Marshalls Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB23 May 2017
successfully handled large quantity of money transactions and also refunded items. Excellent customer services. Helped out in training co-workers at cash register.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
short hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work place with lots of nice people
Washer labourer (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON22 May 2017
a typical day would be taking out all the garbage to the dumpsters and cleaning the fueling station. Then we would go into the warehouse to wash customers truck and trailers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a good-paced work environment with friendly workers.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON10 May 2017
A typical day at work would consist of cleaning up messy areas around the store, stocking inventory and helping customers. Workplace culture was very team-oriented, and inclusive, yet productive. Management was very flexible with working around your personal schedule and booking time off. Hardest part of the jobs dealing with difficult customers, and the most enjoyable part of the job was working with great staff members, and the positive environment of the job.
Pros
Very accommodating to your schedule, very team-oriented workplace.
Cons
Standing on your feet for too long.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for part time work.
Floor Associate (Former Employee) –  Ajax, ON5 May 2017
Intense retail environment. Opportunity to grow customer service skills as well as merchandizing skills. Friendly environment with career paths available.
Pros
Discounts.
Cons
Extensive retail environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the compagny is not bad
Assistant manager in the warehouse (Former Employee) –  edmonton4 May 2017
some racism in the store
there is no respect when you are different
the management do not pay attention to the people
there is no ethic in the work place
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's fun loving work place
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  South common17 April 2017
I learned a lot while working there .i just leave that job becouse my son was too small he is 2 year old and I am looking for good job with good salary .
Pros
Free lunch on any occasion
Cons
Low salary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not bad
Sale Associate (Former Employee) –  Abbotsford, BC4 April 2017
Some people there were great, some does not work well with team. Also, the some management all they did was manage, and did not help out, but some were very helpful.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Company I Love
Customer Service Representative/Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  London, ON22 March 2017
I have worked as an associate at Marshalls in London, ON for 8 months now. I am so lucky to be a part of such a fantastic team. The managers are highly motivating, they help to ensure you are successful in any and every role.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales associate
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON4 March 2017
Great place to work the energy is really great and easy going
you have fun and if the management is great your experience will be great as well
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent environment, understanding and cooperative staff.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON22 February 2017
Marshalls had an excellent work environment, with cooperative and supportive associates and an understanding managerial staff. A typical work day involved serving customers at the check-out, fixing mismatched merchandise, finding correct price tags for items, and cleaning at the end of the shift. Depending on the customer being served, it could either be the hardest or most enjoyable part of the job. Marshalls greatly helped to reinforce values of teamwork and cooperation.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
customer service (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON18 February 2017
good environment, supportive management . Fun people that made the job easy to do. Work didnt seem like work, wouldnt have left it i didnt move so far away.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace
Sales Floor Associate (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON15 February 2017
At Marshalls, there was always work to do. Never a boring moment with co-workers who would push each other to make sure store quality was kept at amazing conditions. Customers were always fun to interact with and allowed me to gain valuable skills. Work was not challenging so it made it feel sometimes unfulfilling.
Pros
Great Co-Workers
Cons
Short Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Sales associate (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON12 February 2017
good place to work and interact with customers and being able to help them not just to help them find what they are looking for but to also help load their cars
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Opinion of Part-Time
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON12 February 2017
Day at work involved organizing sections in store.
Learned valuable time management and cooperative skills.
Workplace culture was very diverse.
Cons
Opening of store, had few working hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with, simple work, fast pace enviroment
Retail Associate (Current Employee) –  Regina, SK6 February 2017
Marshalls is a good place to work.They pay biweekly and the pay is above minimum wage The people who I work with are amazing and make going to work enjoyable. The management are a team of people who listen and work with individuals as a team. TJX Canada also makes sure their employees are properly educated on workplace safety, procedures, etc. Marshalls regularly has something called "Joy Parties" which are usually theme based and are a little thank you from the company to the employees for hard work.
Pros
10% employee discount
Cons
Hours fluxuate
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
marshalls
CASHIER (Former Employee) –  mcdonough GA2 February 2017
great starting job for students and hard working individuals looking for a second job. They did a wonderful job with working with my school schedule and helped build my knowledge in customer service
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People and atmosphere
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Regina, SK25 January 2017
The people here are amazing and very friendly. There is many different places you can work in the store so you never get bored. They are also very understanding of your schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning atmosphere
Front Line Cashier (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK16 January 2017
Personally I found it to be a great place for growth and learning. The management is pretty much open to any concerns and questions you have. They take care of any requests professionally if you have. All in all, perfect working atmosphere.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teamwork
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Tsawwassen, BC12 January 2017
By working for a while now my experience towards my team and management is very grateful and I am very proud of having such great team who I like to work with and to be honest, I have learned a lot by working in this company, the managers are very friendly and very appropriate, and there is no hardest part in this job. the most enjoyable part of this job is when your managers are proud of you, what you have done.The one thing that i don't like about that if you want to get promotion, don't expect that...i wanted to be promoted and i waited and worked for it and they didn't promoted me.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall good place to work
Sales Floor (Current Employee) –  Dartmouth, NS6 January 2017
Marshalls is a fun place to work, they have good staff and the hours aren't bad either. the store is run well and stays rather tidy giving a nice clean work space
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Marshalls. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 4,721 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.5
Culture
3.7