Marshalls Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 68 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really Corrupt management
Customer Service and Merchandising Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONJune 21, 2016
Really corrupt management at the district level and at the store level. They are not home-growing employees and hire clueless employees from other companies for managers/store-managers. Currently, some of the best employees are leaving due to the corruption. The HR also is corrupt and never solve any reported issues and simply follow what the DM says. The company is living on lying and selfish management and will start to drop down soon if they CEOs/Presidents don't start to take action.
Pros
Benefit plan
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
professional and team-oriented
sales associate (Former Employee) –  Ajax, ONJune 14, 2016
There are opportunities at this company to work with the public directly as well as doing more background jobs. Their jobs range from part-time to full time and they hire anyone regardless of age, race, etc. I think anyone could work here and it is admirable how oriented Marshalls is to diversity. I would work here again.
Pros
professionalism, attention to detail
Cons
I felt like I was being scrutinized constantly
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work. could use more hours
CASHIER (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ONJune 2, 2016
Every day is a good experiences, i like working there and i have great co workers. My managers are very understanding and easy going.
Pros
Meeting new people
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place.
STORE ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ONApril 28, 2016
Marshalls is a great environment to be apart of. I have enjoyed working there and would be sad to leave however the amount of hours each weeks (not even 10 hours) is not working for me when I have things I need to pay for. The managers and co-workers are great.
Pros
Free lunches.
Cons
Not enough hours given. I have things I need to pay for.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Retail Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Ajax, ONApril 12, 2016
great pleace to work, good discount, would reccomend for students in high school, also a good place to build your career if retail is your choice.
Pros
free lunches sometimes
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly work place
Customer service (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ONApril 9, 2016
friendly work place where i got to develop more of my communicational skills because it was very fast paced i got to communicate with people at a faster pas but at the same time help them with their purchases.
Pros
friendly co-workers
Cons
not enough hours for work given
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Place To Work At
Sale Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONApril 7, 2016
Its a very company good that believe and encourage growth , the Management are caring, emphatic and understanding They appreciate all the employees. I learned a lot.Co-worker are friendly. Its a positive cool and flexible workplace and they sell very good products and clothing brands,
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun working place
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONMarch 16, 2016
face pace, management are awesome, good team work, excellent customer service and awesome people to work with. very friendly environment and there is always a scope to grow in the company. the management are very encouraging and helpful.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Ajax, ONMarch 1, 2016
Busy, which made the day go by fast.
Management was great. Other than some snobby customers the job was very enjoyable.
A lot of work parties. Managers wanted everyone to feel like family
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and great place for a first job
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONFebruary 23, 2016
i kept the shoe section spotless
you create social skills with co workers and customers
you build time management skills
and its a great first job
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exploitative work
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONFebruary 12, 2016
Exploitative work that is labor-intensive and pays a scrawny minimum wage despite education or experience.

If something is done wrongly you will be verbally abused by inept. barely educated management personnel.
Pros
Discounted merchandise
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dull environment
Assist shoppers (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BCFebruary 10, 2016
Very unfriendly environment and rude employees.
Do not match up to availability and are not willing to change it either.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A day in the life of
Customer service (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONFebruary 3, 2016
on a daily basis i stocked products from the backroom to the sales floor. I also showed great customer survives.
I worked well with my co-workers
Pros
helping people
Cons
don't have any
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working at Marshall's
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ONJanuary 6, 2016
serving customers
I learned alot about people
The management was very nice, I got along with my co-workers very well and we had fun together while doing our work.
Keeping a good attitude when customers would deliberately make a mess of the clothes
The people were the most enjoyable part of the job
Pros
I loved my job
Cons
would like to have worked more in different departments
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place to work at very friendly staff
Sales Associate/ Cashier (Former Employee) –  Vaughan, ONDecember 6, 2015
Fun workplace with supportive managment. learned and gained many new skills. The most enjoyable part of the job was working alongside my colleagues and learning from them
Pros
free snacks
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Marshalls
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONDecember 3, 2015
The store is okay at 808 Warden Ave and the people that work there aren't slackers so you have to be ready to give it your all and have to be well versed on everything.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive fun work place
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ONNovember 29, 2015
fun work place with supportive management and a great team!
The managers are understanding about time off and flexible with availability.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best job but it got me by
Customer Service Associate (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONNovember 24, 2015
I've worked for this company for about 8 years.Its not the best company but it puts money in the bank. Can grow in the company if you want
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and Progressive Work Group
Floor Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONOctober 11, 2015
I have developed new social skills as well as hands on skills such as working as a cashier, assisting customers over the phone and in person. I really enjoyed working with all of my co-workers as everyone was very helpful and friendly. Overall a good working experience.
Pros
Friendly Environement
Cons
Not my preferred working field
Was this review helpful?YesNo3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people
Customer service (Former Employee) –  oshawaAugust 25, 2015
Great people to work with, but not enough work hours for part time. Fun outings with the team though and the christmas party was always a good time.
Pros
great people
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 2,933 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture