Marshalls Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 64 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The worst.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Burlington, ONMarch 24, 2015
Worked at Marshalls Burlington.
Typical day at work consisted of one person in each section. A lot of the time you didn't have any help doing anything and you got called away to be on cash a lot.
Management didn't seem to do to much until the end of my time there. I almost never saw them helping out on the floor with the exception of a couple people.
Terrible hours, you cannot get a consistent schedule. Playing favourites, still book you on requested days off. You can work 9-5 one day then not get booked again for 3 days and them it's just a 4 hour shift.
Hardest part of the job was never being able to get anything done because it was so understaffed but I guess that was kind of head offices fault in not giving enough hours for the store to use to properly staff the store. Customers complained that there were never many employees on the floor to help them, or not enough cashiers to make the line move quicker.
No raises unless you specifically ask for them, not really any incentive programs.
Loved most of the people I worked with but I would not go back.
Pros
Getting to help customers.
Cons
Disorganized
Was this review helpful?Yes5No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exploitative work
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONFebruary 12, 2016
Exploitative work that is labor-intensive and pays a scrawny minimum wage despite education or experience.

If something is done wrongly you will be verbally abused by inept. barely educated management personnel.
Pros
Discounted merchandise
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working at Marshall's
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ONJanuary 6, 2016
serving customers
I learned alot about people
The management was very nice, I got along with my co-workers very well and we had fun together while doing our work.
Keeping a good attitude when customers would deliberately make a mess of the clothes
The people were the most enjoyable part of the job
Pros
I loved my job
Cons
would like to have worked more in different departments
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun working place
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONMarch 16, 2016
face pace, management are awesome, good team work, excellent customer service and awesome people to work with. very friendly environment and there is always a scope to grow in the company. the management are very encouraging and helpful.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place to work at very friendly staff
Sales Associate/ Cashier (Former Employee) –  Vaughan, ONDecember 6, 2015
Fun workplace with supportive managment. learned and gained many new skills. The most enjoyable part of the job was working alongside my colleagues and learning from them
Pros
free snacks
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Ajax, ONMarch 1, 2016
Busy, which made the day go by fast.
Management was great. Other than some snobby customers the job was very enjoyable.
A lot of work parties. Managers wanted everyone to feel like family
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and great place for a first job
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONFebruary 23, 2016
i kept the shoe section spotless
you create social skills with co workers and customers
you build time management skills
and its a great first job
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Place To Work At
Sale Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONApril 7, 2016
Its a very company good that believe and encourage growth , the Management are caring, emphatic and understanding They appreciate all the employees. I learned a lot.Co-worker are friendly. Its a positive cool and flexible workplace and they sell very good products and clothing brands,
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly work place
Customer service (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ONApril 9, 2016
friendly work place where i got to develop more of my communicational skills because it was very fast paced i got to communicate with people at a faster pas but at the same time help them with their purchases.
Pros
friendly co-workers
Cons
not enough hours for work given
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Retail Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Ajax, ONApril 12, 2016
great pleace to work, good discount, would reccomend for students in high school, also a good place to build your career if retail is your choice.
Pros
free lunches sometimes
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive fun work place
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ONNovember 29, 2015
fun work place with supportive management and a great team!
The managers are understanding about time off and flexible with availability.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace and multicultural
Customer Service Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONJune 9, 2015
A typical day at work would be helping customers enjoy their shopping experience, handling complaints and cleaning and preparing store for business operations.
Management have open door policy which allows employees have their talk regarding any issues or concerns at stake.
The most enjoyable part of the job was helping customers choose the right outfits and accessories for specific events.
Pros
Discount shopping card
Cons
long hours in winter
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A day in the life of
Customer service (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONFebruary 3, 2016
on a daily basis i stocked products from the backroom to the sales floor. I also showed great customer survives.
I worked well with my co-workers
Pros
helping people
Cons
don't have any
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dull environment
Assist shoppers (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BCFebruary 10, 2016
Very unfriendly environment and rude employees.
Do not match up to availability and are not willing to change it either.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best job but it got me by
Customer Service Associate (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONNovember 24, 2015
I've worked for this company for about 8 years.Its not the best company but it puts money in the bank. Can grow in the company if you want
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and Progressive Work Group
Floor Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONOctober 11, 2015
I have developed new social skills as well as hands on skills such as working as a cashier, assisting customers over the phone and in person. I really enjoyed working with all of my co-workers as everyone was very helpful and friendly. Overall a good working experience.
Pros
Friendly Environement
Cons
Not my preferred working field
Was this review helpful?YesNo3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Marshalls
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONDecember 3, 2015
The store is okay at 808 Warden Ave and the people that work there aren't slackers so you have to be ready to give it your all and have to be well versed on everything.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people
Customer service (Former Employee) –  oshawaAugust 25, 2015
Great people to work with, but not enough work hours for part time. Fun outings with the team though and the christmas party was always a good time.
Pros
great people
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not happy workplace
Sales Associate/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Kelowna, BCApril 18, 2015
Short staffed
So can't complete assigned tasks
leave feeling exhausted , under trained
very few hours for minimum wage
not much chance for advancement
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Porfessional and work-oriented environment. Fun and productive.
Associate (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ONMarch 2, 2015
A day in Marshalls for me is doing "Overs and Unders," which is basically cleaning up racks and store floors. Any mess or hanging clothes around the racks would be cleaned up as fast and efficient as possible. I learned skills associated with this job like teamwork and people skills. I also learnt organization and time-oriented skills to better my job. My coworkers were friendly and of course, would give me tips on what I should or shouldn't do. The hardest part of my work was, balancing my chores and dealing with customers. I had to prioritize customers, then my chores on a short time. But overall, the most enjoyable part of the job was creating new friends outside of school. Getting to know them and helping them at work as well.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 2,876 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture