical day at Marshalls for me was stocking items at the home decor section, cleaning and organizing each aisle, going to the stock room bring out more items, unpack boxes, do price checks, help customers so where they need to go to find what they need and go to the front and get unwanted/broken items to the front table inside the stock room. I learned – more... how to speak with customers and be confident and creative. the management were nice they appreciated my hard work. The hardest part of the job was lifting and unpacking almost 7 boxes and for a female that's a lot. Everything else besides that was the enjoyable part. – less

About Marshalls

Rifling through the racks is an art at TJX stores. The TJX Companies operates about a half a dozen retail chains, including the – Read more

Marshalls Photos