Marshalls Employee Reviews

Found 88 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
CUSTOMER SERVICE COORDINATOR (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB10 July 2016
the most enjoyable part of my job is knowing and talking to different kinds of customer everyday, knowing their stories about whats happening and assisting them and giving great customer service.
Pros
45 mins break
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place.
STORE ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON28 April 2016
Marshalls is a great environment to be apart of. I have enjoyed working there and would be sad to leave however the amount of hours each weeks (not even 10 hours) is not working for me when I have things I need to pay for. The managers and co-workers are great.
Pros
Free lunches.
Cons
Not enough hours given. I have things I need to pay for.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Place To Work At
Sale Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON7 April 2016
Its a very company good that believe and encourage growth , the Management are caring, emphatic and understanding They appreciate all the employees. I learned a lot.Co-worker are friendly. Its a positive cool and flexible workplace and they sell very good products and clothing brands,
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly work place
Customer service (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON9 April 2016
friendly work place where i got to develop more of my communicational skills because it was very fast paced i got to communicate with people at a faster pas but at the same time help them with their purchases.
Pros
friendly co-workers
Cons
not enough hours for work given
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work. could use more hours
CASHIER (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON2 June 2016
Every day is a good experiences, i like working there and i have great co workers. My managers are very understanding and easy going.
Pros
Meeting new people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working at Marshall's
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON6 January 2016
serving customers
I learned alot about people
The management was very nice, I got along with my co-workers very well and we had fun together while doing our work.
Keeping a good attitude when customers would deliberately make a mess of the clothes
The people were the most enjoyable part of the job
Pros
I loved my job
Cons
would like to have worked more in different departments
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun working place
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON16 March 2016
face pace, management are awesome, good team work, excellent customer service and awesome people to work with. very friendly environment and there is always a scope to grow in the company. the management are very encouraging and helpful.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Retail Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Ajax, ON12 April 2016
great pleace to work, good discount, would reccomend for students in high school, also a good place to build your career if retail is your choice.
Pros
free lunches sometimes
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exploitative work
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON12 February 2016
Exploitative work that is labor-intensive and pays a scrawny minimum wage despite education or experience.

If something is done wrongly you will be verbally abused by inept. barely educated management personnel.
Pros
Discounted merchandise
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Ajax, ON1 March 2016
Busy, which made the day go by fast.
Management was great. Other than some snobby customers the job was very enjoyable.
A lot of work parties. Managers wanted everyone to feel like family
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and great place for a first job
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON23 February 2016
i kept the shoe section spotless
you create social skills with co workers and customers
you build time management skills
and its a great first job
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and Progressive Work Group
Floor Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON11 October 2015
I have developed new social skills as well as hands on skills such as working as a cashier, assisting customers over the phone and in person. I really enjoyed working with all of my co-workers as everyone was very helpful and friendly. Overall a good working experience.
Pros
Friendly Environement
Cons
Not my preferred working field
Was this review helpful?YesNo4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A day in the life of
Customer service (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON3 February 2016
on a daily basis i stocked products from the backroom to the sales floor. I also showed great customer survives.
I worked well with my co-workers
Pros
helping people
Cons
don't have any
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place to work at very friendly staff
Sales Associate/ Cashier (Former Employee) –  Vaughan, ON6 December 2015
Fun workplace with supportive managment. learned and gained many new skills. The most enjoyable part of the job was working alongside my colleagues and learning from them
Pros
free snacks
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace and multicultural
Customer Service Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON9 June 2015
A typical day at work would be helping customers enjoy their shopping experience, handling complaints and cleaning and preparing store for business operations.
Management have open door policy which allows employees have their talk regarding any issues or concerns at stake.
The most enjoyable part of the job was helping customers choose the right outfits and accessories for specific events.
Pros
Discount shopping card
Cons
long hours in winter
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dull environment
Assist shoppers (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC10 February 2016
Very unfriendly environment and rude employees.
Do not match up to availability and are not willing to change it either.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Porfessional and work-oriented environment. Fun and productive.
Associate (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON2 March 2015
A day in Marshalls for me is doing "Overs and Unders," which is basically cleaning up racks and store floors. Any mess or hanging clothes around the racks would be cleaned up as fast and efficient as possible. I learned skills associated with this job like teamwork and people skills. I also learnt organization and time-oriented skills to better my job. My coworkers were friendly and of course, would give me tips on what I should or shouldn't do. The hardest part of my work was, balancing my chores and dealing with customers. I had to prioritize customers, then my chores on a short time. But overall, the most enjoyable part of the job was creating new friends outside of school. Getting to know them and helping them at work as well.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment to work in
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON24 April 2015
Every day was different. Some days longer than others but enjoyable.
My best experience at Marshalls was working during the Christmas holidays and it was busy which kept me going all through my shift.
I got to interact with different customers, and ensured their shopping experience was good.
Pros
Good hours
Cons
No time off if really sick
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and positive
Marshall's sales associate (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON11 January 2015
A typical day includes me either working as a cashier or on the sales floor. I enjoy both and don't have any negative things to say. I've developed better communication skills and learned how to provide good costumer service,how to deal with conflicts,working under pressure, how to keep the sales floor clean and organized etc.
Pros
Friendly staff, nice merhandise, easy tasks
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace. Low wage.
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC2 October 2014
Great place to work at for your first job. Management is very helpful and understanding. Very easy to give away your shifts to others if an emergency occurs. Many social events. Some customers can be very difficult to handle but you will always have a manager deal with it. The only thing that sucks is my wage. They have many incentive programs which offer $ for catching thieves or individuals up to no good.
Pros
Many social events, flexible schedule, easy tasks, helpful management.
Cons
Low wage, shifts very depending on sales
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 3,468 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.5
Culture
3.7